We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely honeymoon to be live”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Be Live Collection Marien
Ranked #9 of 39 Hotels in Puerto Plata
Lincoln, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely honeymoon to be live”
Reviewed July 26, 2014 via mobile

We went to be live for 2 weeks for our honeymoon and we had a lovely time. When we arrived we were greeted with an arrival drink and had a quick and easy check in and was then taken to our room. When we first got to our room they had decorated it with flowers and swans and later brought us a platter of fruit and a bottle of rum complimentary for our honeymoon. The 3 other restaurants were amazing. The Mexican was probably my favourite because I love it anyway but I had THE best fajitas of my life. In the gourmet restaurant we had the steak that you share and they bring it to your table and cut it in front of you it was amazing steak cooked perfectly. We tipped big for it haha. The Brazilian was also lovely they come round with meat on skewers and slice off what you want and you have a stop and go card which you turn to stop when you're full! They had 7 different meats! The normal buffet restaurant I also thought was very good! So much choice and just soo much food. Never ran out they were always bringing more and more out. It was all cooked well and lots of variety. The snack bar was also one of our favourite places to be as it was near the ocean and had a cool breeze and could watch the world cup on the screen but also the food was awesome and helped us put on lots of weight unfortunately. Burgers hot dogs chips mozzarella sticks chicken wings nom nom nom. All the staff were really attentive and friendly and the hotel was spotless. You never saw them stop cleaning. Our room was cleaned well every day with new towels and the maids left pretty decorations. The drinks were quite strong the way they mix the cocktails but if you were a wimp like me I just asked to have a weaker one and they were more than happy to oblige! be careful with the pina colada as the milk in it can keep you tummy problems. We went on a few trips which were really good. The entertainment at night was mostly good some of it a bit repetitive and more irritating at a weekend when all the locals arrive (who take over the hotel and are very rude and loud) and everyone seems to forget how to speak English as everything is in Spanish and you're sat there like what's going on! Be careful In the shops as you can get ripped off. We were afraid to haggle for a start but you can get a good deal if you do. We got some nice souvenirs. Overall a lovely place and holiday. Would recommend but don't know if I would visit again as we got slightly bored towards the end but I think if we had organised more trips it would have been better. We didn't feel safe to leave the hotel but that's personal choice. Thank you be live for a grand honeymoon!

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
8 Thank Becky1612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Be Live G, Gerente at Be Live Collection Marien, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Dear Customer:

First of all, we thank you for your comments and for sharing your experience of your recent stay with us, through this web site.

Our guest comments are the utmost importance to us, since they help us to improve on our services. It is truly a pleasant for us to learn that you enjoyed the facilities and services at the Be Live Grand Marien. With happiness we have forward your comments to the various departments of the Hotel.

Please receive our warm regards from Dominican Republic, has been a pleasure to serve you in this important occasion of your couple life..

Sincerely,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,640 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,133
    1,353
    643
    280
    231
See reviews for
1,213
1,314
143
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (720)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Florida, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2014

I'll point off the bad things first which is two things, the wait for the room and the people wasting my time trying to sell me a time share. (no bueno)

Now the good, the food was great, the staff also, the room was very nice and clean, the pool bar is outside the pool but very close by and people had like jugs that they that the bar tender will fill up for them with beer & liquor (lol). The scene is beautiful with the mountains right there.
I stayed with my husband and we went snorkeling and up to the mountain, we staid an extra day just to be able to make the trip up to the mountain.

Overall a good hotel to stay at.

Room Tip: Get the Jr. Suite that's what we got
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Aimee M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Be Live G, Gerente at Be Live Collection Marien, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Dear Customer:

We greatly appreciate your nice comments, which are very important for us, since they help us to improve on our services. Thank you for having shared your experience through this web site and at the same time our gratitude for your selection to enjoy your vacations in the Dominican Republic.

At Be Live Grand Marien we are highly pleased for having had the opportunity to offer you our services and to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us, it is fantastic.

Once more, thank you for your valuable comments. We hope to have a second opportunity to welcome you.


Sincerely,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 4 days 3 nights. The food at the gourmet and Brazilian restaurant were amazing, but avoid the Mexican one as it was it not good (I am Mexican so I know Mexican food pretty well). The place was always clean and well taken care of. The people were very friendly and polite. As I have mentioned in other posts, please and thank you go a long way!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Gmsr86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Be Live G, Gerente at Be Live Collection Marien, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Dear Customer.:
We would like to thank you for your preference in selecting our Be Live Grand Marien for your vacation, as well as for letting us know about your recent experience through this web site.
It is truly a pleasure for us to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and you may rest assured that your comments have been forwarded to the various Departments of the Hotel.
Thank you for your kindness comments, wish are very important for us, since they helps us to improve on our services. At the same time we would also like to extend our most sincere apologies for any difficulties you may have experienced during your stay; your comments for the appropriate measures will be taken wherever possible.
Please receive our warm regards from Dominican Republic, has been a pleasure to serve you.
Sincerely,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2014

We stayed at this hotel from the 30th of June to the 14th of July- we are a family of 4 with two teenage children.

This is not 4/5 star by UK standards- but as we have travelled extensively we were expecting this.

The room was very basic- not as pictured in the Thomson brochure- they must have used the best room in the hotel for the pictures! The fridge was about 30 years old, but seemed to work- the Tea/coffee machine in the brochure was actually a very rusty filter coffee machine- we didn’t use it as it didn’t look safe! TV was very old and only had a couple of channels showing English programmes- so it was very hit and miss whether there was anything suitable to watch! The safe was expensive, and wouldn’t keep anything secure- we heard of several people who had things taken during our stay! The room was kept clean, but the towels were taken in the morning, and then brought back later in the day- so you couldn’t have a shower during the daytime. There was a power cut every day, but these didn’t last long, as the hotel has a generator. The food was good, but a bit repetitive.

Several of the things in the Thomson brochure were not available- Night club and Casino closed- and looked as though they had been for some time! The only water sports available were Kayaks – no snorkelling, sunfish sailing, motorised sports or windsurfing lessons on site. The Nightly Live Entertainment consisted of a beauty Pageant for 4 of the days we were there (I suppose this could have been considered entertaining if you enjoy watching 4 year olds made up and acting in a provocative way!)

Monday to Friday afternoon this was a great holiday- it was low season- so hotel occupancy about 250 people from all nationalities. We booked this hotel as it offered lots of activities to keep our teenagers busy- however at about 3 o’clock on Friday the hotel was invaded by a further 800 people! This shouldn’t have been a problem, as after all, the hotel has the rooms to accommodate this number, however; the hotel didn’t have the infrastructure in place to deal with this.

This meant that there was absolute chaos-

• It took over half an hour to get a drink from any bar (mainly due to people pushing in and being served first- Tip for hotel- make sure staff tell people to queue!
• Food ran out very quickly and was not replenished
• Sun beds were taken, even though it was clear that people were already using the beds
• Not enough seating at pool bar
• Daily sports stopped over the weekend- the Entertainers told us that there were too many people
• The noise from the rooms was horrendous- banging doors, shouting and screaming at all hours-we called Reception on 3 separate occasions over the first weekend! (Tip to hotel- organise walkabouts by the security staff)

There were so many people complaining that the second weekend was slightly better- we were told by one of the staff that all time off was cancelled- however there wasn’t much improvement- and we resorted to getting out of the hotel until they had all gone!

As you can see at the weekend this hotel goes right down, the only saving grace was the fantastic staff, the hotel itself appears to be very poorly managed!

The mosquitos seem to like the taste of anti-mosquito spray – we were only ever bitten when we used the spray- take a fly swat with you and check the room every night before you go to bed. There are sand flies in the restaurant- so ask to sit at the back on the hard floor area.

The pool was great, but you can’t swim all the way round it- it is really 3 separate pools- take Lilo’s with you if you have room, as there isn’t much choice in the shops! Also take plenty of sun tan lotion as it is very expensive to buy there! Make sure you take plenty of medication for all events- everyone we spoke to had an upset stomach at some point!

Take an disposable underwater camera if you are planning on going snorkelling (must do)

You only need to take USD$ as everyone accepts these- take plenty of small notes for tips- the reception will change large bills for you.

Book the Restaurants and trips at the weekends to avoid the locals!

Room Tip: Upgrade if you can afford it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Eleanor W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Be Live G, Gerente at Be Live Collection Marien, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Dear Customer:

We appreciate your comments, which are very important for us, since they help us to improve on our services. Thank you for having shared your experience through this web site.

At Be Live Grand Marien we are highly pleased for having had the opportunity to offer you our services. Therefore we apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced, your comments will be taken into consideration and the measures will be taken however possible.

Please let this not be a motive to not stay with us in the future. Even though we can assure you that we continuously work with our staff in order to improve the quality of our services offer.

We understand that there is always room for improvement and our guests’ experiences play the key role in this continuous process, which leads us to achieve service excellence.


Sincerely,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2014

The hotel is in a good location but it needs updating and good maintance.
During my stay, the telephone in the room didn't work and TV only had local channels.
Plus the bathroom wash basin plug didn't work and the sealant around the bath tub was faulty.
The air conditioned could not be adjusted so it was either very cold and warm to sleep and there were not good duvets.
I wish things get improved in this hotel as it is very good location and beach is nice too.

Block 8, room 8305 was like this.

Room Tip: Don't take block 8 I would say.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Fernando444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Be Live G, Gerente at Be Live Collection Marien, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Dear Customer:

First of all, we would like to thank you for sharing your impressions of your recent stay with us, through this web site.

We understand that there is always room for improvement and our guests’ experiences play the key role in this continuous process, which leads us to achieve service excellence.

In our effort to continuously improve the quality of our services and facilities, we put our greatest interest and value in our guests' opinion.

We would like to extend our most sincere apologies for any difficulties you may have experienced during your stay, our apology for the negative impression you may have received.

Your comments for the appropriate measures will be taken wherever possible.

Sincerely,
The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Dunmow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2014

We were actually at this resort the same time as other recent reviewers and i can totally agree with the comments. Our first problem arose when we were shown to our 2 rooms in Block 4. The rooms were far from clean and quality was really poor, broken furniture, wardrobe doors off their runners. certainly not 4 star (or 4Tplus) accommodation. we had already paid over £500 extra for sea view for 2 rooms. we were then asked to pay another $560 to upgrade to superior rooms, which were better, my advice is go for a superior room.
if you are planning trips do them Fri/Sat/Sun so you go off site. Jeffs point about the massive influx of other guests is valid, the hotel staff couldn't cope and the people were really rude. The noise these guests made at night was appalling with us averaging about 3 hours sleep a night. Doors slamming, shouting and running up and down corridors. The second weekend was slightly better as following complaints there seemed to be additional security guards on duty.
Food was average in the buffet, you could normally find something you liked, the restaurants were much better and again book these for the weekend so you avoid the buffet cattle market .
The resort was actually really nice, the pool area was great, the beach superb, although windy in the afternoon and the local staff really friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: avoid Block 4, upgrade to Superior room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AndrewF76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Be Live G, Gerente at Be Live Collection Marien, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Dear Customer:

First of all, we would like to thank you for sharing your impressions of your recent stay with us, through this web site.

We understand that there is always room for improvement and our guests’ experiences play the key role in this continuous process, which leads us to achieve service excellence.

In our effort to continuously improve the quality of our services and facilities, we put our greatest interest and value in our guests' opinion.

We would like to extend our most sincere apologies for any difficulties you may have experienced during your stay, our apology for the negative impression you may have received.

Your comments for the appropriate measures will be taken wherever possible.

Sincerely,
The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2014

As people can actually see from previous reviews I would like to think that my comments and observations are very fair and unbiased. The review that I am about to write is a little toned down as I am preparing a legal case against our tour operators and the hotel. So here we go -

We arrived on Sunday 29th June for a 2 week stay at the resort. Check in was quite painless, if a little dis-organised, but our rooms were allocated and we were driven over to them. Now I would like to think that I do a lot of research before booking expensive holidays, so we had already upgraded our room due to previous comments on TA. I am glad we did as various people that we met were horrified what met them in their block - Brits tend to be put in block 4 - the Superior rooms are in block 9. So after checking in Sunday afternoon my wife and I explored a little and were quite happy with what we had got. Up until Friday afternoon all I can say is good food great animation team ( Miguel - Hector and Dan especially ) happy smiling faces and not a care in the world. Good choice I was thinking to myself. Then it all went south. As previous comments on this site have said a few locals are bussed in and the resort gets a little bit busier. That is the understatement of the year. The hotel goes from 40% occupancy to 98% occupancy within the space of 3 hours. The locals literally take over the place. They are rude, obnoxious and do not have a please or thank you in their vocabulary. I will happily explain just the trouble I had personally with them. Our sunbeds were invaded by a family of 12 (I had 2 beds) whilst I was swimming with my wife not more than 20 yards from the beds and we explained calmly that the beds were ours and we had all our towels and personal belongings there all we got was abuse. I had to result in getting the security guards to move them on. I felt very intimidated indeed. We then went upstairs to our rooms (remembering we upgraded them at a considerable cost), the only way that I can explain this is like a mini Rio festival. Shouting door slamming kids running around. When we finally did get to our room we showered got changed and got out of there. So off to dinner - not a chance it was like these people had never been fed before I am not exaggerating that each table had at least 2 plates per person. The cooking stations were 6 deep and fingers and bare hands were eating the food direct from the buffet - it was absolutely disgusting. Hasten to add I never ate properly for 3 days. We then went down to the beach bar - no tables and no chairs - once again more hands fondling the food in the buffet. We then tried to get a drink 15 minutes to get 2 plastic cups of coke which was warm as the ice had not been replenished as the staff did not have time (which I totally understand). At this point I would emphasize that the staff were undermanned and were trying there best. We then went to the sports bar, great it was virtually empty, this was about 9.30. Got a nice cold GLASS of beer and thought we had found our sanctuary. How wrong was we. at 10.15 it was like 6 coaches had arrived outside and everyone was told that the drinks were on the house. Utter chaos - all glass was put away and out came the plastic cups. Within 15 minutes there was not room to swing a cat. We then decided the last course of action that we could do was go to the vino bar - where you have to pay for your drinks, but it was the only place on the complex where the locals didnt go as they had to put there hands in their pockets. We retired at about 1230 in the evening and without going into details security finally turned up at 1.30 and this is only when I threatened to call the police or deal with it myself. I by this time was fuming i demanded a meeting with the manager, who happened to be "off-site" for the next few days conveniently, so I took the next best thing the Assistant Manager - As I am going through legal channels it is best that I do not put in words my feelings for this man as I could be held in contempt, but just to say nothing changed. I could go on and on about the incidents in those 3 days but it only makes me very angry. So moving onto Sunday at approx 3pm the hotel went back to this idyllic paradise resort, and everyone went back to having a good time - well so the management thought. On the Sunday morning there was a queue outside the tour operators door with people wanting to know what that was all about. At present I believe including myself there are 7 couples who are taking further action against the tour operator for this disaster.

Positives - Sunday 3pm until Friday 12pm outstanding resort, all al a cartes are great.Animation team are superb. The ambiance and general hotel mood is great.The Superior rooms are definetly a must and although are a little outdated are kept spotlessly clean.

Negatives - Thomson brochure is misinforming you - (No pedalos, no activities for 3 days due to the numbers of guests, the casino and night club are closed completely just for starters). The weekend turns the resort from a 4 star to a 1 - 2 star. The word queuing, please, thank you and excuse me is forgotten. The quality of the food and drink goes downhill. The hotel management do not care about your welfare only the dollar. I could go on but this only happens Friday thru Sunday but when you are there for 2 weekends that is nearly half your holiday.

I am so disappointed because the staff work hard and the hotel is great fun when the local rabble are not there. Thomson should be informing everyone about this problem and not hiding it in their A - Z facts smallprint in the back of the brochure. The management should manage. If you are able to book Sunday afternoon to Friday afternoon I would highly recommend this place otherwise a serious thought about booking should be taken. As I said at the beginning I and others are starting legal action against the tour operators as all facilities and advertised amenities are not available. Would I go back again, certainly not while the hotel continues to book the local communities en mass into this complex for a cheap weekend. I would certainly go back though if they were to clean up their act.

I am happy to answer any questions to anyone on a private message but as legal action is pending I am obliged to keep certain things for public consumption. I am sorry for rambling on but someone needs to tell people who are spending their hard earned money on this holiday what to expect.

Room Tip: Upgrade before arriving to the hotel - Block 9 is the superior block
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank jeffmaslin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Plata hotels
1.3 mi away
Sunscape Puerto Plata Dominican Republic
1.3 mi away
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
#5 of 39 in Puerto Plata
5,404 reviews
1.3 mi away
BlueBay Villas Doradas Adults Only
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Iberostar Costa Dorada
Iberostar Costa Dorada
#2 of 39 in Puerto Plata
7,085 reviews
8.0 mi away
ClubHotel Riu Merengue
ClubHotel Riu Merengue
#13 of 39 in Puerto Plata
5,347 reviews
5.3 mi away
The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Be Live Collection Marien? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Be Live Collection Marien

Property: Be Live Collection Marien
Address: Carretera Luperon, Km. 4,5, Puerto Plata 57000, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Puerto Plata
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Plata
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Plata
#8 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Plata
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Be Live Collection Marien 4*
Number of rooms: 584
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Be Live Collection Marien is an all-inclusive 5-star resort in Puerto Plata, located in the northern coast of the Dominican Republic. With a privileged location synonymous of beautiful settings and its heavenly beaches, it is a perfect place to spend a relaxing vacation whether it is for a romantic getaway or for a family fun adventure. The resort features a spa, nearby golf course for guests and event facilities ideal for hosting special events. This complex is located 1 hour from Santiago de Los Caballeros, 10 minutes from the city of Puerto Plata, known for its rum factories and 30 minutes from Gregorio Luperon International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Be Live Collection Marien reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Be Live Grand Marien Hotel Puerto Plata
Grand Oasis Marien Hotel
Coral Marien Puerto Plata
Oasis Marien
Marien Coral Resort
Grand Oasis Marien Puerto Plata

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing