We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic staff - nice resort” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Be Live Collection Marien

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Be Live Collection Marien
Ranked #11 of 45 Hotels in Puerto Plata
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
65 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Fantastic staff - nice resort”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

The highlight of my stay at this hotel is most certainly the staff. Very friendly and accommodating. Things do move at a slower pace in the DR and the overall attitude is definitely laid back so be prepared for that. But isn't that one of the best reason to go there to begin with if you are looking for a beach vacation? Smile and go with the flow....

The rooms were comfortable and what I would compare to a 3 star hotel in the US.

One thing that was important to me was WIFI, for which little information is posted. WIFI is available everywhere on the resort, including the common areas and rooms. There is cost, however, which is $25 for 25 hours (If I recall correctly, but it is something close to it) over a 6 day period. You buy the WIFI access code in the Internet office close to reception. Once purchased, you use the hours over the course of the time period purchased. Just make sure you log-off or turn off your computer or you will burn through the time purchased.

Within the resort there is a huge pool with lots of chairs and of course the beach. A nightclub is located close to the reception area.

The food is most definitely average and just 'Ok', nothing special here - local drinks are included, including the local beer Presidente (which is actually quite good).

Within walking distance there is a Casino and another nightclub independent of the resort. If you like staying out late, then this is an option after the resort club closes (which is early).

This is no Ritz Carlton, but certainly a very relaxing resort destination. With the promotional price I received I did feel like this resort was a bargain.

I rented a car which greatly expanded my options - It was only about $22 + taxes per day (Use a credit card that offers car rental protection to save money). This allowed me to explore other places close to Puerto Plata, including Cabarete and Sousa. Considering that a one way taxi to the airport cost $50, a car rental is quite a bargain. Driving was easy - yes, it is a little crazy once you get into town with rather relaxed driving rules, but very manageable (at least for me).

Definitely a bargain mid-level resort I would recommend.

Room Tip: All the rooms seem to be quiet. Choose based on your preference of view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tom A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,726 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    754
    1,082
    496
    220
    174
See reviews for
925
1,007
87
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (573)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012 via mobile

Just come home after 1 week staying at this lovely hotel. The highlight of this trip has to be the great location but that the staff service here was exceptional.

Although I love to explore different hotels, I would return to this hotel again.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Martin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

Was disappointed by the food and the beds. The food was just OK. Best thing to get was the omelette in the morning. I thought I would be safe with chicken nuggets and burgers but they were gross. The beds were very uncomfortable, I sleep on my side and kept waking up with my hip hurting. The pool area was nice though as were the grounds in general. The staff was really sweet.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brianna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoffman Estates, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

I was a little skeptical at first because of all the negative reviews, but am SO happy I ignored the reviews and choose to stay at Be Live. Overall, my trip was awesome! I traveled with my boyfriend and another couple on Nov 9th for 7 days. We stayed in block 8 which was by the beach and the pool and close to the bar. The weather was rainy for the first 3 days, but we didn’t let the weather spoil our vacation… all-inclusive… we decided to drink the night away.

Hotel:
The hotel was very nice! Really loved the pool! There is a disco onsite, they played batchata, merunge and salsa which i loved! they also play r & b, and other music depending on the crowd. Right outside the hotel is a casino and a nightclub Pure. the nightclub plays more Rap and R&B. We would go to the disco first get the drinks and then walk over to Pure. We had many fun nights!

Food:
The food was actually good! I was very impressed with the quality and the selection of the buffet. I really loved the breakfast fruit smoothies… so good! They also have a 24hr snack bar. They have burgers, pizza, and hotdogs. This place was awesome for the late nights after the disco. We were only able to eat at the gourmet restaurant because we were unable to make reservation for the Brazilian.

Room:
We had the superior room which was beautiful! Very spacious, clean and comfortable. The fridge was stocked daily with water, beer and soft drinks. The maids did a great job cleaning the rooms. We left money for them because they work hard and deserve it. They’re very appreciative.

Entertainment:
The best part of the trip! There was nightly shows at 9:30, great shows and involved the audience. My favorite was Cuchi Cuchi, he defiantly made our trip a better experience, he was hilarious and so full of life. He remembered our names throughout the trip and involved us in all the actives. Thank you Cuchi for making this an awesome trip. They have daily activities such as water polo, volleyball, ping pong, beer chugging contests. I would recommend involving yourself as it makes the trip more fun.

Bar:
Jesus was the best!!! Very friendly and kept the drinks coming. Try the Pina Colada with Blue Cudacow (sp?) it was very tasty! They are def not cheap on the drink as I requested them not to make them too strong! Tip them and they will take care of you! Also need to try the Mamajuana… it’s their specialty.

Service:
They have a different culture in the DR, Def not like the US. The waiters are a lot slower, laid back and you may need to ask for everything, but we just accepted it as it is.

Shopping:
Never pay full price for anything! Always negociate as they mark up the prices 3x as much as you should normally pay. I would recommend walking towards the ride side of the beach about 8 minutes to a little market they have where you can find the same item from the hotel for a 3rd of the price... very safe too. Never felt threatened.

Excursions:
We did the Zip lining and horseback riding. That was a great experience since it was my first time zip lining. The horseback riding was a 30 minute ride with beautiful scenery. We also did the Paradise Island. That was breath taking. Awesome time!

I would definitely come back to this hotel… already searching when to book our next trip.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
14 Thank Karina T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

I stayed here close to 3 years ago (January 2010) and after reading through the reviews it brought back such good memories I figured I'd weigh in. It was my first trip down south so I didn't know what to expect. The only negative memory I have of the trip is presence of time share people and our group being tricked into a 'tour of a new resort' which ended up being a trap to be pressured into time sharing. Anyway it was a nice hotel that we toured and a memorable experience. Getting back to the Grand Marien, the rooms were spacious, house cleaning staff were excellent - flowers and designs with our towels and bedding every day. Food was alright - I lived off of bread but I'm a picky eater to begin with. Entertainment staff were AMAZING, in my opinion made the whole trip. Always made you feel welcome, took the time to talk to you, partied with you after hours and at the end of the day put on some great shows and entertainment. The beach was okay - Puerto Plata isn't known for fabolous beaches anyway so you can't expect perfect. Plenty of excursions to choose from as well. I definitley plan on returning someday :).

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Tiffany T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

My wife and I travel frequently to all-inclusive resorts. The Grand Marien was generally ok but room service had to be the worst ever. First day, the room mini-bar was empty...we said ok, we'll let it go...everyone makes mistakes. On subsequent days, there were no towels, bath soap and again, no refill of the mini-bar. We had an ironing board but no iron (?)-does that make sense? These are just a few of room service problems we encountered. We could go on to name more things that are considered standard service anywhere else.

We had some days with heavy rain and there was poor drainage and leakage thoughout public areas, including the restaurants.

However, the entertainment and food was great. The gardens and surroundings were clean.

In short, we would never stay here again since the most private place, our room, was unpredictable and left a sour taste in our mouths.

Room Tip: Upon arrival, make sure the room has everything you paid for from the start.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sandmax2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Puerto Plata hotels

Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Speechless! great price amazing people great service, deliciouse food, buffet and there restaurants aswell drinks were pretty good too.. the beach was great pools very clean, minibars refilled daily cant wait to go back!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Walkiria p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Plata hotels
1.3 mi away
BlueBay Villas Doradas Adults Only
1.3 mi away
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
#4 of 45 in Puerto Plata
4.0 of 5 stars 4,903 reviews
0.2 mi away
Iberostar Costa Dorada
Iberostar Costa Dorada
#2 of 45 in Puerto Plata
4.5 of 5 stars 6,138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Sunscape Puerto Plata Dominican Republic
1.1 mi away
Grand Paradise Playa Dorada
Grand Paradise Playa Dorada
#7 of 45 in Puerto Plata
3.5 of 5 stars 2,887 reviews
8.1 mi away
ClubHotel Riu Merengue
ClubHotel Riu Merengue
#12 of 45 in Puerto Plata
4.0 of 5 stars 4,842 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Be Live Collection Marien? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Be Live Collection Marien

Property: Be Live Collection Marien
Address: Carretera Luperon, Km. 4,5, Puerto Plata 57000, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Puerto Plata
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Plata
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Plata
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Plata
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Be Live Collection Marien 4*
Number of rooms: 584
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Be Live Collection Marien is an all-inclusive 5-star resort in Puerto Plata, located in the northern coast of the Dominican Republic. With a privileged location synonymous of beautiful settings and its heavenly beaches, it is a perfect place to spend a relaxing vacation whether it is for a romantic getaway or for a family fun adventure. The resort features a spa, nearby golf course for guests and event facilities ideal for hosting special events. This complex is located 1 hour from Santiago de Los Caballeros, 10 minutes from the city of Puerto Plata, known for its rum factories and 30 minutes from Gregorio Luperon International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Odigeo and Hotwire so you can book your Be Live Collection Marien reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Be Live Grand Marien Hotel Puerto Plata
Grand Oasis Marien Hotel
Coral Marien Puerto Plata
Oasis Marien
Marien Coral Resort
Grand Oasis Marien Puerto Plata

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing