We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just what we were hoping for.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Casa Colonial Beach & Spa
Ranked #6 of 40 Hotels in Puerto Plata
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 3, 2008

We just got back from a great vacation at the Casa Colonial Hotel. I did some investigating on many travel sites. I was looking for a small, great looking vacation hotel with character. I love to walk around, and be part of a beautiful space. Also a hotel that was not to far away for easy traveling. Of course a hotel that gave me the sense that my wife, my friends, and myself would be totally cared for.. We wanted to enjoy each other, relax, play, and feel totally taken care of. We used everything that the hotel had to offer. The beach, the pool, the gym, the spa services, the restaurants, the great room, and of course the wonderful staff.
I did have a few considerations before booking. Some of the reviews that I read made me feel like I might be taking a chance.
I am so glad we decided to go. It did not take long to fall into a great vacation routine. I think I lost track of time after being at the hotel for less than 18 hours. I found the staff to be very attentive, polite, and waiting to give me what I had only been thinking of seconds before. The staff , and people were also alot of fun to be with. Everyone could not do enough for us at all times. We stayed for six days, and one day after returning home I wanted to to be back at the hotel. Thank you for making our stay wonderful.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank scoop429
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (547)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

397 - 403 of 547 reviews

Reviewed March 25, 2008

My wife and I were looking for a last minute, close to NYC long weekend place. Totally stumbled on Casa Colonial screwing around on the Internet and read a bunch of the reviews on this website. I feel compelled to add my 2 cents because I think some of the criticisms are unfair and out of context. The place was beautiful and the food was, for the most part really good to excellent. Our room was absolutely excellent with a bathtub out on one of the three balconies (a little too much like a Cialis commercial but very relaxing in the evening before dinner). I agree that the dining room is a little formal from a menu POV and it would have been nice to get some food in a more relaxed environment by our fourth and final night, but hey, the place sells itself as five star boutique and space is limited so make of it what you want. The staff was made up of very nice people albeit a little subdued but we'd personally rather have them skew that way than be in your face all the time. Overall, service was very, very good but not dead on in a way that, in our opinion, gave the place a quirkiness, charm and laid backness that eased us rather than made us feel uptight. Yes, it is true that there were resorts next door that played music at night. You can't hear it in your room (we were in the third floor penthouse suite that was probably most exposed to this) or the dining room. If we had a drink on our deck after dinner, it was kind of hoaky and fun to bop along to the guy on the mic instructing the limbo contest next door - almost made you want to walk over there and join in. The pond did have a little bit of a sulfur smell in the evening but it was absolutely no big deal and not intrusive. Pool and beach were great (beach got windy in the afternoon). Poolside lunch and drinks were outstanding and the staff really, really nice - Trini was our favorite. Overall, I would say that this place rocked for a few days of R&R and it is unbelievably quick trip from Newark in NYC. Don't listen to the reviews where the people take themselves way too seriously and think that spending a few hundred a night for a room entitles you to berate and belittle people because they're not making your time "special enough." The staff was great, the place was beautiful and it was an excellent four days. I gotta figure that if all of the haters had all of the experience they claim to, they'd recognize Casa Colonial for what it is - a solid, boutiquey place in the DR that's easy and quirky. If that's not what your in for, take you massive amount of wealth and experience and buy a Villa in St. Barth's and hire your own staff.

My one comment to Casa Colonial is that you should try and maybe create a little interaction between guests. Maybe offer a free round of mojitos in the bar between 7 or 8 each evening or something like that. Nothing obligatory but something low key to say hi to each other might appeal to some of your guests.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank JOMNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2008

Casa Colonial was perfect for just what my husband and I needed ... Which was a quiet luxurious small hotel right on the beach with a friendly, helpful staff. In particular Johanna Lopez and Freddy DeLarosa were extrodinarily helpful and made the trip even more special.

Lisa

Stayed: February 2008
Thank LisaNYC11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2008

We spent five nights at the hotel. It was an elegant, yet simple and sophisticated hotel. The beach is right at the hotel which is wonderful. You can get a massage right on the beach. The spa and gym were great and exceeeded our expectations. The food and service were also very good. We would recommend the hotel highly. Many of the hotels in DR, you have to do all inclusive. This hotel you do not have to do it. It was great.

Stayed: February 2008
1  Thank lb2066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2008

Beautiful resort...very friendly staff...excellent food and amenities.

Definitely the best of the best in the Dominican Republic.

Stayed: February 2008
Thank gflink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2008

We just spent 6 nights in a Deluxe Ocean front Suite at Casa Colonial and were so pleased we chose this resort. If you compare Casa Colonial to the other resorts in Puerto Plata (or all of the DR) you will understand what you are paying for: True Luxury Rooms, imaculate, comfortable beds, wonderful food, fabulous spa, tranquil atmosphere and hands down the coolest roof-top pool ever! We spent 90% of our time at the pool and pool bar which was blissful. The Breakfast staff is a little cold, but the rest of the staff was eager to help. We especilly liked the fact that the beach security kept non-guests from entering the property - which made it feel like a 100% exclusive experience. Yes, understand that you will spend much more money here than the adjacent resorts but it is worth it even if you come back feel like you broke the bank! Have Fun. We will be back! I also need to comment that a few ago there was one negative review on Trip Advisor about the smelly sulfur pond. I have to admit I was really concerned, but do not worry a bit about this because it is a natural pond with a very mild non-offensive odor. And it's part of nature for goodness sake - get over it!

Stayed: February 2008
2  Thank NCandNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2008

Just spent five beautiful days celebrating my birthday with my family at Casa Colonial, and it is a trip I will never forget.

The hotel is gorgeous, the grounds are spectacular, the staff could not be nicer, the food was delicious, and the mojitos were grrrrrreat, especially while lounging on the beautiful beach.

In short............I cannot wait to go back!

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank twocatsNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Plata hotels
0.4 mi away
Viva Wyndham V Heavens
Viva Wyndham V Heavens
#4 of 40 in Puerto Plata
1,195 reviews
1.3 mi away
Iberostar Costa Dorada
Iberostar Costa Dorada
#1 of 40 in Puerto Plata
7,516 reviews
0.2 mi away
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
#5 of 40 in Puerto Plata
5,621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
BlueBay Villas Doradas Adults Only
0.1 mi away
Sunscape Puerto Plata Dominican Republic
1.4 mi away
Be Live Collection Marien
Be Live Collection Marien
#9 of 40 in Puerto Plata
4,087 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Colonial Beach & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Colonial Beach & Spa

Address: Playa Dorada, Puerto Plata, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Puerto Plata
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Plata
#2 Business Hotel in Puerto Plata
#4 Family Hotel in Puerto Plata
#4 Spa Hotel in Puerto Plata
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Plata
#6 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Plata
Price Range: $315 - $514 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Casa Colonial Beach & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the exotic north coast of the Dominican Republic and directly on the crystal water, Casa Colonial Beach & Spa is the ultimate, world-class resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Casa Colonial Beach & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Colonial Beach Hotel Puerto Plata
Casa Colonial Beach And Spa
Hotel Casa Colonial Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing