We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Had A Great Time” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort
Ranked #10 of 41 Hotels in Puerto Plata
Odenton, Maryland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Had A Great Time”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2010

We were just like everyone else when we first heard about the $10 a night deal. We thought it couldn't be true. Finally after reading the reviews of others we booked 5 nights. We have no complaints. Some of the food wasn't up to par but there was always something else to try. We had a great time and would love to do it again for that price.

One note of caution: the time share presentation was not required but the sales people lied and did everything they could to get you to listen to the spiel. My wife told them we had somewhere to be (the beach) so we could leave.

The only trip we took was the all day "Town" trip. If you've never been to a country like the DR it might be interesting, but it was boring to us. The tram up the mountain was great but the rest consisted of being driven to some shops and having to stand around for an hour until the bus started moving again.

There is a local that runs in front of the resort that will take you to the tram for about $1. Our only regret is not using the bus and avoiding the jewelry and cigar "factories."

We had hoped for white sand beaches but apparently those are on the Caribbean side. Since our goal was really to get away and spend time focusing on each other we thought the trip was well worth it

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ebrjr1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,494 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,869
    1,156
    626
    402
    441
See reviews for
1,116
1,464
85
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,010)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Palmetto, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2010

We recently went to Lifestyle for a 7 day trip. Reading some of the negative reviews, we were very worried. We had a great time. True that our first two hours of the day were spent waiting in line but, we met some very interesting people. Our room was in building 5 and our view was great! We didn't have to worry about the sun shining on our balcony and could sit out there in the afternoons and enjoy a drink. Our room was clean and although there might have been a slight smell, we were in a tropical location and it is very humid there. Food as the buffet was fine for breakfast and lunch but I wasn't too impressed for dinner which we had to do on our first night. The workers were all very friendly and we were not harrassed at all for time shares. Never had a problem getting a chair at the pool but we loved the VIP beds so we did wait in line for those.

Overall, I think it was a great bang for the buck. We paid for two people way less than for one at Sandals and this was for one night longer and included airfare. If you want a cheap getaway then this is for you. If you want a 5-star then don't think you are going to get one for this price. It upset me to hear people complaining when they only paid a small price for a weeks vacation. You get what you pay for!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rktaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2010

My husband and I were looking for a quick 5 day relaxing getaway so we booked thru Cheap Carribean. The airport transport was seamless as was check in. After that it went down hill.

Our room was musty and outdated. The TV, Iron and coffee maker did not work. The front desk did manage to get our TV working, but did not replace or fix the others. The mini bar (including water) was not refilled. I had to ask the front desk for water and shampoo which were not replenished.

Food - where to begin. The buffet was disgusting for all meals. You had to stand in line for dinner reservations starting at 8:30am in order to even have a chance at one of their restaurants - which were mediocre at best. Even if you got into one of their restaurants you had to wait in this line each day for dinner reservations for the following evening.

Beach - the beach was the most redeeming quality. Nice staff, nice beach - very clean. There are beautiful beds on the bead (as shown in the resorts photos). In order to get a chance at one of these beds, you had to wait in line starting at 7am for well over an hour. Once the gate to the beds is unlocked, it's chaos with people running to secure their bed for the day. Many then put their stuff on a bed and left to go have breakfast, only to come back several hours later. So many beds didn't get used until mid day. The entire system was ridiculous. The bed line was stressful and dangerous with elderly people practically being pushed aside during the stampede. The food at the VIP beach was decent and the staff was really great at the beach.

The "sharks" circling with clipboards every morning to get you to go to their timeshare meeting were a bit much, but expected. There was a hierarchy of classes of guests which made the lines and disorder more apparent with every day. Run very poorly and in need of new management as well as a new head chef.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sharky8is2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wilsont8
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2010

My wife and I also joined the Cheap Caribbean $10/day per person deal, and were skeptical of what we would receive. Our transportation from the airport to the resort was on time and friendly. Check in was efficient, and our room was clean and well stocked with water, soda, and beer. The resort itself is a class restrictive resort...... those VIP members with gold bands get preference over everyone else. You get the gold band only by buying into the Vacation Club.

The dining venues are assorted, and the food is good. However, successfully getting into the restaurant of your choice entails waiting in line by 8 a.m. . of the day you wish to eat. The lists fill quickly due to "gold" VIP members having preference. The bars all serve local liquors and beer, but the drinks are limitless and very good, and the staff very friendly.

As in any country, tips will get you better and faster service. "Though not expected, tips are appreciated."

We did wind up buying into the LHVC, and we hope it becomes a good decision, rather than one we regret.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank wilsont8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2010

The property is very nice but the rooms are in need of renovation. Everything is nice but very old 80's-90's style. Our room had a small living room with older worn furniture and the bathroom shower was being held together with plumbers epoxy but it worked and there was hot water, the pressure was a little low but it was ok. The bed was comfortable and there was a small tv that got a few channels that were clear.
There are three big pools which were very clean, one has a bar in it. There are activities for kids also. I noticed a lot of local people staying there as it is a timeshare which they will hound you to take the tour, dont do it unless you have three or more hours to kill.
There are three "gourmet" restaurants and they take reservations one day in advance only we couldnt get into two of them. The buffet is nice all of the food is fresh and that's where we ate most of the trip.
The spa is very nice too. It has anything you can think of to pamper yourself.
The people and staff were very nice also. everyone smiling and happy to see you. We would travel there again for a quick getaway.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bobbyjay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2010

I would go back to this resort. This is not a luxury facility, but that is not what I was looking for. The value was very good.

The location is great. The food at the main buffet was ok. We couldn't get in to any of the specialty restaurants because they booked quickly. The drinks at the VIP beach bar were much better than the regular bars. This location is much different than Punta Cana. Many more non-beach activities. I took two excursions. The horseback adventure was wonderful and very scenic. The waterfall adventure was great. Most of the group was under 30, but I was able to keep up (with the help of the guides). It was a blast. I also had a massage at the Spa. It was quite enjoyable. This is part of a timeshare resort and we were approached by salesmen. We went to the sales pitch, but left after 5 minutes. There was not a hard sale.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelswell13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tombstone, Arizona
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2010

We did have a good time, however, a Thursday evening dinner and show at Ocean World was offered but canceled at the LAST minute ONLY for those traveling with Cheap Caribbean. Thursday evening 11/11/10 at 8:30 p.m., the lobby of Lifestyle was full of guests (80 or so) who were furious because after 1. Not making dinner reservations, 2. Getting "dressed up" as required by Ocean World's dress code, and 3. Looking forward to an evening "out", Lifestyle arbitrarily canceled the Ocean World offer ONLY for Cheap Caribbean customers. Everyone else got to go. There was no explanation given as to why. The manager came out who supposedly didn't speak English, so no satisfaction there. We were seriously considering buying into their "membership" program, but after this happened. we said "NO WAY."
The rest of the week was enjoyable. The VIP beach was great, the buffet adequate. We only were able to go to the seafood restaurant and the mexican restaurant. The mexican restaurant was a disappointment, but I'm from Tucson (self-proclaimed Mexican food capital of the U.S.), so I probably expected too much. Food service at the VIP beach was the best food around as far as I'm concerned.
The pools were nice and clean, however the jacuzzi's were not heated. The ocean was warmer. Really enjoyed being in the ocean, beautiful water.
Most all the rooms seem to have ocean views. There is quite a bit of walking to get from one place to another, but in the process, didn't gain any weight!
Sushi bar down by the VIP beach was good, but pretty much limited to California rolls. There is free WIFI at the Sushi Bar only.
The six of us hired a taxi to take us on a city tour. It cost $60 for all of us and the driver stayed with us all day. A good deal as the resort-organized tour was $50 each.
The Sales Representatives were always around the buffet restaurant, but we didn't really find them obnoxious. We just told them we weren't interested and they left us alone (until the next time we saw them). But they did take no for an answer each time without harassing us.
Overall, a nice vacation for the price, but I see no reason to go back. Would recommend going there once for the right price.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank The_Wanderers15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Plata hotels
6.7 mi away
Casa Colonial Beach & Spa
Casa Colonial Beach & Spa
#5 of 41 in Puerto Plata
4.5 of 5 bubbles 520 reviews
6.6 mi away
Sunscape Puerto Plata Dominican Republic
0.4 mi away
Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Be Live Collection Marien
Be Live Collection Marien
#9 of 41 in Puerto Plata
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,305 reviews
6.6 mi away
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
#4 of 41 in Puerto Plata
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5,233 reviews
6.6 mi away
BlueBay Villas Doradas Adults Only
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort

Property: The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort
Address: Columbus Torre 1 | Playa Cofresi, Puerto Plata 57000, Dominican Republic (Formerly Lifestyle Tropical Beach Resort & Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Puerto Plata
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Puerto Plata
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Plata
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Plata
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 282
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set within the sprawling Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort, The Tropical offers a classic hotel vacation experience set within quaint, two- and threestory, Mediterranean-style buildings. The mood is laid-back and distinctively Caribbean. Guest enjoy all resort facilities and amenities (excluding the V.I.P areas) including swimming pools, a choice of excellent restaurants, exercise rooms, tennis courts, windsurfing and so much more. The Lifestyle Tropical is Ideal for couples seeking a private island hide-away with all the advantages of a world-class resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, BookIt.com, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lifestyle Tropical Beach Resort And Spa
Lifestyle Tropical Beach Hotel Puerto Plata
Lifestyle Tropical Beach Resort Spa
Hacienda Tropical
Hotel Lifestyle Tropical Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing