We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“" Great times had by all!! "”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort
Ranked #12 of 40 Hotels in Puerto Plata
Reviewed April 18, 2014

Our second visit to Dominican but first to Puerto Plata. We enjoyed the scenery on fairly short ride to Cofresi. Our check in was fairly quick & we were shuttled quickly with our luggage. We were given set reservations & times for 3 of the a la cart restraunts which was nice because you tend to not do that right away, then cant get one.
Our rooms were fairly spacious with a great balcony. We did have air conditioner problems but they were quick to come fix it. Upon a few attempts we requested to move our room for more comfort. We were quickly upgraded for the inconvenience of it all. Even more so our fellow travelers were also moved & upgraded as we requested rooms together. One being our daughter & her friend. These rooms were huge, marbled layout. Beautiful.
The grounds are well kept & clean. There were always staff around close to ask questions or direct us as the resort is pretty massive. There were always many staff on carts or vans to shuttle you anywhere you wanted to go which was nice. The pools were clean and well maintained with lots to choose from. There are plenty of bars around for your all your hydration needs. Beach was clean & enjoyable with wonderful beds and hammocks all around for your comfort. The staff were fantastic everywhere whether it be in the restaurants or housekeeping and entertainment staff were so friendly and totally encouraged us all to get up and participate in all the activities around us. We were especially entertained by "Blackie" He made us smile everyday and entertained us all. He was very helpful in letting us know all about the events going on around the resort. He truly loves his job and it shows. Shout out to Rambo and Speedy as well. All go geters!! All around our holiday was fantastic, the excursion choices are great and affordable. Definitely do the cable care/city tour & we also enjoyed the half day horse back riding trip as well.
The food we ate was always great & the restaurants we visited were very clean and usually well stocked. The Sunday Welcome party is a show and buffet you don't want to miss !!!
I would go back in a Dominican minute!!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Christina J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Management T, Manager at Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2014

Dear Christina,

First of all we thank you, for taking your time to write this review, its wonderful for us to hear that you had an great time at our Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort.

We apologize for the inconvenience that you had with the air condition, but it’s really rewarding to hear that the problems got solved, that you think our staff is fantastic and that you could enjoy the rest of your stay.

We hope to have you back at our resort very soon.

Best regards,

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,842)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,029 - 2,035 of 3,845 reviews

Reviewed April 18, 2014 via mobile

I would like to start by stating the resort itself was beautiful!!! But definitely not wheelchair friendly as there are way too many stairs and hills.

Would I recommend this resort or go back?? Absolutely NOT!!! Heres a list of the things that made me and thd 7 other I was with very very disappointed. ~

Our rooms smelt like sewage before we requested a change. We either had no hot water or cold water. Bar fridge was never restocked. Lack of night time entertainment. Day time entertainment was pushy and rude by being very touchy touchy when asked not to be. Very disrespectful to the ladies! Vodka bar/pool was supposed to be open and staff stated "tomorrow, tomorrow" and was never available. Management didnt even know why. Disco bar was extremely dark (a friend was drugged with drink). Local were allowed on the resort. Including the escort/prostitutes that would be at the Cheers bar for their own business.

While reviewing and booking for Cofresi everyone should be aware that it is a timeshare and to upgrade it costs another 20$/person daily to upgrade to VIP. You also have to take a tour as they try to sell you a share. Not my idea of a vacation!

However, the best employee there is Freddy. He was very patient and kind when we expressed concerns as well as booking excursions. Freddy always had a "yabby dabby" smile on his face.

BEAUTIFUL RESORT ~ NOT MY RECOMMENDATION.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank Angela C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Management T, Manager at Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2014

Dear Angela,

We are really sorry that we did not meet your expectations, anyhow we appreciate that you took your time to write this review.
Your comments are taken very seriously, we will use it to improve our product and we apologize for not being able to help you, enjoy your vacation.

We are working to completely eliminate the bad smell, this is not a constant problem and we are sorry that it coincided with your stay here with us.

We appreciate your observations which are treated with the utmost interest, since we believe that this is the best way to know what specific points we must focus our attention to improve in all aspects.

Best Regards,

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2014

My family and I took a vacation together over Christmas and we couldn't have picked a better place, the resort was clean everyone was very friendly especially the entertainment guys George (mickey mouse), Julio, salami. They went out of their way to make our trip that much more fun for us. I would go back anytime.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lindsay h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2014 via mobile

Well where do I start...I went from April 8/2014 to April 15/2014, we stayed at the cofresi palm beach & spa resort.....it was amazing from the minute we go off the bus to the front desk even to are room we had nothing but great service. ..the food was great, the view was amazing all the pools we where able to choose from and the beach it was all amazing...there was never a doll moment there, especially if you where at the pool buy the beach, there was always something going on there all because of these 6 awsome guys (Speedy Gonzales, Mickey Mouse, shaggy, rambo, blacky, jolio) they where the entertainment of the day evey day, buy keeping every one on the move, buy play beach volleyball to dressing up as supper hero's to there famous dance that u cant get out of your head even when u r not there. They alway had something different for us which was great...you can alway hear blacky from a mile away and speedy Gonzales what a guy he will make u laugh...all these guys are great I give them all ten star's for making my vacation great...also the welcome party was amazing even V.I.P WORLD PARTY was fantastic. ..I have never had so much fun in my life on vacation like I did this one...im already looking to go in October. ..cant wait...

Animation team and staff thanks for a great week...see u soon...

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
2  Thank Katiie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Management T, Manager at Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2014

Dear Katiie,

We really appreciate that you took your time to write this comment, expressing how much fun you had at the Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa resort.
We are really happy that you liked our facilities and we will congratulate our animation staff for providing a great hospitality.

Best Regards,
The management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2014

This was my first trip to the Dominican and it will not be my last! The staff at Cofresi were all so friendly and accommodating, and the resort is beautiful. We started off in the basic room, which was beautiful, with a huge balcony, but since my friends in the other room were having air conditioner problems, they happily upgraded our whole group to ocean view suites! Even better! Activities off the resort included things like a cable car ride to the top of Mount Isabel, a city tour of Puerto Plata, horseback riding, and scuba diving. There were lots more activities we could have done but to be honest, the animation team is so entertaining that you don't have to leave the resort to have a great time! Blackie was the best; he got me in the pool to do aerobics (which I would normally never do, lol) and got me up on the stage to be the magicians assistant in the magic show (that was hilarious)! He really made my trip better than I could have even imagined. On Sunday night the whole resort goes to a VIP party; the food is amazing, there is a fire show, music, and then we all went up on the stage for a dance party! I danced all night, made new friends, and can not WAIT to go back. Everyone should go to Cofresi! <3

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wendy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Management T, Manager at Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our Cofresi Palm Beach and Spa Resort. It is of great importance to know our guests experience in order to improve our services.

We are happy to hear that you had a great time in our resort.

It would be a pleasure to host you again in the future.

Best Regards,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2014

I have spend a week in the Ocean View Suite Building 40 with my family and my Mom and Friends, I couldn't ask for more, The Food, beverage, the Staff,, EXCELLENT,,
Theres no need to change your Money, if you want to give tips, or by souvenirs, Americain money is just fine.
We also went on the Puerto Plata Runners tour, I also enjoy that day,, Please if you go on this tour, bring something for the kids, ( books, paper, crayons, candy, ) anything, you will go to school, and It's great to help them out.
I would recommend this place, I love it, and would realy like to go back someday.
Have Fun.

Room Tip: If you do choose a Suite, You will have a bracelet for VIP Beach,, This is realy fun, they bring you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Management T, Manager at Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2014

Dear Anise,

First of all we would like to thank you for choosing Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa resort as the hotel to enjoy your vacation and we also thank you for writing this comment about your experience here at our resort.
We are very happy to read that you had a great vacation and that you would recommend us to your friends.
We also appreciate your recommendation to other future guests.
Hope to have you back with us very soon.

Best regards,

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2014

I do not know where to begin. We just got back April 14, I have never had such a wonderful Vacation, All staff were beautiful inside and out. But a Hats off to all Entertainment staff you guys really made our vacation so much fun. To Mickey you touched our hearts beyond, We will never forget you. We spent our early evenings each night at Cheers bar. Special shout out to Edward & Manuel. We could not have been treated better you two rocked and made our evenings a blast our drinks never ran low and we always had great music. We met so many new friends at this little bar and it became our nightly meeting place. Without those two bartenders it would not have been the same. We did not want to say goodbye to these guys. We made memories that will last a like time:) Also to the disco nights thanks for making our nights turn into early mornings. Music was great and got to learn some new dance moves. Food we could not have asked for better there was always something for everyone. To all the servers at the main buffet thanks for everything. You guys were the best always friendly. Lots of laughs seeing some from the night before at the disco.. ( Good Times) Our room was beautiful great view and very clean. Hats off to our maid we never went without. Pools were always clean. Bathrooms were spotless all around the resort. To our shuttle guys you guys were great always a ride when you wanted one. To the bell hops thanks for looking after our luggage arriving and leaving... To all security Thank you so much for making us three girls feel safe at all times. We can not wait to go back and spend ten days next time. I have never had such an awesome experience. Special Mention to Manuel, Edward, Mickey and the rest of entertainment staff our vacation would not have been the same without you guys. It was a hard goodbye to each and everyone of you. We cant wait to see you guys again. Ive learned you get what you give we treated these guys well and got treated excellent in return. These guys work very very hard and never once did they not have open arms and a big smile on faces. Thanks again guys YOU ALL ROCK!!!!!!

Room Tip: We had a Junior suite on 3rd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Courtney G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Plata hotels
0.1 mi away
The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort
6.8 mi away
BlueBay Villas Doradas Adults Only
5.5 mi away
Be Live Collection Marien
Be Live Collection Marien
#9 of 40 in Puerto Plata
3,987 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Grand Paradise Playa Dorada
Grand Paradise Playa Dorada
#7 of 40 in Puerto Plata
3,286 reviews
6.7 mi away
Sunscape Puerto Plata Dominican Republic
6.7 mi away
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
#5 of 40 in Puerto Plata
5,577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort

Address: 1 Paradise Drive | Cofresi Beach, Puerto Plata 57000, Dominican Republic (Formerly Be Live Grand Carey)
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Puerto Plata
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Plata
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Plata
Price Range: $106 - $271 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 468
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort – Dominican Republic is the newest jewel in the Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Club. Nestled along the Cofresi beach shores, and overlooking the sparkling Caribbean sea, this resort caters to the luxurious enjoyment of both families and couples looking for that perfect getaway. With 468 well-appointed accommodations that range from Adult Only Spa Suites, to Standard family friendly rooms located in a quite setting between the ocean beach and spectacular pool, this is a paradise worthy of the Lifestyle name. The resort was created with space and comfort in mind, making Cofresi Palm a relaxing, enjoyable and satisfying experience for all guests and their families. All rooms have air conditioning, cable television, phones, and ceiling fans, while the decor has a distinctive design, featuring dark wood furnishings. Shaded patios and verandas provide a relaxing place to gather in some of the units. Providing both service and features that are standard for a Lifestyle property, the Cofresi Palm offers a unique luxury accommodations experience. Cofresi Palm provides the easy, relaxed ambiance of the Caribbean in an opulent and elegant setting. Experience the array of beauty and excitement that Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sun Village Puerto Plata
Sun Village Hotel Cofresi
Dominican Republic Sun Village
Sun Village Dominican Republic
Sun Village Spa
Sun Village Resort Dominican Republic
Sun Village Resort Puerto Plata
Sun Village Beach Resort
Sun Village Resort Spa Puerto Plata

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing