We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another nice trip to the Tropical Resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort
Ranked #11 of 40 Hotels in Puerto Plata
Reviewed December 10, 2013

We've been to this hotel 5 times over the last 2 years. Each time is great. The staff has gotten to know us pretty well and treat us like good friends. The activities guys are great and constantly try to get you involved in what's going on (Jhony Bravo, Big Bamboo, Puchi Puchi, Lenny Cravitz and George of the Jungle). The really enjoy what they do.
Food is pretty good, considering what you pay. Spend some time in the VIP area and you'll forget all about what you paid. It's WELL worth it.
All-in-all, a solid value.

Room Tip: The time share pitch isn't all that bad. The property is huge so it's nice to see the whole...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Management T, Manager at The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2013

Dear Chris,
The nice notes like the one you kindly posted on the Trip Advisor webpage are very appreciated by us. Thank you for having chosen The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort Puerto Plata already for the 5th time. It is a pleasure to read, that you had a wonderful vacation in our resort.
We are also very pleased to read your appraisal of our team, services and facilities and I know that my colleagues will be equally pleased to learn of your kind remarks and recognition of their efforts to meet your needs.
On behalf of all staff I would like to thank you for your nice words of recognition for our work.
We look forward to welcoming you soon back for your 6th time at The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort Puerto Plata.
Kind Regards
Annett Fiedler

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,803)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,246 - 2,252 of 4,803 reviews

Reviewed December 10, 2013

We found the staff here to be the most friendly, accommodating and wonderful of any resort that we have been to. From Warin in registration, Jamal in VIP services, dining staff and housekeeping, everyone goes the extra mile to ensure the best possible experience. This was our second time there and we can't wait to go back

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank edaley5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Management T, Manager at The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2013

Thank you for having chosen The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort Puerto Plata already for the 2nd time and for sharing your experience with us through this website.
It is a pleasure to read, that you had a wonderful vacation in our resort.
We are also very pleased to read your appraisal of our team, services and facilities and I know that my colleagues will be equally pleased to learn of your kind remarks and recognition of their efforts to meet your needs.
On behalf of all staff I would like to thank you for your nice words of recognition for our work.
We look forward to welcoming you soon back at The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort Puerto Plata.
Kind Regards
Annett Fiedler

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2013

We had a great time we stayed in Presidential Suites and the Villas. Entertainment was excellant my mother was very impressed with the great work out that Johnny Bravo did in the water fitness. She does this at home and expected it to be too easy but found it far better than even at home, we only made it to one show but it was very entertaining and again Johnny did an exceptional job of getting the audience going.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travel2theSun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Management T, Manager at The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2013

Dear guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for choosing Lifestyle Tropical Beach Resort & Spa as the hotel to enjoy your vacation and we also would like to thank you for writing this nice comment about your experience.

We hope to have the opportunity to host you again very soon.

Best regards.

The Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2013

We traveled with 2 other couples and had a wonderful time. Yes it's a "vacation club" and they want you to take a tour but that aside, the grounds, pools, ocean are all beautiful.
The food is decent and we really appreciated the efforts of John Cena to entertain with his wonderful water aerobics classes and evening antics. Thanks

Room Tip: We did not get to choose our room. We were in building 5 which was perfect except for the nights tha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PattiKakes2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Management T, Manager at The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2013

Dear Patti,
Thank you very much for your nice comments and we hope to welcome you soon at The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort again.
Sunny regards
Annett Fiedler

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2013

Was not told this was a timeshare property....no problem, the sales pitch was painless and the VIP treatment was SO worth the $24. A day. The food in the Casablanca aka carte restaurant was nothing to write home about. Most of the meat dishes were dried out. Everything else was so so. The best food and drinks we had was from the VIP beach area. The Mexican restaurant was also awesome! Our room, although one of the nicer ones, was very short on water in the shower. Had I paid $800-900 for this hotel, I would have been very disappointed. The $24.00 a day, was a great find. Jon Censa who led the water aerobics and other entertainment was awesome!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jean630
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Management T, Manager at The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2013

Dear Guest,

Receive cordial greetings from all the team working at the Lifestyle Tropical Beach Resort & Spa. We would like to thank you for your comments. Your feedback will provide motivation and confidence to keep working to satisfy our customers and improve our service.

We are looking forward to welcoming you once again.

Best regards,

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2013

Had a fabulous time...everyone was super friendly...Jhony Bravo did a bang up job with the pool aqua fitness...the resort had everything...the food was different every night and was really good...lots of bars and entertainment...never bored...didnt want to leave...cant wait to go back

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MaryLou F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Management T, Manager at The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2013

Dear Guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for choosing Lifestyle Tropical Beach Resort & Spa as the hotel to enjoy your vacation and we also thank you for writing this comment about your experience here at our resort.
We are very happy to read that you had a fabulous time with us.

Hope to have you back with us very soon.

Best regards,

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2013

Stayed 5 days at the Tropical, second time in DR. Check in is quick until you ask for a room change. They pick your room without looking at any requests sent with reservation, so I pointed out the request and it took 45 min to finally get a room yet the resort was not at full capacity. Past the lobby you are greeted by another worker regarding activities who then walks you to "the sales catch". That person then tells you they will see you at breakfast the next day for your "gift" and takes your room# and who you booked thru. The targets are blue wristband Cheapcaribbean, Living Social, etc travelers.

Rooms are clean, our maid Rachel was great, fridge was stocked. Water pressure and hot water were hit and miss, fixed our own shower head after day 2 and it worked fine. There is lime build up due to hard water so unscrew shake it out and it works. If you have sensitive skin bring a lot of lotion.

Got to enjoy most of the Restaurants and both Buffets, Casablanca and The Pearl at Cofresi. Once you go VIP the menu is just a bit of an upgrade, not impressive. Ate at Jazz, Blue Lagoon, El Pilon and VIP Gourmet. Be aware there are 2 seatings 6:30 and 8:30. The early seating is timed so you're out by 8:15, if you're the last ones they start to clean everything around you, if you arrive late your dinner is rushed a bit. I enjoyed the 8:30p atmosphere it's more relaxed. Men require pants, jeans ok, ladies resort casual at some of these. The meals are more presentation than filling, some folks go to the buffet after. Lobster tails are cut in half, rib eye seemed more of a skirt steak, filet mignon was decent, all fish was Grouper no snapper even when it says snapper it's not. The white wine was better at Jazz, drinks are ok, after day 2 everything tasted the same. Bailey's is actually Molly's Irish cream, even in the VIP bars. There was no ginger ale, just sprite or 7up. Mojitos are made without mint leaves, that was a first for me. Snacks are different at all the beaches, the fish sandwich at Harmony, burgers at VIP, grilled chicken sandwich and salad at Serenity, all tasted good. Scoops had the best Guava ice cream. All of the waiters and bartenders were excellent, attentive and energetic.
The Tropical pool has all the activities so it's noisy all day. Serenity was the best beach, beds, bean bags, hammocks all feet from the ocean no stairs involved! Harmony, VIP Lifestyle, NV beach are all on the same side, you can walk them all from the water just not experience them all if you're not VIP gold or other wristband. Security is there and will not let you in to certain areas. Yes you have to take stairs to get to the beach and each section is separated by gates. VIP Beach is where the blue wristbands have access to so it is crowded and can get noisy, you can get regular beach chairs on the bottom, there are no umbrellas. Vendors and a few huts selling stuff too. The sand is darker and softer on that side, at Serenity its a bit more rocky with shells but a better ambiance. Do not expect clear turquoise waters, it's nice but there are better beaches elsewhere on the island.

With early dinner there is a gap to the nightly activities which start at 9p or so. Walk or shuttle to Colosseum every night. Shows are what you make of it, it's hotel entertainment not Vegas or Broadway so just have fun. Thurs Party at the VIP pool was nice, dancers, costumes and all Tecno music mix.

Tipping is much appreciated, just because it's all inclusive doesn't mean you can't reward someone for their work. It doesn't matter the amount and they do remember who tips which does affect how fast or slow you get some attention. At times they are working 12-16hr shifts be gracious, learn the basics in Spanish, it helps.

We didn't do a full city tour just The Teleferico to Christ Statue, the view was great, we had rain and a bit of fog but it was worth it!
Overall the property is nice, but there is a wristband segregation system. Even shareholders have access to stuff that at VIP level you cannot access. You get what you pay for in every sense of the word here. On weekends it's a vacation spot for the locals so it's a way of keeping everything separate. You can't travel with champagne taste for soda dollars and expect lobster everyday, so I travelled with some of the reviews in mind but ended up seeing how they do business and the why of all the color wristbands. I enjoyed my stay more in La Romana, easier to get around without taxis not sure if I will return to this side of the island but it's nice.
It rained the last 2 days, still winter season so it is to be expected at some point during your stay in Dec. Booked transfers thru Olympus Tours online, Mario was Excellent!!

Everyone on the property is friendly, smiling and happy to help you, the staff makes the place regardless of the wristband! Travel with an open mind and Enjoy!!

Room Tip: Stayed in the 3000 Building. If you have trouble with stairs ask for first Flr, 31 anything is 2nd F...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MrsMacMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Management T, Manager at The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2013

Dear Guest,

Receive cordial greetings from all the team working at the Lifestyle Tropical Beach Resort & Spa. We would like to thank you for your comments. Your feedback will provide motivation and confidence to keep working to satisfy our customers and improve our service.

We are looking forward to welcoming you once again and continue providing the most unforgettable experiences.

Best regards,

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Plata hotels
0.1 mi away
Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort
6.7 mi away
BlueBay Villas Doradas Adults Only
5.3 mi away
Be Live Collection Marien
Be Live Collection Marien
#9 of 40 in Puerto Plata
3,987 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Residence Suites at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort
0.3 mi away
Presidential Suites A Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort
6.6 mi away
Sunscape Puerto Plata Dominican Republic
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort

Address: Columbus Torre 1 | Playa Cofresi, Puerto Plata 57000, Dominican Republic (Formerly Lifestyle Tropical Beach Resort & Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Puerto Plata
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Puerto Plata
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Plata
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Plata
Price Range: $94 - $275 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 282
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set within the sprawling Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort, The Tropical offers a classic hotel vacation experience set within quaint, two- and threestory, Mediterranean-style buildings. The mood is laid-back and distinctively Caribbean. Guest enjoy all resort facilities and amenities (excluding the V.I.P areas) including swimming pools, a choice of excellent restaurants, exercise rooms, tennis courts, windsurfing and so much more. The Lifestyle Tropical is Ideal for couples seeking a private island hide-away with all the advantages of a world-class resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelUp, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lifestyle Tropical Beach Resort And Spa
Lifestyle Tropical Beach Hotel Puerto Plata
Lifestyle Tropical Beach Resort Spa
Hacienda Tropical
Hotel Lifestyle Tropical Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing