We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Be Live Collection Marien(Puerto Plata)(Great Value!)
$160
$125
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 21% below average rates

The price you found is 21% lower than this hotel's average rate of $158/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Sunscape Puerto Plata Dominican Republic(Puerto Plata)(Great Value!)
$267
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
BlueBay Villas Doradas Adults Only(Puerto Plata)(Great Value!)
$293
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort(Puerto Plata)(Great Value!)
$197
$179
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of $210/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Presidential Suites by Lifestyle(Puerto Plata)(Great Value!)
$307
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort(Puerto Plata)(Great Value!)
$165
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Blue JackTar(Puerto Plata)(Great Value!)
$340
$130
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grand Paradise Playa Dorada(Puerto Plata)(Great Value!)
$96
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$150
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (576)
Filter reviews
576 results
Traveler rating
458
72
15
15
16
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
458
72
15
15
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop poolboutique hotelrecommend casadominican breakfastbeautiful small hotelwe ordered room serviceocean frontdominican republicthird floornicest hotelplaya doradarooms are largeour honeymoongoatjunior suiteall inclusive hotelgolf cart
Filter
Updating list...
219 - 224 of 576 reviews
Reviewed March 30, 2013

Four of us stayed here in two beautiful rooms over looking the ocean. We all loved the place. The spa was wonderful, the dinner at the restaurant was amazing and the relaxing atmosphere of the hotel make this a place where we are sure to return. Unlike other people, we had no problem with the wifi...I was able to watch March Madness on my slingbox from home.

As a tip, if you are dining at the restaurant on premises, get the mushroom risotto and the ahi tuna tartar. Both are fabulous.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ufalum88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2013

I last stayed here in 2008 and had a very enjoyable holiday. Returning is not always a good idea. Next door to this hotel is somewhat cheaper all inclusive that have a late night special on the beach on a Friday night. Very very noisy and it goes on late. The Internet connection as others have remarked is poor at best. The staff in the breakfast room and the dining room were absolutely lovely and did everything they could to please. On the dining room menu it would be good to have some simple options, but if you do ask they are prepared for you. I found the cost of dinner including the 28 per cent taxes up there with London prices which Is surprising.

I had a room adjacent to the swimming pool which is a roof top situation. It was fine for the first few days, and then one had the joy of children's beach balls landing on the balcony, knocking over a glass of wine. An apology would have been good but not forthcoming.

In general I found the hotel to be clean but just beginning to show signs of shabbiness. The robes in my bedroom were well past their sell by date.

The Spa was as good as ever and for this reason alone I have marked up my general feelings about this particular hotel. I was due to stay longer,but checked out early and no, I will not be back. It's probably fine for a long weekend and no more.

About me, I am someone who travels the world frequently and am fortunate enough to do so in style.......this place is not value for money.

Room Tip: Avoid room 43 like the plague - next door to the swimming pool, and probably as close as you can get to the noisy neighbouring hotel.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank aston1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JBohmann, Public Relations Manager at Casa Colonial Beach & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2013

Thank you for visiting the Dominican Republic and for choosing Casa Colonial. We are so sorry to hear that you did not thoroughly enjoy your stay. We take our guest feedback extremely seriously, so we looked into what might have caused these issues so that we can ensure they are not repeated. Our neighbor hotel, The Barcelo, did have a party one evening and following your call, we did contact them immediately to request they contain the noise. Our records show that you were offered a room change and an upgrade, but that you opted to stay in your suite. We would also like to ensure you that our robes are all brand new, having all been replaced in January. Our staff did try their utmost to help you have an unforgettable vacation, and again, we do apologize that your stay with us was not everything it should have been. We do hope you will return to the Dominican Republic.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

This was by far the most relaxing vacation we have had. From the minute you walk in the door they make it very clear they are there to take care of you. The rooms are fabulous, the service was good (need a little quicker resonse to americans in need of coffee in the AM). Emanual and Junior are great and ready to get you anything you need. Although the menu was small we never laked choices and it was always delightful. The beach was spacious and security on the beach made sure you were safe, even if you wondered out at odd hours of the night. The rooms and the grounds were always spotless and quite.
I do think food/beverages were a bit over priced, it was more like you were on a beach in California. The web site also states that you can "enjoy the grounds at the sister resort down the beach" however when we arrived no one seemed to know what we were refering to.
The spa was wonderful, lots of services and great staff.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Addventrdg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JBohmann, Public Relations Manager at Casa Colonial Beach & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2013

We are truly delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you had such a pleasant vacation and I will share your feedback with our team, including your suggestion about faster coffee. Your observation about food prices is correct - food prices across the Caribbean have increased, and we try and help guests offset these vacation costs by offering exemplary service. We very much look forward to having you back with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

The hotel and the service are among the very best!
We stayed for a week there. The beach and its views were spectacular, although the sea is not as clear as others in the Caribbean.
The design and care for the details shows throughout the premises in every corner, from the generous spaces to the halls and common areas.
The restaurant and its chef are great. The management is doing something that is very difficult to achieve. People that are truly into making the experience unforgettable.
The only negative point for us was that we wanted to be near a town to be able to walk around it and see the charm of its culture. Not here, Puerto Plata is very poor and unkept. Cabarete is worth a visit if you insist on going somewhere.
Furthermore, the area surrounding the hotel has decayed significantly and the hotels that are still open are less than average all inclusive. Many other buildings are abandoned or closed.
In short, a truly world class hotel. Just don't leave it during your stay.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank senseeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JBohmann, Public Relations Manager at Casa Colonial Beach & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2013

We are so pleased to hear that you had such a pleasant vacation and enjoyed the resort and the restaurant. The resort team works hard to provide excellent service. We will certainly pass on your compliments to the chef and the rest of team. Casa Colonial is truly an ‘oasis’ in the Puerto Plata area, and there are some wonderful things to do and see in the area, but we do recommend you explore on a guided tour. We certainly hope we are able to welcome you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2013

Let me start by saying they are on the wrong island, you travel to the DR for the value the place is a little cocky the average salary in the DR is $200 per month.the average rent is $140 per month. Great place, great food, great service, everything is great..... except the price they think that they are in NYC i am a firm believer in you get what you pay for but they are a bit out of line, this is a person that made 1.2 million last year.as a repeat customer they wanted 100,000 pesos for 8 day stay that's like $320 us a night for a normal room nothing included. at least make it all inclusive, they charged me for coffee:)

Room Tip: i loved the main building unless you want ocean view
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank izzi770
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews