We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic resort, beautiful rooms, warm staff, great food at Lucia Restaurant”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Casa Colonial Beach & Spa
Ranked #4 of 41 Hotels in Puerto Plata
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Romantic resort, beautiful rooms, warm staff, great food at Lucia Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2011

It is a beautiful resort. I was almost tempted to stay in one of the bigger all-inclusives in the complex, but am so glad I didn't. Casa Colonial is quiet, romantic, and the rooms are tastefully done. The staff is so nice, and very happy to help. The food was delicious, the chef of the Lucia Restaurant has apparently won many awards. We already have plans to return in a few years

The resort is enclosed in something of a gated community, with many other resorts. It feels very safe.

Tips: do not fly into Santiago airport, it's really far away - but if you must, take a taxi (don't rent a car, you'll be sorry once you hit your first soapy intersection). Also, you really need to stay at least 3 nights - despite the pace, time seems to disappear on the resort...

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MirtilsChain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

525 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    417
    64
    14
    15
    15
See reviews for
74
308
19
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hudson, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
35 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2011

Casa Colonial is possibly the nicest hotel/resort/spa that I've ever stayed...
To be clear Casa Colonial is an oasis sitting in the midst of a gaggle of typical all-inclusive Puerto Plata resorts..... meaning it is NOT all-inclusive and by the way all the better for making a distinction. Don't be alarmed by the other resorts, as the moment you pull into the gate at Casa Colonial you are in a different world.
From check-in which is done very personally - not even at a typical desk - but rather handled by an individual who personally assigns themselves as your concierge - to the property tour given on the way to your room - to the full description of all the room's features.. well just first rate all the way.
The property is beautiful.. the rooms are beautiful and quiet and huge! The roof top infinity pool and adjoining cafe is simply magnificent and the place where I spent most of the weekend. The food is elegant, modern and most important tasty.
There is a full service gym, spa and salon onsite - noting this is a 50 room property. I used both the gym with first rate equipment and the spa with first class service, steam and sauna. The attendants in the spa were possibly the nicest people I've encountered....actually the staff of the entire hotel were possibly the nicest people I've encountered at a hotel.
The hotel's portion of beach is rather small and in the midst of the "mega" resorts on either side.. if you are a beach person this may not be your cup of tea as far as relaxation - although the same great hotel service is available on the beach front. The far better option is the hotel pool which is above the fray of the adjoining properties.
The hotel is located in Playa Dorado which is a semi-gated mega-resort (multiple properties and golf course) within Puerto Plata... options outside of Casa Colonial's property within Playa Dorado are limited... avoid the shopping center unless you love the hard sell.. and dining options within this center are a bit limited (Pizza Hut?)... Just stay at the hotel and enjoy the 5 star cuisine.
If you're looking for a getaway - a stay-in, rest, relax and be pampered place.. well Casa Colonial is it. I loved, loved, loved it.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank JDERV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2011

Very much enjoyed our five nights at Casa Colonial. Rooms are excellent size, and very comfortable. Landscaping of the resort is exquisite. Staff very friendly and helpful. Amidst the larger resorts in the area, this stands out, because it is quiet, just 50 rooms, and very classy. The architecture of the resort is classic looking unlike some of the other monstrosities nearby. Beach in front of the resort is quiet, and secure. Overall the place is immaculate. Playa Dorada is very scenic, nice for walks and water sports. Food at Lucia is excellent, and Ramon who took care of us there is fantastic. We ate at Lucia's three of our nights there and menu is solid. Hotel is just 10-15 min from Puerto Plata airport. We rented a car one day and drove to Playa Grande. Well worth it, as Playa Grande is beautiful. Gym at the hotel is good enough to get in a decent workout. Pool and jacuzzi area is very nice, and quiet. Overall just a great place to chill out for a few days.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank bret12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2011

My husband and I just spent 4 wonderful nights at Casa Colonial. The website really doesn't do the resort justice. It is more beautiful than pictured. The staff is accomodating and caring, the restaurant Lucia rivals the best restaurants we have visited in the US (which includes many 4-5 star restaurants), and the room and surroundings serene, beautiful and impreccably clean. If you are looking for a quiet place to relax, this is ideal. There is just enough to do to keep you occupied--kayaking, trip into Puerto Plata, a visit to Oceanworld (not highly recommended though) to fill the days. Excellent spa services as well and our dinner on the beach will always be remembered!

Room Tip: We enjoyed having the ocean view--worth the extra cost. We were in Room 40 and it was PERFECT in al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LovetoTravel12453
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2011

My husband and I stayed for 6 nights at Casa Colonial and would recommend it to anyone. We are not fans of the all-inclusive hotel scene as we like to venture out and truly experience cultures through local cuisine and activities. Casa Colonial was one of the few in Puerto Plata that wasn't all inclusive so we looked into it and fell in love.

From the moment we walked in we were greeted by a very helpful and kind staff. They always helped us find new restaurants to try, made our reservations, and tried to get us there (we rented a car and getting around isn't the easiest thing in DR but we did always get to where we wanted to safe and sound!).

The property was gorgeous - lush plants/flowers, pretty birds, lots of places to relax. The beach is pretty private and they have very nice beach chairs + great service beachside. Only downside was that the water isn't as pretty here as other places on the northern coast of DR but still a very nice beach regardless. Still spent time at the beach and enjoyed it a lot. I would just also recommend trying to check out Sosua and Playa Grande for gorgeous beaches while there! We didn't ever make it to the pool but it looked super relaxing as well.

Loved the breakfast here + the outdoor seating is a pretty way to start your day!

Rooms are large and very clean too. Can't complain about a thing! We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves :)

Room Tip: We stayed in Jr Ste with Tropical View and thought it was very roomy and clean. Plus their beds are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Margarete B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, TX
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2011

Posh, relaxing, and perfect place. Room was spacious and extremely comfortable, well furnished. and huge bathrooms. You get the feeling that you're the only ones at the hotel. We got to know most of the employees during our week there - they were very personable, attentive, and very professional.

Great restaurants, great pool and beach. In a perfect location, away from crowds (even have folks that keep those not from the hotel off their area of the beach). With the lush gardens you never even know there is a city nearby. Their website does not fully convey the amazing layout and amenities of the hotel.


More location info: We had a car so traveled to Sosua about 20 minutes to the east to have dinner at some of the great restaurants there, too. An hour+ to Santiago and the cigar factories, etc. We were concerned about going in June due to weather and rain. Hoever, it never rained during our week stay, though it did rain frequently further inland. Coral reef about 100yds off the beach to snorkel.

W Gray, San Antonio, TX

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank STXCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2011

This was a fantastic hotel and great experience. I have been to most of the carribean islands and many great resorts. From the breakers to the Ritz to the Penninsula in Hong Kong. All I can say is this hotel is the equal of any. The beach was fantastic, you are practically there by yourself, the food was great, which is rare in the carribean, and the staff was the most friendly and attentive I have ever seen. It is a great getaway for anyone who wants the ultimate relaxing vacation. Not really a place for kids but just a great getaway. I can't say enough good things about the level of service, quality of the facilities, and incredible value for what you pay. My only advice is to stay away from the Las Vegas type shows and attractions that are away from Playa Dorada. They are a huge disappointment.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great. You can't go wrong. Next time we will definitely book an upstairs ocean...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jdinark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Plata hotels
0.1 mi away
Sunscape Puerto Plata Dominican Republic
0.1 mi away
BlueBay Villas Doradas Adults Only
0.2 mi away
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
#5 of 41 in Puerto Plata
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5,331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Iberostar Costa Dorada
Iberostar Costa Dorada
#2 of 41 in Puerto Plata
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,830 reviews
1.4 mi away
Be Live Collection Marien
Be Live Collection Marien
#9 of 41 in Puerto Plata
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,426 reviews
9.4 mi away
ClubHotel Riu Merengue
ClubHotel Riu Merengue
#14 of 41 in Puerto Plata
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5,300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Colonial Beach & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Colonial Beach & Spa

Property: Casa Colonial Beach & Spa
Address: Playa Dorada, Puerto Plata, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Puerto Plata
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Plata
#2 Business Hotel in Puerto Plata
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Plata
#4 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Plata
#5 Family Hotel in Puerto Plata
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Casa Colonial Beach & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the exotic north coast of the Dominican Republic and directly on the crystal water, Casa Colonial Beach & Spa is the ultimate, world-class resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Casa Colonial Beach & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Colonial Beach And Spa
Casa Colonial Beach Hotel Puerto Plata
Hotel Casa Colonial Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing