We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average, you make the best of your vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort
Ranked #10 of 39 Hotels in Puerto Plata
NJ
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Average, you make the best of your vacation”
Reviewed May 14, 2007

This hotel was average, the staff was respondant to telephone calls regarding activities and dinner reservations on the resort. The food at the Bellini and Tex Mex was one of the better places to eat and the disc at night could have offered better music selection in terms of music from the island itself. Overall, the trip was refreshing and you should make the best of the situation while on vacation.

  • Liked — price
  • Disliked — food selections
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoJa99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,660 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,943
    1,200
    644
    417
    456
See reviews for
1,185
1,511
93
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,028)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portage, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2007

We just got back from our vacation. We were a little reluctant considering some of the reviews. I think it depends on your expectation. If you are expecting a five star resort, but you book standard rooms you will be disappointed. I have been in many countries and stayed at many hotels. I would rate this as possibly a 3.5 star hotel overall. The people at the front desk could use a class on customer service. All the other staff we encountered were friendly but many did not speak english. The rooms were acceptable except for the musty odor due to the humidity. They did change the linens daily but this did not seem to help. We also had to ask for water every day. The food was very good. Even the buffet provided a large variety. The buffet features a different cuisiine each night; French, German, DR, etc. You can also book the restaraunts (Italian, Seafood, Asian). These are free but you must book the day before you intend to dine in one of them. The beach/water is somewhat dirty since Puerto Plata is on the Atlantic rather than the Carribean. The pools were nice and the pool areas provided shade which I loved. There are limited tours available. Again, it depends on your expectations. The area does not have a large number of attractions. We went to Ocean World (very nice and interactive), the city tour w/cable car ride (not great) and the water falls which also included coffee making, cock fight (with mittens, no blood), local shopping and then climbing and jumping off of 7 water falls. Everyone seemed to enjoy this tour. Many people did the Paradise Island snorkeling and seemed to love it but we have snorkeled in many areas so did not take this tour. Cabs are extremely expensive. If you plan to do a lot of traveling off of the resort and not taking a tour, you would be wise to invest in a rental car. We went into Sosua which was 30 minutes from Puerto Plata and the cab ride was $65. The price of gas is over $5 a gallon so either way it is very costly. The food and drink are free on the resort and they are not shy with the alcohol. The alcohol at the disco is not free and is expensive. The place to go seems to be Mangu which was also called a disco. It is 20 minutes from the resort and cost $50 for the round trip cab. The time share people approached you frequently at the resort but all I said was "no thank you, I am not interested" and they would go away. I hope this helps you. I went to rest and relax. Drinking and eating for free was a plus.

  • Liked — Food was very good; people were friendly
  • Disliked — musty smell to bedding
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank no1vacationnut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2007

Our stay was a FLOP. I wouldnt recommend this resort to anyone other then someone you do not like. There were many problems along the way, and the resort did not want to fix them. First off DO NOT LOOSE YOUR KEY. you are given ONE key for your room. if you loose it, it will cost you $1,000.00. that what the first issue and we were ready to get in the next taxi and fly home. but i found the key finally. the food was terrible. WARM salad. everything was warm. At home you are use to a cold crisp salad. news flash not out there! the endonesian place had the best food. the alc was terrible. dont think your inclusive resort will give you good boos, bc it was like watered down. the beach is NOT private, so the natives are on the beach with you. they stock you, walk with you. talk to you. its annoying. im 18 yr old and italian, im very tan and they thought i was one of them. it wasnt plesent. dont buy anything from the pple. why spend alot of money on those poor ple when you can come home and buy something worth your money. the disco was awsome. alot of fun. the TV never worked. we had them change the TV like 7 times. and it never worked. certain rooms got english stations. mine did not beside MSNBC and the weather channel. it wasnt plesant. the showers... eek. no door on it. so the water flows into the bathroom. it wasnt good planning. get the pools early, the chairs are taken fast, along with the towels. after the first day we kept the towel and brought it back the next day to get a clean one, if they didnt have one et least u have one from the day before to get dry wtih until you get a clean one. the swim up bar is located in the DEEP END.. not smart when you drink one to many. Ocean world was fun. we swam with the sea lions. very cute and alot of fun. the birds there are very neat looking, be careful around the parrots, i got bit by one of them. it broke the skin. and hurt!!! no one at the resort speaks english, im sure they do but they choose not to. the signiture shot out there is a must. it was good. not bad. it was wine and rum, that was sitting in a bottle full of bark. interesting. I herd the VIP people were treated much better then we were. but by some of the comments i question that. we found a nice pool by the villas and we were probably the only pple at it. the sun is HOT. bring lots of sun screeen. i tan normally and ive traved alot, ive never burned before. let me tell ya there is a first for everything. i burnt and pealed. the entertainment at night was good some night and bad others. the younger people that work there, dont look like they enjoy there job, they dont really smile. the place it self is very nice, just he service and food was terrible. DONT BUY THE COMPUTER CARDS. DONT SWITCH YOUR CELL PHONES OVER TO WORK OUT THERE> THEY WONT!! High speed interenet. think again!! it works when it wants to. i did go bun buggy riding. it was awsome. i suggest everyone do it. we went when it was raining. we got extra muddy, and it was 4 hours of riding. i loved every minute of it. bring a spanish dictionary! ive taken 5 yr of spanish and i spoke in more spanish then i did in english the hole trip.many pple were disappionted in the place. so it wasnt just my family. the rooms SMELLED. they were wet and damp. our clothes rarely dried bc of the wetness. the electric in your room is only on when ur key is in the wall. i was luck enough to get a card from the towel stand that had the notch so i kept our electric on all day and air on. so it was cold when we got back in the room. the gift shops are VERY OVER PRICED! $25 for sun screen i told the lady off in spanish. it was an expierience. the europeans!!! NO TOPS, and lil kids with no clothes on. SPEEDOS!!! my eyes were closed most of the time there. it was gross!!! im sure im missing other bad parts to this trip, but i dont recomend it at all for anyone. you get what u pay for i guess. but we surely didnt. we are use to the atlantis and high class. and this was far from that. the pictures make it look soooo great and it is. just the service and food is terrible and we are people that enjoy out food. so it was a flop for us. good luck if you go. i look forward to hear other comments.
good luck with your trip.
Jersey Girl 99

Stayed April 2007
Helpful?
5 Thank jerseygirl99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2007

I was very skeptical after reading bad review after bad review about this place but had already booked our honeymoon and it was too late to change. Overall, the resort was very nice and we had a very pleasant stay.

We arrived on Wednesday May 2 after a great flight on Continental from Newark, NJ. When arriving to the airport you are greeted with a small band playing Caribbean music as you walk down the long terminal hallway towards immigration. At immigration you are forced to pay a $10USD tourist fee to enter the country. Our car that we reserved from the hotel was waiting for us ($45USD one way) and whisked us away.

We arrived at the hotel 40 minutes later and were greeted by a very friendly staff and a tropical punch drink (which we needed after that crazy ride through the streets of Puerto Plata). Immediately, we were given a card to take a VIP tour the next day (timeshare sell) The bellhop brought us to our room and gave us a quick tour of the beautiful resort on our way.

The room was very nice, with a king sized bed, air conditioning, a mini fridge stocked with water, Pepsi, 7up, and beer. The bathroom was interesting and it became immediately obvious why the past reviews all mentioned that it flooded. There is no shower curtain and only a small wall to keep the water in the tub and off the floor. It was a very nice looking shower/tub but not very practical at all.

The television does have some US channels like ESPN, ABC, CBS, NBC, TBS, TNT, NASA, and Discovery. All are out of NY which was a plus for us. This became very important during the week because life can get pretty boring during the daily rainstorms and evenings.

The food at the resort was for the most part excellent. The buffet is open everyday for breakfast, lunch, and dinner. There are 4 ala carte theme restaurants throughout the resort that are open for dinner certain days of the week and must be reserved in advanced the previous day between 1-3pm (which was a pain because most people are out on excursions at that time). The Italian restaurant is also open for lunch everyday which was almost like a big secret in the resort.

The pools were spread out all over the place and some busier than others. All were very well kept and enjoyable with a swim up bar at one.

The most disappointing part of the resort for me was definitely the beach. The beach was not a typical Caribbean beach with clear water and white sands. It was a lot like the beaches in NJ only not as nice. There are a few local shops on the beach and the locals make sure to let you know that they want you in there to look around. The beach bothered us at first until we took a few excursions and used some of the nicer beaches.

Overall we had a great time and the resort well exceeded our expectations going in.

  • Liked — The grounds were amazingly kept
  • Disliked — They allowed children so it reuined the romantic atmosphere
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank billchrz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2007

I would go back to the resort because of the price not because it was the best place I have ever stayed. My one bit of advice is to rent a villa through one of the owners. For only a little more you get sooooooo much more. I don't think I would have been very impressed if we were staying at the hotel.

Having the benefit of the VIP areas ( and yes I think all resort guests should have the same benefits) really helped make the stay. We had a three bedroom, three and a half bath villa with a private pool and breakfast prepared for us each day. I think our cost for four people was only about $900 each. That included room, food and airfare. What a great deal.

We were not one of the lucky to have a cart but my husband and I and my two boys ages 7 and 10 did not mind walking. You need some exercise to burn off the calories. There were tiles missing in the pool but it was kept clean by maintenance everyday and was great for the boys to swim in so my husband and I could take our time to get ready in the morning. We brought dollar store floats and some dive sticks for entertainment. My husband did go save chairs at the main entertainment pool, fun for the kids. There was water polo and basketball and volleyball. There are ping pong tables and pool tables. Lots to do. The main pool is a little loud from 11:00 to 12:00 but then was quieter until 3:00 when they do the chocolate dance. By the end of the week my kids were getting up to do it too!!. We met some very nice people during our visit.

The resort is dated but they seem to be trying to do some upkeep. We had no problem with the food. The VIP restaurant was great and the sushi bar by the VIP Beach was also top notch. If you are not able to have that then the fish at the blue lagoon was very good and pizza and pasta at the italian was nice for lunch and dinner. The buffet had some good food and a pasta station and good salads. I couldn't imagine not being able to find something for everyone. One of the main differences is the liquor at the regular bars is bottom stock. The VIP bars have Jose Cuervo, Absolute, Baccardi and better wine. If that matters to you than think about it. The pina coladas and daquiris are made fresh in a blender, at the resort bar its the slushy machine. The beer is the same everywhere, Presidente and it is quite good.

We went to Ocean World, it is expensive but we enjoyed it very much. We did the dolphin encounter as opposed to the swim and it seemed just as good for less money.

The beaches here are not the best they are smaller, but the water is clear and warm and ejoyable to swim in. We borrowed boogie boards at the water sports shack and also went kayaking, the boys played the small nine hole course nearby (complimentary greens fees but you must pay for the caddy and cart, cash) It was a fine course for them to play and they had a great time.

All in all we had a great time and felt we got a lot for the movey.

  • Liked — 3 bedroom 31/2 bath with a pool!!
  • Disliked — Needs new mattresses and updating in the bathrooms.
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank mcgNewJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick Md.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2007

When we decided to book into a 'value' priced hotel we didn't know what to expect. What a wonderful surprise to see such a pretty property with the ocean at your door steep.Food was great and abundant.Plenty of loungechairs, and very clean pools.The staff was wonderful.Lots of activities for kids and adults.Rooms were a little used but not bad for the money.Again the staff was awsome and the trip worth every penny. Recommend flying into Puerto Plata not Santiago

Stayed April 2007
Helpful?
3 Thank FrederickMdtravelguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlantic County
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2007

You'll get out of this resort vacation, what you put into it. We quickly met those that are doing all of this complaining, and trust us, they must live this way every day. We spent fro 4/18 to 4/25 here and enjoyed every moment and felt that we got entirely what we paid for....nothing more....nothing less. Our trip here was meant to be an inexpensive trip, to a moderately priced resort, to relax. And that we did. There's no controlling the weather....only the attitudes. We were embarrassed by the behavior of many of the American guests as they complained about every little thing from not being able to get 2nd room keys to finding centipedes in their rooms....PS....all the rooms have balconies or terraces, you're in the tropics and those little creatures look for shelter occasionally.....are your homes critter free year round?And when they did not get what they wanted, they threatened with poor reviews. We tipped a few dollars a day to our maid and had a fully stocked refrig each day, a cleaned room and bath. The bathrooms are "European" style for those who obviously aren't aware of this style. Very boutiquish and not a problem....for non complainers.
Rooms are basic and basically furnished, and frankly, if you're spending too much time in your room...why are you there? The buffet food was GOOD. Not great, not bad....but more than acceptable. They did their best to try to have something for everyone. There were often regional dishes to try, as I did, that were very tasty. Yet we constantly heard Americans complain that they wanted food they were use to.....then why where you in a foreign land. Get out!....travel more...food doesn't taste the same everywhere. From Northern US to Southern US there's a world of regional differences. Why not expect the same in another country. Yes, were there things to complain about if you were inclined....sure. But that wasn't why we were here...and there were many more enjoyable things. The pools were great, the service at the morning buffet....MARIA....was wonderful. They appreciated the small acknowledgements and offered much attention. We found this with all that we were nice to....and hey....that seemed to be the difference between those of us that were having a good time and those who were not. We treated the staff....from the maid to the concierge, like we like to be treated and in every case...it paid off.
If you need a cheap, relaxing vacation with not a lot of thrills....it's fine. If you want champagne on a beer pocketbook....go somewhere else and leave these poor people alone. They deserve better.

  • Liked — The friendly response to friendly treatment. We enjoyed the quiet intimacy and relaxation.
  • Disliked — It's beautiful but basic...which was ok for this trip, but maybe not every trip.
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
8 Thank msdon2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Plata hotels
0.3 mi away
Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort
6.7 mi away
BlueBay Villas Doradas Adults Only
5.3 mi away
Be Live Collection Marien
Be Live Collection Marien
#9 of 39 in Puerto Plata
3,706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Sunscape Puerto Plata Dominican Republic
6.6 mi away
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
#6 of 39 in Puerto Plata
5,441 reviews
5.4 mi away
Iberostar Costa Dorada
Iberostar Costa Dorada
#2 of 39 in Puerto Plata
7,179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort

Property: The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort
Address: Columbus Torre 1 | Playa Cofresi, Puerto Plata 57000, Dominican Republic (Formerly Lifestyle Tropical Beach Resort & Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Puerto Plata
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Puerto Plata
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Plata
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Plata
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 282
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set within the sprawling Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort, The Tropical offers a classic hotel vacation experience set within quaint, two- and threestory, Mediterranean-style buildings. The mood is laid-back and distinctively Caribbean. Guest enjoy all resort facilities and amenities (excluding the V.I.P areas) including swimming pools, a choice of excellent restaurants, exercise rooms, tennis courts, windsurfing and so much more. The Lifestyle Tropical is Ideal for couples seeking a private island hide-away with all the advantages of a world-class resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Hotels.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lifestyle Tropical Beach Hotel Puerto Plata
Lifestyle Tropical Beach Resort And Spa
Lifestyle Tropical Beach Resort Spa
Hacienda Tropical
Hotel Lifestyle Tropical Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing