We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Impressed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Be Live Collection Marien
Ranked #9 of 39 Hotels in Puerto Plata
Carleton Place, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Very Impressed”
Reviewed January 17, 2012

Very beautiful resort overlooking the mountains. Service was very friendly and efficient. The beach was great. Lots of chairs and shaded area's if desired. The ocean was calm and wonderfully relaxing. The room was cool and the shower worked well. Jacuzzi in the room was a added bonus. The food was very good. Loved the omelet in the morning as well as the fruit smoothies. I would recommend reserving at the Brazilian restaurant. It was great and probably the best at the resort!! Endless shiskabobs of beef chicken, (excellent seasoning) turkey and pork. The buffet was good. Lots of everything. I gained about 10 pounds there so I'm presently on a diet now. The bar selection was good. Gin and tonic they use Tanqueray gin. I recommend a Caipirinha (rum, crushed lime and lemon juice). Food there was 24 hrs. I did play Texas holdem at the casino as well. Tony was a excellent host. Made you feel right at home. Avoid the caribbean roulette. Its a scam. (on the CIA report). The disco at the casino was full of hookers if you like that then go. They also didn't give change back. Gave them a $20 US for a beer and they said it was a 5 US. I only had 20US in my pocket. Go to the hotel disco. Free booze there.
Also rented a car for $ 35 /day unlimited mileage and went on a road trip up the mountains. The superhighway there is a goat trail. So be prepared to bounce around. You definitely need all wheel drive. We had a toyota rav, I believe and had no problems. Gas isn't cheap there though. We also checked out Cabarete. Very cool place. Wind kite capital. Need to learn how. Looks like a blast. That might be the next destination.

All in all this hotel was an excellent bang for your buck. Its said to be the best resort in Puerto Plata. I can testify to that. Its a definite go to place in the Caribbean. We paid $930 through itravel2000. Its worth it. Up to $1400.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank Brian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,625 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,125
    1,349
    642
    280
    229
See reviews for
1,210
1,310
141
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (720)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2012

There is no question that the Be Live Grand Marien is an extraordinarily beautiful resort. Having travelled the world, I can confidently state that this is a magical place with fantastic food, entertainment, and incredibly lovely staff. New year's was a spectacular event with more balloons than people. Everywhere the staff worked so hard to please, from the front door men, front desk personnel, restaurant personnel, and animators. Even the grounds staff and the chambermaids went out of their way to make us feel welcome and appreciated. It is so difficult to understand why the management, who is clearly so intent on ensuring the well-being of it's guests, would compromise the quality of the experience with some extremely bizarre decisions: (1) To fumigate the entire complex at the height of the highest tourist season of the year when the hotel was maximum capacity. A small card was distributed the night before advising the clients of the their intentions to fumigate at 9:30 in the morning with a written declaration that it "was not dangerous to human health." Of course, there was no mention of what insecticide they were using and although every client had the option of refusing to have their rooms sprayed, there was absolutely no option of avoided exposure in the halls, stairways, and adjoining rooms that were sprayed. (2) To apply pesticides and/or herbicides to the entire property thereby subjecting its guests to a toxic soup mix of extraordinarily powerful environmental toxins. It was appalling to me that the company management had so little respect for the health and welfare of their guests that they were willing to take such incredible liberties with the health of their guests, many of whom were infants, children, nursing mothers, and elderly. (3) Failure to provide a non-smoking environment. The only place that smoking wasn't permitted was in some of the restaurants. It was a smoker's paradise. Everywhere around the facility we were overcome by smoke. We were subjected to smoke pollution everywhere around the pool, in the front lobby, in the beach and pool restaurants, and to our horror, on the beach. Nothing was in place to prevent a smoker from pulling up a beach chair right next to you and lighting up. In fact, it became apparent to us, that this was a technique that many locals used to gain access to desired beach and pool locations. Nothing could make a non-smoker give up their seats quicker than having a smoker positioned so that when they lit up, the smoke blew directly in your face.
(4) People Pollution: Incredible overcrowding due to distribution of DAY-PASSES. If you think that late December and early January are a busy time of year at a 5-star Dominican hotel, wait till you experience the BE-Live Grand Marien. The population swells to breaking point on weekends when the hotel sells off day passes to the Dominicans. On two occasions Dominican families virtually confiscated our "spot" at the pool, strategizing their chairs around ours only inches away, and invading the little space that we had taken with two chairs under an umbrella with loud speech, physical dominating postures, and even sitting in our chairs on our beach towels when we slipped in for a swim. If that didn't work, lighting up a cigarette did.
(5) Noise pollution: If you're looking for loud music and drawn to a high level of activity, this is the place for you. On the other hand, if you're planning a quiet getaway, this is not the place for rest and relaxation. There was no peace, anywhere on the resort. The animators would start pumping out the music over the loud speakers from early in the morning with pleas to invoke participation in bingo, aerobic classes, pool basketball, dancing, and other events. Moving to the beach provided no escape because the animators brought their music and speakers down to the beach playing obnoxiously loud and invasive music.
Aside from the above, it's a fantastic resort and absolutely a five star resort, if you like that kind of thing.

Room Tip: Bring your own bed unless you're comfortable sleeping on a trampoline. I would highly recommend...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Sally J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2012

Stayed here for 2 weeks in September 2011. Firstly weather was great so so hot rained a few times in the evening but not an issue. Beach is lovely although being on Atlantic coast water is a bit rougher and not as clear as other side of the island. There are guys on the beach trying to get you to visit the Market and buy excursion but they were nice enough and a no thanks was sufficient to get them to move on.

The pool area is lovely a few reviews saying the pool was freezing however we never found it that cold, also found the towel service really handy. The entertainment team at the resort were great, they work really hard and try to get guests involved there are a few activities by the pool during the day and shows at night. If that's not your thing you can have quiet drink at the pool bar or snack bar and there is also a small disco by the reception area.

The food and service at the gormet restaurant and Mexican were excellent we heard the brazilian wasn't to be missed but never got round to visiting. There was a different theme in the buffet each night and always found something to eat. There was a couple of nights we just fancied good old pizza hut we phoned out and they delivered to the hotel no problems.

We booked a few excursions through our rep went swimming with dolphins and snorkelling with sharks and stingrays it was great. Also went to paradise island also not to be missed snorkelling there was good and absolutely beautiful although journey there was long but worth it. We went on the cable car and city tour wouldn't recommend this we couldn't see anything at the top of the mountain it was so misty and we were bombarded with kids and adults wanting us to buy them soft drinks and sweets.

We were disappointed with the
check in at the hotel we were kept waiting for 2 hours when you have been travelling for 13 hours this isn't what you want. We arrived on a Saturday and there was an influx of locals and they all seemed to be getting checked in before us despite us being there first. During the week the resort was nice and quiet but come Friday/Saturday the locals arrive and it is a nightmare I won't return to this hotel for this reason.
I would have absolutely no problem with locals being there having a long weekend just as we do here however, the majority of them are extremely rude they stare at you as if you were an alien just arrived from Mars, they don't know the meaning of the word queue and the group we had opposite us seemed to think it was fine to run
screaming up and down the corridor banging doors and having music blasting at 4am

We were also disappointed in our room it was in the older building and although it was clean and fumigated it was tired, in need of refurb and smelt of damp after a couple of days I didn't notice the smell as much but returning home my clothes stank had to wash serveral times to get the smell out
and we were told we couldn't move to the newer building unless we paid. Overall I would return to the Dominican but not this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ernie1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tobermory, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2012

Most of the Staff was wonderful, buffet restaurant was good, Christmas Diner was amazing and staff was excellent in the buffet restaurant and in the Mexican Restaurant location, the other restaurants I would not recommend, they need some improvements. The Lobby Bar/Disco made great drinks, (**take your own container if you want to take drinks to the beach small plastic glasses don’t stay cold**. We upgraded our room immediately to (number 9 building) it was great a newer building and very close to the beach, with a great view of the ocean. The older buildings need renovations, and are a little musty. The upgrade for two weeks was very reasonable, we upgraded with the hotel not tour company. Night time entertainment is typical at the hotel, good for a couple of the shows. Many tours are offered--** see Tony on the Beach prices are better than through the hotel, THEY ARE THE SAME TOURS** tour company of course told us not to book on the beach, but it’s all about the money. Tony and a another guy that wore a Gillian hat ( sorry forgot his name) were great the Beach Tour guides all where white shirts, and walk the beach 8 hours a day, and earns their money. Overall it was a good place, Beach was cleaned every morning, and grounds were well kept. Casino Was Good For Me!

Room Tip: building 9 would be the only building I would go back to , we stayed in 9223, ocean view, moderate u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tobermory_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vaughan, Ontario
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2012

Visited Be Live from Dec 29 - Jan 5th with husband and 6 year old daughter. After airport arrival, we headed to the hotel transfer bus area. The Air Transat kiosk personell directed us to the bus. We waited on the bus for about 1/2 hour, for what reason I don't know, and then we were on our way. It was about a 20 minute drive to the hotel. Check in was pretty quick, we were given a ground floor room at first, but I told them I wanted a higher floor because of noise issues, so we ended up on the second floor with a partial ocean view. We were in building 4 which is right next to the beach, and across from the beach buffet. Once we got in our room, there was a musty odor and the room did look old and tired looking, we were sort of turned off. We decided to go back to the front and see one of the upgraded rooms in the two white buildings, which is an extra $40 per night. After about 15 minutes, someone took us to see a few rooms. The musty smell in them were even worse, and we saw rooms in both building 8 and 9! We went back to our room and started to realize it really wasn't that bad after all, but still not what you would expect for a 4+ hotel. Also, even though I have washed all of our clothes TWICE, the musty smell is still there! Not so happy about that.
The grounds, pool and beach are very nice. Lots of chairs available, however if you want a covered one on the beach or pool, you need to reserve it early (8-9am). Unfortunately, on the weekend even though I had gotten up early and reserved a spot by the pool, when we came back from breakfast, a large dominican family of about 10 had thrown our stuff on one chair in the corner and taken over the spot! By then, all the other spots were taken. This happened to us only once, but it definitely put a damper on that day.
We walked to the right along the beach and did some shopping at the orange flea market for jewellery and souvineers. Remember to cut their price in half and do some bargaining.
The food was good at the buffets, dinners always seemed to be the best, with the most variety of foods. I liked the coffee machines that made cappiccino's, hot chocolate, lattes, etc... and the fresh fruit milkshakes in the mornings!
What I have written next shows you Be Live's great customer satisfaction - Our first a la carte was the mexican restaurant. We ordered our appitizers and main course and chatted away. As the evening went on we started wondering what was taking so long, but we just thought, maybe these restaurants just take a long time. We started noticing that people who arrived after us were getting there food, but we hadn't got any. We asked our waiter what was going on and he rushed away. He came back and told us there was a mix up in the kitchen and we would have to order again, this was after waiting for over an hour! We were quite upset because my daughter was starving, so we told them we were leaving and we were going to the buffet. Well, we had almost finished eating when we were surrounded by two waiters and two managers. They apologized many times and told us that we should tell them what we had ordered and they would bring the food to our buffet table. We kept saying it was OK, but they kept insisting so I ordered the tortilla soup and my daughter ordered the quesadillas, and in no time it was at our table. People kept coming by to make sure we were ok and we sort of felt like celebrities! Then, the next day there was a bottle of rum and a beautiful fruit platter in our room! It even gets better - the next two nights we ate at the other a la carte - brazillian and gourmet and it seemed that after 5 minutes of sitting down, the same managers were by our table, asking us how everything was, could they get us anything, etc... and checking on us throughout our dinner. Thank you to Juan Garcia who did all that for us. There was another manager but I don't know his name who also made sure we were doing well. The food was really good at the a la carte restaurants and I would highly recommend trying them. You must make reservations in the lobby.
The animation team and shows were well done, great sets, amazing dancers, we were really impressed! Go about 1/2 hour before the show because they do fun games with people from the resort and they are fun to watch. Also, that way you can get a good seat! My husband and I even participated in one, it was really hilarious!
New Years eve was nice - ice and foam sculptures, nicely decorated tables and stage, a live band playing as you ate, a huge tables full of desserts, it was great! After eating, two singers sang songs from every musical era there was and everyone was dancing on the floor and on the stage! My daughter had so much fun! Before 12 they handed out hats, beaded necklaces, noise makers, etc... to everyone and we danced, sang and brought in the new year. Then everyone went to the beach for great fireworks (they were exploding right over our heads) and then a video music dance party on the beach!
We left the resort twice, once we took a taxi to Mt. St. Isabelle. The taxi cost $45 US round trip and it cost $10 per adult, $6 per child to take the cable car up and down the mountain. The views were really nice and we also walked around the botanical forest. You don't really need a guide, but if you want to feel safer going through the forested areas, then get one. We also took a taxi to the playa dorada complex ($7 one way) where there is a shopping center which was OK, not really worth your time and you can take a horse and carriage ride around the grounds for about $15. The Playa dorada complex has a golf course and about 11 resorts situated in it.
Overall, we were quite happy with the resort and I would recommend it to others, but I would warn them about the musty smell issue.

Room Tip: Ask for floor 2 or 3, not ground level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank vaughanmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2012

This is a great resort for all types. The resort had groups of young people, mature couples and young families. The staff were very friendly and the resort is very safe. The activities are lots of fun and people really got into playing volleyball on the beach. The rooms were clean and comfortable. I will say this though if you are "early to bed, early to rise" you may be kept up at night the "party people" and if you are a "party person" you will be woken up by housekeeping staff in the halls (all tiles floors and slamming doors) and outside (staff rolling large bins on the stone walkways). They are also doing renos (removing/replacing balcony railings) so be prepared. I only mention it because I'm not a light sleeper but had difficulty some mornings. If you can avoid being in the southside of building 4 (which unfortunately we were) do it.
Book the restaurants as soon as you get there. The Rodizio (Brazilian food) was by far the best. The Gourmet has a dress code and does not allow children under 12. The food was average. The buffet was great for all 3 meals. We weren't that fond of the Mexican restaurant, but to each his own. The snackbar had decent food but couldn't keep up at times. But the bars all around were great and they were very generous with the alcohol.
The excursions were great, well organized and we felt we got our monies worth. We did the Runners which included a very bumby truck ride through the DR countryside. We were able to visit the home of a local, visit school children go horseback riding on the beach and had a very good lunch. If you do this tour - bring something for the children (ie Candy) and BRING BUG SPRAY! We were eaten alive by horseflies. We also did the City tour with cable car. You will visit the Rum factory and a few stops in town. You will learn a lot about Dominicans and you may get the chance to roll your own cigar.
The week was comfortable overall. Its definitely a good place for the value (don't pay more than $1000/pp) and you will have a great time.

Room Tip: Request a top floor room. BRING EARPLUGS!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cozoho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bolton
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2012

just got bk from this hotel and after being in the dominican for the third time have found a perfect resort. the food was fantatic the rooms clean, comfy beds, food n drink all day n night. the entertainment was great. luis n coochi were great. defo be bookin again

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank kesh3172
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Plata hotels
1.3 mi away
Sunscape Puerto Plata Dominican Republic
1.3 mi away
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
#5 of 39 in Puerto Plata
5,403 reviews
1.3 mi away
BlueBay Villas Doradas Adults Only
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Iberostar Costa Dorada
Iberostar Costa Dorada
#2 of 39 in Puerto Plata
7,070 reviews
8.0 mi away
ClubHotel Riu Merengue
ClubHotel Riu Merengue
#14 of 39 in Puerto Plata
5,346 reviews
5.3 mi away
The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Be Live Collection Marien? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Be Live Collection Marien

Property: Be Live Collection Marien
Address: Carretera Luperon, Km. 4,5, Puerto Plata 57000, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Puerto Plata
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Plata
#8 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Plata
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Plata
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Be Live Collection Marien 4*
Number of rooms: 584
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Be Live Collection Marien is an all-inclusive 5-star resort in Puerto Plata, located in the northern coast of the Dominican Republic. With a privileged location synonymous of beautiful settings and its heavenly beaches, it is a perfect place to spend a relaxing vacation whether it is for a romantic getaway or for a family fun adventure. The resort features a spa, nearby golf course for guests and event facilities ideal for hosting special events. This complex is located 1 hour from Santiago de Los Caballeros, 10 minutes from the city of Puerto Plata, known for its rum factories and 30 minutes from Gregorio Luperon International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Be Live Collection Marien reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Be Live Grand Marien Hotel Puerto Plata
Grand Oasis Marien Hotel
Coral Marien Puerto Plata
Oasis Marien
Marien Coral Resort
Grand Oasis Marien Puerto Plata

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing