We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort
Nearby Hotels
$224
$155
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
BlueBay Villas Doradas Adults Only(Puerto Plata)(Great Value!)
$158
$132
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Be Live Collection Marien(Puerto Plata)(Great Value!)
$160
$122
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Sunscape Puerto Plata Dominican Republic(Puerto Plata)(Great Value!)
$167
$125
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort(Puerto Plata)(Great Value!)
$256
$191
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Blue JackTar(Puerto Plata)(Great Value!)
$120
$91
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grand Paradise Playa Dorada(Puerto Plata)(Great Value!)
$178
$109
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Viva Wyndham V Heavens(Puerto Plata)(Great Value!)
$227
$122
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$111
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$148
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (4,125)
Filter reviews
4,125 results
Traveler rating
1,605
1,168
576
364
412
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,605
1,168
576
364
412
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe pearlvip beachjunior suiteminnie mousevip partysexy bananawelcome partyel pilonblue lagooncasablanca buffetanimation teamdominican restaurantthese guysstandard roomcoco locofoam partyocean world
Filter
Updating list...
2,511 - 2,516 of 4,125 reviews
Reviewed December 22, 2013

We have been in both Lifestyle and Cofresi resorts. I like the accommodation at Cofresi better. Much cleaner and spacious with new furniture. All people on staff are very friendly, they go out of the way to please the guests. VIP beach is great, especially Danny making our drinks with a big smile. We tried most of the restaurants and the food was delicious. We were vacationing with another couple and the guest service coordinated our dinner reservations so we could eat together. For breakfast and lunch we ate at Casablanca and Ana Maria took such a good care of us. Pedro from Blue Lagoon is the best! He always makes sure that everyone is happy. Management and staff showed high level of professionalism. Way to go! We will definitely go back soon.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Victoria D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Management T, Manager at Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 23, 2013

Dear Victoria,


It is of great honor to us to receive a review like this one that you have kindly shared with us. Your compliment towards our staff really shows the readers the true results of our efforts to provide an unforgettable experience and also help us to always improve our service. We are glad to see that we have achieved your satisfaction and we hope to have you with us at the Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort in the near future.


Best regards,

The management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2013

I'm writing this review after our recent experience at Lifestyle Holiday Resort, specifically Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort. We both have never been out of the country and were anxious as to what to expect. Let's just say that this resort EXCEEDED our expectations by far!!!!! Upon arrival, Stephanie who was our 'Living Social' representative which was whom we booked the trip was so very welcoming and did a wonderful job explaining the ins and outs of where we could go, what was available, and how to navigate the resort. She also gave us many resources and pamphlets which helped while trying to navigate through the large resort. We booked reservations at the Dominican restaurant (El Pilon) twice because the food was so delicious and "El Captain" was an amazing waiter who pleased us in every way. We had exceptional meals at the Dominican restaurant and had absolutely no complaints. I'd compare the food to a 4-5 star restaurant in the states. The Mexican (Trapise?) and Seafood (Blue Lagoon) were also fantastic. Many people complained about portion sizes but they are portions in which people should be eating as opposed to American portions. The only complaint with food was the buffets for dinner. There are two and we had 'The Pearl' the first night. The food was edible but not very flavorful and the texture was off. I would recommend booking restaurants while there. The facilities were kept so neat and clean and we were impressed with all the services received. I'd like to SPECIFICALLY thank the following people who made our stay more comfortable and relaxing: SALAMI, RAMBO, MICKEY MOUSE, SPEEDY GONZOLAZ, and SHAGGY. The rest of the Cofresi Crew were also fantastic. Salami especially was fantastic. We found out that it was only his first week working there and he made us feel so welcome. We took Spanish lessons with him, sang karaoke, and spent time on the beach with him. He was a fantastic entertainer and did a fantastic job helping us to enjoy our time. We want to thank the Cofresi crew and hope to see them ALL when we visit again next December. DENNY was also an amazing bartender at VIP BEACH. He was so helpful and gave us wonderful service. The service at this resort is better than ANY service I've ever gotten in the USA. Finally, a special thanks to JEAN, MOSQUITO, and SPAGHETTI who work for the Aqua Center through the resort. Though we did not buy an excursions, they were extremely helpful and friendly. Jean especially was such a wonderful man who helped us learn some basic Spanish and get a better feel for the local culture. I have NEVER had such a wonderful experience on vacation and WILL definitely be visiting again.

Room Tip: We were in the Superior Garden Suite in building 43 in Cofresi.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank run5604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Management T, Manager at Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 23, 2013

Dear Guest,

Receive cordial greetings from all the team working at Cofresi Palm Beach and Spa Resort.
We do not know how to thank you for this kind of comments. Posts such as yours delight us and gives us confidence to keep working hard to satisfy our customers and improve our service.
Please allow us to reassure that we are extremely proud to have provided you a great time, which reflects the commitment and quality of service we have exhibited through the years.
We are looking forward to welcoming you once again and continue providing the most unforgettable experiences.

Best regards,

The management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2013

Overall I would say we had a pretty decent experience at this resort. Cannot say enough about our pool staff; Salami, Mickey, and Speedy. They totally made our whole vacation, and we would go back just to visit them!! We ate at one buffet the whole time, Casablanca, and I was impressed with the different options they had. I am a pretty picky eater and I was still able to find things I liked. Our room was fine except for the fact the walls were so thin we could hear everything our neighbors were saying, watching, and other unpleasant things we did not want to hear. We got what we paid for, but again cant say enough about our pool boys. Without them, our vacation would have been pretty boring!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KaitlynandMatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Management T, Manager at Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 23, 2013

Dear Guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for choosing Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa resort as the hotel to enjoy your vacation and we also thank you for writing this comment about your experience here at our resort.
We will congratulate our animation staff for providing a great hospitality.

Best Regards,

The management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2013

Just got back from one week at Cofresi and my five stars go the the animation staff. Salami was the best spanish teacher, got to learn alot from him. He was also the only one who got me dancing, which is next to impossible. Bravo for that!
We also had much fun with Mickey Mouse, Rambo, Speedy Gonzalez, Shaggy and his crazy glasses and the new guys, Julio Nice. Fun games, fun days, even better nights!
Please barmans, put more alcool in the drinks...and don<t go and cancel VIP parties...it<s part of the reason we go! Premium drinks could only be found at VIP locations...

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Claudia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Management T, Manager at Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 23, 2013

Dear Guest,

We really appreciate that you took your time to write this comment, expressing how much fun you had at the Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa resort.
We greatly appreciate your feedback as it enables us to continue improving and providing our service for our guests. We will congratulate our animation staff for providing a great hospitality.

Best Regards,
The management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2013

I write this review with a great deal of experience so I hope it will be helpful. We booked though CheapCaribbean.com and had great success.
This multi level resort was very hard to manage.
Our check in went smooth , there was 6 of us traveling together and they accommodated our request with no problems .We were given restaurant reservations right away. Nicer than having to stand in line to make them.Then they went as far to give us the "special upgrade, just for us", needless to say that was a bunch of garbage. Our rooms were very nice, just like all the pictures but the upgrade was looking out to a golf cart parking lot and a wall . That was building 42. Building 43 , 41 and 40 looked better, pool view. We soon found out that the rooms were a-joining and with that- it was noisy and the cigarette smoke came into our room. We ask to be moved and they did so efficiently.
We decided right away that we did not care for the food at the buffet at Cofresi AND it was at the top level of the resort about 4 flights up, so we ate the rest of the week at Life Style , Casablanca and were very happy . This multi level resort was very hard to manage, there are shuttle busses to help out but there was a lot of waiting for the bus. We were able to walk next door pretty easy and only up one big hill .
We spent most of time next door at Life Style at the VIP beach because it had free wifi and there was drinks and food served right at your cabana. That was a great perk.
A couple of days we spent at the pools. once at Cofresi by our room and once at Lifestyle, both were nice. The week ends were very crowded with locals so we avoided the places they were. They were noisy and rued.
Our restaurant experience was good. I thought the food was good quality for the most part.
Over all everything was beautiful and well kept. the beach was nice and the upper level beach at both properties were nice. The ocean was a little rough, but we knew that.
When we go back we will stay at Life Style and only visit Cofresi. The rooms were quieter and the food was way better. And if you're not aware this is a time share place. They will MAKE you listen to the spiel. Do it early and get it over with, it wasn't that bad and when you tell them "no thank you" they will let you go.
I will be happy to help anyone who contacts me. We have been to both and know a lot of info.

Room Tip: Eat at Casablanca at Life Style , Rooms 43 , 41 and 40 are pool and ocean view .
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank thekohnens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Management T, Manager at Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 21, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our Cofresi Palm Beach and Spa Resort. It is of great importance to know our guests experience in order to improve our services.
We are happy to hear that you had a great time in our resort and of course your comments are taken very seriously, we will use it to improve our product.

It would be a pleasure to host you again in the future.

Best Regards,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews