We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“worst experience ever”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Be Live Collection Marien
Ranked #9 of 40 Hotels in Puerto Plata
new brunswick
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“worst experience ever”
Reviewed March 22, 2013

Stayed at this resort for 5 days and after the first day regretted the decision of booking my room at this hotel. The first night after arriving, a group of friends and i decided to go out and came back to the resort around 2 pm and spent an hour at the snack bar. The next morning after hearing that a friend of ours lost all of her money, my roommate and i decided to check our luggage bag. We had put a lock on her luggage bag and placed all of our belongings in that bag feeling safe since only she had the lock. My roommates lock on her luggage went missing and as we opened the bag ALL of our money was stolen($800 in total). As we called the receptionist we were told we would be contacted shortly and after 20 minutes we received no attention or care. Therefore, we decided to take measures on our own and tried to speak to the security employees. Sadly, they accused our friends for stealing the money and did not sympathize with us at all! If our friends had stolen the money, why did a neighbor next door to us who we had no connection with also have 500 euros stolen? As a matter of fact, we were told to pay for a phone call to notify our family back home when we had not a single dollar left! If you want to stay in a resort where you feel safe, where the staff does not say curses in spanish as if you did not understand them, where the staff does not blame you for your money being stolen at their OWN resort,where the staff takes action of investigating their employees or the situation, where employees do not walk in while you are sleeping with a "do not disturb" sign, PLEASE DO NOT STAY AT THIS RESORT AND FIND A BETTER PLACE!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank hsoni03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,772 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,190
    1,390
    658
    288
    246
See reviews for
1,290
1,338
148
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (728)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Brunswick, New Jersey, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2013

One of the worst resorts I have ever experienced in my life. Horrible customer service and management. Got all my money stolen from the room and the management refused to do anything about it. I am pretty sure it was someone who works there. Not only that, but the staff is also very sketchy. One day a staff member who claims to be a security guard was trying to get into the room with another key. What did he want from the room, no idea. They made it very uncomfortable for me during the stay because the whole staff just gave us a hard time. I would never recommend going to this resort. Keep away!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank ShaheeenI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2013

I went with a group of 38 people and overall it was fun. But few girls out of the group got $2500 stolen by housekeeping. An older guy next door also got £500 stolen. All this happened at the same night and the hotel managers refused to do anything. It was such a hassle to even get security to the rooms. The employees were so rude and threatened to kick us out because we demanded our issue to be solved. Moreover, their food SUCKED and reservations were full before anyone got a chance to book it. I would not recommend this place

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Rnigli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Brunswick, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2013

I wasn't at all happy with the service that its staff gave us. From the moment we arrived I could tell they didn't want us there and it seemed like they were trying to do all they could to make us leave or find reasons to kick us out. All we wanted was to have a fun time and not even bother anyone around us. Some of our money was stolen the first night we got there and the staff tried to blame our group for the lost money. I called about ants and mosquitos in our hotel room about 3 or 4 times and nobody came to look at it. We were also accused of other things that they have no proof of that it was actually us or some other group. Poor hospitality and poor service by the staff.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Samir P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2013

I went with 38 people on March 16th and mine and 6 other girl's money was stolen On march 16th night while we were all gone from our rooms. THEY DID NOTHING TO HELP US and won't even give us the money back. They didn't call the police. AND The nerve they have to tell us that one of our own friends did it and blamed it on us. Over $2000 was stolen from our OWN Rooms and we had to pay on top extra to make phone calls to our parents because that is how cheap they were. WORST resort ever. They didn't even treat us properly and gave us dirty looks just because we were so many of us. I hate this hotel and the staff. The manager was terrible. They didn't do anything to help us out and help find who stole our money. NOBODY STAY HERE. we were in 4220 and the other girls were also in the 4th building. SOMEONE went through our stuff and physically took all the cash we had. So for the 6 days we were there, we were cash-less. WORST spring break for us. One of our friends even bought the safe and someone took money from her safe. DO NOT GO TO THIS RESORT THEY WILL NOT TAKE CARE OF YOU AND BLAME YOU FOR THINGS THAT HAPPENED.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank shwets91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2013

Just came back from an awesome vacation at Be Live Grand Marien.I can't say enough about this resort.The room,staff,food,beach and property were all awesome.I would definately recommend this property and would go back in a heart beat.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Faye K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Be Live G, Gerente at Be Live Collection Marien, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear Mr./Mrs. :
Thank you for sharing your impressions of your recent stay with us, through this web site and for selecting our Be Live grand marien.

Your kindness comments are very important for us, since we put our greatest interest and value in our guests' opinion, definitely they helps us to improve on our services.

Please receive our warm regards from Dominican Republic, has been a pleasure to serve you.

Sincerely,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2013

This holiday myself and my friend have just come back from has been unforgettable and we will definitely be returning. The food the atmosphere and most of all the staff are amazing, I had no fault whatsoever. Especially one of the newer staff called Hector, he was brilliant, so full of energy and life its unreal! But also all of the other staff were amazing too, not just the entertainment staff but the restaurant staff and the bar staff and reception and everything I could not fault again. And my friend and I will definitely be returning there. It can't come soon enough!!!! I want to say a big thank you for makin our holiday as fantastic as it was :)

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DanRex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Be Live G, Gerente at Be Live Collection Marien, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear Mr./Mrs.:

First of all, we would like to express our gratitude for sharing your impressions of your recent stay with us, through this web site. It is truly a pleasure for us to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We thank you for your kindness comments, wish are very important for us, since they helps us to improve on our services.

Please receive our warm regards from Dominican Republic, has been very nice to serve you.

Sincerely,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Plata hotels
1.3 mi away
BlueBay Villas Doradas Adults Only
1.3 mi away
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
#5 of 40 in Puerto Plata
5,474 reviews
1.3 mi away
Sunscape Puerto Plata Dominican Republic
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Iberostar Costa Dorada
Iberostar Costa Dorada
#1 of 40 in Puerto Plata
7,244 reviews
1.1 mi away
Grand Paradise Playa Dorada
Grand Paradise Playa Dorada
#7 of 40 in Puerto Plata
3,253 reviews
5.3 mi away
The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Be Live Collection Marien? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Be Live Collection Marien

Property: Be Live Collection Marien
Address: Carretera Luperon, Km. 4,5, Puerto Plata 57000, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Puerto Plata
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Plata
#8 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Plata
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Plata
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Be Live Collection Marien 4*
Number of rooms: 584
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Be Live Collection Marien is an all-inclusive 5-star resort in Puerto Plata, located in the northern coast of the Dominican Republic. With a privileged location synonymous of beautiful settings and its heavenly beaches, it is a perfect place to spend a relaxing vacation whether it is for a romantic getaway or for a family fun adventure. The resort features a spa, nearby golf course for guests and event facilities ideal for hosting special events. This complex is located 1 hour from Santiago de Los Caballeros, 10 minutes from the city of Puerto Plata, known for its rum factories and 30 minutes from Gregorio Luperon International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with World Independent Hotel Promotion, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, TravelUp, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Agoda, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Be Live Collection Marien reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Be Live Grand Marien Hotel Puerto Plata
Grand Oasis Marien Hotel
Coral Marien Puerto Plata
Oasis Marien
Marien Coral Resort
Grand Oasis Marien Puerto Plata

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing