We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“so sick!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! BEWARE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
ClubHotel Riu Bachata
Ranked #10 of 40 Hotels in Puerto Plata
Reviewed January 15, 2005

so sick!!!!!!!!! BEWARE!!!!!
We just returned from Rui Bachata. There were 12 of us and most of all of us were very sick with fevers, achy muscles, chills, vomitting, diarrhoea, dizzy. We too could not wait to be back home. Our two young adults are still there suffering for one more week to meet up with another family that arrived yesterday. We are afraid for them and their health. There were guests that had to go to the hospital and some were hooked up to IV's at the resort from being deathly sick. We have noticed alot of things that were not up to standards that a 5 star or ANY resort should follow. I addressed the manager at the Rui Bachata to look into for helpful suggestions. I have worked in the food industry in Minneapolis for many years and knew and seen standards not followed correctly as regards food preparation and hygiene. Buffet area at the Bachata was too warm for meats sitting out, salads, sea food. I had seen raw chicken uncovered transported by a worker standing awhile in the hot sun with flies talking to girl guests. Food sitting out at the snack area, meats cheeses, salads were uncovered with alot of flies always present. Flies spread disease. We noted that a very large garbage for the city of Puerto Plata is a mile or so of the Rui Bachata. This sure would be a terrible problem for the resort. How do you stop flys? I would have the resort to make the eating area an inclosed air conditioned area with food that is set out for hours to be properly covered. All bar cups, room, buffett cups all plastic disposable. (they did the change to all disposable cups the last two days that we were there) Friends that were on the trip wanted clean glasses in the room and the maid took the glasses and stuck them under the sink in the bathroom and proceeded to wash them with her hands with no soap and gave them back to them.
The bathroom next to the Buffet wear people were running back inforth into the buffet again were sick with vomiting and diarrhoea and then entering buffet again. The smell was putrid and one felt sick just entering to eat a meal. I lived on toast, rice, beans, bottled water for most of the trip. We all ate a variety the first day we were there, then when getting sick food was the last thing to look at or eat.
We had to change our rooms the 2nd night because the rooms were making us sick because of the mildew and molds that were very toxic enough to make it hard to breath with sore throats. We were put in different buildings and are rooms were on 2nd and 3rd floors which were better. We noticed that the maids were using the same mop water for every room and not changing them. So spreading sicknesses. Everything smelled like dirty dish rags smell sour. I bought incense and burned that to make it bearable. I told the manager they need to wipe down all the rooms with bleach solutions everyday and all bathrooms, counter tops. It seemed to be more toxic when the air conditioning was on and then we would get the chills and achy muscles. An air conditioner coils need to be cleaned regularly sayed a friend who works with air conditioners as a living.
*In our room raw wires were hanging out of the electic outlet in our bathroom which was dangerous!
*Bees were swarming pop machines and crawling up into the machines.
*Ice Creams were not the right temps, thawing, soupy.
No warnings about swimming and a few were caught in the rip tides.
*Buildings 12, 13, 14 were near garbage and sewer areas and so smells were very bad.
*Some adult shows were not approperate for children or young adults. Acting out very sexual positions that would be X-rated in the USA. So others watch your children.
*young pre-teens served alcohol without parent consent. 12-17 years old.
*ATM machine was broke intire time and couldn't get any money so we had to borrow among friends. Came home with 3 dollars to our name. The ATM machines were also out on the grounds of the compound and very unsafe to go alone there.
ATM machines should be right in the lobby of resorts and be able to have access to your funds.
*Resort shops are double and triple the amount in US dollars.
one can of room deoderizer was 9$, bic lighter 8$ ect. To make a CD for downloading pics cost 10$. Taxes 35$ to 75$
*No clocks in the rooms
*No washcloths
*jugged bottled water seals were broken.
*In beauty shop the implements uses for manicures and pedicures were not washed and steril according to US standards. (I am a Manager/Cosmetologist) We went in for a pedicure and walked out because of conditions.
*seen workers in food not wear gloves and wiping and cleaning and touching food. Also cooks wiping face, nose then touching food again and not washing.
POSITIVES***********
*maids and grounds, entertainers were wonderful and happy and smiling and such HARD workers!!!! Everyone was helpful, sympathetic and would help you in what ever you asked them. They deserve tips continuely! Lobby clerks, managers very sweet and eager for suggestions and felt bad about the problems happening their and looking for solutions.
The resort was beautiful and the beaches wonderful.
*************************************************
All 12 of us will never ever return because of all the problems that we had! To many bad smells to remind us of our trip that was wasted. Thank goodness for our friend that were with because we supported each other and tried to make the best of a bad trip.
Most on our trip from Minneapolis got sick or were getting sick.
On are way home to the air port from the resort. My blood sugers were messed up and dropped and I almost pasted out! the friends had skittles to get down me to get my suger back up so I would not have to be stuck going to the hospital and missing our only flight home. I am still sick and this is the 2nd day since I have been home.
Who ever reads this please tell friends to cancel their trip to Rui Bachata until they can figure what is going on there. It could be very serious if one gets sick and stuck over there in the hospital.
*We were told to take KILPAR at the pharmacy to kill parasites and so all of us took them and it kills for 3 months. But I am still sick so I will need to go to the doctor.

10  Thank wenn4000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (5,553)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,742 - 4,748 of 5,553 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
Newbury, England
14
Reviewed January 15, 2005

Arrived at Riu Bachata 27th Dec. When booking asked by travel agent if we had any requests. These may not be met but would be forwarded to hotel. Requested : Ocean view, upper floor, quiet. Arrived found reception trying to deal with too many people at a time so not impressed. The room that was allocated was: view of swimming pool (therefore very noisy during the day), two blocks from evening entertainment, ground level. Obviously no notice was taken of our requests.
The VIRUS. I would agree with most of the reviews 'IF YOU CAN CHANGE LOCATION DO NOT GO TO RIU BACHATA or its sister hotels on the same site'.
We were there for one week before I went down with the dreaded virus. 24 hours in bed, 2 weeks not eating properly. It really knocks you out. From talking to other guests it seemed there were NO guests that had not been effected. We also understand this had been going on since end of November, 2004. It was across all three hotels. AVOID THE WHOLE RESORT if at all possible.
We left the Riu Bachata on 10th January, 2005, NOT A DAY TOO SOON, we asked if we could keep our room for a little longer that day and were told they had a lot of victims (sorry guests) coming in that day and it would not be possible. The poor victims, if only they knew what they were letting themselves in for.
It rained for the 2 weeks we were there, although no one can pre-arrange the weather but it was warm. We will not return to Dominican Republic ever again.

4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2005

This place has gone to the dogs. I think at one time it may have been worth a 4 star but stretching it now I can give it a 2 and a half. When you look at the pictures, yes, it does look beautiful. The brochures sell it as one thing, when in fact you'll find you will be extremely disappointed. We started off healthy. We couldn't believe the disorganized check in. Then we had to carry our own bags to our room with only a map to guide us. We entered the room and the musty smell was enough to ask for a change. Then another change - finally giving up by the third time and accepting that they all smell the same. The bedspread with dirty, the pillows were not fit and smelled of vomit, the beds were lumpy and there was mold growing in the bathroom. The towels were not brought to our room until 6 hours after our arrival and 3 calls to the front desk. When we examined the towels we found lipstick and mascara on one and they smelled of bug spray. The hallway lights did not come on till well after dark which left us feeling our way down the stairs (we are early risers and they were not on in the morning either). There are no windows in the hallway - so there isn't any natural light to guide you - just pitch black. The smell of raw sewage was everywhere - especially in the front lobby and main enterainment area. This was our first day....no a great start. It only got worse. We met a couple that were asked by a stranger to take an ill couples children to dinner as the parents were to week. After that we heard the children also fell ill. The food was brought out for breakfast lunch and dinner. We saw a chef with one glove on but he was using his bare hand to place the meat on the platter. Yes, I agree with the others writing it is recycled and is a potential bomb smell for an epedmic even larger than what we have experienced. We have never eaten so many french fries ever! At least we could see them making them. After traveling frequently to 5 star resorts, you expect to gain a couple of pounds - no we all lost weight including our young child. We fell in within our first week. Severe vomiting, diarrhea and weekness. The staff were struggling - as we believe they are feeling ill and could not take the day off work. Two weeks of praying our time was over - that the plane would arrive to take us home - back to proper medical help and the comfort of our CLEAN home.

  • Stayed: January 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank MississaugaTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Windsor
12
Reviewed January 14, 2005

Change Hotels while you can!! Beware of the wrath of the Riu's in Puerto Plata!! You will get sick!!

  • Stayed: January 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
220
Reviewed January 14, 2005

Dont eat the food, it WILL make you sick. Every other person including 2 of the people I was with were sick! We saw the news report on the Canadian news talking about the problem of everyone getting sick, it can't be good for business. There must be something we could do to get some sort of compensation. Other than that, it was a nice resort, the beach could of been better.

  • Stayed: January 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Owings Mills, Maryland
11
Reviewed January 14, 2005

I stayed at the Riu Bachata with 5 other people from January 5 - January 12. We were disappointed from the moment we arrived. Apart from the weather being bad, the food was inedible, and within the first 48 hours 3 people from our group had gotten sick. Throughout the week, I was the only one that did not suffer from vomiting or diarrhea, but I still had a stomachache for a few days.

The entertainment at night was laughable. The performers lip synched and poorly danced to pre-recorded tunes, such as the Grease soundtrack. The "fitness center" was really just a bare room with 2 treadmills and a couple of weights. Our room was not made up every day even if we requested it, and sometimes we did not receive fresh towels or have our fridge restocked.

On the last night of our trip, at 4 am, someone woke up me and my roommate by pounding on the back screen door of our room, trying to get in. After calling the front desk, the security was slow and wasn't reassuring.

In all, I would never recommend the Riu Bachata to anyone and would never return.

1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Kingston, Ontario, Canada
12
Reviewed January 13, 2005

We stayed at the Riu Bachata from Dec. 27 to Jan 3. It was our first ever trip to the Carribbean and the hotel came highly recommended by our travel agent. We can't say enough about the staff - extremely friendly and hospitable and very hard working. We were suspicious about the water, but were assured by many different people that only purified water was used, even for ice cubes. Well all four of us became ill during our stay, and our son has been sick ever since we got home. We heard about this site and feel comforted that he is not alone in this illness, but aghast at the number of people that have similar symptoms. The weather was poor during our visit, but we were determined to enjoy it - beats shovelling snow - and it was quite warm. Two of our excursions were cancelled, due to weather and lack of interest - also a disappointment. Oh yes, one night while I was running to the bathroom yet again, I noticed several cucarachas (yes, cockroaches) scurrying for cover. They didn't bother me too much, but still, not something you expect in a 5 star hotel. We will never forget our trip, but not for the best reasons!

2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Plata hotels
0.2 mi away
ClubHotel Riu Merengue
ClubHotel Riu Merengue
#14 of 40 in Puerto Plata
5,558 reviews
9.5 mi away
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
#5 of 40 in Puerto Plata
5,668 reviews
8.2 mi away
Be Live Collection Marien
Be Live Collection Marien
#9 of 40 in Puerto Plata
4,211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Iberostar Costa Dorada
Iberostar Costa Dorada
#1 of 40 in Puerto Plata
7,610 reviews
9.5 mi away
Sunscape Puerto Plata Dominican Republic
9.5 mi away
BlueBay Villas Doradas Adults Only
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ClubHotel Riu Bachata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ClubHotel Riu Bachata

Address: Bahia de Maimon, Puerto Plata 57000, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Puerto Plata
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Puerto Plata
#5 Spa Hotel in Puerto Plata
#5 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Plata
#7 Family Hotel in Puerto Plata
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Plata
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Plata
Price Range: $120 - $287 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — ClubHotel Riu Bachata 3.5*
Number of rooms: 610
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The All Inclusive ClubHotel Riu Bachata is open all year round, is located in the RIU Resort right on the natural Bahía Maimón beach and next to the ClubHotel Riu Merengue. The RIU Resort features a Caribbean Street with several shops, Wellness Centre and gym. The location is ideal due to its proximity to Puerto Plata (9 km) and Gregorio Luperón International Airport (POP) is approx. 25 km away. The hotel has 610 comfortably furnished rooms and offers many amenities. Relax with a massage at our Renova Spa or get in shape at our gym. 2 outdoor pools, 1 children’s pool. For the youngest guests there is the RiuLand Kids Club (for children from 4 to 7 years & 8 to 12 years old) and for adults, day and evening entertainment as well as Riu Pacha Club and the El Millón Casino. For lovers of gastronomy, we offer live cooking stations at our main buffet as well as Italian and Steakhouse or Caribbean cuisine, 4 bars situated in various areas of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your ClubHotel Riu Bachata reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Bachata Puerto Plata
Clubhotel Riu Bachata Hotel
Clubhotel Riu Bachata Puerto Plata
Riu Bachata Dominican Republic
Riu Puerto Plata
Bachata Riu
Club Hotel Riu Bachata

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing