We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and neat, excellent Restaurant, but not 4 star”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Puerto Plata
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Portofino Guest House
Ranked #10 of 15 Puerto Plata B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 27, 2012

The Porto Fino is small, only 18 rooms, but only 2 blocks from the beach. Rooms are neat and clean, all with attached bath, mostly twin-double beds, but some with only 1 double bed.

Found a new definition however for "no hot water." Usually this means that the water from the hot tap runs cold. In this hotel, when most of my party (a group of 15, all arriving from our work site together) were taking their shower, I got no water from the hot tap. Probably not an issue with random arrivals from your day, but an issue when we all wanted a shower at the same time.

Food at the restaurant was plentiful and good. Rumors about eating the local food causing problems were wrong (at least in our case.) It does contain a high volume of fruit, so for the typical American digestive system, bowels may be looser than usual.

The now have a large open space with music and Karaoke if you are looking for an active night life.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank charles819
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (28)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 28 reviews

Reviewed August 22, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Jon V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Las habitaciones lo mejor del hotel ysu restaurant de noche lo maximo y la fina atencion de los due...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nunez I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2017, traveled with family
Thank Elis Rafael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2017, traveled with family
Thank Martha T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2016, traveled with family
Thank hectorfranciscoro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: Ab 2 Personen nicht das kleinste Zimmer nehmen!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hohlbein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Plata hotels
2.3 mi away
Casa Colonial Beach & Spa
Casa Colonial Beach & Spa
#6 of 40 in Puerto Plata
535 reviews
1.9 mi away
Viva Wyndham V Heavens
Viva Wyndham V Heavens
#4 of 40 in Puerto Plata
1,107 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Mountain View
Hotel Mountain View
#29 of 40 in Puerto Plata
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Be Live Collection Marien
Be Live Collection Marien
#9 of 40 in Puerto Plata
3,878 reviews
2.0 mi away
Grand Paradise Playa Dorada
Grand Paradise Playa Dorada
#7 of 40 in Puerto Plata
3,268 reviews
2.1 mi away
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
#5 of 40 in Puerto Plata
5,524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portofino Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portofino Guest House

Address: Calle Hermanas Mirabal # 12, Puerto Plata 57000, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Puerto Plata
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Puerto Plata
Number of rooms: 18
Also Known As:
Portofino Guest House Hotel Puerto Plata

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing