We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort
Ranked #11 of 40 Hotels in Puerto Plata
Reviewed February 12, 2014

I just got back from my stay at the tropical and I already want to go back! The food was amazing and the rooms were kept very clean. I fell in love with the banana mamas while I was there!
The animation team was definitely the best thing about the hotel! They really kept me entertained. I enjoyed dancing the merengue, bachata, and salsa. Water aerobics was really fun and then the game after was always hilarious!
the shows every night were awesome! The welcome party was my favorite of all! I got to dance with the animation team and then the foam at the end was so much fun!
I had so much fun on this vacation! A special thank you goes to the animation Team: john cena, puchi puchi, Jhony bravo, moskito, Lenny cravis, and coffee! I miss you guys already and I hope to see you next year!
~Devon

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Thedevonsarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Management T, Manager at The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2014

Dear Sarah,
It was certainly our pleasure hosting you at The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort Puerto Plata. We are glad to learn that you enjoyed our services and facilities and that your vacation experience was a memorable one.
We passed your nice comments to the rest of the team!
Thank you for making Lifestyle Puerto Plata the preferred resort for your vacation and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Sincerely,
Annett Fiedler
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,760)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,119 - 2,125 of 4,760 reviews

Reviewed February 11, 2014

After traveling the Dominican Republic for the past 15 years with my husband, trying different resorts each year I think I may have found the one called HOME.
We checked into the Lifestyle Tropical on the 27th of January and left yesterday the 10th of February. The 2 week stay went way too fast. There are bad reviews posted about every resort because someone had an experience they did not like. We have with experience learned to weed out the reviews of the person who expects to have the 10 star rating. Some people expect everyone to jump and wait on them at the snap of their fingers.
There are visitors to the resort that I saw this trip that decided that the rules of the resort regarding pool/beach towels (one towel a day) do not apply to them. They do not have any respect for the employee and will argue that it is all inclusive and demand to change the towel when ever they want. Those people have a problem and it is not the problem of the resort or the people working in them.
I do believe that some of these bad reviews are written by people who have not traveled to the Dominican Republic before and do not know what to expect.
I read recent review that someone could not get soda drinks at the buffet. My husband and I ate all our meals in the buffet and I had no problem getting soda drinks for my meals. As far as there being more bars and restaurants then you saw....well you only get what you pay for. I am not a member or share holder and was able to find enough bars and restaurants between the Tropical and the sister resort The Confresi. As far as getting ill at these resorts most of it is self induced.....too much sun and alcohol.
Looking around the resort and watching the grounds keepers I felt that they were doing a good job of keeping the resort looking it's best. The food was good, and being some what of a picky eater I never had any problems finding enough to eat. I never starved that is for sure.
There was always someone sweeping the floor in the buffet. The tables were waited on in a timely fashion by a friendly staff. A hand sanitation station set up as you enter for persons to use.
I found that our room was clean. And everything there was in working order.

THE ANIMATION TEAM ......JHONY BRAVO...The water aerobics instructor that never seemed to get tired. He tried his best to fill the pool with people to do aerobics every day.
Your friendship will never be forgotten. My husband and I will keep in touch.

The other members of this team, Mosquito, Coffee, Lenny Cravitz, Puchi Puchi, John Cena, Melody,Tairis, and George all mingling with the tourists and entertaining them with there antics and comments.

It is the Animation Team that seem to get the closest with everyone. They are the ones that make us all feel like we are a family. They are the ones that help us the most as we see them and get to know them. My thanks go out to you the team.

My husband and I will keep in touch with some of you, and hope that we can all be together again when we come home to the Tropical.


Katie Clace
Winnipeg, Manitoba
katieclace@mymts.net

Room Tip: Stayed in Building 5 Room 5322, Quiet, Sun first thing in morning to wake you. A view of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KatieClace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Management T, Manager at The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2014

Dear Katie,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay at our hotel. We sincerely appreciate all feedback.
We also are very pleased you enjoyed the all-inclusive program which includes a wide range of delicious food and beverage and the different activities.
It is an honor to know that our staff is providing our guests with the natural warm and hospitality that characterize the Dominican people. Please be assured that your nice comments will be forward to our staff, espacially to the mentioned ones. They will be delighted to know that they are making a difference in each guest experience.
We thank you for taking your time sharing your opinion with us which we will take in the highest consideration.
Looking forward to welcoming you once again!
With best regards from your HOME away from home.
Annett Fiedler
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2014 via mobile

My friends and I just returned from staying at the Lifestyle resort! The food was great, the entertainment was the best, especially the attention and care we received from Big Bamboo! We appreciated everything as he treated us like family!! Our best night was the Sunday welcoming party! It was a blast and we will be returning in June. See you soon friend's and again, Thanks to Big Bamboo!

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
2  Thank LisaBrownLittle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Management T, Manager at The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2014

Dear Lisa, We are glad to learn that you enjoyed all our services and facilities and that your vacation experience was a memorable one.
Your nice comments were passed to the mentioned ones of the team.
Thank you for making The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort Puerto Plata to your preferred vacation destination and we are looking forward to welcoming you back in June for another unforgettable vacation with your friends.
Sincerely,
Annett Fiedler
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2014

I have just got back form 2 week holiday in this fantastic resort. Having read reviews previously I was slightly worried but luckily there was nothing to worry about. Firstly, I would like to say that my friends and I were not VIP guests. Lot of people say that unless you are VIP you wont enjoy your holiday in this resort. Far from it. As non VIP guests we had access to 12 restaurants although we mainly used buffet. When you arrive you will receive 2 bookings made for you by the hotel, these can be changed easily and you can then make more bookings if you wish. Blue Lagoon is amazing and I would defo avoid Johnny's (horrible food and slow service). Buffet food was average and it can get boring if you are staying for 2 weeks. Otherwise food was fine and none of us suffered from it so I have nothing to complain about.

Our room was average, clean and I don't understand why would anyone complain about it. If you pay price for 3 star hotel don't expect 6 star service. Once we had problem with balcony door so we went to reception ask for help and before we got back to the room the maintenance guy was already waiting for us. Brilliant service.

Entertainment was absolutely amazing. Animation team will make sure that you will never get bored. Special thank you goes to Moskito with a cheeky smile and great moves, Lenny Kravitz my brother from another mother from another country :) and in his words if you want sexy body like his ex-girlfriend Beyoncé jump in the pool and enjoy the water aerobic with him, John Cena walking six pack :), Cappucino, Pucci Pucci, Tiaris and Melody. These guys are reason why I want to go back and I would recommend holidays in this resort to anyone wanting to have a good time.

Also VIP party on Thursday and Welcome party on Sunday are fantastic and available to everyone in the resort so don't miss it. Dancers are amazing and always there for you ready to teach you some sexy moves.

VIP beach is great and you get there free Wi-Fi.

All staff in bars and restaurants were friendly and happy to assist so over all fantastic service.

I had the best holiday ever and I hope to return soon.

Anka xxx

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Anka D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Management T, Manager at The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2014

Dear Anka,
Thank you for taking your time to share your experiences with us. Our ultimate aim is to provide service excellence; our guests’ feedback shifts our focus on any possible deficiencies that may exist throughout our Resort and helps us improve the quality of our services and facilities.
It was certainly our pleasure hosting you at The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort Puerto Plata and we are glad to learn that in general you enjoyed our services and facilities and that your vacation experience was a memorable one.
Thank you for making Lifestyle Puerto Plata the preferred resort for your vacation and we look forward to welcoming you in the near future again.
Sincerely,
Annett Fiedler
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2014

I have just come back from 2 week holiday in this resort. I went with my friends and we had brilliant time at this resort. Sun, beach, and absolutely brilliant entertainment. The animation team is the best thing this hotel has, they will always make sure that you have fun and you will never get bored. I would like to say special thank you to Lenny Kravitz, Moskito, John Sina and Cappucino because these guys are sooo funny and they are the reason why I want to go back to this hotel. Big thank you also goes to waiters and bar staff especially to Jose, Marcus in Blue lagoon and Gerson and Andres in pool bar. Service in this hotel is fantastic. And last thing I would like to mention is that make sure you attend their welcome party on Sunday and VIP party on Thursday.

BB

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bibi2345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Management T, Manager at The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2014

Dear Bibi,
It was certainly our pleasure hosting you at The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort Puerto Plata. We are glad to learn that you enjoyed our services and facilities and that your vacation experience was a memorable one.
We passed your nice comments to the rest of the team!
Thank you for making Lifestyle Puerto Plata the preferred resort for your vacation and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future
Sincerely,
Annett Fiedler
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2014

Spent one week (January 20/January 27 2014) in a villa with a group of friends one which is a member . Loved everything about it . We had vip gold brAclets so we had access to everything . Staff are really nice and always had big smiles( always welcoming ) I feel in love with everything over there . The only disappointment for me was not booking for two weeks haha . With that said two days after being back home I rebooked through a "share" to make sure I get all access meaning I will be vip. So I'm heading back march 3 2014 :) can't wait :)
Ps- staff will probably remember me as " the girl with the red hair OR miss tattoo
See you all soon and keep up the good work

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leslie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Management T, Manager at The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2014

Dear Leslie,
Thank you so much for your nice comments which wre passed to the rest of the team, especially to the mentioned ones! It was our pleasure to host you at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort Puerto Plata and we look forward to welcoming you back for another unforgettable vacation on March 3rd and hope you booked your vacation for 2 week this time.
Sunny regards and see you soon
Annett Fiedler
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2014

We were at THE TROPICAL AT THE TROPICAL LIFESTYLE RESORT in Puerto Plata for two weeks, we love every minute of it. We enjoyed the food, the beach, the staff at the animation center were great we had so much fun playing different games with them. we want to say thank you to Melodys, very sweet girl, also Cappucchino, Johny Bravo, George of the jungle,Tiaris, Moskito. thank you for making our days more fun by the pool, we also loved playing ping pong for hours. we were never bored there was always something to do. the place was huge, we like fact that we were allowed to visit different resorts. The entertainment at night was incredible, we loved all the shows and the welcome party by the beach on Sunday WOW...WOW...WOW... was amazing... The food, the drinks, the entertainment, the dancers, the fire works WOW... They really know how to throw a party, there was something for everyone! If u are an active person and loved to party this is the place to go, like I said we there for two weeks and still wasn't enough, we would definitely, go back!

Room Tip: we chose higher floors better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank patricia g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Management T, Manager at The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2014

Dear Patty,
It was certainly our pleasure hosting you at The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort Puerto Plata. We are glad to learn that you enjoyed our services and facilities and that your vacation experience was a memorable one.
We passed your nice comments to the rest of the team, especially to the mentioned ones!
Thank you for making Lifestyle Puerto Plata the preferred resort for your vacation and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Sincerely,
Annett Fiedler
Hotel manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Plata hotels
6.6 mi away
Sunscape Puerto Plata Dominican Republic
0.3 mi away
Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort
5.3 mi away
Be Live Collection Marien
Be Live Collection Marien
#8 of 40 in Puerto Plata
3,874 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
BlueBay Villas Doradas Adults Only
0.2 mi away
The Crown Villas at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort
6.6 mi away
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
#5 of 40 in Puerto Plata
5,521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort

Address: Columbus Torre 1 | Playa Cofresi, Puerto Plata 57000, Dominican Republic (Formerly Lifestyle Tropical Beach Resort & Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Puerto Plata
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Puerto Plata
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Plata
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Plata
Price Range: $87 - $253 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 282
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set within the sprawling Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort, The Tropical offers a classic hotel vacation experience set within quaint, two- and threestory, Mediterranean-style buildings. The mood is laid-back and distinctively Caribbean. Guest enjoy all resort facilities and amenities (excluding the V.I.P areas) including swimming pools, a choice of excellent restaurants, exercise rooms, tennis courts, windsurfing and so much more. The Lifestyle Tropical is Ideal for couples seeking a private island hide-away with all the advantages of a world-class resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, BookIt.com, TravelUp, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lifestyle Tropical Beach Hotel Puerto Plata
Lifestyle Tropical Beach Resort And Spa
Lifestyle Tropical Beach Resort Spa
Hacienda Tropical
Hotel Lifestyle Tropical Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing