We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful resort for the price!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort
Ranked #10 of 41 Hotels in Puerto Plata
New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful resort for the price!”
Reviewed February 12, 2013

My husband and I came here for our honeymoon because we found an excellent deal on Groupon. I will be honest-I wasn't expecting much. But I was extremely pleasantly surprised! The resort is beautiful, extremely well maintained with (mostly) very friendly and helpful staff. (The ones that weren't still did their jobs-just not AS friendly as others).

Our room (junior suite) was quite sufficient-it was clean, the a/c worked extremely well, it was spacious enough and met our needs entirely. It was nothing super fancy, but no complaints whatsoever. (And I left my purse in the room every single day with no problems, so very honest housekeepers!)

I would give the food 4 stars-I would say all of the meals we had were 'very good'. Make sure you make reservations in advance for the restaurants! The 2 international buffets-Casablanca and The Pearl are completely mediocre-not terrible, but not excellent either. We tried not to eat there very often. But the restaurants were very good and we enjoyed them immensely.

The beaches were beautiful and pools were beautiful. I loved that the beaches had wi-fi, that was a HUGE bonus for us!

The drinks were EXCELLENT. If the drinks weren't strong enough (which happened about half the time) I just ordered a shot of rum on the side and that did the trick.

Overall, I think people have to remember this is an all-inclusive resort that is very reasonable, and we were EXTREMELY satisfied: we had lovely food and drinks surrounded by a beautiful resort and helpful staff and felt very pleased with the excellent package deal that we got.

Room Tip: We liked our room very much, but heard some people say theirs were not quite as nice, but if they br...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Georgie4545
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,590 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,912
    1,182
    636
    414
    446
See reviews for
1,157
1,490
90
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,019)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
52 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2013

Don't go - there are so many great places in the Dominican for the same price but that offer much better facilities, pools and restaurants. I bought a trip based on price, and you really get what you pay for. Horrible service, food and stray dogs on the beach. Dirty, awful rooms. Don't go!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Inger A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2013

I traveled to the Tropical section of the resort through a Cheap Caribbean deal from February 2-10. I was very AFRAID after the reviews I read prior to coming to the resort. When arriving to the resort after check-in my spouse and I went directly to the lobby bar and had a few drinks to get started off right. After that we were taken to our room in Building 2 (Tropical Section) which was standard but GREAT! We had everything we needed a filled refrigerator, towels, a CLEAN room and bathroom. The room was spacious, had a balcony with sitting area, and other basics. We didnt pay for a safe and we were fine, nothing was ever taken. We spent alot of time throughout our stay at the VIP beach and never had an issue finding a lovely bed before 10am after that obviously it was full. The VIP beach was heavenly, no I did NOT upgrade or by into the timeshare program but we were still treated like royalty. We had access to drinks and food on our beach beds and did not have to chase anyone down to get what we wanted. The cold jacuzzi's on the VIP beach are great when you need to cool down and are a great spot for meeting other travelers and mingling. When my fiance and I checked-in we were provided two reservations one at 9:30 pm and the other at the mexican place at 6:30 pm. We actually missed both reservations but that was fine we mostly ate at the buffet for breakfast, lunch and dinner and when we wanted something different we asked the front desk to call us a shuttle to a nice restaurant in another part of the resort. They took us to "Bellini" a pleasant italian place which was delish. We also visited the snack restaurant for some late night eats after clubbing it up where they have burgers, and hotdogs and some other basics and hey it was delicious not sure if that was the alcohol but it worked. My fiance and myself never became sick just a bit backed up from eating so much but it was delcious. For breakfast you definetly should order an omelette your way and fresh smoothie. Lunch was always awesome, and dinner was good too. The bar by the pool and asian restaurant was great, tons of rum, mama juana and other favorites. The pool was lovely for playing volleyball, cooling off, basketball and enjoying the Animation team. The nightly shows were entertaining and impressive. We visited ICE, VIBE, and the nightclub at OceanWorld A(Lighthouse) which were pretty good. Not as packed as we would have liked it but it is what you make it. Lighthouse by far was the best. While we were there we did the dirt buggie excursion, horse ride, a massage on the beach, rented a scooter to tour puerto plata for two hours, and visited the teleferico. This was really an amazing trip and please do not let others sway your choice to visit the resort. We again DID NOT BUY IN to the timeshare and were treated great. If you are a snob, picky, annoying, high maintenance and expect to eat caviar, filet mignon, and to have your own personal concierge you should go elsewhere and pay for it. This is amazing for the price and i'm surprised they do not charge more.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Citalina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McLean, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2013

The VIP service is outstanding.. Everyone was extremly friendly. The best restaurnant was Azul, although others - Gourmet, Jazz and Rodizio - were good. Quality of food in Casablanca is avarage. Activities abound. I took Spanish lessons. Teacher was Lenny Craviz who is outstanding. Also went on the half-day tour of the town that included cable car to the top of the mountain, visit to the rum factory and the amber museum. All, very informative. Beaches are well kept and wonderfuul places to relax.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Anne919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed February 10, 2013

We just got back from a 4 night stay at Tropical. The highlights of the hotel are the eternally energetic entertainment staff and the nice beach amenities (cool cabanas, nice bars, towel service). The entertainment guys were awesome putting on different activities from beach volleyball to drink mixing and arm wrestling contests. Shout outs to John Cena (el mejor profesor de stretching), Caramelo (awesome MC who speaks at least 3 languages), Johnny Bravo, and Choco Choco.

I'd recommend staying at Tropical. We weren't enthralled with the food, but everything else made up for that. Overall a great experience.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauren B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
denver
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2013

Well...you get what you pay for. The whole resort is gross. You can swim with locals and cigarette butts in the one pool on the west side...or visit one of the multiple themed bars where all the themes are the exact same. The bars have a short menu of about 6 drinks and beer. Only one of the bars (the VIP on the beach had a full bar...but ran out of limes for 3 days). Save your money and your time and just go to the RIU right up the road and actually have a good time. This place is one giant scam

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank gsim81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 8, 2013

I am a lifestyle VIP Member and I always enjoy my stay at the resort. This time I decided to plan a last minute vacation and I got stuck with one of the oldest room at The Tropical. If you do it with at least 2 weeks in advance you can get a very nice jr suite ocean view, completely remodeled. Make sure you make dinner reservations for the different restaurants. Casablanca buffet is good just for breakfast. for lunch, you can try the snacks at the vip beach or the italian restaurant, also the buffet from Cofresi Palm is much better than Casablanca. The drinks at the vip beach are top notch and the staff is very pleasant. The animation crew is unbelievable! I went with my 3 year old son, 17 year old daughter and 65 year old mom and we all fell in love with Caramelo, John Cena and P Diddy!
Definitely worth staying at this resort. I recommend it to everyone!

Room Tip: Reserve with at least 3-4 weeks in advance. If you are staying at the Tropical, make sure you stay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank intltraveler415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Plata hotels
0.3 mi away
Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort
5.3 mi away
Be Live Collection Marien
Be Live Collection Marien
#9 of 41 in Puerto Plata
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,525 reviews
6.6 mi away
Sunscape Puerto Plata Dominican Republic
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
#5 of 41 in Puerto Plata
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5,378 reviews
6.7 mi away
BlueBay Villas Doradas Adults Only
5.4 mi away
Iberostar Costa Dorada
Iberostar Costa Dorada
#2 of 41 in Puerto Plata
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,993 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort

Property: The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort
Address: Columbus Torre 1 | Playa Cofresi, Puerto Plata 57000, Dominican Republic (Formerly Lifestyle Tropical Beach Resort & Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Puerto Plata
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Puerto Plata
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Plata
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Plata
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 282
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set within the sprawling Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort, The Tropical offers a classic hotel vacation experience set within quaint, two- and threestory, Mediterranean-style buildings. The mood is laid-back and distinctively Caribbean. Guest enjoy all resort facilities and amenities (excluding the V.I.P areas) including swimming pools, a choice of excellent restaurants, exercise rooms, tennis courts, windsurfing and so much more. The Lifestyle Tropical is Ideal for couples seeking a private island hide-away with all the advantages of a world-class resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, TravelUp, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lifestyle Tropical Beach Hotel Puerto Plata
Lifestyle Tropical Beach Resort And Spa
Lifestyle Tropical Beach Resort Spa
Hacienda Tropical
Hotel Lifestyle Tropical Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing