We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Be Live Collection Marien
Ranked #9 of 41 Hotels in Puerto Plata
Wpg
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice Resort”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2011

We traveled with a group of friends and 3 older teenagers .....9 of us in total.
This was our fourth trip to DR - and we really enjoyed this resort. It was clean, the food was good, the staff all very courteous and the beach was great.
What more could any one ask for? We all discussed whether we would recommend this resort to friends - and we all would.
Nice place - would definately recommend it - no worries going to the Belive Marion.
We stayed in bldg 1 - great location.

Urso's - Wpg

Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank PamWpg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,408 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,017
    1,294
    618
    267
    212
See reviews for
1,144
1,253
125
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (696)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Long Sault, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2011

When we booked the trip we requested two rooms and that they were side by side as we had our children with us. Our agent was great and really ensured that the request was communicated to the hotel. We ended up in building number 1 and the view from the room was facing the ocean. It was a beautiful view. We had side by side rooms and when we realized that there was an ajoining room on the other side of us, we requested a room change and the front desk person was able to accomodate since the other room was being vacated that day. Although the building is considered to be one of the "older buildings" it was wonderful and we had no complaints with any of the mechanics of the room.

Reading past reviews, we were concerned with being harassed by the locals and the vacation club reps that are outside of the main dining area. We shouldn't read these reviews...a simple no and we were left alone. We did not find that there were tons of people; only a few and it really did not make a difference in our opinion of the resort or of the public beach.

We went for a walk and saw some of the other hotels in the immediate area and really thought the Grand Marien was a very modern facility and one of the nicer hotels.

I am not adventurous when it comes to food so I can say the the buffet could get a little hard to take (I loved the bread!) but my husband will try anything and enjoyed it. The Mexican restaurant was okay, the gourmet restaurant was great and the other one (Rodizio) was awesome! The filet mignon was excellent.

The kids had a great time too and the rec staff were very social.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank koninks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2011

We went to be live grand marien from march 3-10. Check in was fast. We were in #3 building ocean view. The room are little out of date, but quite clean. At the beach you can all ways find a chair, which is great. The water is cloudy so there is no snorking. The beach is clean, one of the cleanest on that stretch of beach.
The pool is clean and there is always a chair to be found. It is louder here then the beach, as the entertainers working there.
My only complant is the food. The buffet had differnt thing from day to day but the after a week the chosies all were to alike. Over all the food really was never Hot. even in the la cart the food was never Hot. I had a sick tumy every morring, and didn't feel ok tell about 2 in the afternoon. With the food alway only warm, not Hot make me wonder how long it had been sitting. By the end of the week fruit and bread was all I was eating. The best meal I had on my trip was a chicken burger at the airport on the way home(It was HOT!)
Over all it was an Ok trip. They need to work on the food. I have been to Jamaica, Bahamas, Punta Cana and the food here was the worst I have had.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank waveswater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2011

got back today 17th march.we had a good room position by the beach and mangos snack bar.great location,musty smell in room but cleaned everyday,no way of venting room while youre out,appliances have seen better days ,fridge was warmer inside than the room.
animation team brilliant though poolside speaker was blown but still played on full blast.
pool clean but really needed emptying and repainting.
reception okay,restaurant reservations a nightmare as newcomwers every day got pick of times so you usually had to dine at 9pm.
absolutely nothing for young ones,no park swings etc,had mini club for older 6s and 7s,if your kids are younger than this dont come here,iberostar has park and free icecream all day long,here a very small tub was $2 -$4 depending on who served you.
do not go in the shops as they will rip you off,$4 bottled water
dont get reception man to order you a taxi,you will get ripped off and he will try to top up the fare once there and stop on the way and ask you to buy from friends and suggest you take a guide(not isolated }
food in abundance but quite samey in buffet every day,staff were very nice but was a nightmare to get drinks,coffee etc,seemed to have lots of staff showing you to tables etc but not enough serving
theatre okay but we rarely made it at 9.30 was a little late cos of the boy
beach not for kids as quite rough at all times with waves breaking,though was well maintaned.a few hawkers but nothing too bad.
beach walks only 1 way as west to puerto plata always had menacing local lads just hanging about just passed liability limit sign.go past at your peril.
difficult to get out of hotel under your own steam without aggro from unlicensed taxi driver/motorcycles offering fares,again always doubled on arrival at destination
average was $35 for a3km ride.
we took a$60 ride to sosua and got hassled all day long til at 3pm wed had enough and went back to the confines of camp.
ive been all over the world both lived and holiday'd and never been tucked up as much as i was here.$10 in$20 out pointless form filling and the airport sucks,$10 for a hotdog sausage and bottle of water
my advice,save some more money and go to a better destination, not this two bob tin pot area
,or atleast go punta cana its miles better than the north of the island
cheap holiday ,but be warned theyll have your pants down if you try to go out

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joewilsonsmate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2011

We went to the dominican for 2 weeks at the beginning of march firstly the weather was amazing boiling hot with a nice breeze blue sky EVERY day!!!!! The food was amazing a choice of 4 restaurants which were all so different! The staff were amazing too especially FRANK who works on the reception he made our stay so special he was so helpful and genuinly just wants to make your stay the best that he can!! The hotel is beautiful and so clean there wasn't a time I went into the lobby and there wasn't someone cleaning. All of the staff are so happy and polite they were extreamly long days its just amazing to see how much they enjoy their jobs!!!!!! The entertainment there is hilarious and so perfessionally done, theres a different show everynight-childrens starts at about 8 then a prize giving and sometimes a short adult game at 9 then the main show at half past the people that you will see at 8 in the morning doing the entertainment all day are the same people you will see in the evening shows-they have so much energy is unbelievable!!!!! especially one called CUCHI (obviously not his real name) he has so much energy and personality (and is an amazing dancer) he is with out a doubt, the best there . The pool there is beautiful and huge there is a games section so if you dont have children and want to relax you can still sit on the edge of the pool and be peaceful!!!! The beach is second away from the hotel you can see it from most of the rooms there and its spotless and so safe-there are people there that will try and sell you things but they dont perster you a polite no thank you is enough!! There are two small markets about 15 mins down the beach I wouldnt recomend going on your own as it can be quite intimidating but i knew half of the people by the end of the holiday so you get used of there ways you should just keep in mind if they dont sell anything they dont have dinner that night i think its wonderful how hard they work and still be so nice and polite to people (these markets are nothing to do with the hotel though) we also went to ocean world and swam with dolphins-definatly a must do if you go there and we also went on a safari-if you want a day of learning about the dominican homes and schools ect its definatly the thing to do!!! (you will be offered excertions on the beach extreamly cheap dont do it they have no insurence!!! these people are nothing to do with the hotel) I would recomend this hotel to anyone reading this i only landed 2 days ago and am booking my next stay there already!! DEFINATLY GO!!!!!!!!!!! me and my parter also got engaged there its so romantic for couples!! MY name is Toni from englan contact me if you want to know anything else my e-mail is tilly_freeman333@hotmail.co.uk.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tonifromengland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2011

We stayed at the grand oasis marien in January, we travelled with thomas cook which was awful then we got to the hotel. First impressions were not very good but it was raining. The rooms where very basic, and not very clean. I wanted to move straight away. The first morning we went for breakfast, we were not impressed!! To cut a long story short the hotel was dreadful, the pool was dirty, around the hotel was maintaince work being carried out. The restuarant was dirty, food was never hot and cold food was slightly warm. The chefs were very unpleasant, not wanting to give you food. We complained to thomas cook which then got passed on to guest services where they upgraded us. It was nice of them but still didnt make up for the poor standards throughtout the hotel. We travelled with a 4 year old and a 14 year old, there were not enough paddles for the kayaks so it was days before our eldest could go on them. The pool was freezing so it was hard to entertain the kids.
This was our 7 time in Dom rep so we no what we should be expecting and this was certainly not it. From my point of view i would not recommend this hotel to anyone but i would recommend going to the dom rep.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank latics1065
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2011

Overall our 2 week trip was a total success. On arrival we were told we would be upgraded to a better room. We decided to check it out and found that 1 of the 2 rooms overlooked the adjacent vacant dirty lot and was too close to the main road. We went back and asked to change rooms. The desk manager was only too happy to assist. We ended up in building 3, one of the older buildings. The location was just off the pool and the rooms were simple and clean. Everything worked fine. The mini bar was old like all the furniture but was ample for what we needed. The beds were a little soft. The food was quite good most times. I had 2 meals I didn’t enjoy that much in the entire 2 week stay. I would go to the grill at the buffet and spice up my own meats and pastas and the cooks were awesome with it. Don’t forget to tip the cooks. It’s amazing what they will let you do! The Mexican was the best a la cart the first week but oddly enough, the 2nd time it was quite poor. They definitely were heavy with the salt shaker. For those of you that are true “meatatariens” the brazilian was also very good. The beach snack bar was open whenever you needed a snack. The pool was quite nice and cleaned nightly. It was very safe for kids of all ages and there were plenty of chairs. The poolside entertainment was also quite good. Gucci was quite an energetic guy and really got people going. The beach was clean and always able to get chairs. The flee market to the right along the beach was fun. The orange market is the best one. The sellers can be quite pushy at times but we found some decent guys that didn’t ask for $200 for a simple necklace. The bartenders were all pretty good guys. In 2 weeks I might have stood up longer than 2 minutes a couple of times. The evening entertainment was awesome. The Michael Jackson tribute is a must see!!! All the shows by the main staff were worth the time. Jenny, the captain of the dance girls, was great. She also ran the karaoke at the pool bar. She sat with us a couple of nights and we had a blast. We walked to Playa Dorado Place (mall). You can get there in 30 minutes along the beach (to the right) or a 40-45 minute walk by road (out the resort to the left then left at the golf course) We booked a deep sea fishing trip. If you bargain you should be able to get it for $60 per person. Unfortunately it was 1 of our 2 rainy days. C’est la vie! We also booked the Ocean world day trip. That was definitely worth the money. The teenage girls really enjoyed the swim with the dolphins. The birds were also very interesting. Make sure you ask what the Toucan does for $!.00. The zip line was also a blast. Well worth the money. The Monkey jungle that accompanies it is also worth the time. This excursion uses some of the money collected to run a little clinic on site for the locals. I think it’s a great thing. The final excursion was the trip Puerto Plata runners. The day was filled with horse back riding, wake boarding and the usual cigar and rum factory stops. Overall, I have to say we had a great time.
Negatives – Back up dance crew nowhere near as good as the main crew. Food selection is sometimes a little limited. Locals use the resort on the weekends and can be a little rude at times but not a real bother.
Positives – Pool and beach were very nice. Bartenders and entertainment crews were all great people. Front desk manager was very accommodating and friendly.

For what we paid, all our expectations were met and we would definitely recommend this resort.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank squeezy33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Plata
1.3 mi away
Sunscape Puerto Plata Dominican Republic
1.3 mi away
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
#5 of 41 in Puerto Plata
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5,314 reviews
0.1 mi away
Iberostar Costa Dorada
Iberostar Costa Dorada
#2 of 41 in Puerto Plata
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,800 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
ClubHotel Riu Merengue
ClubHotel Riu Merengue
#13 of 41 in Puerto Plata
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5,291 reviews
1.3 mi away
BlueBay Villas Doradas Adults Only
35.6 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe San Juan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Be Live Collection Marien? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Be Live Collection Marien

Property: Be Live Collection Marien
Address: Carretera Luperon, Km. 4,5, Puerto Plata 57000, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Puerto Plata
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Plata
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Plata
#8 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Plata
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Be Live Collection Marien 4*
Number of rooms: 584
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Be Live Collection Marien is an all-inclusive 5-star resort in Puerto Plata, located in the northern coast of the Dominican Republic. With a privileged location synonymous of beautiful settings and its heavenly beaches, it is a perfect place to spend a relaxing vacation whether it is for a romantic getaway or for a family fun adventure. The resort features a spa, nearby golf course for guests and event facilities ideal for hosting special events. This complex is located 1 hour from Santiago de Los Caballeros, 10 minutes from the city of Puerto Plata, known for its rum factories and 30 minutes from Gregorio Luperon International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with World Independent Hotel Promotion, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Hotwire, TravelUp, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Be Live Collection Marien reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Be Live Grand Marien Hotel Puerto Plata
Grand Oasis Marien Hotel
Coral Marien Puerto Plata
Oasis Marien
Marien Coral Resort
Grand Oasis Marien Puerto Plata

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing