We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT HOLIDAY”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Be Live Collection Marien
Ranked #9 of 39 Hotels in Puerto Plata
N.IRELAND
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“GREAT HOLIDAY”
Reviewed October 12, 2012

What a place, this was my third visit to the dominican republic and this was the best hotel yet, no hassel on the beach great staff very friendly, the room was fine maybe a lttle dated but how long are you in it, the cleaner done a great job each day and made beautiful displays with our towels, the food was good but u do get a bit fed up with it but no one will go hungry here. we went to the steak house in player dorado which was great, we booked all our trips on the beach no problems ther either saved a lot of money doing it this way. The beach is lovely as is the pool area but found it to warm at the pool untill late afternoon loads of sunbeds for everyone and you do not have to be up early to get one, we had a very pleasant stay at the be live and we will return to it very soon so please do not listen to bad reviews .

Room Tip: ocean view rooms are great ours overlooked the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alison k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,640 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,133
    1,353
    643
    280
    231
See reviews for
1,213
1,314
143
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (720)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Evercreech, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 11, 2012

all the staff worked very hard all day and all the nigth to thanks to hector denezelw leuris xavier moskito pididi cuchi pikachu thanks you made my holidaygraet well done you all worked so very hard and were so very happy and there when poeple were there with smiles on your faces no matter what time of the day or nigth the fire show was great and also the dance were great how do you do it rembering the steps for each one.the day time fun was great round the pool you work hard to get people up when they dont wont to always fresh towels at all times the food was very good and always full when you went there the only down side was when they had young girls doing very sex dances on the beach sorry thats was just wrong but apart from that i had great time and will be going back here to this hotel very soon

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms were the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarah p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed October 10, 2012 via mobile

I stayed at the marien the last week of september and the first week of october.

Check in was fast
Room-We had block 4 the rooms in there are very outdated and poor, but was cleaned daily.
Pool-the was area was good, great activitys all day, the pool bar is packed on the weekends takes around 30 mins to get a drink.
Food-very much the same everyday, breakfast is the best meal. Lunch and dinner, rice, pasta, potato amd chicken legs are there everyday. The ala carte resturants are okay, they just jazz up the buffet food, they also only open on certain days.
Entertainment-the entertainmet team are great! Coochi coochi, demzel washington and hector join in all the pool activitys during the day. At night they do a show in the theatre and then go to the bar in recepton. They do a great job.
Beach-we only visited the beach once, its great for a tan but its ot a great beach.

It was a good holiday, they should just do better food and update the older rooms. The staff make this resort great.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Bill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kent
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Very nice Hotel Not the 4 star +, maby a 3 star + this is the 10th time to the Dom Rep so we no a little about the service you would expect. Hotel in itself was very nice, small so not to much walking, Very clean , rooms a bit dated with all the dark wood furniture a TV that come from the Ark, coffee machine in the bathroom ? Mini fridge very old, two 4ft beds but all in all very clean with a very good maid service.Entertainment good Did not try any of the theamed restaurants so cant coment, others told us very good, main buffet very clean and tidy food was hot bit bland and not much choice for people from England,staff seem to try there best but lack of training shows all the time.Weekends GO OUT have a trip do anything but dont stay in the Hotel it gets invaded by the locals and there is no other way to explane it There like Animals Loud Rude shout and screem all day and night lots of Security about, we dont no if its true but we were told about room breakins Ground floor when the locals invade.Great beach clean and tidy and a good place to swim. The bars are few and far apart there seems to be allways 2/3 barman on duty but only one serving, Pool was fantastic and very clean to get a sunbed under cover is nigh on imposible as the towel on sunbed culture is rife, Not many Brits seem to go to this Hotel lots of Germans and others from Europe and the locals at weekends SHAME on Thomson for not telling us that Would i go again NO, get rid of the Locals then Yes.

Room Tip: Blocks 1 2 3 4 & 9 are near to the beach and snack bar ( do not have a ground floor room)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tilleykent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatineau
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

In my own opinion here are my observations for this resort

Reception- No complaints fast check in
Room- fair - no coffee machine in room, tv converter non functional received both items the last day of our trip
Food - repetitive very bland thank god for snack bar which was better than buffet and the a la carte restaurants which were slightly better than the buffet
Beach - OK
Service - poor had to get my coffee or beer on numerous occassions
As many other post mention on weekends this resort fills up with locals - no big deal if the travel agency would've advised me that locals are present on the weekends, I could've decided if I wanted to book at this resort or not, these locals literally cut in front of you to get their food hell I'm not spanish and I know what Entrada means

This was not a 4.5 as stated by travel agent but rather a 3 star

Room Tip: blocks 1 and 2 are close to the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GatineauTazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

This is my THIRD trip here and I continue to be pleased with the place. The food and drinks are good and the pool is relaxing. BOTTOM LINE and the whole point of this review is to acknowledge the Entertainment Team, which made the stay all the worth while. They were great and they make the place fun to be. They really keep the day and night moving and they are ALL friendly and talented. I came here before when they were the Chocolate Friends and they were amazing as well. The fact that they keep my kids (11, 10, and 2) happy won me over!! I will return if they keep the team there.

Room Tip: We had a 1-bedroom suite and it was very roomy, one drawback was the sofabed/couch the boys slept on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2012

Stayed at the Be Live Gran Marien 25th August to 8th September and had the most amazing time. We were a family of 7 and were given rooms next to each other ours and our childrens having an interconnecting door. Rooms were cleaned daily maids did an excellent job. Went to all 3 A-la Carte restaurants the Brazilian and Mexican being the better of the 3 the service was outstanding(especially the waiters Ronald and Froilan) had many memorable nights there!.The food at the Gourmet was very good however the service was very slow. The entertainment was varied usual daytime/evening activities you could join in if you wanted not pushy at all. Yes the resort did become busier on a weekend however you could eat at the a la cartes if you found the buffet too busy the bars did get very busy at times but the bar staff were very good watching if anyone pushed infront of another but to be honest the locals just added to the atmosphere of the hotel and helped make it alot livelier. The pool was amazing it was so large you could be at one end and be involved with all the actiivites or the other end if you fancied a quiet lazy day. All in all I would say this is the best hotel I have stayed at in the Dom Rep this being my 3rd stay the only downside is how quiet the resort outside the hotel is there is a definite lack of tourism now on the North side which is a shame as it is such a beautiful country with wonderful people.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank littlelols07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Plata hotels
1.3 mi away
Sunscape Puerto Plata Dominican Republic
1.3 mi away
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
#5 of 39 in Puerto Plata
5,404 reviews
1.3 mi away
BlueBay Villas Doradas Adults Only
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Iberostar Costa Dorada
Iberostar Costa Dorada
#2 of 39 in Puerto Plata
7,081 reviews
8.0 mi away
ClubHotel Riu Merengue
ClubHotel Riu Merengue
#13 of 39 in Puerto Plata
5,347 reviews
5.3 mi away
The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Be Live Collection Marien? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Be Live Collection Marien

Property: Be Live Collection Marien
Address: Carretera Luperon, Km. 4,5, Puerto Plata 57000, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Puerto Plata
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Plata
#8 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Plata
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Plata
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Be Live Collection Marien 4*
Number of rooms: 584
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Be Live Collection Marien is an all-inclusive 5-star resort in Puerto Plata, located in the northern coast of the Dominican Republic. With a privileged location synonymous of beautiful settings and its heavenly beaches, it is a perfect place to spend a relaxing vacation whether it is for a romantic getaway or for a family fun adventure. The resort features a spa, nearby golf course for guests and event facilities ideal for hosting special events. This complex is located 1 hour from Santiago de Los Caballeros, 10 minutes from the city of Puerto Plata, known for its rum factories and 30 minutes from Gregorio Luperon International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Be Live Collection Marien reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Be Live Grand Marien Hotel Puerto Plata
Grand Oasis Marien Hotel
Coral Marien Puerto Plata
Oasis Marien
Marien Coral Resort
Grand Oasis Marien Puerto Plata

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing