We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Riu Bachata”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
ClubHotel Riu Bachata
Ranked #11 of 41 Hotels in Puerto Plata
charltooetown pe
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Riu Bachata”
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Recently visited Riu Bachata,The staff were exceptional,friendly and courteous.We found the Grounds,Rooms and Common areas spotless.Great job Bachata staff.The food was very good and with lots of variety.We had very few problems,but thoses we had were corrected within minutes,best seven days we had in D.R so far.We will see you again Riu Bachata..Before leaving we read the reviews on tripadvisor.and we were a bit apprehensive of bachata.but dont believe everything you read.Bachata managers were everywhere,asking how our vacation was going and if there was anything they could do to for us.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank rick a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,673
    1,746
    978
    448
    328
See reviews for
1,351
2,084
102
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,027)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the bachata on February 12th for a week with another couple and we all agree it was the cleanest resort we've ever been to. Our rooms were lovely and looked new to me with a sweet little balcony on the second floor. Although there should have been a few more bathrooms on the resort the ones there were exceptionally clean. As far as the food we never went hungry although at the end of the week we were ready for home food. The workers were friendly and very helpful and kept the grounds immaculate. The beach was nice and very shaded if that's what you were looking for. We did some snorkelling which we booked through the resort for $50 with the glass bottom boats and had a great time with the snorkel crew who were very accommodating and attentive to those who were not avid snorkellers(meaning myself):-) overall would definitely recommend this resort :-)

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Monread
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2013

beautiful place ,great food , lot`s of sun, and a hold lot of fun.
yes!!! I would go back in a heart beat.
the pools are great and the staff was excellent, hugs and kiss from a few just great people.
3 couples on this trip and we did not kill each other
we got along great

Room Tip: ocean view room 139 was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Muriel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, Nova Scotia, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2013

My wife and I just returned home to Nova Scotia today from an amazing week at the Bachata. Before goin on this trip I had read many reviews and was kind of discouraged by all the negativity. Once arriving, any doubt was gone. We had a great week. All of these people complaining must be expecting royal treatment. How can you complain about the weather, the resort doesnt control the weather. The staff are amazing, the bar tenders are comical and you cant help but laugh at this guys as they make goin to the bar entertaining The entertainment staff is very funny and they put on a good show. Many people complain about the shows, but if you want Vegas like shows, than spend alot more money and go to Vegas, otherwise enjoy these talented kids. The food was good, there was always a large variety, so even the picky eaters like myself could find something good to eat. The steak house was very good. The rooms were very clean. The beaches are beautiful, and yes there are some trees covering part of the beach, but after an hour or two in the hot sun, the shade from those trees is very nice. The water is so warm and snorkelling was very nice. The pool area is amazing and you can easily spend a whole day in there with lots to do. I do agree that some of the pool chairs fill up fast, but there are plenty of loungers available at the beach every day. With 1200 people there, I think it ould be hard to have a lounger by the pool for everyone. Fredrick the manager, was always asking people how they were enjoying the trip and if there waws any problems. That was nice to see, except I had no problems to complain about. This is a very nice resort and we will most definately recommend it to others and return our selves. Dont let the negative reviews discourage you, any business, resort or company can not please everyone and will always have some negative talk. Go to the Bachata, enjoy your week and you will want to return.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank mcleod20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
queensbury,ny
Level Contributor
50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Just returned from Riu Bachata--we had nice time there .. I went with 2 friends/spent 10 days there -- the pros --the place is very clean, the grounds are well groomed,the cleaning people do a fantastic job -- our room was cleaned everyday ( when she left it looked like we had not been in the room)( by the way our room looked just like in the pictures)--the food is good (if you can't find something to eat than you are just too picky and shouldn't go anywhere)--the pool area is nice/clean-- the employees are very friendly -the dining staff is great--------the cons -you only get one room key (unless you pay extra) beach is not very good-too many trees/rocks -- you had to walk down further to get any sun- the casino is terrible (old slot machines) would have liked to see more coffee stations in early morning-we liked having coffee in our room in the morning and we had to go to main dining to get it -we also noticed that everyone brought their own drink mugs( I wish we had done that)--also to bring a container for coffee to bring back to room -we took a coffee pot from the dining room (they didn't like that) we held on to it and hid it the room to use everyday ---we would definitely go back --there are lot of activities you can join but our vacation is strictly relaxation(eating/drinking- reading books by the pool )---it was a great value

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Wow. Our third time at Riu Puerto Plata (2 @ Mambo, this one at Bachata). The service, staff, food and beverages just keep getting better. Arrived and left Dominican Republic late thanks to weather in Ontario. From arrival to departure the staff at R Bachata could not have been more helpful. In the seven days we were there we did not experience one instance of difficulty or disappointment with any staff member. Special thanks and commendations to Frederick, Service Manager who seemed to be everywhere checking on the guest satisfaction and comfort. Freddy - Restaurant Manager, all the reception staff we dealt with - too many to name, notable bar staff Roberto, Soto, Patricia, waiter Ramon, Orlando and others whose name are lost to me. Special thanks to Dr. Bell(?) at the Out Patient Clinic and Jessy our personal massage therapist.
As another TripAdvisor reviewer notes "Great holiday at a great place".
We will return to Riu Bachata whenever we visit the Dominican Republic in the future.

Room Tip: We did not have an ocean view but that will be our only upgrade next visit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cranmer1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

Location: 40 minutes airport pay 10.00 us per person as soon as you land

Hotel: emailed resort but did not get what we wanted but building block 600 was fine but our view was terrible faced a building

You need to rent 2.00 us for plug and the only give you one room key no card so if you want extra key pay 10.00 us make sure you get a receipt to reimburse you at the end since you need to show that receipt

Food: Found the food same as Cuba except they had coke. Not much difference than going to Cuba only difference puerto plata had beautiful mountains

Staff: excellent so friendly manager always coming around entertainment shows best that I have seen

Weather: beautiful hot and sunny all week

Pool: swim up bar but you need to reserve your seats at 6:30 am since people from all riu resorts use this pool

Beach: disappointed no sandy white beach lots of trees water not clear but you were always able to find a seat

Excursion: We did extreme avalanche includes waterfall, horseback riding and zip lining 127.00 us per person well worth

Leaving; paid 10.00 per hour for late check out since we had a late flight and again 20.00 us required to pay to leave

Would I go again: I Probably would not go to puerto plata again due to the beach

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Immacolita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Plata
0.2 mi away
ClubHotel Riu Merengue
ClubHotel Riu Merengue
#14 of 41 in Puerto Plata
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5,325 reviews
9.5 mi away
Sunscape Puerto Plata Dominican Republic
8.2 mi away
Be Live Collection Marien
Be Live Collection Marien
#9 of 41 in Puerto Plata
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Iberostar Costa Dorada
Iberostar Costa Dorada
#2 of 41 in Puerto Plata
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,993 reviews
168.9 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Turquesa
Grand Bahia Principe Turquesa
#60 of 111 in Punta Cana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,103 reviews
9.5 mi away
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
#5 of 41 in Puerto Plata
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5,378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ClubHotel Riu Bachata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ClubHotel Riu Bachata

Property: ClubHotel Riu Bachata
Address: Bahia de Maimon, Puerto Plata 57000, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Puerto Plata
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Puerto Plata
#5 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Plata
#8 Family Hotel in Puerto Plata
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Plata
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Plata
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — ClubHotel Riu Bachata 3.5*
Number of rooms: 610
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Located on the beach in Maimon Bay * Complimentary sun loungers on the beach * Inside the Riu Resort, along with ClubHotels Riu Merengue and Riu Mambo * Main building plus 1 and 2-story bungalows * Surrounded by 50,000 m2 of tropical gardens * 9 km / 5.5 miles from Puerto Plata * 25 m / 81 ft. from Caribbean Street * 25 km / 15.5 miles from Puerto Plata Intl. Airport * 500 m / 1650 ft. from a bus stop * Credit cards accepted: Visa, MasterCard, Diners ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your ClubHotel Riu Bachata reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Bachata Puerto Plata
Clubhotel Riu Bachata Hotel
Clubhotel Riu Bachata Puerto Plata
Riu Bachata Dominican Republic
Riu Puerto Plata
Bachata Riu
Club Hotel Riu Bachata

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing