We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A touch of paradise” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort
Ranked #10 of 41 Hotels in Puerto Plata
rochester
Level Contributor
92 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“A touch of paradise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2011

The resort itself is absolutely beautiful. Its well maintained, has beautiful views and the rooms are decent for the price. There are two pools which is nice, one is for games etc and the other one is the "quiet pool". We ate at the buffet everyday which has a wide assortment of mainly native foods. Its presented very nice with a wide variety. One thing I would have like to have seen was on night for them to have carved beef or some type of plain beef.
We did take trip to Ocean World which is a smaller version of Sea World and its great. It was more then we expected. I did the Shark encounter which is totally awesome. If you dont want to do a number of encounters buy your ticket at the excursion desk (hotel)and then inquire as to which encounter you want to do at the park. This way you dont end up buying more then what you need or want. I only wanted to do one encounter so it worked better for me. Be sure and bring you camera to Ocean World, the views are breathtaking.
Another tip is at night make sure you go to the ampitheater which is located behind the VIP section down the hill. The shows are very good and to start the show off the "pool people" dance and warm the audience up. Drinks are included if you do all inclusive and we didnt know this until the last night.
We had one person approach us as far as buying the vacation club. My partner went to see them and said they are beautiful. I own a timeshare or would have considered buying, thats how nice this resort is.
As far as the staff, the majority of people say hello however you can tell the ones who are generally being friendly and the other ones that are just doing their job.
Finally, the last area I see that I think could be improved is the fitness room. The equipment is older and needs to be updated. They need to provide towels and santizer to clean the machines. Be prepared to sweat as there is no air conditioning only ceiling fans.
In conclusion, though I mentioned a couple of opportunities I was extremely impressed with this resort and would stay there again. My plan is for the next time to go to Punta Cana and research the Lifestyles there and see about going VIP status. One last thing I forgot to mention is the beach. Its a smaller beach but not crowded and they will bring you chairs if you ask. The surf is alot rougher then I've seen in other places I've been however the water was warmer.

Room Tip: Superior- ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank prince043
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,494 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,870
    1,156
    626
    401
    441
See reviews for
1,115
1,464
85
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,010)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bronx, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2011

At first reading all the reviews i was so very skeptical about booking this hotel but did it anyway because i was getting an amazing price. This hotel is awesome and caters to all your needs. The staff is very friendly and they all speak Spanish which was very convenient for me. The hotel is directly on the beach which was awesome because i was able to walk on the beach whenever i wanted with no restrictions. i did a value tour and did the sightseeing of this beautiful country, it was inexpensive and the drivers cater to my every need and they were very friendly. Also the open bar is FABULOUS and the bartender was the GREATEST. I also did the timeshare tour but i WAS NOT pressure into buying anything i didn't want. Overall i had an amazing time and would definitely do it all over again.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nishanad1no
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2011

The trip is what you make it !!!
We haven’t taken a trip in several years and booked this trip through Cheap Caribbean. After reading the reviews, we decided that we would make the most of the trip regardless of the conditions or what others had said in reviews. However, we found that the conditions were not as bad as some people said it would be. Doing a little research before you go will go a long ways in making your trip memorable.
Our advice is, arrive on any other day but Sunday and plan your activities before you arrive. The resort will can help you plan activities but the charges are more than if you do it yourself ahead of time. We got the name of a driver who picked us up at the airport and took us to the hotel. We can give you his name is you contact us. He even took us sightseeing for a nominal charge. The best way to see the area is have a local take you around.
We stayed Monday to Monday, checked in, had to wait for our room for a bit because we got there early. Ask for building 5 or 6 as these are away from the noisy areas. Leave a tip (more than a dollar) in your room on your pillow and they will take good care of you. We did have an issue with not enough washcloths but once we located the lady who was in charge of our room, and handed her a tip, we didn’t have any more issues. The room was clean for the most part. The shower had no curtain, but like everyone else, we just put a towel on the floor. Small tv and a/c worked ok, and Fridge was full of cold drinks. Phone service was poor. We didn’t plan on spending a lot of time in the room, so it didn’t really matter about that stuff.
We used other company’s we found on internet searches to use for our activities. We figured as long as we were in country, we wanted to do some things and look around. So we didn’t spend a lot of time at the resort during the day. We can provide some info if you would like on other entertainment companies. We went whitewater rafting, horseback riding, catamaran ride and snorkeling, and deep sea fishing.
We pretty much ate at least once a day, every day at the community buffet as we were not going to stand in line for reservations at the other places. We did go out for dinner and encourage others to do the same. You can get great local meals that are really good and a good price too. The buffet was marginal and if you can’t find something there to eat you have issues. We always came away full and never got sick. We can provide info on some good area restaurants.
The bar area was great and we agree with others, tips go a long ways. The bartenders always took good care of us. The guys and girls who do the entertainment and mingle with the crowds were a lot of fun. Getting involved helps you enjoy your trip more. The shows were marginal but if you have a couple drinks in you, you’ll have a good time. After all, there free. It’s really what you make it.
After three days at the resort, we finally got cornered to buy a time share, being polite, we listened and then told them no thanks. If you tell them you have bad credit and no credit cards and you don’t take vacation but every five years, they will leave you alone. (white lie - but they will leave you alone)
We did use the VIP beach one day, but found that you could lounge in other areas that were not so crowded near the beach or on the beach or even around the pools. Although, when you do that, you don’t get waited on but we preferred peace and quiet over being pampered. And all we needed to do was walk 50 feet to get a drink.
The spa was nice and we would encourage others to get a massage. The price was reasonable. And less then what you would pay in the states.
Go to the party on Sunday, great food, drinks, and fireworks. The show at ocean world was horrible but the casino was nice, but small and you will lose money so don’t bet a lot. Remember the tips....bring lots of $1 and $5 and your trip will be awesome.
All in all, we had a great time, and for $20 per person per night, how can you go wrong.

Room Tip: Use building 5 or 6
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mdawg_315
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2011

I'm glad I didn't read the bad reviews before i booked or I might have missed out on one of the nicest vacations I've ever been on. From the food to the VIP bars, the shows, the Dominican people, everything was great. I must comment on the Dominican people. They are so friendly and kind and so fun loving.
The staff is very hard working. Our Junior Suite was beautiful and serviced with fresh towels and amenities at all times. If we needed something, we only had to ask. The private balcony was a plus.
Swim up bar, canopied beds in the VIP area, beautiful beach. They do not skimp on the liquor in your drinks and you never wait in line to get another one. Normally they are right there to take your order for another drink as you are finishing your drink.
Yes, they do ask you to visit the villas and hear their speal about buying, and we did go and got a gift and there was no hard sell at all. It was interesting to see how beautiful the villas are. I only wish I could afford it.
We usually do cruises, but I wanted to see what it was like to go to a resort. I think this is the best value of my time and money. And way more relaxing than the cruises.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SharonandMario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Bern, NC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2011

Our 5 day trip was booked thru cheapcaribbean. From the time you arrive you have a confusing time of understanding of what you can do and go on the premises. Many different colored armbands and many levels of "VIP". Any form of orientation was a disguise to sell you a timeshare or tour. If you don't play the game and go to these things you will NEVER get a reservation to the better restaurants. You'll be stuck all meals at the buffet that is average at best. The drinks and beds at the VIP beach was the highlight, very nice, but better be in line to reserve one by 7am every day. Beware of the mixed drinks at the other lesser bars, as they seems to hurt our tummies, beer ok anywhere. Room was fine, don't care about the small TV, clean.
The day of leaving heard rumors that all miami flights had been canceled, went to our representative Dioby who lied straight face that nothing was wrong. He dumped us at the airport and promptly took off. We were stranded, a group of us had to rent taxi to Santa Domingo (6 hours) to arrange flights from there as there aren't many flights from puerto plata. Dioby works for a tour company and could have easily arranged travel to SD for us. Shame on him. Note to resort, stop all the levels VIPness and treat everyone decent, you'll sell more of the timeshares that way.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank NewBernNCguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bronx, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2011

tell it to my worst enemy so he/she can stay here. we wait for two hour for our room. surpriser the room wasn't ready. we went to eat at the buffet they do not give you bottle of water unless you are v.i.p (time share member). every restaurant have the same policy. the beach is not clean. you are only allow to be in one part of the resort cuz everything else is just for v.i.p or gold members. they will give you and orientation on which they will try to sell you the time share membership valuer $18,000.00 us and you have to give $9,000.00 at front. to get WiFi you must be in the V.I.P section of the hotel otherwise you are not get it for free. in the lobby area of the hotel you can get WiFi but had to pay $5 for an hour. the bathroom in the room is super small only one person at the time can go in. oh by the way we paid for an all include vacation. what a scam!!!!.......

Room Tip: become V.I.P and you will get the whole resort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank amab74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dummerston, Vermont
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2011

My 3 friends from highschool and I booked this vacation thru Cheap Carribean. At first we were skeptical from all the bad reviews that we read. Not to worry though - we landed at the airport and were taken to the resort. Handed a cold drink while we waited to be checked in. Our rooms were ready and we went directly to them. We changed out of our New England winter clothes and went to the VIP beach bar. We were served with a smile each and every time we ordered drinks (we also ordered food at the bar). 2 of us went on the Safari Jeep excursion with Carlos (the best) and had a wonderful time. We saw how the DR people live in the mountains without electricity and running water. My friend brought school supplies which she handed out (some other items were baseballs and hard candy) to the children when the jeep stopped. We tasted sugar cane, fresh coffee and had a tasty lunch prepared by locals. We ended the trip on a beach boogie boarding!! We went to Ocean World to go to the casino (it's a small casino - so don't expect Atlantic City size). We attended the gala dinner which had everything from cheese & fruit to lobster tail. Fireworks were spectacular! We had massages that we wonderfully relaxing. We celebrated one of my friends' birthday while we there and had dinner at the Italian rest. They had balloons on the chairs and also provided a cake for her! The rest of time we ate at the buffet. It is true that after 4 days it gets a little boring but you can also order from different menus at the beach bar and The Blue Lagoon is open for lunch without having to have reservations. Spent a few 1/2 days on the beach which was clean - water was like bathwater warm!! Timeshare people asked us the 2nd day to listen which we did but promptly told them that our husbands were not with us. If you are upfront with them they will leave you alone. We were never bothered the rest of the vacation. We were in bldg. 5 which also has a pool (it's a quiet pool w/out a bar). We did get 2 beach beds on the VIP beach - nice to have the personal service!! Shower does not have a curtain - I brought one from home along w/ duct tape - worked just fine!! A dollar or 2 dollar tip goes a long way - we got extra towels and always had cold items in the frig (we left 2 dollars each day for the maid). If you go, make sure you don't cut your bracelet off before check-out - you have to give it back to them. All in all, the four of us had a great time and find it hard to believe that other travellers had such a horrible experience.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paula57230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Plata hotels
6.7 mi away
Casa Colonial Beach & Spa
Casa Colonial Beach & Spa
#5 of 41 in Puerto Plata
4.5 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
6.6 mi away
Sunscape Puerto Plata Dominican Republic
0.4 mi away
Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Be Live Collection Marien
Be Live Collection Marien
#9 of 41 in Puerto Plata
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,312 reviews
6.6 mi away
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
#3 of 41 in Puerto Plata
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5,240 reviews
6.6 mi away
BlueBay Villas Doradas Adults Only
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort

Property: The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort
Address: Columbus Torre 1 | Playa Cofresi, Puerto Plata 57000, Dominican Republic (Formerly Lifestyle Tropical Beach Resort & Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Puerto Plata
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Puerto Plata
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Plata
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Plata
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 282
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set within the sprawling Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort, The Tropical offers a classic hotel vacation experience set within quaint, two- and threestory, Mediterranean-style buildings. The mood is laid-back and distinctively Caribbean. Guest enjoy all resort facilities and amenities (excluding the V.I.P areas) including swimming pools, a choice of excellent restaurants, exercise rooms, tennis courts, windsurfing and so much more. The Lifestyle Tropical is Ideal for couples seeking a private island hide-away with all the advantages of a world-class resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and BookIt.com so you can book your The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lifestyle Tropical Beach Resort And Spa
Lifestyle Tropical Beach Hotel Puerto Plata
Lifestyle Tropical Beach Resort Spa
Hacienda Tropical
Hotel Lifestyle Tropical Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing