We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We had the time of our lives!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
ClubHotel Riu Bachata
Ranked #10 of 40 Hotels in Puerto Plata
Reviewed March 15, 2013

We recently returned from the Riu Bachata, having stayed for 7 days from March 5th - 12th with Sunwing. My wife and I travelled with two of my friends from work and their wives.

Upon arrival the party began! We were given drinks, handed an envelope with our room key, safe key/lock and a few other pieces of information and we were off to our rooms where our luggage was transported by our Sunwing rep. One thing we loved was that the staff kept saying "hola, welcome home!"

Our room was nice, clean, modern, pretty much spot on with what i had read in other reviews (hard pillows, only one blanket on the bed...we asked for another blanket... we got it within minutes, two double beds pushed together.) But we weren't on vacation to stay in our room and sleep. You can nitpick all you want but if you want a bed like your own then stay at home.

Given this was our first all inclusive we quickly decided after changing into our shorts to indulge in the many bars starting with the one at the main lobby which we called "Soto" due to one of our favorite bartenders name. On day one we walked through the entire Riu complex including the Merengue and Gardens where we stopped off for drinks at the various bars spreadout throughout the 3 resorts which you are welcome to use. The beer is Presidente which is good but we were happy to down a Corona when we left the resort. There is always a variety of slushy drinks each day which you can't go wrong with, though you do need to inform the bartenders to add more rum/liqour if you are in it for a good time.

Throughout the week we split our time between the beach and the pool bar. The beach is better than what I expected due to some reviews I had read, however near the water there is a lot of coral due to the ridges of reef 100m or so from shore. This did not hinder anyone from using the beach...the sand is nice and the trees add an authentic feel to the beaches while there is plenty of sunny areas to sunbath.

We enjoyed the shows at night...some nights maybe too much! Thanks to my friends I was even part of the Michael Jackson dance competition which I ended up winning. (I had an unfair advantage)

The show area one of them many great place to meet new people...however we met some amazing people at the pool bar (party central) and the beach volleyball courts. We met people from Manchester, Boston, PEI, Russia and even some folks from the same hometown as us. This was a key ingredient to making this trip special...diversity.

As noted in many other reviews the grounds are amazing...never stop working. We took beers from our mini bars and handed them out to the workers to show some appreciation which they loved.

We found there is always something to do here but it is what you make it. I'm sure some of the older people were annoyed with our drunken banter while others would laugh along or at us. The animation teams keep people moving all day which is impressive because some/most of them are involved in the nightly shows and seem to never get a rest. The favourite of the group was Gigi! This dude should be a back up dancer for Lady Gaga or something...he's always dancing even on the beach volleyball court (which don't let the dancing fool you...He's a wicked ball player) We met countless others Scuby, Skinny, Tequila (Merengue) to name a few.

We did the Tip Top catamaran (saw dolphins and a whale), Girls went horse back riding...us guys went on an ATV tour. People off the resort are very welcoming and friendly...there is no need to be afraid to leave the resort.

By the end of the week we were all sad to see it come to an end...The food, the drinks, the beach, the dancing and our new friends we will greatly miss. If you are a new traveller and looking for a fun, nice place... then this the place for you!

Ryan,
Riu Bachata 2013

Room Tip: We were in room 1216 which was at the entrance of the building which sees a lot of traffic. however...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ryan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (5,492)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,830 - 2,836 of 5,492 reviews

Reviewed March 15, 2013

This was our first trip down south, and we had a lot of fun! We have nothing to compare it to, but we liked the room, the food was pretty good and a large selection to choose from. The entertainment was a bit repetitive, but overall it was good. The beach was small, but the water was nice and there was lots of shade on the beach. The staff were friendly, and Orlando in the dinner hall was great!! We were a large group of 20, and every night he had a table set up for all of us. Overall we had a great time!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ariana J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

My wife and I stayed at Riu Bachata from Feb 26 / 2013 to Mar 5 / 2013
The service, Food , Hospitality were Excellant, the staff was very friendly and Management was very good at seeing that you had a good enjoyable stay.
a recomendation that we have would be that you take medication (As We Did) with you in case you get the runs
as my wife encountered a minor case of this for part of one day, we think it maybe had to do with water or something that she ate that didnt agree with her.
When you go any carribean island to can expect the chance of this with sampling so variety of different foods or drink,
We Especially like the fact that in the garden patio they had musical entertainment for all ages including 50s 60s and country at a respectable volume leval and you could get up and dance.
most other resorts want to blast you out of your shorts with stuff you cant understand
The other thing we encountered was that if you sat near a garden flower bed you would find yourself scratching from small bug bites ( I thought we only got these in ontario cottage country)
They could use a little more bug spray for that when we stayed at coconut bay in St lucia a few years ago they came through with a fogger system to iliminate pesty insects
All in All a good time was had !
Thankyou

Room Tip: Oceon / Bay View is quiet area of resort, ground floor is nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MJH2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Stayed in this hotel beginning of march started of with not liking the room asked to change was told cant till next day loades of Mosquitos in room asked to have the room sprayed 4 times till they actually came bought some room spray ourselves cost a fortune advis to take a plug in Mosquitos eradicator reception staff not at all obliging everything was to much trouble bar staff very good especially angel at the pool bar food same old as in most all inc hotels Rained a couple of days manager going round with ho chocolate brandy teas coffee nice touch all in all good experience but certainly very dated and yes you can smell the sewers but after all you are on holiday

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jilly12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

My wife and I have done many all inclusive vacations, but this was the first with our kids. Please keep in mind they are all teenagers now! The rooms were very nice and were kept very clean. We never had any problem with hot water running out. The mini bar was stocked up every other day- no problems! Our only complaint was that the rooms had two double beds put together to form a king bed. Good for the kids room, not as good for us- but ok. They brought a single bed into our kids room so they didn't have to share a bed- awesome!
The buffet was fairly good- typical for a five star all inclusive. Food was fresh and was frequently restocked. Bacon didn't seem to be out every morning, but thats ok. Nice fresh omelettes at two separate stations. Coffee and tea were very good. Lunch buffet was good as well. Note that their hamburgers were always red in the middle no matter how well they were cooked. This just seemed to be the colour of the beef as no one got sick from eating them. As a matter of fact, none of us had any problems from all the meals we ate- not in the slightest! Dinner at the buffet was pretty good, more of the same every night. We ate a la carte three times during our stay. Steakhouse twice and Italian once. The steakhouse was surprisingly good. Steaks were cooked perfectly (medium rare). Nice atmosphere and good service. The Italian was more of the same, but the food wasn't quite as good. Still very good for an all inclusive resort. I find it funny that people think they are going to get a meal comparable to a five star restaurant back home- its just not going to happen. Overall good food experiences!
The drinks served at the resort were fairly good. We have had better but these were fairly close. No worries about watered down drinks here. They put lots of alcohol in each drink. When drinking rum, be sure to ask for Brugal. This is the premium rum made in the Dominican Republic.
The pools were fun and didn't seem to over crowded. The pool bar was nice and was a good place to meet new people. Be sure to put your towel out with a book on a lounge chair early in the morning if you would like to choose your spot by the pool. We sometimes went later in the afternoon and would find some chairs, just not five together. Going down to the ocean was nice as well. The beach was very long so finding a spot never seemed to be a problem. Be sure to bring water shoes as there is lots of rocks in the water. You have to walk further down to find a safe swimming area. I went out snorkelling one day and found out why you should only swim in the designated area. There are lots of sea urchin's in the water. Never heard of anyone having any problems with them, but I wasn't taking any chances. Be sure to bring a frisbee and a water football with you- always fun. Don't expect nice white sand beaches here. Definitely not the nicest ocean front property we have been to (beach wise). It was however well maintained and was always being cleaned during the day. We took the Kayaks out and they were lots of fun. Just be careful, jumping waves is lots of fun, but if you get knocked out it is fairly hard to get back into!
We did some excursions while we were there. First we took a taxi into the town to do some shopping. Our driver took us on a scenic tour of the town, stopping at many different places so we could take some photos. He even brought us to the Dominican version of Walmart. We needed more sunscreen and a few other supplies- more reasonable then at the resort. He only charged us $40 for our group of five. We gave him a $8 bottle of rum and a $10 tip. Would definitely recommend doing this. Cheaper and more fun then doing a group tour. My son and I tried doing a fishing charter. We got skunked and that isn't much fun. But that happens sometimes so all is good. My wife and other two kids did the safari. They had lots of fun and got lots of pictures. Our last excursion was supposed to be the catamaran. This was booked through Sunwing. We knew a group that wanted to join the excursion but were told there was no room as only 60 people were to go on. We turned up and were surprised by all the people showing up. My wife counted over 80 people (us included). There really wasn't much room on the boat as more and more people kept boarding. My wife questioned the staff why there was so many people. He said the resorts kept sending more and more people. He insisted that the boat could hold 100 people. We decided it wasn't worth it and asked to be brought back to the resort. He told us he would bet a taxi and said we would be refunded. Our Sunwing Rep gave us a little hassle when we got back, but then worked with us. We changed over to the two person dune buggies. This ended up being a ton of fun- highly recommend doing this. Bring old clothes and wear your water shoes. We went through lots of mud and were covered top to bottom.
Overall this was a very good trip for our family. I would recommend this resort to friends and family. Weather was 27-30 every day. It rained on our final day, but the rest was pure sunshine. Hope this review helps.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank VDVSETS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

great place for a family vacation, workers are very friendly.Manager Fredrick was awesom he spoke to my friends and played with our sons everyday. He checked on us to make sure everything was ok and to see if we needed anything. Has a miniture bar in room and was well stock. I recommend to stay at the Rui Bachata, great food awesom view

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank troy s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2013

Great get away with little to no complaints.
Pros: Check in was a breeze! Place was beautiful, clean and well maintained. The grounds crew are constantly cleaning, clipping, painting or emptying garbages. I would rate it as a 3.5 - 4 star, food was really good, we could always find something to eat and it had a great variety. We only ate at the Steakhouse ala carte, it was good. Prime Rib was delicious. Stole some of my hubby's. Rooms were a little dated but clean and our room locations were perfect. We were all (group of 11) in building 9, close to the theatre and 24 hour bar. I wouldn't recommend this location if you want to be asleep before 10.
Loved having the 2 resorts (Merengue and Bachata) side by side along the ocean. The Merengue has two resorts, the Garden and the Village, not sure what the difference is between the two but I know the Bachata rooms are bigger than both. There’s a paved pathway along the beach that you can use to access both resorts, it really is pretty, well lit and has restaurants and the disco just off the path. If you didn’t like what was happening at your resort in the evening you could go for a walk and find something else to do. Make sure you pay attention to what the evning entrtainment is because we almost missed the beach party at the Garden, it was FUN.
The beach is much nicer then Tripadvisor reviews led me to believe. I loved the palm trees on it. Shade is a good thing ! You could always find the sun. The animation crew were probably some of the best I‘ve experienced. So full of life and nergy. Make a point of finding GiGi, Tracy and Skinny. Rami booked all of our tours for us, you can find him around the pool throughout the day, went well out of his to accomodate such a large group.

We heard from some locals that Carnival Cruise Lines has bought the property right beside the Bachata, the beach behind the chapel on the point. It’s a little inlet and Carnival will be building a pier, new shops are built and ready to go. The guy said within 2 weeks but I can’t see it happening that quickly. The old shops along the water and the surrounding area are pretty rough looking. I can see the Bachata getting really busy and pricey in the future because of it so if you're thinking of going, now's the time.

CON: The fridge did not get filled up often enough. Three times in total in one week. Makes it tough when you only receive 2 big bottles of water for 2 days when you have to use it to brush your teeth.
You could however go to the front desk and get a bottle if you needed to.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Holley D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Plata hotels
0.2 mi away
ClubHotel Riu Merengue
ClubHotel Riu Merengue
#14 of 40 in Puerto Plata
5,491 reviews
8.2 mi away
Be Live Collection Marien
Be Live Collection Marien
#9 of 40 in Puerto Plata
4,087 reviews
9.5 mi away
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
#5 of 40 in Puerto Plata
5,621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Iberostar Costa Dorada
Iberostar Costa Dorada
#2 of 40 in Puerto Plata
7,516 reviews
9.5 mi away
BlueBay Villas Doradas Adults Only
9.5 mi away
Sunscape Puerto Plata Dominican Republic
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ClubHotel Riu Bachata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ClubHotel Riu Bachata

Address: Bahia de Maimon, Puerto Plata 57000, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Puerto Plata
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Plata
#5 Spa Hotel in Puerto Plata
#7 Family Hotel in Puerto Plata
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Plata
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Plata
Price Range: $116 - $287 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — ClubHotel Riu Bachata 3.5*
Number of rooms: 610
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Located on the beach in Maimon Bay * Complimentary sun loungers on the beach * Inside the Riu Resort, along with ClubHotels Riu Merengue and Riu Mambo * Main building plus 1 and 2-story bungalows * Surrounded by 50,000 m2 of tropical gardens * 9 km / 5.5 miles from Puerto Plata * 25 m / 81 ft. from Caribbean Street * 25 km / 15.5 miles from Puerto Plata Intl. Airport * 500 m / 1650 ft. from a bus stop * Credit cards accepted: Visa, MasterCard, Diners ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your ClubHotel Riu Bachata reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Bachata Puerto Plata
Clubhotel Riu Bachata Hotel
Clubhotel Riu Bachata Puerto Plata
Riu Bachata Dominican Republic
Riu Puerto Plata
Bachata Riu
Club Hotel Riu Bachata

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing