We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“WOW” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casa Colonial Beach & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Casa Colonial Beach & Spa
Ranked #5 of 41 Hotels in Puerto Plata
Certificate of Excellence
Kansas City, Kansas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“WOW”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

This was by far the most relaxing vacation we have had. From the minute you walk in the door they make it very clear they are there to take care of you. The rooms are fabulous, the service was good (need a little quicker resonse to americans in need of coffee in the AM). Emanual and Junior are great and ready to get you anything you need. Although the menu was small we never laked choices and it was always delightful. The beach was spacious and security on the beach made sure you were safe, even if you wondered out at odd hours of the night. The rooms and the grounds were always spotless and quite.
I do think food/beverages were a bit over priced, it was more like you were on a beach in California. The web site also states that you can "enjoy the grounds at the sister resort down the beach" however when we arrived no one seemed to know what we were refering to.
The spa was wonderful, lots of services and great staff.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Addventrdg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JBohmann, Public Relations Manager at Casa Colonial Beach & Spa, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
We are truly delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you had such a pleasant vacation and I will share your feedback with our team, including your suggestion about faster coffee. Your observation about food prices is correct - food prices across the Caribbean have increased, and we try and help guests offset these vacation costs by offering exemplary service. We very much look forward to having you back with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

517 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    409
    64
    14
    15
    15
See reviews for
73
303
19
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Miami
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

The hotel and the service are among the very best!
We stayed for a week there. The beach and its views were spectacular, although the sea is not as clear as others in the Caribbean.
The design and care for the details shows throughout the premises in every corner, from the generous spaces to the halls and common areas.
The restaurant and its chef are great. The management is doing something that is very difficult to achieve. People that are truly into making the experience unforgettable.
The only negative point for us was that we wanted to be near a town to be able to walk around it and see the charm of its culture. Not here, Puerto Plata is very poor and unkept. Cabarete is worth a visit if you insist on going somewhere.
Furthermore, the area surrounding the hotel has decayed significantly and the hotels that are still open are less than average all inclusive. Many other buildings are abandoned or closed.
In short, a truly world class hotel. Just don't leave it during your stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank senseeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JBohmann, Public Relations Manager at Casa Colonial Beach & Spa, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
We are so pleased to hear that you had such a pleasant vacation and enjoyed the resort and the restaurant. The resort team works hard to provide excellent service. We will certainly pass on your compliments to the chef and the rest of team. Casa Colonial is truly an ‘oasis’ in the Puerto Plata area, and there are some wonderful things to do and see in the area, but we do recommend you explore on a guided tour. We certainly hope we are able to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

Let me start by saying they are on the wrong island, you travel to the DR for the value the place is a little cocky the average salary in the DR is $200 per month.the average rent is $140 per month. Great place, great food, great service, everything is great..... except the price they think that they are in NYC i am a firm believer in you get what you pay for but they are a bit out of line, this is a person that made 1.2 million last year.as a repeat customer they wanted 100,000 pesos for 8 day stay that's like $320 us a night for a normal room nothing included. at least make it all inclusive, they charged me for coffee:)

Room Tip: i loved the main building unless you want ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank izzi770
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroe, Virginia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

We love staying at the Casa Colonial. It is an oasis in the midst of all the all-inclusives. It is luxurious and quiet. This stay we had an ocean front junior suite on the second floor. The rooms are enormous and have every creature comfort. The orchids in the gardens are gorgeous. The entire property is spotless and welcoming. Manuel and Jr. are so polite and helpful at the front door. The guards on the beach keep the vendors away that pester you consistently at the other resort beaches which allows you to unwind even more. We actually would give this resort a 4.95 and not a 4. The only thing keeping it from a 5 is the internet access is terrible and has been intermittent at best both stays. This time the hair dryer also had a rotten rubber grip on it that got sticky stuff on your hands. Other than that it is above and beyond any other resort in the D.R.

Room Tip: Junior Suite Oceanfront on the second level seems to be the best value, view, and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DrivingHazard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JBohmann, Public Relations Manager at Casa Colonial Beach & Spa, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you for visiting the Dominican Republic and for choosing Casa Colonial. We are pleased that you had such a pleasant vacation and I will share your complimentary feedback with our team. Thank you also for letting us know about the hair dryer – we will have that replaced right away. We will also look into the internet issue, normally the signal is strong. We very much look forward to having you back with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

I stayed at the hotel for a weekend and it is just wonderful! The rooms have a very nice tub with access to the room! The food and ambiance are excellent as well! The beach is really nice and just steps away from your room! We stayed in the first floor so we just walked to it! The infinity pool located on the rooftop is awsome as well!

Room Tip: Try the Lucia restaurant!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ljvillanueva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013

My family and I had an awesome time at Casa Colonial. You are welcomed with an welcome drink in a beautiful lobby. Check-in is fast and easy. Whenever we needed anything assistance was at room door before we could hang up the phone. Made me feel as tho we had a private butler. Everyone was very welcoming at the hotel. The food is delicious at Lucia's. We had a peaceful time at the beach that was not over crowed like the ones next door. We are looking forward to coming back.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LeKendra30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
69 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

This hotel was a pure relaxation spot. From the second you walk in, you are entering a peaceful oasis of escape from the daily grind of life. The hotel itself is gorgeous. We stayed in a junior oceanfront suite on the first floor of the property. We had a shared patio so if you want something more private, I recommend asking for a higher floor with a private balcony. Everything is very clean and the beds are beyond comfortable. The hair dryer is very powerful and great if you have long hair. I was taken aback by how green and lush all the plants were. While ocean views are always appreciated, it was nice to see some variety with the beautiful trees all over the beach and property. The hotel was covered in orchids, my favorite flower. It was just gorgeous. There are only 50 rooms at the property and even though we saw other people, we truly felt like we were pretty isolated most of the time. It was very quiet. They also have a rooftop pool with four private infiniti edge hot tubs. The pool and hot tubs are open 24 hours so it was great to go there at night and hear the waves crashing, as we overlooked the ocean.

The spa, while small, was very luxurious and relaxing. I had an aroma therapy massage and also an beachfront massage. Both massages were great and helped me relax. You can use the sauna and steam room for free, you just need to book an appt for them.

The food in both Veranda and Lucia restaurants were very good. For breakfast in Veranda, they have a buffet out. If you want hot items, be sure to order off the menu for things like french toast, pancakes, eggs, etc. Also, they suggest you make a reservation for dinner in Lucia, but I'm not sure you would actually need to do that. There is a main bar in the center of the lobby. I highly recommend the dinner on the beach experience. It truly was a great way to end our trip.

If you have children, this is probably not the resort for you. There are no kids activities and no kids menus, etc and it's more of a tranquil escape for adults than rowdy children. Also, there is NOTHING going on in terms of nightlife at this hotel. Nothing. So do not go there expecting to be entertained at night. It isn't going to happen. There is nothing to do. So be prepared to go in and relax. The staff is super friendly and kind and go out of their way to help you.

All this wonderfulness being said, I do have a few items to point out that kept me from giving this hotel five stars. They do so many difficult things right, that it's just a few simple things that could really push them over the edge that they don't seem to do, despite many guest mentioning it:

Beach service. There is none despite them saying there is. The first day we sat out on the beach and no one came out to us to offer us beverages or anything. We went to the towel guy and he was able to get someone to come over and take our order. We placed our order and heavily tipped and then he never came back after that first round. The second day, a guy named Santiago totally made the day amazing. He came and checked on us all throughout the day. We ordered tons of drinks and food and made it worth his while and it made our day fabulous. Then the next two days, we had zero people come out to us on the beach again. It's just such a simple thing to have a dedicated waiter or even the towel guy to take drink orders and it truly would make people's experiences much better if they don't have to constantly get up to get things and leave the beach.

Another minor thing are the outdoor showers. They only have full body showers, which end up drenching you if you are trying to just rinse your feet. It would be great if they could also add just a foot shower like some places have so you can choose if you want a full body rinse or just to wash the sand off your feet.

And lastly, the bath amenities are amazing but it would be great if a real hair conditioner could be added instead of the combo shampoo/conditioner. For those of us with long, thick hair, we need a real conditioner to do the trick.

Other than those three little things our entire trip was extremely memorable and we can't wait to go back. It was truly a beautiful hotel, great staff and relaxing place.

Room Tip: high floor if you want a private balcony. Ask for ocean front
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cali S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JBohmann, Public Relations Manager at Casa Colonial Beach & Spa, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
We are truly delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you so much for posting your kind comments and feedback. We take all guest input into consideration and you made some very good points about the in-room and outdoor amenities which we will definitely look into. We hope be able to welcome back to Casa Colonial again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Plata hotels
0.1 mi away
Sunscape Puerto Plata Dominican Republic
0.2 mi away
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
#3 of 41 in Puerto Plata
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5,151 reviews
1.3 mi away
Iberostar Costa Dorada
Iberostar Costa Dorada
#2 of 41 in Puerto Plata
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
BlueBay Villas Doradas Adults Only
1.4 mi away
Be Live Collection Marien
Be Live Collection Marien
#9 of 41 in Puerto Plata
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,224 reviews
9.6 mi away
ClubHotel Riu Merengue
ClubHotel Riu Merengue
#12 of 41 in Puerto Plata
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5,133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Colonial Beach & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Colonial Beach & Spa

Property: Casa Colonial Beach & Spa
Address: Playa Dorada, Puerto Plata, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Puerto Plata
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Plata
#2 Business Hotel in Puerto Plata
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Plata
#5 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Plata
#5 Family Hotel in Puerto Plata
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Casa Colonial Beach & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the exotic north coast of the Dominican Republic and directly on the crystal water, Casa Colonial Beach & Spa is the ultimate, world-class resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Casa Colonial Beach & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Colonial Beach And Spa
Casa Colonial Beach Hotel Puerto Plata
Hotel Casa Colonial Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing