We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overpriced and definately not a 5* resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
ClubHotel Riu Bachata
Ranked #11 of 41 Hotels in Puerto Plata
Burton upon Trent
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Overpriced and definately not a 5* resort”
Reviewed December 3, 2012

We booked this trip through the Thomson Platinum Brochure, under the advice of the Co-Operative travel agency. To say we were robbed is and understatement. The rooms are well appointed with air con, but the lack of basic food hygene standards and general 'blandness' of the food really lets it down. The front desk staff are not helpful at all and in fact became rude when we asked for assistance. The roaming manager 'Frederick' promises everything but delivers nothing. The wine for 2 weeks was either like vinegar or simply cloudy and 'off'. I became ill part way through the holiday, as did other couples that we met. The beds provided are not adequate for a family of 2 adults and 2 children, and we never got a decent nights sleep, i even slept on a blow up bed for a couple of nights. The wi-fi access is 'patchy' if you can get on to it, and they have now started charging 10 USD a day for it!!!! The beach is one of the worst beaches we have been on in the carribean, with broken corel lining the floor, seaweed floating around and even excrement. The pool staff forced our son out of the pool at 5:45pm even though it states that the pool is open until 7:00pm. The so called snack bar never opened, and when we asked why, we were told by the manager that the snack bar does not open if the hotel is at less than 50% occupancy. The pool bar closes at 6:00pm sharp leaving a lot of people sat around the pool with no drinks. The kids club is open from 10am - 12noon & 3pm - 5pm, however the club is not very well managed and the girls running it just sit in the hut all day on their phones. The evening entertainment is a joke, with a really poor standard of entertainment and not suitable for children, with the entertainment team gyrating at every possible opportunity. The so-called animation team were really not interested and also spent a lot of time on their phones, and telling you all their problems, like they have lost money, or phones etc etc. The speciality restaurants, if you could call them that were ok, however in order to get a table, you need to be in the main restaurant at 07:00hrs to book. Also only 1 restaurant is open per night, italian 1 night, and then steakhouse the next!! The food in general was bland, repetative and not of a very high standard. The drinks provided are also of a low standard, (alcohol and soft drinks). The beer after only a couple, leaves you feeling bloated and unwell. Although they have smirnoff and other branded spirit bottles, dont be fooled as these are filled with the cheapest local spirits. The grounds are well maintained and are a pleasure to walk around. The adjacent beach (not the main beach) has shacks at the one end. Dont be fooled by the lovely appearance of the beach, the locals in the shacks are very pushy sellers, and made my wife and young daughter feel very threatened. Overall we are very dissapointed with Thomson holidays and are in utter dis-belief that this is one of their Platinum resorts. We have complained in writing to Thomson, but have heard nothing yet. I would suggest looking elsewhere..............

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the 3rd floor of the blocks, as there are less mosquito's
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,097 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,658
    1,713
    960
    442
    324
See reviews for
1,331
2,043
101
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,014)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2012

We (2 couples) recently stayed at the riu bachata in peurto plata in November 2012. The complex and the rooms were beautiful and very well kept. The staff were all very friendly. The food at the buffet was excellent with lots of choice. However for a five star hotel we were disappointed in the special restaurants as the food at the. buffet was superior. In addition you had to be in the lobby by 7am to book one of only two restaurants each day. But the most disappointing of all was the wine and liquor served, Not sure where the International Brands were but we were never served anything remotely close to international. In fact, the wine was undrinkable , As the complex itself does not offer other wines, even at an additional cost we were forced to purchase our wine in the small tuck shop located on the resort,. I would certainly suggest you bring your own wine When we complained about the wine at the front desk the employee said , I know we get a lot of complaints about our wine. Not the answer we were looking for..

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ottawaevie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2012

Overall not a bad experience, but would not return. The hotel is listed as a five star resort, but is far from it. The beach is terrible - don't even bother.

The food is so-so, very bland. I was sick after 36 hours at the resort and spent 36 hours at the hospital in Puerto Plata. The reception sent someone up to our room with a little "urn" as a present. When we answered the knock on our door, the man said "Congratulations! From reception!" and the urn had a little note that was addressed to me and said something along the lines of "We hope you feel better".

The liquor is terrible. They have Smirnoff bottles, bottles of Gordon's gin, Ballantine's, etc...all filled with the cheapest domestic liquor. The rooms have liquor dispensers...but they're stocked with the worst liquor you could possibly find. The beer is also terrible, don't bother.

Only two a la carte restaurants and only one is open each night? Steakhouse was great, italian was "meh".

The rooms were very clean, but this may be because they look recently updated. Small bugs found on the walls and random spots. Don't forget bug spray. Pool is nice, but would have been nice to have a beach to lounge at.

Most guests are from Europe - England and Germany. We were from Canada and only met a few Canadians the entire trip. Not really a "party" crowd, mostly older couples and families with very young children.

The shows were good, not amazing though. Something to occupy you at least. The entertainment crew was amazing though, especially Gigi. They went out of their way to involve everyone in activities and ensure that everyone was enjoying themselves.

Don't bother asking the reception for anything. They'll just pass you off to someone else...

Room Tip: Second floor...always stay on the second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jadey W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stoke on trent
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2012

A great hotel, clean, the y even have a lady standing outside the toilets near the dining room with hand sanitizing gel.The mini bar with litre bottles of vodka,rum,brandy and gin, and the fridge re stoked with pepsi,tonic,soda water,tonic water,beers and water for hydrating!!!! which was restocked every other day was a nice touch.

Helpful?
9 Thank Dixie252
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stoke on trent
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2012

Just back from fab holiday in Dominican Republic, Club Riu Bachata Hotel. Everyone from the waiters , cleaning staff, receptian staff,towelboys, gardeners, handymen ect. were very friendly, helpful, and polite. The thomson reps were always aboutand were very helpful.While we were there they installed wi-fi into the grounds so that all rooms will have wi-fi, the workers made the concerete blocks, installed the posts and painted them, without any disruption, some guests did not even notice them being erected untill they saw the notice in reception!!!!!!!!!!! Congratulations to all the staff involved it was truly a proffecinal performance.If you are going there were a few mozzies about(not has many that we have seen in other reasorts))but take a jar of menthol rub(vick)) put it on any bite ,it stops the itching and the bite mark fades realy quickly, I was given this tip before we went and tried it with great succsess.Do not worry about coments about locals coming into the hotel at weekends, yes they do arrive, but not that many and they were no trouble to anyone.

Room Tip: All rooms are close to reception, diningroom,pools ,beach and bars,and set in lovely gardens we stay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Dixie252
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamaica, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2012

Just returned from this hotel and to say it was a disappointed is an understatement to say the least.
First of all I was told this was a 4 star resort, "FAR FROM IT" DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY! The rooms smells like mold and cigarettes, if you are not a smoker you will be in for a surprise.
Cheap Caribbean booked us due to my husband handicap and was told they had elevators. This is a big lie just to sell the room, the walk to the room was about 1/2 mile from everything.
Pictures are very misleading do not trust Cheap Caribbean, I got sick from the moldy room.
We had to change our flight, only stayed 3 days. This place is horrible, the manager at the front desk does not care, take it or leave it , i called the travel agent they toled me I had to pay 587.00usd to change my flight, I called the airline directly and paid 120.00usd.
so they were trying to make more money on top of our misery. Food sucks! same every day. When it comes to the Steak House, I think they put it in a microwave. STAY THE HELL AWAY FROM THIS HOTEL/MOTEL. I WOULD GIVE IT A 2-1/2 rating.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank xxxx x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2012

Just returned from our stay at the Riu Bachata which I can only describe as a little above average. I found the hotel to be adequate but probably in need of an overhaul to bring it up to the 5 star rating that is attributred to it.

If you are a beach person I need to warn you that this hotel is definately not the place for you, myself and friends where extremely disappointed on our first day when we ventured down to set ourselved up for the day. Nearly most of the beach is covered by tree's and in the mornings the tide is in leaving very little sunny places to set yourself up. Be warned as well that the place is rife with mosquito's, never been bitten so much on a holiday in a long time and the little buggers are lying in wait during the day as well as the night (especially in the beach area).

The food is good with a lot of choice although it does become quite repetetive after 2 weeks, but there will always be something for even the most pickiest of eaters. Service in the restaurants is good and the staff are all very friendly and very helpful. Another word of warning however is that of a Friday and Saturday the hotel is used by quite a lot of locals and meal times become a bit of a bun fight and service and food availability does suffer at the peak times!!

Bar staff and entertainment staff all work extremely hard and are very very pleasant and accomodating. The evening entertainment is poor and very similar, althought they have made a lot of effort. The place does suffer from not having a variety of bars available should you not wish to watch the show or have a quite drink and chat with friends. Only place to sit and drink is theatre area..... this falls into the opening issues of the place needing an overhaul.

Weather was an issue during our stay that obviously the hotel can not be held responsible for, however during the 4 days of rain and cloudy weather no effort was made to entertain the guests. People where left to either sit around the reception area, theatre area or go back to your room. A little thought as they have a covered theatre area they could have organised quizzes, games or even a karaoke to break up the boredom. To me it shows a lack of imagination or responsibility to their guests to ensure that people go away even if the weather is bad having had a good time.

All in all, we had an alright time but it's the little things that set places apart with attention to detail. In all honesty I wouldn't recommend this hotel to any of my friends or family to visit in the future.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Schezuan1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Plata
0.2 mi away
ClubHotel Riu Merengue
ClubHotel Riu Merengue
#13 of 41 in Puerto Plata
5,291 reviews
9.5 mi away
Sunscape Puerto Plata Dominican Republic
8.2 mi away
Be Live Collection Marien
Be Live Collection Marien
#9 of 41 in Puerto Plata
3,408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Iberostar Costa Dorada
Iberostar Costa Dorada
#2 of 41 in Puerto Plata
6,801 reviews
168.9 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Turquesa
Grand Bahia Principe Turquesa
#61 of 110 in Punta Cana
2,066 reviews
9.5 mi away
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
#5 of 41 in Puerto Plata
5,317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ClubHotel Riu Bachata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ClubHotel Riu Bachata

Property: ClubHotel Riu Bachata
Address: Bahia de Maimon, Puerto Plata 57000, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Puerto Plata
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Puerto Plata
#4 Spa Hotel in Puerto Plata
#5 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Plata
#8 Family Hotel in Puerto Plata
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Plata
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Plata
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — ClubHotel Riu Bachata 3.5*
Number of rooms: 610
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Located on the beach in Maimon Bay * Complimentary sun loungers on the beach * Inside the Riu Resort, along with ClubHotels Riu Merengue and Riu Mambo * Main building plus 1 and 2-story bungalows * Surrounded by 50,000 m2 of tropical gardens * 9 km / 5.5 miles from Puerto Plata * 25 m / 81 ft. from Caribbean Street * 25 km / 15.5 miles from Puerto Plata Intl. Airport * 500 m / 1650 ft. from a bus stop * Credit cards accepted: Visa, MasterCard, Diners ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your ClubHotel Riu Bachata reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Bachata Puerto Plata
Clubhotel Riu Bachata Hotel
Clubhotel Riu Bachata Puerto Plata
Riu Bachata Dominican Republic
Riu Puerto Plata
Bachata Riu
Club Hotel Riu Bachata

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing