We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never go back”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Occidental Caribbean Village Playa Dorada
Ranked #34 of 40 Hotels in Puerto Plata
Reviewed December 21, 2008

Ever Ever go back this horrible place.
Food bad, bad, bad.
Room old
not restaurant.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FarehamGarde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (234)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 234 reviews

Reviewed November 21, 2008

We've been going to the CV village for 3 years now, every year we bring some one, the people are so nice. Last year my wife got a little sick, they helped her sooo much, thank you. I would recommend the resort to any one, the weather is terrific, the food is good and the people are really nice

  • Stayed: January 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank trickydicky57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2008

If you appreciate paradise without the trims, this is the place!! Just beautiful!!...Not luxurious, but definitely a comfortable environment. The weather was absolutely beautiful and the staff were genuinely friendly. We appreciated interacting with the locals and weren't bothered by them 'taking over' the resort on the weekends. In fact, it gave us a taste of the local flavor and culture. Dominicans seem to be able to make the most of life through their music, family games and fun loving personalities. Everything we read before actually going to the resort was true....in fact - DEAD ON!..The buffet can get boring, the locals are quite plentiful on the weekends and the people pester you to buy everything from a shoe to a timeshare. However, the a la cartes were great, so take advantage of them. We loved the Italian, Mexican and Brazilian restaurants. As well, the breakfast buffet was the best of the three daily meals. We had alcohol and fruit juices galore!!...we even had midnight snacks after gulping down the local beer. Partying in the disco was lots of laughs. For what we paid, it was a fantastic experience. People complained about being bombarded by locals on the weekend, pesty hustlers and boring food....but that speaks to their own issues with diversity and assertiveness...all you have to do is say NO. I personally did not appreciate some - shall we say - closed minded tourists suggesting that the wait staff were feeding the cats so they could be in the buffet the next day. Though Canadians, our roots lie in the Caribbean (JAMAICA) and cats are not on our menu. Overall, we had a grand time and look forward to going back.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank mparrydavis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2008

What a dump! Room was horrible, had to change so did everyone else we met. Was nothing like described on the website, was not told about any locals having a free for all on the weekends. Food was rubbish, the same stuff everyday. The best part was the friendly bar staff and the waiters.

Would never go back there or recommend it to anyone ever!!!

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank orville79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2008

The resort itself is ok. The main problem was that we were eaten alive with mosquitos mainly because of the standing water in some of the ponds around the property and the lagoon. The meals were fine, the room clean, and the staff was great. It was really hot, but I guess it was our fault for booking this time of year.

I did not like the location of the resort because it was too far from the mall and the beach.

Overall we had a pretty good time. It was nice and quiet and relaxing.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank akacatz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2008

hotel 10% full - pool to yourself
Dominicans at weekend - very bad mannered people

staff generally good , but beware scammers (Mamud junior)
Not much to do unless you book on trips - which actually make the holiday

beach ok
food ok

Stayed: August 2008
1  Thank andy1966Coventry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2008

Just returned from two weeks at the worst 3 star hotel ever!! Still looking for 2 of the stars. Rooms unclean, bathrooms filthy, had to ask for clean towels. Sheets not changed had to strip the bed and put sheets on the floor half way through the second week. Only one pool and one bar, disco closed.
Weekends to be avoided at all costs. Locals take over the hotel and it becomes a nightmare.
Positive: jewellery shop guys are very friendly. A couple of the reception staff are great.
The rest of the staff not intrested. Animation team over the top but friendly if thats what you want.
Watch out for the time share sellers, trying to get you to sign up.They dont like no as an answer.
The beach bar doesnt open till 11am but its the best place to be, shame they try to close up early every day.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank essexlady1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Plata hotels
0.5 mi away
Grand Paradise Playa Dorada
Grand Paradise Playa Dorada
#7 of 40 in Puerto Plata
3,310 reviews
0 mi away
Puerto Plata Village Resort
Puerto Plata Village Resort
#37 of 40 in Puerto Plata
682 reviews
6.5 mi away
Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Blue JackTar
Blue JackTar
#8 of 40 in Puerto Plata
246 reviews
1.1 mi away
Be Live Collection Marien
Be Live Collection Marien
#9 of 40 in Puerto Plata
4,087 reviews
0.4 mi away
BlueBay Villas Doradas Adults Only
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Occidental Caribbean Village Playa Dorada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Occidental Caribbean Village Playa Dorada

Address: Playa Dorada | PO Box 653, Puerto Plata 57000, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Puerto Plata
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#23 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Plata
Price Range: $76 - $137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Occidental Caribbean Village Playa Dorada 3*
Number of rooms: 336
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Occidental Caribbean Village Playa Dorada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Occidental Caribbean Village Playa Dorada Hotel Puerto Plata
Caribbean Village Playa Dorada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing