We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous holiday.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Puerto Plata Village Resort
Ranked #36 of 41 Hotels in Puerto Plata
Carmarthen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Fabulous holiday.”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

My second time at this resort and once again had a fabulous time. The animation team work really hard to make sure the guests are kept occupied if they want to be. No hassle if you just want to soak up the sun by the pool or at the beach. Plenty of choice with the food in the buffet restaurant. Can be quite crowded at weekends so choose carefully what time you go to eat. Would be nice if there was another choice of a la carte restaurant, maybe one that specialises in either japanese or chinese food.
Will definitely be going back to reunite with my 'old' friends!

Room Tip: Both rooms I have occupied have been more than suitable for purpose. The air conditioning works very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnR13_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdministracionPPV, Director General at Puerto Plata Village Resort, responded to this review, December 9, 2014
Google Translation
Cuanto nos alegra saber de ustedes y de lo bien que la pasaron.
¡Sera un placer para nosotros volver a tenerlos aca!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

644 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    166
    115
    93
    145
See reviews for
174
145
41
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level Contributor
36 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2013

This resort is fun-filled and offers non-stop entertainment. The staff is awesome, friendly, FUN!! Drinks are terrific, beach bar hard to retire from, natives awesome. The food is good. There was never a dull moment. The only thing we didn't like were the room accomodations; they were fair at best, and the bathrooms were small, bad pressure, funky smelling water. Over-all we would return and we loved the vibe at this resort. The grounds were beautiful! It has been about 7 years since we were there and they did have plans to renovate, so hoping for better bathrooms!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Brandy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdministracionPPV, Director General at Puerto Plata Village Resort, responded to this review, December 9, 2014
Google Translation
Gracias por sus comentarios.
Ojala vuelvan pronto para que puedan disfrutar de las renovaciones que ya hemos hecho y de las que seguiremos haciendo.
¡Seran muy bienvenidos!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013

I must say the last time we visited was 10 years ago for our wedding but it was fantastic from start to finish - very friendly staff - basic rooms but with great airconditioning! excellent choice of food even at the beach bar ! Weather was great - we had a choice of locations for our wedding and we selected the gardens as they were fantastic - horse and cart ride for the bride and groom finished off a fantastic day - hope to re-visit very soon!

Room Tip: try and get one of the villas in the gardens if you can :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michelleleighjames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdministracionPPV, Director General at Puerto Plata Village Resort, responded to this review, December 9, 2014
Google Translation
Nos alegra muchisimo haber llenado sus expectativas.
¡Esperamos que vuelvan muy pronto para que nuevamente disfruten!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key Largo
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013 via mobile

I have been to this country 5 times over the last 20 years. I absolutely love the people and their food. However this resort had a huge unsanitary plumbing problem which they just couldn't fix and finally after like 4 days of complaining switched us to another unit which was better but not great! The toilet didn't flush and the bathroom sink wouldn't drain. My other complaint is they claim to have 4 restaurants yet the entire time we were there (7 days) only the Buffett was open and it was pretty much the same food over and over. When I would ask about the restuarants they would say it would open the following day but they never did. Finally after complaining bec my kids would just eat snacks from their store...on the last day, they made a special dinner for us! The pool closes at 7 pm which I found very odd and the place was full of locals especially on the weekends. A bus drops them off and they take over the place. Didn't really care for that. Two more things and I'm done complaining. The maids would knock on the door at 8:30 am (waking us up most of the time) yet they wouldn't clean the room till late afternoon! And their snack store was not opened during the hours it would say it was and one day it didn't open at all! The food was mediocre at best (we went out to dinner twice which cost us about $200 American dollars each time plus cab fare bec we were tired of the same food) and the people were lovely as they always are. I recommend the paradise island tour and the dune buggy rides were fun if you don't mind getting wet! Will not return to this resort that's for sure.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Eris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdministracionPPV, Director General at Puerto Plata Village Resort, responded to this review, December 9, 2014
Google Translation
Gracias por comentar.
Lamentamos los inconvenientes en su estadia que usted menciona
Siempre hacemos todo lo posible por complacer a nuestros queridos huespedes.
Ojala vuelva para que tenga una mejor experiencia.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Puerto Plata hotels

Cockburn Town, Grand Turk
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2013

My wife and I got married here recently and I must say that the service is top class!!! I highly recommend it!!!
It is very good for the price and the food is top notch. The staff are very helpful.

Kerwin

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Bajandooflicky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdministracionPPV, Director General at Puerto Plata Village Resort, responded to this review, December 9, 2014
Google Translation
Gracias por su comentario.
Esperamos que repitan la visita.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2013

I feel definitely about the rooms should modernize it a little more, in terms of restaurants is that most have to work, customer service should be more attentive to the customer, and cooks should improve a bit, but encuanto to show excellent staff, very cheerful and sociable ...... hotel structure in terms of the pool I loved it .... My recommendation to the hotel is to improve customer service ..

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank danipego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdministracionPPV, Director General at Puerto Plata Village Resort, responded to this review, December 9, 2014
Google Translation
Gracias por opinar.
Tomaremos en cuenta sus sugerencias.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013

This hotel was very good for the price we payed.
We have stayed at 5 start hotels in the Dominican and this measured up well.
The food was very good and the staff were lovely and helpful.
The entertainment was to be expected for the Dominican.
The only let down was the room, it was musky, damp and very old.
But we just got on with it and had a great holiday!
It was a lovely place to be at Christmas.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lindsay R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdministracionPPV, Director General at Puerto Plata Village Resort, responded to this review, December 9, 2014
Google Translation
Muchisimas gracias por su bonito comentario.
Nos alegra saber que la pasaron muy bien.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Plata hotels
0.6 mi away
Casa Colonial Beach & Spa
Casa Colonial Beach & Spa
#3 of 41 in Puerto Plata
4.5 of 5 bubbles 528 reviews
0.4 mi away
Blue JackTar
Blue JackTar
#7 of 41 in Puerto Plata
4.5 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Beach House Playa Dorada
Hotel Beach House Playa Dorada
#34 of 41 in Puerto Plata
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Be Live Collection Marien
Be Live Collection Marien
#9 of 41 in Puerto Plata
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,502 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Paradise Playa Dorada
Grand Paradise Playa Dorada
#8 of 41 in Puerto Plata
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,184 reviews
9.1 mi away
ClubHotel Riu Merengue
ClubHotel Riu Merengue
#14 of 41 in Puerto Plata
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5,315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Puerto Plata Village Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Puerto Plata Village Resort

Property: Puerto Plata Village Resort
Address: Apartado 716, Playa Dorada Complex, Puerto Plata, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Puerto Plata
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#25 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Plata
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Puerto Plata Village Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 385
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Puerto Plata Village Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Puerto Plata Village Hotel Puerto Plata
Sun Village Resort & Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing