We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Puerto Plata
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (842)
Filter reviews
842 results
Traveler rating
525
163
81
33
40
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
525
163
81
33
40
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pollo legends sports bar sexy belly pool bar swim up room entertainment team juan pablo pizza shop a la carte restaurants italian restaurant relaxing week excellent vacation ocean view ala carts cleaning staff bottle of rum family vacation
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
107 - 112 of 842 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Enjoyed every minute of it. Great animation team. Especially Skinny. Food is delicious. We were served shrimps and other sea food every day. Bartenders and personnel are very friendly. I will definitely come here one more time.

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank Aidanayess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SenatorResorts, General Manager at Senator Puerto Plata Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review.

We appreciate your comments on this establishment, services, and the working staff; On your behalf, I will personally share this positive comment with our staff members since it is none other than our interest to make all our guests leave the hotel with a wonderful memory of their vacation.

We remain at your entire disposal and we hope you visit us again on any other occasion, meanwhile, we will continue working to ensure that all our guests enjoy their visit to this establishment.

Receive a cordial greeting,

Alejandro Castillo
Director General

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This was our first time in Dominican Republic and we had an amazing time! This resort is absolutely beautiful with the ocean and the mountains. Everything was new and modern and exceptionally clean. We arrived New Year’s Eve at 11 just in time to ring in the new year. We missed most of the show but it was still a great celebration.

Senator Resort is right next to playabatcha resort and you have full access. It was nice to go for walks there. They have a little disco over there and that was a lot of fun. I liked that the disco wasn’t at our resort though. We didn’t eat or go in the pools there as it was very crowded at Playabatcha. It was just nice to have more to explore. Also there is the cruise ship port on the other side with some shops for souvenirs-be prepared to barter and don’t feel bad about saying no. There’s also another beach over there which is sometimes completely empty.

There were a lot of guests there so service could be slow at times but tips go a long way. Luis at the sports bar was fabulous he remembered us and what we liked to drink and I really was not expecting that. The buffet was great,nothing special but there was always plenty of good food to choose from. We tried the Japanese restaurant and the steak house and both were fabulous!! Only downside is that you had to be up early to book reservations and you can only book one at a time sometimes not even for that night.

I was surprised at the other guests. Some were very rude and pushy and it made feel sorry for the staff. It seemed as though everyone else was miserable while in paradise but you can’t fault the resort for that. We still had a great time and met some wonderful people there too.

Overall one of the best resorts we’ve stayed in.

Date of stay: December 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank MarkJessPetersen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SenatorResorts, General Manager at Senator Puerto Plata Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Guest,

First off, thank you for choosing this destination as your vacation and the Dominican Republic as your country of choice for your trip.

We like to receive feedback from our guest but we like even more when our guests can appreciate the effort and service from the working team, it certainly will make your vacation positively different! In this sense, we make sure to share will department leaders both positive and negative reviews in order to keep the track and improve day by day for our most important objective: our guest satisfaction and enjoyment,

We trust to welcome you once again to this resort in the near future,

Receive a cordial greeting,

Alejandro Castillo
General Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Well....so much to say during our time here!!! We have returned for second time and met up with friends we met here last year!! Service is what it is....your on vacation and what’s the hurry?? Swim up bar, pool bar always fun!! Edwardo at pool bar is awesome at night! During day the entertainment team - Picachu, Mosquito, Skinny, Coffee, Pollo, Wendy, always chatting it up and always providing entertainment and laughs!! The Japanese restaurant was fantastic, (it wasn’t open last year), buffet is a buffet! Also the pool restaurant has a great club sandwich!! Sports bar is busy but burger and onion rings are great! We had a lot of rain this time but that’s not the fault of the resort!
Always a good time and always great memories!!!

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Traveled with friends
1  Thank vanessab193
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SenatorResorts, General Manager at Senator Puerto Plata Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review.

it is a pleasure for us to learn that your stay has been positive, relaxing and with a great ambiance here at the resort.
we share your positive feedback with our working team since comments like these encourage and promote a higher service and work motivation where the big beneficiaries are our guests.

We trust to welcome you back at this hotel or any establishment from Senator Resort,

Receive a cordial greeting,

Alejandro Castillo
General Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Amazing service best food I’ve had on a resort entertainment is best I’ve had to date. Highly remember Polo. Amazing rooms very spacious. Food is very good highly recommend the sports bars if interested in watching hockey or ufc

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank P3216MNryanr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SenatorResorts, General Manager at Senator Puerto Plata Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review.

We appreciate your comments given towards our establishment, and our staff, I will take this comment to them personally, because is in our interest, that all of our guests leave the hotel with a wonderful memory of their vacation.

We once again thank you and are looking forward to welcoming you to any of our establishments,

Receive a cordial greeting,

Alejandro Castillo
General Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Thanks for entertaiment team. Pikachu, mosquito, pollo. All workers are really good. Food was good and Anna and Orlando in the restaurant. Places are clean and many persons keep places good condition.

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Pepe940
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SenatorResorts, General Manager at Senator Puerto Plata Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review.

Thank you for your kind words!
we are glad to know that our clients have been totally satisfied with their stay with us. We will convey to the staff your positive comments since it creates and promotes a good work environment and motivation where the big beneficiaries are our guests.

We trust to welcome you back at this hotel or any establishment from Senator Resort,

Receive a cordial greeting,

Alejandro Castillo
General Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews