We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worst vacay ever!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort
Ranked #10 of 41 Hotels in Puerto Plata
A TripAdvisor Member
“Worst vacay ever!”
Reviewed March 9, 2004

It took us a day and a half to get into our room - we paid extra for VIP...what a mistake! Took me FOUR days to get a pillow! 2 days of no water! First room - the a/c leaked all over the floor - no ocean view, which we paid for, our bar fridge was stocked twice - four whole beers!
No hot water, gave us dirty towels, kept giving us lightbulbs - we never asked for them, staff didn't speak english, the ones that did - they were pretty rude - although I would be as well as everyone who was there was always complaining to them! Rooms cleaned at 5 pm - just when we were heading back from the beach, food was AWFUL! Paid $35 US for a pizza - oh and we had to go to the VIP lounge to get it delivered - the gal in there was amazing - Star, make sure you visit her if you go. Had lobster one evening at the ala carte - yucko - no claws and it was mushy...the buffett - i didn't think it was possible to screw up a bun...i could go on and on, but I will spare you the suffereing of reading anymore of this....whatever you do, don't go! Oh and the one end of the beach - reaked like a urinal...yuck

  • Stayed January 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,543 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,892
    1,167
    629
    410
    445
See reviews for
1,136
1,477
87
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,014)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Alberta
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2004

Got back Mar. 4/04 from 1 week at this Resort that is over-rated as a 4 Star. First and best of all are The Grounds 5/5, very beautiful and well kept. The Evening Entertainment 5/5 with Lorenzo & is gang, awesome dancers and performers; only problem, we didn?t know that it is always in the Amphitheatre unless they are rained out, then it?s held in the covered dome down by the Snack Bar. The Buffet 2.5/5 has a large selection of food, but it is obviously not prepared very well, 2 out of of our party of 4 were sick most of the time, as were ? the people we talked to. After lots of upset stomachs and diarrhea all you want to eat is fresh bread with a slice of ham, French fries, fresh fruit, or Toast & Jam. Salads are probably washed in their tap water. You can?t have the creamy salad dressings or anything made in a sauce. Eat the roast beef, or pork chops, not the chicken it?s probably been sitting around for awhile. Bring your own Immodium or Tums, etc., one girl had to buy a bottle of Pepto-Bismal about 250 ml. for $12 US. Yikes!! The drinks at the bar were tasty, but then I saw how they washed their glasses, very quickly in dirty soapy water, rinse them under the sink, and then fill it with your drink and serve you----no wonder so many people were sick. The maids don?t clean your room until 5-6 pm. No washcloths, unless you take them off the cart. 2 gals sharing a room were told they only get 1 towel for both. Also, if you get diarrhea hide 1 or 2 rolls of toilet paper somewhere so you get more as it?s only 1ply and very thin. The Beach is pretty good 4/5. Don?t leave your area, lots of locals and dirty area close by. Security at night is good 4.5/5. The facilities in the Room, well, they?re a 2/5. There is no Air conditioning, many of us got Ceiling Fans after we all complained loudly. No Warm Water, only on our last day. The Rooms were pretty clean. Our phone never worked, even after many complaints. The front desk says all these things are being fixed tomorrow. One of our tour guides told us people have been complaining about these problems here since January. Front desk does nothing. Signature Vacations was absolutely awesome, go to the Orientation and if you have a problem go to them right away. They do look after you and go to bat for you to compensate you. All in all, HEY, you?re in the Dominican, Go with Fun Friends, take your card games, take the Jungle Tour---it?s a must, make your own fun and enjoy your holiday. The City Tour was so-so. If you get last minute at a good price and get oceanview like we did, you don?t complain too much. Would I stay there again. No, unless I got a week free, hey I can?t eat there anyway without being sick, but maybe it?s just me, sensitive stomach for badly prepared food.

  • Stayed March 2003
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EliseAlberta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed March 3, 2004

what a disappointment! I feel so ripped off from this lame resort. i will definitely letting my sales rep. know. we arrived feb2/04. with my spouse and i we had 2 teenage girls that were travelling for their very first time.(they really don't care if they go anywhere at all again) the rooms were requested to be close ..first problem resolved by efusing to put aside. the air conditioning didn't work.we left the balcony door open (no screen) lots of flying bus..toilet over flowed before my daughters ever used it in their room. their shower leaked. we were without a shower almost for 2 days..had to raise a voice. no bank machine and the one we walked to was out of order. the food was just ok...we were suffering with diarrhea,vomiting and stomach ache as well aas everyone we spoke to. i could have sold imodium and made money. I notred the way they washed their tumblers in dirty water by wiggling the around in this dirty water and rinsing them under running tap water then making you a drink..imagine that. getting sick. They emphasize NOT to drink the water . They only give 500ml per person and expect you to refill your wee bottle with water that rarely exhisted in the hallway water coolers and raely replenished ..i bought water several time because when the maid would decide to come around the hours of 5-6pm (while we were getting ready for supper) she would briefly straighten out the room and remove our empty bottles from on top of the fridge.
Hardly get any beach towels..if you were lucky sun loungers were pathetic to have to get up to hold one....this was more work rather than a vacation resort. The room smelt musty /moldy. the grounds were ok.I was not impressed with the time share salesmen "hounding" us on a daily basis. NON motorized water sports...there were non..being repaired we had to purchase the banana boat for any fun! signature vacations should really re think their advertising..as it is misleading and false.. a lady broke her leg on our resort and the people had to DEMAND a wheel chair...i felt bad for their vacation. we did enjoy dave and matties lobster down the beach, the outback adventure and of course sousa beach. Last year at the same time my spose and i went to the Ba'hai Principe in rio san juan and had a perfect trip..what a difference in service, politeness,friendliness and service. this was a below rated vacation.please reconsider you will be wasting your money and your precious vacation time.

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2004

We had a great time, food was excellent, hotel kept very clean.Staff were hard working and cheerful.Slight problem with hot water but they promise they are fixing it (new boiler).The grounds were beautiful.Excellent value for money holiday.

Helpful?
Thank jeneil1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed March 3, 2004

Ramada Hacienda very well laid out and gardens gorgeous. Staff very friendly good variety of places to eat there. Unfortuanately suffered and still suffering from upset stomach. Rooms need updating, they smell fousty and damp and air conditioning is not sufficient. Ramada need to invest in new hot water system as at best it was only luke warm and cold most days. On two occasions no water at all. The loo's at the beach bar were disgusting and the gents loo was closed most of the time.

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed March 1, 2004

Hotel was lovely, views were out of this world Went there for two weeks, no hot water at all. Got moved three times and ended up in one of their villas/ suites. The food upset us and we waisted a couple of days being sick. It rained for about four days.........Tropical storms are just the best. Nothing to do there and the entertainment was toilet. Very upsetting as it was my present for my 30th birthday. Still we enjoyed our quality time together and tried not to get too upset by the arguements with the staff there. We went on a great horse riding trip.......Well reccommended!

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed February 28, 2004

I have travelled quite a bit and this is definately not a 4 star hotel.
It is on beautiful grounds and the beach is quite nice but it does not warrant 4 stars. The food was o.k. but it left my boyfriend and I sick most of the week, as was most of the guests. Our rooms weren't cleaned until supper time and we went without hot water for most of the trip.
Most of the people from our hotel were disappointed with this hotel.

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Plata hotels
0.3 mi away
Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort
6.6 mi away
Sunscape Puerto Plata Dominican Republic
5.3 mi away
Be Live Collection Marien
Be Live Collection Marien
#9 of 41 in Puerto Plata
3,402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
#5 of 41 in Puerto Plata
5,313 reviews
6.7 mi away
BlueBay Villas Doradas Adults Only
5.4 mi away
Iberostar Costa Dorada
Iberostar Costa Dorada
#2 of 41 in Puerto Plata
6,799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort

Property: The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort
Address: Columbus Torre 1 | Playa Cofresi, Puerto Plata 57000, Dominican Republic (Formerly Lifestyle Tropical Beach Resort & Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Puerto Plata
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Puerto Plata
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Plata
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Plata
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 282
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set within the sprawling Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort, The Tropical offers a classic hotel vacation experience set within quaint, two- and threestory, Mediterranean-style buildings. The mood is laid-back and distinctively Caribbean. Guest enjoy all resort facilities and amenities (excluding the V.I.P areas) including swimming pools, a choice of excellent restaurants, exercise rooms, tennis courts, windsurfing and so much more. The Lifestyle Tropical is Ideal for couples seeking a private island hide-away with all the advantages of a world-class resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Groupon, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lifestyle Tropical Beach Resort And Spa
Lifestyle Tropical Beach Hotel Puerto Plata
Lifestyle Tropical Beach Resort Spa
Hacienda Tropical
Hotel Lifestyle Tropical Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing