We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Change Hotels Now!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
ClubHotel Riu Bachata
Ranked #11 of 41 Hotels in Puerto Plata
A TripAdvisor Member
“Change Hotels Now!!”
Reviewed January 14, 2005

Change Hotels while you can!! Beware of the wrath of the Riu's in Puerto Plata!! You will get sick!!

  • Stayed January 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,673
    1,746
    978
    448
    328
See reviews for
1,351
2,084
102
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,027)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed January 14, 2005

Dont eat the food, it WILL make you sick. Every other person including 2 of the people I was with were sick! We saw the news report on the Canadian news talking about the problem of everyone getting sick, it can't be good for business. There must be something we could do to get some sort of compensation. Other than that, it was a nice resort, the beach could of been better.

  • Stayed January 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed January 14, 2005

I stayed at the Riu Bachata with 5 other people from January 5 - January 12. We were disappointed from the moment we arrived. Apart from the weather being bad, the food was inedible, and within the first 48 hours 3 people from our group had gotten sick. Throughout the week, I was the only one that did not suffer from vomiting or diarrhea, but I still had a stomachache for a few days.

The entertainment at night was laughable. The performers lip synched and poorly danced to pre-recorded tunes, such as the Grease soundtrack. The "fitness center" was really just a bare room with 2 treadmills and a couple of weights. Our room was not made up every day even if we requested it, and sometimes we did not receive fresh towels or have our fridge restocked.

On the last night of our trip, at 4 am, someone woke up me and my roommate by pounding on the back screen door of our room, trying to get in. After calling the front desk, the security was slow and wasn't reassuring.

In all, I would never recommend the Riu Bachata to anyone and would never return.

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed January 13, 2005

We stayed at the Riu Bachata from Dec. 27 to Jan 3. It was our first ever trip to the Carribbean and the hotel came highly recommended by our travel agent. We can't say enough about the staff - extremely friendly and hospitable and very hard working. We were suspicious about the water, but were assured by many different people that only purified water was used, even for ice cubes. Well all four of us became ill during our stay, and our son has been sick ever since we got home. We heard about this site and feel comforted that he is not alone in this illness, but aghast at the number of people that have similar symptoms. The weather was poor during our visit, but we were determined to enjoy it - beats shovelling snow - and it was quite warm. Two of our excursions were cancelled, due to weather and lack of interest - also a disappointment. Oh yes, one night while I was running to the bathroom yet again, I noticed several cucarachas (yes, cockroaches) scurrying for cover. They didn't bother me too much, but still, not something you expect in a 5 star hotel. We will never forget our trip, but not for the best reasons!

Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed January 13, 2005

Went to Riu Bachata from jan 4- jan 11th. We traveled from NY-JFK.. 6 college students. We've traveled to Puerto Plata and Punta Cana before, but this was our first time with Riu. As always we have enjoyed our stay at Dominica Republic. The stomach flu seems unavoidable, out of 6 only 3 of us got sick on our last day. Just take Immodium with you and you'll be fine (follow the directions on the back!!!!!). The grounds of the resort is very nice. The beach is pretty, though not the typical Punta Cana beach. The rooms were kept spotless. The only thing that we seem to dislike about this resort is the entertaiment at night.. the shows weren't that good. The only show we liked was "magic" that was hilarious. The disco played hip-hop and latino music....very happy atmosphere...we loved it. Food is good, but you do have to watch what you eat. I wouldn't eat anything with coco mixure. Also, the steak house was nothing special. I'd stick with the main restaurant. The Cayo Paradise tour $84 was very nice, unforgettable experience ..worth the whole day. Also, while you're enjoying the Cayo Paradise tour, you will be video taped., we purchased the dvd..and the quality of the video was very poor, its only $45. I wouldn't suggest taking video camera with you, unless you won't snorkle and have someone watch it for you. Overall, we enjoyed our vacations. If you're going to Puerto Plata Riu resorts Have Fun!!! Just in case have some medications with you and don't let the tummy problems spoil your vacations!! If you have any questions feel free to email me.

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2005

In all fairness, this is one of the nicer resorts I've ever been to (even though the beach is pretty sad). However, I can't give it more than one star because my week was a nightmare.

I've been sick on vacations before... I've done a lot of travelling. Getting the runs for eating a bit of unfamiliar food is par for the course. However, what I experienced at this place was unlike anything else I have ever felt. Absolutely violent puking for hours on end. I couldn't even keep water down, it was horrible.

Something is wrong here... no question. But nobody said anything. Not Sunquest, not the resort... nobody. At least a warning would have helped slow the spread, or encouraged people to WASH THEIR HANDS before going to the dining room (this includes the staff).

I seriously think we should be considering a class action lawsuit against Sunquest and Riu for this atrocity. Handing over thousands of dollars to spend a week draped over a toilet is not my idea of a good exchange. The lack of any kind of warning/communication from these parties regarding this illness is irresponsible - plain and simple.

Neither Sunquest or Riu will ever get my business again.

  • Stayed January 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank ThirdWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2005

Just wanted to report back on an incredible time in Puerto Plata at the RIU.

Our family enjoyed a week-long vacation in PARADISE. The RIU staff was incredibly friendly, the weather a perfect 80 degrees and sunny, and the RIU rooms were very spacious, clean and comfortable.

The days were filled with leisure activities at the RIU, with plenty of swimming in the fabulous pools and their nightly entertainment was appropriate and enjoyable for the whole family.

The RIU resort included all the amenties and service you could ask for and my family truly felt blessed to experience such a week in PARADISE.

Hope your family can do the same at the RIU in Puerto Plata. Cheers.

Helpful?
3 Thank Taoteching
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Plata
0.2 mi away
ClubHotel Riu Merengue
ClubHotel Riu Merengue
#14 of 41 in Puerto Plata
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5,325 reviews
9.5 mi away
Sunscape Puerto Plata Dominican Republic
8.2 mi away
Be Live Collection Marien
Be Live Collection Marien
#9 of 41 in Puerto Plata
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Iberostar Costa Dorada
Iberostar Costa Dorada
#2 of 41 in Puerto Plata
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,993 reviews
168.9 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Turquesa
Grand Bahia Principe Turquesa
#60 of 111 in Punta Cana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,102 reviews
9.5 mi away
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
#5 of 41 in Puerto Plata
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5,378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ClubHotel Riu Bachata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ClubHotel Riu Bachata

Property: ClubHotel Riu Bachata
Address: Bahia de Maimon, Puerto Plata 57000, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Puerto Plata
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Puerto Plata
#5 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Plata
#8 Family Hotel in Puerto Plata
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Plata
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Plata
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — ClubHotel Riu Bachata 3.5*
Number of rooms: 610
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Located on the beach in Maimon Bay * Complimentary sun loungers on the beach * Inside the Riu Resort, along with ClubHotels Riu Merengue and Riu Mambo * Main building plus 1 and 2-story bungalows * Surrounded by 50,000 m2 of tropical gardens * 9 km / 5.5 miles from Puerto Plata * 25 m / 81 ft. from Caribbean Street * 25 km / 15.5 miles from Puerto Plata Intl. Airport * 500 m / 1650 ft. from a bus stop * Credit cards accepted: Visa, MasterCard, Diners ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your ClubHotel Riu Bachata reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Bachata Puerto Plata
Clubhotel Riu Bachata Hotel
Clubhotel Riu Bachata Puerto Plata
Riu Bachata Dominican Republic
Riu Puerto Plata
Bachata Riu
Club Hotel Riu Bachata

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing