We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort
Ranked #11 of 40 Hotels in Puerto Plata
Reviewed January 24, 2007

There were some persons only trying to sell us some kind of mebership. We told them we were not interrested, but they keeped on trying. This really wasted our holiday there.

We even couldn't walk out of the resort, because it was too 'dangerous'. We rebooked our holiday too Casa Marina in Sosua. No sellers. And we could walk out of the hotel because it was less dangerous there!

  • Stayed: January 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank MrEmilio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,878)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,279 - 4,285 of 4,878 reviews

Reviewed January 23, 2007

The resort is definately not 5 star, but it is a beautiful resort that is clean and well maintained, the attention to detail was incredible. My wife and I have 2 little girls 7 and 5 years old. We couldn't get them out of the pools and the ocean. Pools were clean and fun to play in. The ocean and beach was small, but plenty of room to play, kids love the waves, not too big not too small. The food was decent, not gourmet, but we went to play not to sit around and eat. The buffet was decent with a nice variety of fresh foods, even with picky children we didn't have touble finding plenty they would eat. The weather turned out perfect for the week we were there. We met many wonderful guests from around the world and it was a pleasure to spend time with them. The staff was first rate, we got everything we needed very quickly, I guess a nice word and a smile get much farther with them than criticism and complaining, I am sure tipping doesn't hurt either. Everyone that worked at the resort would great us with a smile and a Hola. Hate to be back in the cold...... We had some troubles checking it (our room had only one bed) but it was resolved right away, they brought some hide away beds for the night, and we were moved to a new room the very next day. We didn't have hot water for one morning, but it got fixed by evening. None of these things stopped our vacation from being perfect.

Stayed: January 2007
10  Thank marshhal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2007

We just got back from the Lifestyle Resort in the DR this week. We've been to most of the Caribbean on cruise ships but this was the first time we flew into an island to stay and our first time in the DR. We'd read some of the earlier negative reviews from when the resort was remodeling but we decided to keep an open mind. We were glad we did. Honestly, we don't know how they managed to give us such a great stay when we paid so little for it. The room was good sized, comfortable and clean. The shower tended to overflow but we just put a towel down and it was fine. Our maid got my husband extra pillows for his bad back and kept our fridge stocked with the drinks we liked best as well as plenty of bottled water. She kept the room looking great. There were several lovely pools to choose from, one right outside our room. The beach was kept very clean. There are more waves because it's on the Atlantic but the water temp was great and the activity center had boogie boards and kayaks to use. We never used the bikes because we're too lazy but they are available. We never had any problem getting towels for the beach so we never used the ones we brought just in case. If you go to the beach too late in the morning it gets hard to find beach chairs though so go before breakfast and save some. There were vendors and Club sales reps there but when we said no they didn't bother us. We went to the vacation Club sales thing out of curiosity but it takes a couple of hours so don't go unless you are really interested. It was tempting but we decided it wasn't for us. The food was really good but don't expect it to be the caliber of a cruise ship. it's much better than we expected though. It was annoying to have to book a reservation for the specialty dining the day before but it's understandable that in order to keep prices down they have to have somewhat of a count. They also don't have each specialty restaurant open every night so check the schedule at the front desk so you can eat exactly where you want while you're there. The buffet was great though and sometimes we ate at a specialty restaurant and then our husbands ate again at the buffet. OK, I'll admit it, sometimes we girls did too but only a little bit! The staff was wonderful, very friendly and helpful. Although tips are included for meals, we brought dollar bills and gave them out to the staff who were especially helpful and the bell boys, our tour guides, and our rep. They can't use American change there though, only bills. We also gave a big tip to the maid, she was awesome. Because we went in the off season, there were a few times it rained a little but it was always in the evening and not for long. A cheap rain poncho helps. The entertainment is a bit amateurish but they make up for it in enthusiasm. The dancing parts are really good though. It's worth seeing every night but is still not cruise ship caliber. They try hard though. We never had any problem with sand fleas but the last few days we were there it didn't rain in the evening and the mosquitos came out after dark so bring along some insect repellent. Ocean World is a tiny Sea World but the interactive stuff you can do with the dolphins, sea lions, and sharks is amazing and unique. It's within walking distance but there is a shuttle from the hotel. It has a small casino too that they are expanding. We did the Paradise Island snorkeling/mangrove trip and it was worth every penny but the bus trip to the boat was long. The reef was beautiful. The old saying goes that you get what you pay for, well we paid very little and got more than we expected. We loved our stay and plan to go again.
Roberts and Newbolds

  • Stayed: January 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
25  Thank travelerUtah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2007

We have just returned from one week at the lifestyle tropical beach resort and spa. Myself, husband and teenage daughter had a wonderful holiday. We traveled with Go Travel Direct and both flights were smooth and on time. We arrived close to midnight and check in was very quick. Our room consisted of 2 queen beds, a triple closet with mirrored doors which was nice and a stand up shower. The room was clean, the air conditioning worked very well and the only complaint I would say I had with the room was that the beds were not very comfortable. They consisted of mattresses on wooden platforms but we made do.

I have to say I was a little nervous going to this resort because of all the negative reviews I read. I even inquired at one point about changing resorts and I am so glad we didn't because we would have missed out on a wonderful vacation. The resort is beautiful. The grounds are kept very nice, the beach is amazing and the people are so friendly.

The resort itself is very big because of the three resorts in one. It consists of the Crown suites and VIP section, the Vitalis Garden and the Lifestyle Tropical. In my opinion the Lifestyle is in the best location. It is the closest to the beach. The view of the ocean from the buffet is to die for and we didn't feel deprived at all not being in the VIP section.

The food in the buffet was amazing. My daughter and myself are very pickey eaters and we loved the food and the selection. They have different theme nights and you will always find something you like. There are 4 a'la carte's that you can go to once per week each. We only went to the Indochine (Asian) and it was excellent. We found the selection at the buffet was just to good to risk going elsewhere and not enjoying it.

The bars consisted of the Lobby bar, the pool bar and the beach bar. The beach bar made the best banana mama's. There usually wasn't a problem getting a lounger at the beach unless you went really late. We would get our three right after breakfast and leave the towels on them for the day. Even if you went for lunch when you came back they were still there no problem!!!

The evening entertainment was not always that exciting but they tried. Most of the events are held at the amphitheare a short walk away. The only problem with that is that it seemed to rain every evening for a quick shower but once it did everything was too wet to sit down. The entertainment team also organized games at the beach and pool area each day and they were always good for a laugh. I had a better time watching then participating.

The weather for Jan. was very hot. It averaged about 82-84 every day. We got alot of rain while there but it always came late evening, at night and before breakfast. Once the sun came out it was wonderful.

I can't comment on the Spa because we never used it. I can say that the entire week we were there I never seen anybody use it. We tried to use the gym but nothing really worked there. They had one treadmill and it was broken. A couple of bikes that seemed to work and a weight machine. We walked around the complex instead and enjoyed that.

We went on two excurions that we booked through Martin at Isaira Tours. We did the Outback Jungle Safari which we really enjoyed. Ruddy was our guide and he made for a great day. My husband and daughter enjoyed the boogie boarding in Cabarete. We did the Monster truck when we were there in April and they thought the Outback was better. The other one was Ocean World. We did the dolphin encounter. A very enjoyable day there.

All in all we had a wonderul vacation so if you are booked at this resort you will not be disappointed. We wish we had of went for two weeks instead of one. Hope this is helpful. If you need any further info. you can e-mail me at lindabenne@hotmail.com.

  • Stayed: January 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
32  Thank 2monkeys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2007

Many people have confusion about this resort because it is really a few properties with common amenities:

1. Lifestyle Tropical Beach Resort & Spa
2. Vitalis Garden Club
3. Crown 1 and 2 br suites
4. Villas

I am Platinum VIP Member and do not regret 1 sec buying it. The resort was purchased by Austrian company and they are constantly renovating the place. For example Crown suites and villas are great, but Vitalis club is not so much. The management has plans to build villas instead of Vitalis Club, but it is in the future. I only stayed as VIP member, and therefore, my stay is not the same as it is for regular folks that stay in Tropical.

1. Villa stay. I stayed a few times and villa stay is great. You have private pool and all the perks. There are 3 or more bedrooms in a villa.
2. Food. VIP bars have day menu and you do not have to remove yourself from the pool to go eat, the food was great especially grilled fish. The food is delivered to your tanning bed, is it not great? VIP Gourmet is the best especially Surt & Turf dish. There is room to improve Tiramisu, but it is still very good. My friends did not like Mexican, but again it is pat of Vitalis club and it will be gone.
3. Beach. If you go as VIP or VIP guest you will get to enjoy the VIP beach area. Tanning beds, bubble tub, bar, food... everything is there for you. This to be finished in February. Please take a look at the pictures.
4. Golf Carts. It used to be a problem to get one, but I spoke to the management and they are getting 50 more; this should solve the problem.
5. Exursions. Do not buy on the beach. They are cheaper, but they do not tell you that you will visit souvenir market on every single tour and some bus ride can be 2.5 hours ONE WAY. My husband got very sick and I HATED Paradise island. Instead try Casino and Bravissimo show!!!!!!!! WE LOVED IT! Ocean World is also great.
6. Tips. If you stay in a villa $25-30 tip to the maid is must. Keep singles for other service folks.
7. If you need more information you can send me e-mail at es523617@hotmail.com. I know this resort pretty well and as mentioned earlier I am Platinum member there, so I know many aspects.

  • Stayed: December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
17  Thank es523617
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2007

We have just arrived home from a two weeks at the Lifestyle Tropical Beach Resort and Spa, we stayed there for Christmas and New Year and we had a great time. Where do I start, the check in was quick and easy as the bell boys take your luggage to your room they point out where the bars and restaurants are which we found very helpful. The rooms are more than adequate there is either a king size or two queen size beds, coffee maker, hair dryer, iron and ironing board and they were perfectly clean. The bathrooms are fine but you will be lucky to have a hot shower, we had two in two weeks but the rest were luke warm not freezing. There are several bars the beach bar, the pool bar, the lobby bar and the Blue Lagoon which is a bar and restaurant in the day and night and the seafood restaurant in the evening. The food everywhere we ate was excellent, nobody we spoke to was ill from the food at all. The entertainment team try very hard round by the pool in the day and they put a show on in the evenings, they are very friendly and make you feel very welcome. We went into Puerto Plata to the shops we went outside the resort to get a taxi and had a guide called Geoffrey No1 he was brilliant and we would highly recommend him you pay for your taxi then tip him what ever you think. Christmas Eve they laid on a gala buffet round by the pool under canopy, the entertainment team with some children put on a nativity play and they then did a fire show in the pool. New Years Eve was even better another gala dinner live band then followed by a disco (I don’t think the entertainment staff sleeps). It was a fab holiday and we would highly recommend this resort to anyone.



Cala and Garry Norwich England

  • Stayed: December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank calauk1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2007

Booked this holiday with a villa timeshare owner VIP Vacation on eBay.
His website is very informative and has video clips of the accommodation and resort + party clips, so we were happy booking with him.
When we got to the airport we were collected by the driver of a Limo, very nice start and not expected. We were taken to the VIP reception within the Lifestyle resort and welcomed with a beautiful caribbean smile and drink.
We were then driven to our villa which was out of this world, luxury throughout and very well maintained. Plenty of room for our family of 6 people. Had to dive into the pool straight away.
We were constantly catered for and we did not have to lift a finger. My wife said this was the first holiday she had taken without doing anything. Brilliant.
The first morning our maid made us breakfast in the villa which was great. This continued throughout the stay except for the mornings we choice to dine at the brakfast restaurant. The food was outstanding high quality throughout the stay.
Breakfast Lunch and a choice of restaurants on an evening (but do book the day before as these are busy most of the time).
We loved VIP World, it is a royality enclosurer serving branded drinks, cocktails and cigars with waitress service. We laid on the waterproof kingsized beds surrounded by white sand and watched the kids spalsh about in the pool. OMG we did find this heavenly and the entertainment on the Sunday evening with fireworks breathtaking.
There is simply not enough space to say how wonderful this vacation was for us and we fully recommend this to everyone want to holiday in the Dominican Republic.
Already booked for childrens holidays in 2007.
Rated AAAA+++++

  • Stayed: December 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
10  Thank villa-lovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Plata hotels
0.1 mi away
Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort
6.6 mi away
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
#5 of 40 in Puerto Plata
5,674 reviews
5.3 mi away
Be Live Collection Marien
Be Live Collection Marien
#9 of 40 in Puerto Plata
4,229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
ClubHotel Riu Merengue
ClubHotel Riu Merengue
#15 of 40 in Puerto Plata
5,571 reviews
6.7 mi away
BlueBay Villas Doradas Adults Only
0.2 mi away
The Residence Suites at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort

Address: Columbus Torre 1 | Playa Cofresi, Puerto Plata 57000, Dominican Republic (Formerly Lifestyle Tropical Beach Resort & Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Puerto Plata
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Puerto Plata
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Plata
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Plata
Price Range: $127 - $276 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 282
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set within the sprawling Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort, The Tropical offers a classic hotel vacation experience set within quaint, two- and threestory, Mediterranean-style buildings. The mood is laid-back and distinctively Caribbean. Guest enjoy all resort facilities and amenities (excluding the V.I.P areas) including swimming pools, a choice of excellent restaurants, exercise rooms, tennis courts, windsurfing and so much more. The Lifestyle Tropical is Ideal for couples seeking a private island hide-away with all the advantages of a world-class resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lifestyle Tropical Beach Resort And Spa
Lifestyle Tropical Beach Hotel Puerto Plata
Lifestyle Tropical Beach Resort Spa
Hacienda Tropical
Hotel Lifestyle Tropical Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing