We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Guilty Pleasure, Bring your own Party”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort
Ranked #10 of 41 Hotels in Puerto Plata
New York, USA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Guilty Pleasure, Bring your own Party”
Reviewed January 11, 2011

Meticulously manicured grounds. Hedonistic beach beds 5 feet from unlimited drinks and food. Standard buffet food adequate with fresh, healthy options. No real entertainment. Total relaxation. Beach is small but view is lovely. Small surf boards and beach chairs provided. Could not use whatever bikes they may have hidden. Staff if friendly, very helpful. Most are bilingual, and were amused and patient with my attempts to speak Spanish. We never left the resort except for Casino event. Our 3 generation group, with five between 18 and 24, had a perfect time. If you are looking for action and nightlife look elsewhere, or bring your own party.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank NancyFW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,582 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,908
    1,181
    634
    414
    445
See reviews for
1,152
1,489
90
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,019)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bellmore, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2011

The place is beautiful. Check in was lengthy and annoying. They didn't have a room ready for over an hour. Room was nice. Clean, had a balcony and a well stocked fridge ( water, soda and beer) They ask you to go to a welcome meeting, which we didn't. I read it was a sales pitch so we decided not to go to it( in hind sight we probably should have) Restaurants were all good. The asian restaurant was great.. just dont order the orange chicken. The seafood restaurant was also good (portions were small) The Italian restaurant was the exact opposite portions were big. None of the food is fantastic but all good. Buffet everyone can find something at.

The best part of this trip was the VIP beach.. which is open to everyone (even with the white bands) you MUST go early to get a bed. Welllll worth getting there at 7:45 for. Swinging beds that overlook the ocean with a waiter that is constantly coming over to you made the trip awesome. We did tip our waiter $20 everyday.. which he deserved for the service we received. You can also order food at the beach. Garden burger is good. If you don't want to wake up early for the beach there are plenty of lounge chairs by the pool. Weather was gorgeous the whole time.

Went to the Spa.. very relaxing. It's not fancy but it is a nice hidden spot that's worth checking out.

Not much in the way of nightlife... we went with another couple so we always found things to do.

As far as the harassing goes I just ignored it... for the price of $20 a night its dealable...

If you don't go to the meeting make sure you reserve your shuttle to the airport the day before... that was a bit of a headache for us going the day we were leaving to reserve it... we would have known this if we went to their meeting!

If your not looking for a fancy trip this resort offers great value for the money.. I dont think anyone could find a place this beautiful for the kind of price we paid. I pay more money for lunch in NY than i did for one day at this hotel!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pixkit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2011

My friend and I both live in cosmopolitan cities and it's not easy to impress us with food, accommodations, amenities or staffing. After reading some negative reviews posted on this web site, we were braced for the worst and prepared to make the best of a bad situation.
What a pleasant surprise!
The hotel staff were friendly/helpful-plus, the rooms were lovely and kept very clean. We had no problem getting extra towels, having the hot water adjusted, getting information.
Yes, you do need to stand in line to make reservations for the theme restaurants - we had great fun meeting people from all over during this 20 minute wait - and we got into every restaurant we wanted. The buffet (which does not require reservations) was astounding! The food was fresh, and even the 'steam tray' selections were yummy. You'll find numerous entree choices, variety from day to day, a generous salad bar, half a dozen roasted vegetables, various potato and rice dishes and vegetable choices, and at least two carving stations at every meal! Omelets made to order at breakfast and pasts custom-made at dinner. The only food that wasn't GREAT was the bread - and I can only imagine what it takes to make bread in such a humid environment! Even the coffee was notable! My friend is a vegetarian and had no problem putting together meals that worked for her, with no need to ask for special accommodation.
Yes, people reserve the 'beach beds' early in the morning and often don't occupy them most of the day. Shame on them. But despite those selfish people, we were able to get our own the two days we wanted - and there are other beaches and several patios with beach chairs and umbrellas to enjoy if the beach beds are all taken. No matter - all is close to the lovely sound of the ocean and we were waited on like kings and queens no matter where we hung out.
I'm surprised to read that some people endured 'drunken idiots' - we were, again, pleasantly surprised at the civility we observed amongst the guests. The drinkers tended to hang out at the bars, leaving many beautiful venues for quiet respite. And our sleeping went undisturbed.
We were impressed by the quality of the body-workers at the spas.
Not much to see outside of the compound - but - why would you want to leave????
The only thing that would have made this trip better would have been more accessible snorkeling - snorkeling required a full day trip, too much time spent on a bus and a boat for the amount of time in action. But, once there, the snorkeling was delightful.
I've recommended to friends, and will return!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cathy_Sarala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waurika, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2011

My husband and I took this trip with our best friends and we had a fantastic time. The people who work at Lifestyles are friendly and accomodating, except for the front desk workers who were a little rude. The bartenders were amazingly friendly and the beach was beautiful. Cheap Caribbean customers get a VIP upgrade which allows you on the VIP beach that has covered and open beds right on the beach with jacuzzis and food and drink brought to you either at your bed, at the jacuzzi, or at the private bar area. The rooms are nothing special but are spacious and clean. How much time are you going to spend in there anyway?

The food was OK, nothing special. It wasn't bad. The drinks are non-stop and were awsome. They do try to get you to go on a tour and buy into a vacation club, but you can definately say no.

We bought a snorkeling trip and it was an all day amazing adventure. Definately worth the $80 a piece which was also an all-inclusive price.

If you want extreme luxury on your vacation this is probably not for you. However, if you want an amazing vacation on a budget I would highly recommed Lifestyles Tropical. We loved it and would definately go back.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cpryorelkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2011

You get what you pay for. We were allocated a Residence Suite which was Lovely, Spacious, roomy balcony and in a Quieter location. Room was cleaned everyday with clean towels and our fridge stocked daily with beer, water, coke etc..... if we wanted extra we left a note with a dollar bill in the fridge. Hot shower everyday and never had a cause to complain.
We did have a Rep introduced to us, who was very curtious. Arranged Champagne, Vodka, brandy, Wine etc ( what ever we wanted) delivered to our room. We took the tour of the resort to the villas and other suites and was impressed. Our rep got us a reservation at the AZUL restaurant ( which we got free... usually $95 surcharge) which was a fantastic night, Delicious Goumet food with apperitifes in The Spot complete with belly dancers.
We upgraded to V.I.P Membership and got our Gold Band, this gave us access to all restaurants and the beautiful Serenity beach and Harmony Beach..... Heaven!!!!
Our favourite restaurants were Azul, Simply Gourmet and Jazz, .....Outstanding food and wine....ate twice at each of these and had no difficulty getting a reservation. The Mexican was also lipsmacking delicious. The Blue Lagoon was okay ( just wasnt hungry enough) Bellini, we didnt enjoy and was really disappointed. The Indochine was terrible on the night we dined here and never went again. Dined only once in the Casablanca for our evening meal and the food was just okay, hated the queing and walking round looking for a clean table and worst of all the Wine .YUK!!!!!!!!!!! Breakfast was reasonable in here with lots of choice ( if you like breakfasts like this)and an omlette station, coffee is good too.Being English the breakfasts didn't do it for us. ( If your english and reading this you'll do well packing a bottle of daddies or HP sauce)
The V.I.P beaches are beautiful especially serenity beach with its hammocks and swings. the sea seems to be calmer here also. Enjoyed the V.I.P Pool area and Harmony beach , all have great lunch menus ..... loved the chicken skewers at Harmony. Lots going on at harmony beach for teens with volleyball and games etc. Best for Lunch we found was Anjas lounge which has relaxing surroundings and tasty food ..... hold on it when the helicopter takes off!!!!
I thought The Welcome Party on the pennisula was pretty fantastic. New Years Eve Party was probably the best party Ive ever been too ..... you just had to be there!!!!!!!!!!!
I could go on & on but I found this resort to deliver so much and is probably one of the best I have been too ............ BUT.......... if your staying in the tropical apartments and eating everyday at the casablanca, drinking local beer & wine, and sunbathing on the public beach, you will see things much much differently............. Remember! You get what you pay for.

Booked again for 2011 2 weeks Dec/Jan in the Presidential Suites and so looking forward to getting on that comfy padded sunbed with champagne in hand.....ahh........... Happy Holidays!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sewessential
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holly Springs, North Carolina
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2011

Let me start by saying I've traveled to many places. However this place had to be the worst. Prepare yourselves to be hounded and harassed by the timeshare salesmen. We were literally stalked by one of them and the security guards were in on it. After we told the salesman we were not interested he waited outside of our patio. Finally he left, but as soon as we exited our room there stood a security guard who whistled and guess who showed up. That annoying sales man. He followed us into the pool and to the restaraunt. We had to sit there forever waiting for him to leave. We got to the point that we didn't even enjoy going out of the room because there he was.
The beach is horrible. There was broken glass and trash everywhere, you couldn't enjoy walking on the beach without your shoes on.
This review may not sound fair, but this was my experience. Form your own opinion, but you need to know what to look out for.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GrnEydSher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2011

Don't expect good service or good food. The VIP services desk was rarely manned (we stopped by five times, and only found someone there twice; plus we called twice and someone only answered once). They were unable to get us the free Ocean World tickets that came with our reservation despite two requests, and they were unable to make us dinner reservations because either "you have to do it from 1pm to 3pm" - which we tried - or "there's no availability." The food at the buffet was underwhelming. On "barbecue night" the meat hadn't been cooked long enough and wasn't tender at all; at breakfast they threw the bacon on the grill without separating the slices - laziness that leads to gummy and unevenly cooked meat. Adding insult to injury, the in-room safe isn't part of the all-inclusive - it's $3 per day - a miserly touch. Our frustration was such that we checked out after just two nights, after failing to get a dinner reservation on the third night.

On the plus side - the VIP beach cabanas were nice, and included with a VIP reservation, although you have to wake up early and put a magazine on a bed in order to stake your claim (which we learned too late); and the food at the Italian restaurant was decent. We're not big drinkers, but maybe if you go for the beach and the booze and the reasonable prices, and you get good weather, you might be happier than we were.

Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Summer10011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Plata hotels
0.3 mi away
Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort
5.3 mi away
Be Live Collection Marien
Be Live Collection Marien
#9 of 41 in Puerto Plata
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,502 reviews
6.6 mi away
Sunscape Puerto Plata Dominican Republic
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
#5 of 41 in Puerto Plata
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5,371 reviews
6.7 mi away
BlueBay Villas Doradas Adults Only
5.4 mi away
Iberostar Costa Dorada
Iberostar Costa Dorada
#2 of 41 in Puerto Plata
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,967 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort

Property: The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort
Address: Columbus Torre 1 | Playa Cofresi, Puerto Plata 57000, Dominican Republic (Formerly Lifestyle Tropical Beach Resort & Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Puerto Plata
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Puerto Plata
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Plata
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Plata
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 282
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set within the sprawling Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort, The Tropical offers a classic hotel vacation experience set within quaint, two- and threestory, Mediterranean-style buildings. The mood is laid-back and distinctively Caribbean. Guest enjoy all resort facilities and amenities (excluding the V.I.P areas) including swimming pools, a choice of excellent restaurants, exercise rooms, tennis courts, windsurfing and so much more. The Lifestyle Tropical is Ideal for couples seeking a private island hide-away with all the advantages of a world-class resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, TravelUp, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lifestyle Tropical Beach Hotel Puerto Plata
Lifestyle Tropical Beach Resort And Spa
Lifestyle Tropical Beach Resort Spa
Hacienda Tropical
Hotel Lifestyle Tropical Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing