We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Service, well cared hotel, but simples amenities”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Puerto Plata Village Resort
Ranked #36 of 41 Hotels in Puerto Plata
Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic
Level Contributor
33 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great Service, well cared hotel, but simples amenities”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

This is a great hotel if you want to explore the area of Puerto Plata, Ocean World, Cabarete, etc.
It has the basic amenities you need: AC, Clean Bed and Bath, a pool, free internet, etc. The food is good but simple.. Service is very very good, very friendly staff, they make you feel welcome and at home.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alejandraoliver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

639 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    166
    113
    92
    144
See reviews for
173
145
41
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

We stayed at this hotel last year for a week. It has been sometime but I like to share my views with you regarding this hotel.

The hotel is pretty basic but you get what you pay for. We chose this hotel because of the price and to be honest it does offer 3 star Caribbean quality. Hotel grounds are in good shape and the staff is doign their best to help ypu enjoy your time. There is a nice pool area with average quality drinks on offer with the all inclusive. The hotel is very close to local amenities like the Plaza and there are few good night clubs nearby.

Although the beach is all right its not the pristine caribbean sea/sand that I was used to and it is about 6-7 minutes walking from the hotel. But you can jump on the golf cars which will take you there in a very short time. The food is very average and the rooms are dated.

I would only recommend this hotel if you are looking for a budget caribbean break. To be honest I dont think I will use this hotel again.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cihan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresh Meadows, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

Bf and I went during the off season, which was nice - not too many tourists, kids, etc. We ended up at the pool every day (there is only one large pool and a 3ft deep kiddie pool). As I mentioned earlier, this was the off season, so it was pretty much empty. I can't imagine how crowded it gets during the peak season with ONE pool. The rooms are a bit outdated and the walls a bit thin. We could hear housekeeping banging around in the room next to ours. Watch out for the ants at night. We found them coming in thru the BR window every night. Food was just alright. We had buffet style food for all 3 meals during our 4 day stay. Needless to say, we were sick of the food by our 2nd lunch. Also, the drinks are super WEAK and sugary.
The staff is very accommodating, except for one person in particular. I had asked him for a napkin (knowing he spoke English very well) and he pretended like he didn't understand a word I was saying. He and the bartender actually started laughing like it was some great joke of theirs. On numerous occasions I'd seen him talking to the guests. Apparently the only time he speaks English is if you're a single female.
I really wanted to like this resort. If I hadn't been with my bf I probably would've had a horrible time.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jessica C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schererville, Indiana
Level Contributor
60 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2012

Just return from our trip and found this to be an excellent vacation. We had a master suite and while the furniture was very 70's it was comfortable. As this was the "off" season, only the buffet was serving. the food was good and varied. The service of the entire staff was excellent. both friendly and professional. The property is clean but could have used some repairs in some areas of the walk way. The beds were firm and the pillows were decent. The only complaint is that housekeeping never left a full set of towels, we called for what we needed and it was delivered promptly. We had a day when the AC would not turn on and a call to the desk sent maintenance out in minutes. The resort offered spa services that were wonderful and very reasonable. There are excursions available and we took the city tour. There were activities through out the day near the pool area. But should you wish to just chill by the pool, you were not out of place with any who chose to participate in the activities.

Room Tip: the master suite was very large with a sitting area and a kitchenette I did not see the regular roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Deena K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marrakech, Morocco
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2012

Amazing resort from the beginning, very welcoming and competent reception staff, always helpful. The rooms were basic but cleaned daily, hot water, ac and a good size room. Bar and waiters were extremely helpful and always served with a smile,well dressed and polite. The food was a good selection and the chef made extra effort to prepare vegetarian meals when requested, thank you. The animation team were great and we loved every moment of it, however i am sure during the busy season they would do a lot more. Loved the pool, the beach and the shuttle service, the hotel rep charles for the sea pro tours was extremely helpful and he did offer us extra value deals for our excursions.... Loved everything about the hotel and will definately go back soon

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bella s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

our entire family visit this resort in august 2012 and i must say we were very dissapointed , let me start out by saying that there was mainly one pool for everyone, and a kiddy pool, their organization at check in was very unorganized especially if its a large group like ours. when we got to our room some of our rooms were infested with mosquitos, i said to myself if i knew i wouldve bring my mosquito spray. second the tubs and shower curtains seem old and stained. the sink knob was broken in my room, in my sisters room the ac wasnt working properly, my room had cockroaches underneath the tv. the tv was outdated the entire furniture was outdated and need not to say that the sheets smelled like old , like theyve been kept in the basement or something and to top it off the size beds were ridiculous its four people in a room to sleep in two full size bed are you serious. another issue was we stayed there 3 days 2 nights and they never changed our towels we had to call to give us new towels i mean come on if you clean the rooms you are to change the towels. to top it off the food was awful, no variation at all it was the same menu for those three days, they had a snack bar with burnt burgers and homemade pizza from the left overs of lunch and ontop of burnt food we couldnt take it to our seats where we were seating near the pool i mean come on its ridiculous. at the buffet they only served you water you had to get up and get your own drink , the staff took for ever to help you, there was no hospitality or service and to top it off half of our family got seriously sick with the food to where we had to go to the doctors. i must say this is one resort off my list we were very disappointed for the amount of money that we pay for our entire family reunion this was unacceptable. the only good experience about this resort was one of the employees who was in charged of the water aerobics he was very friendly pleasant and helpful and very motivated to teach the water aerobics. other than that i wouldn't recommend this resort to anyone, I've been to better resorts in dom. rep and this one definitely isn't one of them.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lflores3863
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Puerto Plata hotels

Dominican Republic
Level Contributor
139 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2012 via mobile

Good for a business stay, nothing else. The room has cold a/c, hot water, but was a old. The Buffet was average with litlle variety. The hotel was empty even that it was in august. The hotel staff in the restaurant were rought, not very nice.

Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Jcramirez1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Plata hotels
0.6 mi away
Casa Colonial Beach & Spa
Casa Colonial Beach & Spa
#4 of 41 in Puerto Plata
4.5 of 5 bubbles 525 reviews
0.4 mi away
Blue JackTar
Blue JackTar
#7 of 41 in Puerto Plata
4.5 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Beach House Playa Dorada
Hotel Beach House Playa Dorada
#34 of 41 in Puerto Plata
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Be Live Collection Marien
Be Live Collection Marien
#9 of 41 in Puerto Plata
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,426 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Paradise Playa Dorada
Grand Paradise Playa Dorada
#8 of 41 in Puerto Plata
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,175 reviews
9.1 mi away
ClubHotel Riu Merengue
ClubHotel Riu Merengue
#14 of 41 in Puerto Plata
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5,301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Puerto Plata Village Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Puerto Plata Village Resort

Property: Puerto Plata Village Resort
Address: Apartado 716, Playa Dorada Complex, Puerto Plata, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Puerto Plata
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#25 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Plata
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Puerto Plata Village Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 385
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Puerto Plata Village Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Puerto Plata Village Hotel Puerto Plata
Sun Village Resort & Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing