We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (738)
Filter reviews
738 results
Traveler rating
134
188
139
103
174
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
134
188
139
103
174
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsswim up barpool deckfive minute walkchickentennis courtsspecialty restaurantsentertainment staffplazashowsdollarsmaidsvolleyballanimatorslolenergylaugh
Filter
Updating list...
156 - 161 of 738 reviews
Reviewed February 1, 2014

I don't even know where to begin... Let me say this: DO NOT BUY ANY TRAVEL PACKAGES FROM GROUPON.
Looks like this place out of all other resorts in Playa Dorada is the worst. We're suppose to stay there 10 nights but it got so bad so we couldn't just stand that place and on the 6th night just switch to a different resort.
First of all, those rooms are outdated and i don't think they ever renovated that place in a long time (really looked to me like one of the old soviet camps). Alchohol was very cheap so all we drank was pretty much beer (which i can't stand now). On the web site they had info about 5 different restaurants but in reallity it's 2 restaurants, just redecorated into different styles.
On the weekends it got really bad a lot locals arrived. It was a dissaster, anywhere we'd go they were there. Even in their "gigantic ' we couldn't find any space.
Forget about the beach, they had some rebuild golf carts or something that looked like it, rebuilt into a shuttle that would take you every 30 min to the beach (trip lasted about 7-8 min) and by the way i believe that's the only resort that didn't have direct beach access in PLAYA DORADa.
Oh, forgot to add that beach is filled with tonnnnnns of seaweed.

If you plan to visit this place i would consider you find something a little better or just go to Punta CAna, a lot of people who visited both Puerto PLata And Punta Cana like east coast better.

P.S. But if you still planning to go to Puerto Plata visit Bluebay, accross the street couple blocks down. Nothing to compare with this place.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ljusik13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdministracionPPV, Director General at Puerto Plata Village, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2014
Google Translation

Lamentamos no haberle satisfecho.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014

The pictures are definitely deceiving.. I knew I wasn't getting a 4 star luxury hotel, we wanted something a little more island feel, but instead this was more of a "roach motel". Never got into the pool it just wasn't appealing, the food was HORRIBLE, breakfast was the only edible thing. The STAFF that work there were the ONLY good thing we experienced during our stay. Besides the maid staff that I felt had an attitude when I would ask them for a 3rd towel for my hair, and never got hand or wash towels I was promised since day 1. You only got 1 thin, ugly sheet to cover yourself, 1 roll of toilet paper that we had to ask the front desk for more, the drawers in the room got stuck and were broken. The employees were very humble and helpful with finding things to do outside of the "resort". The excursions we took made our trip AWESOME and thanks to the lady in the excursion office we definitely did not regret our trip besides staying here. We spent most of our time on the beach, doing excursions and eating at local restaurants, we even spent time at another resort my brother was lucky enough to have gotten at the last minute on sale for less then what we paid and a DEFINITE 4-5 star resort. Even if you are on a budget and looking for "all-inclusive" DO NOT waste your time or money here, check the other places within the same complex of Playa Dorada. IF you do stay here make sure you do excursions and find local places to eat, only way to make your trip worth it.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere, not worth it.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank tajaponte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdministracionPPV, Director General at Puerto Plata Village, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2014
Google Translation

Lamentamos no haberle satisfecho.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2013

Made my reservations on Line and the said children are free. I even called them and ask about children and they said they are free. Booked 2 nights and 3 days, went there and payed at the front desk, where they told me my 8 year old son was not free. They charged him the same as an adult. If I hadn't drove for over 2 hours I would have went back home. So I paid and thought we would have a good time. Well when I asked about the beach they told me to go out in front and a buss will come along and take us to the beach, only a 10 minute ride.
I have been to other resorts and the food was wonderful, here the food was just ok. I would say to check around before you coming here.

Room Tip: room was small and not cozy at all !
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Freetimeindr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdministracionPPV, Director General at Puerto Plata Village, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2014
Google Translation

Gracias por su visita. Lamentamos el inconveniente en su llegada.
Esperamos que no vuelva a experimentarlo. Retorne pronto.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2013

Good things: Low prices, helpful and friendly employees, the view and location.
Bad things: Things missing or broken in the room, rooms need a painting and a furniture update. AC did not function. Food is below average.
If you can afford an extra $15-$20 per night go to another hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Kalman_Sandor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdministracionPPV, Director General at Puerto Plata Village, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2014
Google Translation

Gracias por su buen comentario y tomaremos en cuenta sus consejos.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013

Like every resort, there are good things and bad. I will try to share both, but I want to start by saying this is the first time I have ever considered walking away after the first few minutes. We stuck it out because I had some things to do in the area, but we still regret our choice.

Lets start with the good. The Dining Staff is exceptional, from cooks to bus people. All of them were helpful, friendly, professional, and well trained. We enjoyed the food every meal. The service staff were quick and responsive, and they do remember your preferences after a couple of days. Nelson and Guillito (sp?) were the first people at the resort to actually interact with us and they were very helpful. Those two are probably the reason we stayed.

We must also commend Lucy, who worked to arrange tours. Although she started with offering the standard fare, she was receptive to some custom tours and new things we wanted to do. She was interested in learning about different activities and anxious to help us. We learned a lot about life outside the resort walls from talking to Lucy.

I also want to state that I think the grounds and exterior spaces are well-kept. The resort has been around a while, but the grounds crew keep it looking sharp. The plantings and lawns are well-cared for. Building exteriors are still very pretty.

However... the bad impressions came from the reception staff, housekeeping, and overall poor maintenance of the interiors. We were greeted at check-in with complete indifference. They spoke as little as possible and handed us the envelope of things we would need (towel card, remote for tv, and inadequate map). We were handed off to a bellman who whisked us away by golf cart to our room with no time for questions. Along the way there were some quick finger points of where the pool is and somewhere in the area are towels, another point was to the spa, and I think that was the extent of our resort orientation. The room was opened, lights and air turned on, and the bellman left. We didn't have time to look around or ask questions before he was gone (and it nobody could have heard a question over the roar of that air handler).

As we looked around I was at first reminded of my college dormitory room 40 years ago (not the nice ones they have now). The furniture was small but adequate, with many coats of paint (and some grime). The entryway ceiling was bulging downward from having too much condensation on it for too long... and shortly after it began dripping on the floor. The bath was cracked and chipped and painted with porcelain cover-up. The toilet seat was broken (bolt missing). The toilet was one of those that you have to flush on average three times to actually get anything to go down. The drain adjustment for the sink came off in my hand. There was one of those handy pull-out clothes lines above the tub, except that the dirty line was just hanging down broken. Upon further inspection I could see the base was dirty too, didn't retract at all, and had been taped at some point. The room overall was not clean (floor, walls, counter tops). It needed scrubbing and paint. The fire-extinguisher case outside our room was unencumbered by contents. Hallway walls were riddled with stickers.

I found my way back to reception because I wanted to get the lock for the built-in safe (really, all-inclusive but I have to pay for the lock?). I informed them of the room condition and asked to have someone look at the issues. While they called maintenance, a man named Wilson came up and told us to follow him for a tour... but reception trumped that by telling us to wait at our room for maintenance. We went back to the room and briefly a housekeeper and maintenance man showed up. Maintenance came equipped to fix the toilet seat with... a plunger. We showed them our concerns, which by then included the growing pool of water leaking from the air conditioner. We were told to wait in the room for the maintenance guy's return. When he came back he had a toilet bolt and a brand new clothesline still in the package. We waited on the balcony while he worked and were only aware of his completion when we heard the door close. Upon inspection we found the toilet seat was repaired. There was no new clothesline up, but he had tied a new end on the old one and stretched the filthy grimy line across and attached it. Line was still awful, and it still did not retract into the dirty taped up base. No other repairs were attempted.

Back at reception Wilson found us again and wanted to give us that tour. We were anxious to do so, because by that point we still didn't even know where to eat and were getting hungry. He led us twenty-feet across the lobby and handed us off to a time-share salesman. We never saw Wilson again. Timeshare guy didn't bother us too long after we told him we wanted to leave the resort. He did offer advice that our experience was not too unusual and he usually tells guests to just go back and demand to see a different room until we found one that is acceptable.

A short time later we wandered aimlessly into the buffet dining area and met people who actually know what the hospitality business is about. In other words, when they saw two tourists who obviously didn't know what to do or where to go they stepped up with a friendly smile and offered to show us their dining room. They were obviously proud of their dining staff and prepared foods and they made us feel welcome for the first time. Throughout the week we were continually impressed by the customer service of Nelson and the whole staff. I wish I could remember other names, but the man named something like Guillito was great to see every day. Our language skills and his never quite synced... but it didn't stop him from trying. His great big smile was all that was necessary in most cases. Really, the dining staff at this resort should be commended for their customer service skills. I worked in hospitality in the US for over 34 years and I wish I could have hired most of them.

So a recap... I don't think the reception staff has any concern for welcoming guests or helping them in any way. I did not get the impression that they care about the condition of the guest rooms (cleaning or maintenance). The resort was at a very low occupancy during our stay, so why in the world would they put us in their worst room? My guess is it wasn't the worst. Sad. Dining staff was fantastic, exterior grounds was beautiful, and Lucy in the tour arrangement area was a delight to work with.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank SaltoSapo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews