We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (823)
Filter reviews
823 results
Traveler rating
509
162
80
33
39
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
509
162
80
33
39
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pollo legends sports bar sexy belly pool bar swim up room entertainment team juan pablo pizza shop a la carte restaurants italian restaurant relaxing week excellent vacation ocean view ala carts cleaning staff bottle of rum family vacation
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
89 - 94 of 823 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This was our first time in Dominican Republic and we had an amazing time! This resort is absolutely beautiful with the ocean and the mountains. Everything was new and modern and exceptionally clean. We arrived New Year’s Eve at 11 just in time to ring in the new year. We missed most of the show but it was still a great celebration.

Senator Resort is right next to playabatcha resort and you have full access. It was nice to go for walks there. They have a little disco over there and that was a lot of fun. I liked that the disco wasn’t at our resort though. We didn’t eat or go in the pools there as it was very crowded at Playabatcha. It was just nice to have more to explore. Also there is the cruise ship port on the other side with some shops for souvenirs-be prepared to barter and don’t feel bad about saying no. There’s also another beach over there which is sometimes completely empty.

There were a lot of guests there so service could be slow at times but tips go a long way. Luis at the sports bar was fabulous he remembered us and what we liked to drink and I really was not expecting that. The buffet was great,nothing special but there was always plenty of good food to choose from. We tried the Japanese restaurant and the steak house and both were fabulous!! Only downside is that you had to be up early to book reservations and you can only book one at a time sometimes not even for that night.

I was surprised at the other guests. Some were very rude and pushy and it made feel sorry for the staff. It seemed as though everyone else was miserable while in paradise but you can’t fault the resort for that. We still had a great time and met some wonderful people there too.

Overall one of the best resorts we’ve stayed in.

Date of stay: December 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank MarkJessPetersen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SenatorResorts, General Manager at Senator Puerto Plata Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Guest,

First off, thank you for choosing this destination as your vacation and the Dominican Republic as your country of choice for your trip.

We like to receive feedback from our guest but we like even more when our guests can appreciate the effort and service from the working team, it certainly will make your vacation positively different! In this sense, we make sure to share will department leaders both positive and negative reviews in order to keep the track and improve day by day for our most important objective: our guest satisfaction and enjoyment,

We trust to welcome you once again to this resort in the near future,

Receive a cordial greeting,

Alejandro Castillo
General Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Well....so much to say during our time here!!! We have returned for second time and met up with friends we met here last year!! Service is what it is....your on vacation and what’s the hurry?? Swim up bar, pool bar always fun!! Edwardo at pool bar is awesome at night! During day the entertainment team - Picachu, Mosquito, Skinny, Coffee, Pollo, Wendy, always chatting it up and always providing entertainment and laughs!! The Japanese restaurant was fantastic, (it wasn’t open last year), buffet is a buffet! Also the pool restaurant has a great club sandwich!! Sports bar is busy but burger and onion rings are great! We had a lot of rain this time but that’s not the fault of the resort!
Always a good time and always great memories!!!

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Traveled with friends
1  Thank vanessab193
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SenatorResorts, General Manager at Senator Puerto Plata Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review.

it is a pleasure for us to learn that your stay has been positive, relaxing and with a great ambiance here at the resort.
we share your positive feedback with our working team since comments like these encourage and promote a higher service and work motivation where the big beneficiaries are our guests.

We trust to welcome you back at this hotel or any establishment from Senator Resort,

Receive a cordial greeting,

Alejandro Castillo
General Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Amazing service best food I’ve had on a resort entertainment is best I’ve had to date. Highly remember Polo. Amazing rooms very spacious. Food is very good highly recommend the sports bars if interested in watching hockey or ufc

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank P3216MNryanr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SenatorResorts, General Manager at Senator Puerto Plata Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review.

We appreciate your comments given towards our establishment, and our staff, I will take this comment to them personally, because is in our interest, that all of our guests leave the hotel with a wonderful memory of their vacation.

We once again thank you and are looking forward to welcoming you to any of our establishments,

Receive a cordial greeting,

Alejandro Castillo
General Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Thanks for entertaiment team. Pikachu, mosquito, pollo. All workers are really good. Food was good and Anna and Orlando in the restaurant. Places are clean and many persons keep places good condition.

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Pepe940
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SenatorResorts, General Manager at Senator Puerto Plata Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review.

Thank you for your kind words!
we are glad to know that our clients have been totally satisfied with their stay with us. We will convey to the staff your positive comments since it creates and promotes a good work environment and motivation where the big beneficiaries are our guests.

We trust to welcome you back at this hotel or any establishment from Senator Resort,

Receive a cordial greeting,

Alejandro Castillo
General Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We arrived December 28th—nearly an hour from the airport so grab a drink at the airport before boarding the bus.

The resort itself is nice—the pools are clean. The hot tub are cold tubs—but nice during the day and away from the busy main pool. The green mountains surrounding the hotel are gorgeous. It’s cool to see the cruise ships come in.

There is no one walking around serving drinks so you have to wait in line at the swim up bar. All margarita and daiquiri-type drinks come from a slushy machine and the rum is dumped over top. Bring a cold drink holder that they can refill or you will be drinking out of small plastic cups.

The beach is beautiful! Lots of palm trees for shade—but if you want sun you need to set up by the pool. There isn’t great snorkeling but we did see some fish. The area isn’t conducive to throwing around a football as there’s too many palm trees but it’s good for walking. Beach volleyball goes all day and we even had a midnight game one evening.

Our room was ok. Beds were very comfortable. The shower was ridiculously small. There was three days that the only cleaning that happened in our room was that the bed was made. The hallways of the buildings are echo-y so you hear everything in the mornings and late at night.

Making reservations for dinner is ridiculous! You have to line up at 8am for them to tell you everything is booked. We had a reservation for 9pm at the tepanaki restaurant but didn’t get seated until 9:50!! Also all restaurants are indoors except a few seats in each restaurant that are reserved for VIPs. There are definitely not enough servers at any restaurant and most do not speak any English. The food was best at the tepanaki. I’m not a fan of buffet anywhere. The Italian restaurant was ok at best. Most of the a la carte restaurant could fit about 20 more tables in them—they seem empty even though they are fully booked. We did go to dinner at the Italian restaurant at the resort next to us one night and the food was great!! And it was an open air restaurant!! Again, they were short on servers so it was slow.

The entertainment crew works very hard.

I think this resort is quite beautiful and if it had a better trained servers, more servers, and more seating in each restaurant, it would be a great place to vacation.

Date of stay: December 2019
Trip type: Traveled with friends
2  Thank karenkJ2104DD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SenatorResorts, General Manager at Senator Puerto Plata Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review.

For us, it is very important to learn about your experience at the resort. We thank you for taking the time to provide us with valuable feedback.

We are very thankful for your comments and take those into consideration since our most important goal is our guest satisfaction; We have already revised all the topics you comment and put in place strategic improvements and we are confident in better results.

Again, we thank you for your comment and hope to welcome you once again at this establishment,

Receive a cordial greeting,

Alejandro Castillo
General Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews