We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food and Drink are awful!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort
Ranked #12 of 39 Hotels in Puerto Plata
Fairport, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Food and Drink are awful!!”
Reviewed February 16, 2014

POSITIVE: The staff is very friendly and helpful at every turn. Check in/out was fast and painless. The room was very nice and tended too often by the staff. The resort was large and well kept with many areas to settle in next to a pool or beach.
NEGATIVE: The food and drink are absolutely awful! We were in both the common all inclusive with access to the VIP. In the VIP area the drinks were a clear step in the right direction. By that I mean they were average. In the common all inclusive areas the drinks were just nasty. Warm beer poured from what looked like a windshield washer fluid jug and blended drinks that were watery in flavor and appearance...just gross. The buffet food had many choices in which only a handful would temp you to try. The scheduled dinners ranged from average to an FDA agents dream inspection. AVOID Johnnys at all cost. The place is a 1970s mold infested basement (smell included) with 1970 banquet hall décor complete with a dehumidifier center of the room. They even made us use hand sanitizer when we stepped into the restaurant....strange. The consistency at all restaurants does not exist. We were a party of 9 that had many duplicated dishes in the group nightly. The quantity and quality of all dishes was a wide range. One example was a nicely prepped bruschetta for one guest and another that came out looking like a flattened hotdog roll with only 3 small chunks of tomato...not sure how this made it out to the kitchen.
We also witnessed (in the VIP area) the staff shaking out the towels and rerolling them for the next days events.....no joke.....we couldn't believe it. You wonder why they had such a bad flu outbreak while we were there. Witnessing this practice made me question what other sanitary practices are they short cutting. SCARY.....
After repeated attempts to get beer delivered to our room so that we could have a few cocktails on the balcony we went to the lobby mart to get a 6 pack....they wanted $30...seriously!?
I will close by telling you that the constant sewer smell on the property will give me nightmares for weeks....some areas so strong it takes your breath away. I cant remember the last vacation I went on and came home 10 lbs lighter.
We will never be back.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank memack73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,697 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,454
    1,036
    504
    331
    372
See reviews for
980
1,178
67
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,032)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, New York
1 review
Reviewed February 16, 2014

Went for a week with my best friend, it was amazing! location, service, atmosphere, wonderful! Special shout out to a few amazing staff, Edward, Rambo, Speedy, Shaggy, Micky, Darlin, and Ellery, made the stay that much more amazing!

Room Tip: Try to get a room at the Cofressi side, lots more to do! My friend and I stayed in the Tropical side...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aliz101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2014

Bad: This resort is absolutely terrible. The rooms are very dirty, broken and smell awful! We had to change rooms 3 times before getting something that was acceptable to sleep in and it took 3 days for this. The front desk staff was not helpful, always telling us the place was too full and we would have to make do with that we had. The rooms smelled like wet towels, and I think it was due to the dirty curtains. The shower curtain in all 3 rooms was full of mold so I spent less then 2 minutes in it. And they ALL HAD COLD WATER!! What kind of hotel makes it's guests freeze in cold water?
Only like 5 different drinks can be made or beer. Nothing creamy, or made with anything but fruit juice. Super strong and gross. Wine was nasty.
Food- Hamburgers and Hotdogs all the time. Hardly any variety. Not good at all.
Beach- Super tiny, annoying vendors and sand fleas! Only good part was the big covered chairs. Can't barely swim in the ocean because so much seaweed and waves (not the hotels fault)
Annoying sport staff always trying to get you to do stuff, even if you are obviously just trying to rest. They call you "lazy baby" if you don't get up and play. My vacation, I'll play if I want thank you.
Good: Fun foam party, welcome party and a lot of pools if you don't like the beach. Was sunny all week and I had my family so was alright. The Michael Jackson show was amazing, not to be missed!
Tips: The safe is not free, internet is not free and a lot of things are limited to VIP. If you want access to all areas you have to pay more. Some areas are VIP and for members only so even if you pay more you can't get in. Stairs everywhere so don't go if you have trouble walking, they have no elevators.

Room Tip: Rooms by the swim up bar are really noisy, rooms in the 3000 are smelly. Good luck getting a nice on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Amanda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2014 via mobile

So this resort is very large. It takes a few days to get things figured out but once you do it is quite easy! There are tons of restaurants and bars! We upgrades from a jr suite to a villa. They are both great! We had the tour (try it, it's worth it). All the room types here are lovely. There are several beaches and pools. I think if you're having a bad time here you will have a bad time anywhere. There is so much to do. Whether you're a beach person or pool person there is something for everyone. The food is really good, we went to 8 different restaurants( ala carte)and tried several lunch areas and I can't complain at all! There is great shopping at the resort so no need to go outside to shop. We found prices better in the resort than off. There are several tours to do but the resort is so big we only did two which I will review later. All in all we had a great time, friendly staff, lots of drinks, beautiful views and yummy and plentiful food selections! We will return and can't wait to visit the area again soon! I will "only tell my best friends" See you soon!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CrystallionM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 14, 2014

This is a beautiful hotel, however it is located on hilly terrain and there are lots of stairs and up and down path ways, You need be be in good shape to do the walking at this resort. Good thing the hotel provide shuttles, but for someone who cant do stairs you are limited as to where you can get to. We had to up grade to a Beach front room once we arrived in order to facilitate my travel companion who has MS. from there you can get to one restaurant the pool area and the beach.
I would like to recommend the wedding planner Yesenia who worked with us for a Vow Renewal for our friends who were celebrated their 10 anniversary. She worked with us to get the price right and supply a wonderful experience for the happy couple.
we spent a great deal of time at the NV VIP Beach and highly recommend our servers Willis, Luiz, and Wilson who looked after our every need.

we were abel to go between this hotel and the Lifestyle Tropical Hotel and spent alot of time at that hotel as well. Harmony beach has a great little restaurant, thanks to the food and servers Emmanuel, Miguel and Roberto.

Room Tip: Specify you needs very clearly, when booking this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie1003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago de los Caballeros, Dominican Republic
1 review
Reviewed February 13, 2014

was wonderful to my family and i enjoy to the fullest all i loved, higyene,buffet, disco, top service and activities team was very good and i liked most was the show that made michael jackson where we share with a wonderful person who made us spend a nice quality time . JULIO NICE thanks for making us laugh.

Room Tip: the suits are larger and comfortable is a paradise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deyanira s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queens, New York
1 review
Reviewed February 13, 2014

Resort was great. Entertainment was amazing!! Julio nice made sure our entire stay was fun an we were taken care of!! Shaggy Mickey an Rambo where equally as accommodating. Would definitely return for another stay!!!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jes12389
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Plata hotels
0.3 mi away
The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort
5.7 mi away
Be Live Collection Marien
Be Live Collection Marien
#9 of 39 in Puerto Plata
3,649 reviews
7.0 mi away
BlueBay Villas Doradas Adults Only
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
#5 of 39 in Puerto Plata
5,406 reviews
6.9 mi away
Sunscape Puerto Plata Dominican Republic
6.7 mi away
Grand Paradise Playa Dorada
Grand Paradise Playa Dorada
#7 of 39 in Puerto Plata
3,216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort

Property: Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort
Address: 1 Paradise Drive | Cofresi Beach, Puerto Plata 57000, Dominican Republic (Formerly Be Live Grand Carey)
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Puerto Plata
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Plata
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Plata
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 468
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort – Dominican Republic is the newest jewel in the Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Club. Nestled along the Cofresi beach shores, and overlooking the sparkling Caribbean sea, this resort caters to the luxurious enjoyment of both families and couples looking for that perfect getaway. With 468 well-appointed accommodations that range from Adult Only Spa Suites, to Standard family friendly rooms located in a quite setting between the ocean beach and spectacular pool, this is a paradise worthy of the Lifestyle name. The resort was created with space and comfort in mind, making Cofresi Palm a relaxing, enjoyable and satisfying experience for all guests and their families. All rooms have air conditioning, cable television, phones, and ceiling fans, while the decor has a distinctive design, featuring dark wood furnishings. Shaded patios and verandas provide a relaxing place to gather in some of the units. Providing both service and features that are standard for a Lifestyle property, the Cofresi Palm offers a unique luxury accommodations experience. Cofresi Palm provides the easy, relaxed ambiance of the Caribbean in an opulent and elegant setting. Experience the array of beauty and excitement that Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sun Village Puerto Plata
Sun Village Hotel Cofresi
Dominican Republic Sun Village
Sun Village Dominican Republic
Sun Village Spa
Sun Village Resort Dominican Republic
Sun Village Resort Puerto Plata
Sun Village Beach Resort
Sun Village Resort Spa Puerto Plata

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing