We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very fun resort!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort
Ranked #10 of 39 Hotels in Puerto Plata
Barrie, Canada
1 review
“Very fun resort!”
Reviewed March 5, 2013

First of all let me say that all the staff at this resort are amazing: Choco Choco, P Diddy, Johny Roco, Tairis, Lenny Kravits, and the smily bartender at the beach bar (Pedro). Their friendliness and enthusiasm makes for a very fun atmosphere at the resort. There are always activities to enjoy. The food was awesome, lots of variety. I will definitely be back! :D

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sun seeker G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managementteam55, Manager at The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

We really appreciate that you took your time to write this comment, expressing how much fun you had at the Lifestyle Tropical Beach Resort & Spa.
We are really happy that you liked our facilities and we will congratulate Choco Coco, P Diddy, Johny Roco, Tairis, Lenny Kravitz and Pedro for providing a great hospitality.

It would be a pleasure to host you soon again in our resort.

Best Regards,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,667 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,947
    1,201
    644
    419
    456
See reviews for
1,189
1,512
94
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,030)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Winfield, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed March 5, 2013

Words cannot express how wonderful this resort was. From the moment I walked in, up until the time I walked out the door I felt like a goddess. The rooms were great and the staff extremely friendly. The entertainment staff kept you on your toes all day and night with excellent performances all day long. There was not a dull moment the entire trip. Thank you to all the following entertainment staff for making my vacation a once in a life time experience and truly unforgettable at that; Tairis, Jon Cina, Johny Bravo, Lenne Cravis, Piddiri, Puchi Puchi, Choco Choco, Sexy Blaqui, and of course Caramelo. Truly amazing and a wonderful place to visit. I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kaylee J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Connecticut
1 review
Reviewed March 5, 2013

The room was not as nice as they advertised. The food was ok. If you werent a VIP memeber you were the bottom of the barrel. I was highly impressed with the entertainment crew. They were very friendly, personal, and made you feel like they were your best friend. They work really hard and really seemed to enjoy there job and making everyone happy. Bon Jovi and Supertino made our vacation worth it.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xyd_22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managementteam55, Manager at The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Dear Guest,
Receive cordial greetings from all the team working at Lifestyle Tropical Beach Resort and Spa.
We greatly appreciate that you have chosen our Resort as your holiday destination. Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your experience at our Hotel. We greatly appreciate your feedback as it enables us to continue improving and providing our service for our guests.
It was a pleasure to read your comments about our entertainment staff. Your compliment towards our staff really shows the readers the true results of our efforts to provide a unforgettable experience.

Best Regards,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartland, Vermont
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2013

I stayed here for 1 week with a friend and her 9 yr old son, Feb. 16th - 23rd. I was also here last spring in the end of April both times RCI exchange during a promotion on the all -inclusive fees!
I think there was an improvement in the food at the buffet and none of us got sick. [ We also did not eat uncooked veggies just in case} I did not hear people complaining about being sick at all this trip which I did hear last time.
We got a room in Bld 4 which had the same housekeeper that I had last visit in Bld 3. I like the location of these buildings as they are close to everything and noise was not a problem at all.
The grounds were beautiful and everything was kept clean.
WE went to the Italian , the Dominican, and the Asian restaurants and had a good meal at all. The 9 yr old boy really liked Asian and the chicken Alfredo at the Italian!
Our RCI guest services reps helped us with any changes we wanted to make and answered any questions we had. No Problemo.
All employees were friendly and helpful!!!

Room Tip: I Like building 3 & 4 locations
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank perplemule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2013

I went down with my family last week, and we had a great time. There was always lots to do, and the atmosphere of the resort was great. "Jonny Bravo" and the rest of the staff were wonderful, and made the experience all the more fun and personal. Lovely ocean front, and great pools.

-Ashley and family

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank litetech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2013

The rating of terrible was earned by this place. My room was nice but rarely had water or electricity. They say they have dozens of restaurants but they are impossible to get in to. We were so called "VIPs" with a high level wristband but that doesnt matter for any thing. The food at the buffetts is marginal at best. Little variety and of average to below average quality. Eating there 3 times a day for 2 weeks was horrible. While enroute to the resort they cancelled my reservation without notice for no reason. Upon arrival they said the room that was booked for me has already been sold and they had no rooms left. Then magically after about an hour they had another room but it was $20 MORE per night. Total scam but I just traveled 14 hours on a plane to get there and had no where else to go. No matter what the issue is Staff will tell you they understand that you are upset and then tell you to pound sand and are unwilling to do anything about it. Also it was $120.00 for wifi. Unbelievable.

I was there for two weeks. At least 75% of the other guests I spoke with had the same problems and will not be coming back to this place. I can assure you I will never come back here and I will warn anyone I can not to come here.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ryan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Excellent vacation... Loved the entertainers especially jhony bravo very professional and devoted to his job...resort very clean and everyone friendly .told all my friend and we are going back again this year ..

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank keyla69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managementteam55, Manager at The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear guest,
We would like to thank you for taking time to post a review about your experience among us.
On behalf of our Management, we would like to express you how happy we were reading that you had an excelent vacation with us.
Our entertainers were congratulated for their good job.
Thank you for recommending us to your friends!
It woul be a great pleasure to see you again very soon.

Best Regards,
The Managment
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Plata hotels
0.3 mi away
Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort
6.7 mi away
BlueBay Villas Doradas Adults Only
5.3 mi away
Be Live Collection Marien
Be Live Collection Marien
#9 of 39 in Puerto Plata
3,719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
#6 of 39 in Puerto Plata
5,446 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Crown Villas at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort
5.4 mi away
Iberostar Costa Dorada
Iberostar Costa Dorada
#2 of 39 in Puerto Plata
7,196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort

Property: The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort
Address: Columbus Torre 1 | Playa Cofresi, Puerto Plata 57000, Dominican Republic (Formerly Lifestyle Tropical Beach Resort & Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Puerto Plata
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Puerto Plata
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Plata
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Plata
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 282
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set within the sprawling Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort, The Tropical offers a classic hotel vacation experience set within quaint, two- and threestory, Mediterranean-style buildings. The mood is laid-back and distinctively Caribbean. Guest enjoy all resort facilities and amenities (excluding the V.I.P areas) including swimming pools, a choice of excellent restaurants, exercise rooms, tennis courts, windsurfing and so much more. The Lifestyle Tropical is Ideal for couples seeking a private island hide-away with all the advantages of a world-class resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Groupon, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, TravelUp, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lifestyle Tropical Beach Hotel Puerto Plata
Lifestyle Tropical Beach Resort And Spa
Lifestyle Tropical Beach Resort Spa
Hacienda Tropical
Hotel Lifestyle Tropical Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing