We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap Caribbean/Riu Bachata D.R”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
ClubHotel Riu Bachata
Ranked #10 of 40 Hotels in Puerto Plata
Reviewed November 27, 2012

Just returned from this hotel and to say it was a disappointed is an understatement to say the least.
First of all I was told this was a 4 star resort, "FAR FROM IT" DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY! The rooms smells like mold and cigarettes, if you are not a smoker you will be in for a surprise.
Cheap Caribbean booked us due to my husband handicap and was told they had elevators. This is a big lie just to sell the room, the walk to the room was about 1/2 mile from everything.
Pictures are very misleading do not trust Cheap Caribbean, I got sick from the moldy room.
We had to change our flight, only stayed 3 days. This place is horrible, the manager at the front desk does not care, take it or leave it , i called the travel agent they toled me I had to pay 587.00usd to change my flight, I called the airline directly and paid 120.00usd.
so they were trying to make more money on top of our misery. Food sucks! same every day. When it comes to the Steak House, I think they put it in a microwave. STAY THE HELL AWAY FROM THIS HOTEL/MOTEL. I WOULD GIVE IT A 2-1/2 rating.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank xxxx x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (5,492)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,997 - 3,003 of 5,492 reviews

Reviewed November 26, 2012

Just returned from our stay at the Riu Bachata which I can only describe as a little above average. I found the hotel to be adequate but probably in need of an overhaul to bring it up to the 5 star rating that is attributred to it.

If you are a beach person I need to warn you that this hotel is definately not the place for you, myself and friends where extremely disappointed on our first day when we ventured down to set ourselved up for the day. Nearly most of the beach is covered by tree's and in the mornings the tide is in leaving very little sunny places to set yourself up. Be warned as well that the place is rife with mosquito's, never been bitten so much on a holiday in a long time and the little buggers are lying in wait during the day as well as the night (especially in the beach area).

The food is good with a lot of choice although it does become quite repetetive after 2 weeks, but there will always be something for even the most pickiest of eaters. Service in the restaurants is good and the staff are all very friendly and very helpful. Another word of warning however is that of a Friday and Saturday the hotel is used by quite a lot of locals and meal times become a bit of a bun fight and service and food availability does suffer at the peak times!!

Bar staff and entertainment staff all work extremely hard and are very very pleasant and accomodating. The evening entertainment is poor and very similar, althought they have made a lot of effort. The place does suffer from not having a variety of bars available should you not wish to watch the show or have a quite drink and chat with friends. Only place to sit and drink is theatre area..... this falls into the opening issues of the place needing an overhaul.

Weather was an issue during our stay that obviously the hotel can not be held responsible for, however during the 4 days of rain and cloudy weather no effort was made to entertain the guests. People where left to either sit around the reception area, theatre area or go back to your room. A little thought as they have a covered theatre area they could have organised quizzes, games or even a karaoke to break up the boredom. To me it shows a lack of imagination or responsibility to their guests to ensure that people go away even if the weather is bad having had a good time.

All in all, we had an alright time but it's the little things that set places apart with attention to detail. In all honesty I wouldn't recommend this hotel to any of my friends or family to visit in the future.

    • Value
    • Service
5  Thank Schezuan1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

This is definitely not a 5 star hotel. Here are the amenities broken down....
Beach - 2 stars - very small, filled with debris, rocky/shelly entrance, unable to take a long walk down the beach, very shady and filled with trees.
Food - 3.5 stars - One buffet, 2 a la cartes. Only 1 a la carte was open at one time though. They alternated nights - italian one night then steak house the other night. You had between 7-10am to book that morning, but the first time we tried it was booked by 830am. We were advised to be there just after 7am if we wanted to get a table. There was supposed to be a snack bar that ran throughout the day, but it only served a continental breakfast each morning for about 3 hrs. Food was mainly casserole-type dishes in the buffet. A la cartes were very good. Very disappointed that there was not much fresh fruit and the fruit that was there (watermelon, pineapple and bananas) was not ripe or overly ripe (i.e. brown bananas). There was no green salad in the buffet until the 5th day we were there, which was very surprising. Service was average. I found speaking English was not very beneficial in this resort (or maybe just in Puerta Plata) - been to Punta Cana and found service better and servers were better able to speak and understand English. Two main languages they learn there are French and German, so if you speak either of these languages (or Spanish), you will be treated well.
Pools - 3 stars - Small pools, very close seating. Not very many seats that are in the sun all day if you like to sun bath.
Rooms - 5 stars - Spacious & updated. Room cleaning was immaculate! Did not like the two doubles pushed together to make one king.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Meghan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2012

Just back from 14 night stay, The food is average and repetitive but plentiful, and only available in the main restauraunt, you have to walk along the beach to the Merengue hotel next door if you want to eat elsewhere for lunch as the other site at the Bachata never had food available during the day and nothing at night unless you made a booking. Also at the Bachata here were hundreds of flies all over the uncovered food, and in all indoor public areas, When approached the under manager said that nothing could be done about them. This attitude is good enough. You could not take your eyes off your food nor drink for even a second, in fact the toilets were the only places that were fly free!!. The beach was disappointing, always in shade and very narrow, you had to walk to the Merengue end which was wider to get all day sunshine. We had torrential rain for the first 4 days of our stay, water poured into the rooms nearest the entrances because there was inadequate drainage (we were moved to an upper floor after complaining).
The pools were not suitable for non swimmer children as the minumum depth was just under 4ft.
From our group, 2 of us developed chesty coughs during the second week, one adult saw the pharmacist and had antibiotics, one child had to see the doctor and was diagnosed with bronchitis. The second child and another adult now has a cough less than 24 hours after arriving home. Not sure of the source of this, could be the humidity from all that rain.

On the plus side the staff cannot be faulted, they were always smiling,very polite and helpful, and nothing was too much trouble. The entertainment staff were very good and put on excellent daytime activities and evening entertainment. The tour reps were good too and made all arrangements for any tours you wanted to take.
I would only recomment this hotel if you dont mind flies, flooding when it rains heavily and average food..

Room Tip: Avoid rooms adjacent to entrances on ground floor if you dont water in your room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Janet B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2012

This was the best stay we have ever had !!!!
We arrived November 4th. As usual check was fast and effecient. We had Block 7 room 23. Room was cleaned very well every day and there was a towel creation for us when we returned to the room after a relaxing day at the pool. Fridge was refilled regularly, we asked for certain items and got what we asked for.
You could get a pool lounger any time of day, though some still had them saved by the time I got there to start my day at 7am, I know but thats when I wake up.
The beach was nice and was kept clean everyday by the crew - hard working to keep us all happy.
Food was excellent and there was always something for you to eat. Some of the regular servers we have met over the years were there and Welcomed us as usual.
The staff was excellent all the way up to the General Manager who checked everyday to make sure you were having a great time !!
We will be back again as this complex of resorts just keeps getting better.
Tipping is not required but make sure you look after the people that are making your holiday a great time away from the real world !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Any questions just ask !!!!!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank gribs44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2012

Definately not a 5 star
Beach is a 2 star if you want to walk on it it is about 30 feet wide and no sun as trees everyewere
Rooms are 5 star very nice perfect size and updated with flat screen tv's
Food is typical 4 star one buffet and two a la cartes although there is only one open each night so you must get up before 8 to get reservations
Staff do not seem to like Canadians for whatever reason
5 star house keeping
5 star grounds maintenance
3 star pools very small and crammed sitting within inches of others

If you like beaches go to Punta Cana not Puerto Plata
Great resort if you like to spend time in your room

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank marksamtron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2012

This hotel is amazing, the holiday overall was fab. The staff can not do enough for you, food is great, plenty of choice. Must go and swim with the dolphins while staying there, it was amazing. Great entertainment, kids club was brill for kids and play area, and the water sports were great too.
I have not got one bad thing to say about this holiday.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Siobhan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Plata hotels
0.2 mi away
ClubHotel Riu Merengue
ClubHotel Riu Merengue
#14 of 40 in Puerto Plata
5,492 reviews
8.2 mi away
Be Live Collection Marien
Be Live Collection Marien
#9 of 40 in Puerto Plata
4,087 reviews
9.5 mi away
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
#5 of 40 in Puerto Plata
5,621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Iberostar Costa Dorada
Iberostar Costa Dorada
#1 of 40 in Puerto Plata
7,516 reviews
9.5 mi away
BlueBay Villas Doradas Adults Only
9.5 mi away
Sunscape Puerto Plata Dominican Republic
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ClubHotel Riu Bachata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ClubHotel Riu Bachata

Address: Bahia de Maimon, Puerto Plata 57000, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Puerto Plata
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Puerto Plata
#5 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Plata
#7 Family Hotel in Puerto Plata
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Plata
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Plata
Price Range: $116 - $287 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — ClubHotel Riu Bachata 3.5*
Number of rooms: 610
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Located on the beach in Maimon Bay * Complimentary sun loungers on the beach * Inside the Riu Resort, along with ClubHotels Riu Merengue and Riu Mambo * Main building plus 1 and 2-story bungalows * Surrounded by 50,000 m2 of tropical gardens * 9 km / 5.5 miles from Puerto Plata * 25 m / 81 ft. from Caribbean Street * 25 km / 15.5 miles from Puerto Plata Intl. Airport * 500 m / 1650 ft. from a bus stop * Credit cards accepted: Visa, MasterCard, Diners ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your ClubHotel Riu Bachata reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Bachata Puerto Plata
Clubhotel Riu Bachata Hotel
Clubhotel Riu Bachata Puerto Plata
Riu Bachata Dominican Republic
Riu Puerto Plata
Bachata Riu
Club Hotel Riu Bachata

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing