We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
35 people are viewing this hotel
Booking.com
$418
View deal
No prepayment needed
Expedia.com
$327
View deal
Fully refundable before 04/07/23
Official website
$150
View deal
Hotels.com$323
Priceline$418
Orbitz.com$327
View all 18 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,900)
Filter reviews
1,900 results
Traveler rating
1,301
276
166
76
81
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
1,301
276
166
76
81
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pollo entertainment team black banana the ice cream shop happy boy black diamond sexy belly juan pablo chicken japanese restaurant riu bachata pool bar a la carte restaurants steak restaurant family vacation girls trip ala carts
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
570 - 575 of 1,900 reviews
Reviewed April 12, 2020

We had been to this resort twice before, but at that time it was called Riu Bachata. Staying at this resort you could also use the facilities at Riu Merengue and Riu Mambo. The resort had changed owners and the resort had been updated. The only fault I found was it was very modern, the other two resorts had stayed the same.
When we go to the Dominican which we have at least 9 times, we go because we love the island and love the Carribean look of the resorts. But the food was good, the resort was very clean and the staff were excellent.
The staff in the dining area were amazing, always helpful and extremely polite. The other great feature was the street with the Pizzeria, Ice Cream Shop, Cafe etc. which were also included in the price. Great addition.
We did also go to the Riu Merengue for lunch and spent some time at their bar as well and there is the great little bar on the beach at Riu Mambo. We experienced a great deal of rain while we were there, but we still had a great time. I would recommend this resort to other people.

Date of stay: March 2020
2  Thank Marian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Alejandro Castillo, General Manager at Senator Puerto Plata Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2021

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. We are very happy to learn that your stay at the resort was very enjoyable and that you love the service and the professionalism and friendliness from the staff.

In addition, we appreciate that you have taken the time to review this resort and that you have choosen this destination once again as one of your favorites ones!

We trust to welcome you once again in the near future,

Receive a cordial greeting,

Alejandro Castillo
General Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2020

An all around amazing experience! The room was spacious and clean, the food was amazing (especially Embers, you definitely don't want to miss out), and the location is fantastic. The hotel staff were also extremely receptive and accommodating to our requests, too. In particular, Alexandre who works at Mokka is the friendliest and funniest barista I've met, he made sure that my friends and I always had a great laugh. Would definitely recommend Senator Puerto Plata and am considering coming back soon!

Date of stay: March 2020
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank BensonWan
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Alejandro Castillo, General Manager at Senator Puerto Plata Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2021

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive feedback!

We are certainly pleased that your stay at the resort!

We share your comment with Alexandre and thank you on his behalf.

We trust to welcome you once again to the resort in the near future,

Receive a cordial greeting,

Alejandro Castillo
General Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2020 via mobile

Just got back from a week at Senator Spa & Resort and had the best time. We went to 2 of the 3 ala carte restaurants and the food was awesome. The buffet was great as well. The pool area was kept very clean, lots of loungers around, get down early to reserve them. Check in and out very fast, room was very clean and modern. All the staff were great, very pleasant and friendly.

Date of stay: March 2020
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank F2321GQdeanc
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Alejandro Castillo, General Manager at Senator Puerto Plata Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2021

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review.

We appreciate that you have taken the time to review this resort.

We trust to welcome you once again in the near future,

Receive a cordial greeting,

Alejandro Castillo
General Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2020

I wish we could give this place 0 stars. Worst vacation I have ever been on. The staff are absolutely hostile in every interaction (with the exception of the women cleaning the resort who are SO kind), the beach is not usable so many rocks (literally cut my leg on the rocks when walking in the shallow area), but most of all garbage, and lastly the rooms are horrifying. You have to pay extra for a room that doesn't make your clothes smell.
1. The staff
- Having been to a number of all inclusives I have never experienced the apathetic and unfriendly service we did here. We are no strangers to the need to tip and did so diligently, however, we were met with rude comments and sometimes a total lack of service.
- For example, at the coffee shop, Mokka, we asked for two Spanish coffees and when we received them we tipped the young man who prepared them and said thank you, his response "Okay see you never". What kind of rude response is that? Completely and totally unacceptable.
- Next, we wanted to speak to management because, unfortunately, that response was one of many. When we described the awful service we had been receiving she brushed us off and simply said okay thanks and hung up the phone.
-We also tried calling for room service TWICE and were hung up on TWICE. I have too many more examples that would take a novel to share, but essentially every interaction was met with hostility.
2. The garbage (cannot use the beach)
- The beach is literally unenjoyable.
- There is such a depressing amount of garbage on the beach and in the water that went we tried swimming we often ran into garbage. Also, the beach is never cleaned so the garbage that washes up simply stays there until the tide takes it back out.
- What a disrespect to mother nature as well - we as guests, actually ended up picking up some garbage.
3. The amenities
- We continuously asked for more water in our room and never got any
- There is no 'mini bar' in the room, it's just a bottle of rum
- You cannot use any of the water amenities because the beach and water is so gross to swim in

Room tip: Please do not go here!
Date of stay: March 2020
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank selina_facca_2
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Alejandro Castillo, General Manager at Senator Puerto Plata Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2021

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review.

I am certainly dissapointed that your stay at the resort was not positive.

We appreciate that you share the points that could have made your stay different and on behalf of the resort, I apologize for any inconvenience during your stay.

Just to clarify, minibar in the room includes water, soda and a bottle of licor o more depending on room category.
In addition, we have taken notes in order to reinforce any training or language barrier with our staff; In this sense, to inform you that we provide department trainings for customer service, professionalism and languages in order for our collaborators to continue to grow. In this sense we have taken notes in order to revise and this type of missunderstading not to repeat again.

We thank you once again for your review,

Receive a cordial greeting,

Alejandro Castillo
General Director

Again, thank you for your review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2020

I am in the best hotel on the north coast, senator puerto plata spa and resort service number 1, resepcion, bars, kitchen, rooms very clean always, everything clean the crystalline pool, the excellent food, the senator animation is the best # 1 many activities in the pool in the morning and in the afternoon and at night some spectacular shows and very professional live music, the mosquito kept us always informed of everything, the best mosquito a great entertain we coming soon

Date of stay: March 2020
Trip type: Traveled with family
1  Thank 515robertocarlosm
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Alejandro Castillo, General Manager at Senator Puerto Plata Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2021

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review.

We are happy to learn that your stay at the resort was excellent and that you will come back to the resort.

In addition, we will share your reviews with the work team, especially with Mosquito, and thank you on behalf of the team for the compliment.

Trusting to welcome you back to this resort,

Alejandro Castillo
General Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews