We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Fantastic Vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort
Ranked #12 of 40 Hotels in Puerto Plata
Reviewed November 2, 2013

This was our 3rd visit to Cofresi and Lifestyles Resorts (October 12-19, 2013). We have a wonderful time each time we vist. In fact we already made reservations for one week in Feb. 2014. We can not wait because we enjoy all the activities and food available. We have made many Dominican friends and we respect each other like family. Ask and be reasonable and respectful and the staff will do everything in their power to satisfy your needs or requests. Yes, there are timeshare reps going around, but if you are not interested, just say NO. Our best advise is just relax and enjoy the experience. The place is huge, so journey out and enjoy. My wife and I can not wait til Febuary to see everyone again!!!

Room Tip: We were in Building #41 ground floor. Very close to everything, especially with so many shuttles.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Warpco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,851)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,323 - 2,329 of 3,851 reviews

Reviewed November 2, 2013

My husband and I booked our trip to the cofresi through Noli Tours. We chose this resort because the flights were right, the price was right, and the reviews seemed pretty reasonable. To start with the positives: the resort is beautiful. The grounds are well maintained, the rooms are clean, the beach is lovely, and you don't have nearly as many locals on the beach trying to sell you things.

We read through most of these reviews before our trip, and the biggest complaints seem to be the number of stairs and the food. It's true - there are a lot of stairs, but what else can you expect? The resort is built on a mountain. With that being said, there are shuttles that run all over the resort all hours of the day, so although we only took it once (to go to the far other side of the resort), we were willing and able to walk - it's great exercise to make up for all the eating and drinking!

I don't think people on these reviews give the food as much credit as the resort deserves. The buffets were pretty decent, and while there was a SEVERE lack in bacon every morning, they had made-to-order omelette stations, and pancakes, french toast, etc etc etc. The al la carte restaurants are fantastic! Definitely try every one of them if you can!

The BEST part of our trip BY FAR was the entertainment staff. Scooby, Shaggy, Speedy, Jose, Merlin... you guys are AMAZING!!! I can't even fathom how hard it would be to be that positive and energetic all day, every day... but they do it. And they do it well. Beach volleyball was a must-do every afternoon, and they even started an impromtpu baseball game on the beach in honour of the World Series. It was SO MUCH FUN!! Thank you thank you thank you!! You guys made our trip!

Just a few negatives to mention: We had booked a Junior Suite which gave us access to one vip beach called the "VIP Beach"... but it didn't give us access to any of the other "VIP" areas. It took us a couple days to figure out what we could and couldn't access, which was a bit frustrating. Maybe it was the time of year (end of the off-season), but we found the VIP beach to actually be busier than the regular Cofresi beach, so we pretty much stayed there the whole week.

The WORST part of the trip was the weekend. The resort allows for locals (or as one New Jersey couple called them... "Locusts") to come on the saturday, stay the night, and leave sunday afternoon. They were HORRIBLE!!! It completely ruined two days for us. They sweep in (like locusts), disregard all rules, eat all the food, party all night, and leave. I still can't get over how rude they were. The buffet's were a nightmare to get food at, because they were there with 9 children, and elbow out, literally fighting people for food. Lines? who needs them.. just push their way in front, and they'll get food first. Adult pools? overrated. They just bring 9 children with them (I'm assuming that children are free?) and take over whatever pool they want. We witnessed local children YELLING at bartenders to give them drinks... and the worst part? The bartenders listened! Even if we were standing there with US$ to give them a tip, the obnoxious dominican children still got served first. It was horrible horrible horrible!!

The best advice I can offer? Definitely go to this resort (the rooms are nice, beaches are gorgeous, food is decent, and staff are fantastic)... but only go Monday to Friday. Because being there on a saturday or sunday will leave you with a bitter taste in your mouth.

Room Tip: Go for the Junior Suites (40, 41, 42). They're way closer to the beach, and much nicer than the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CanGirl2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2013

Our vacation at Lifestyles was by far the most fun I have ever had on any vacation. The rooms and the whole resort were always kept clean. The pools and beaches were fantastic (although they closed a little early). The Food at all of the restaurants had a Dominican twist to it but was very good. Best of all was the staff. They will do anything to make your stay as comforting and enjoyable as possible. Very impressed that we were able to communicate very well. Special shout outs to our Confresi poolside entertainment guys Scooby Doo, Shaggy, Speedy Gonzales, Rambo, and other guys in the resort including John Cena, Big-Mamboo and all of the dancers that put on fantastic shows every night. We participated in many poolside activities as well as some of the shows at night. Once you do that you become a favorite and the stay becomes that much more enjoyable. We already can not wait to go back again next year!!!

Room Tip: It is worth the money to upgrade rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kurtis V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2013 via mobile

stay close to the ocean that way sewer smell is behind you.. Lots of stairs here so make use of vallet golf carts rooms were very nice hard to get into speciality resteraunts buffetts were not so good

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mandy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013

Service was good, room was clean, spacious and had a great sea view from the balcony. The hotel is very spread out although everything is close by. There are also lots of shuttles which take you from one beach, restaurant and bar to others. We did not really care for the food though. We were expecting mid to higher end which was a mistake. However you cannot go wrong for the price.

Room Tip: We stayed in the 3000 rooms, top floor, close to the beach and the front desk. I believe all rooms i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ziya B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Management T, Manager at Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2013

Thank you for the review of your stay in our property, we appreciate your nice comments, we are happy that you spend a satisfactory holidays with us I will mention your comments in our weekly management meeting. Your comments are very important to us.

We hope to see in our property in the near future.

Sincerely,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013

My boyfriend and I just came back yesterday from Confresi Palm. We went via the living social package and stayed there for 5 nights and six days. Please see below breakdown of events. All in all I waould give it 4 stars.




VIP bands vs. Blue bands: We had the blue bands but had access to almost everything except for NV beach, Serenity beach and a couple of other areas, but nothing that would stop you from enjoying your time.




Rooms: We got an automatic upgrade to the Junior Suite which was beautiful. Loved the jacuzzi spa bath. We stayed in building 42. Issues: 1) The bed frame which is made of wood was coming apart at the bottom but was fixed on the second day so not a major issue. Did not take away from the beauty of the room. 2) the bathroom inthe middle of the night had a very bad odor (no it was not from us lol). I think it had to do with the sewage system. But through out the day the smell was normal.




Food: Average for an all inclusive. I didn't care for it too much with the exception of the Brazillian restaurant which I really enjoyed., but I still found things to eat. Not cafeteria like food like some people stated. Breakfast had long lines but who cares? I was happy with my fresh omelettes. If you don't see cheese just ask for it an it all of a sudden appear from behind the counter..lol.




Drinks: Yes they are watered down and not top shelf.. That didn't stop me from ordering it. the VIP Beach which we had access to did have better drinks though.




Employees/Entertainment: The VIP Party on Thurday and Sunday was great! Not to be missed. The employees were all friendly and very happy to help you in anyway. They really appreciate the tips and deserve them for all of the hard work that they do. Locals do come in on the weekends and it was a mad house in ICE (nightclub) but it was great. Just join in the fun!




Walking vs. shuttle: If you like long walks, hills and stairs and getting lost then go ahead and WALK. I got lost twice! lol.. The shuttles was very convenient and didn't take a long time to come. Maybe five or six minutes tops wait time.




Check out for Living social: Even though voucher says hotel fees are not included in the price, it actually is included. We did not have to come out of pocket except for renting a safe deposit box - $3/day.




Any other questions just ask!




Denise

Room Tip: building 42 was pretty good. It's right next to confresi beach and a short walk up the hill to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank 935DeeS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Management T, Manager at Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2013

Dear Guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for choosing Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa resort as the hotel to enjoy your vacation and we also thank you for writing this comment about your experience here at our resort.
We are very happy to read that you had a great vacation.

It is of great honor to us to receive a review like this one that you have kindly shared with us.
Best regards,

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Our trip the first week of Oct2013. Started out with my other half having an asma attack the first morning. Your consierge Robert arranged transportation for her to the Doctor who was excellent and concerned, this made us feel secure to enjoy our stay. I have to complament your staff who further made our stay excellent. They are Rambo,Scooby Doo,Speedy Gonzales and Shaggy. These guys energy,humor and concern about us having a good time was exceptional.
and definatly make us want to go back which we will in the future. So keep up the GREAT work

Room Tip: Higher rooms are quieter, the rooms are large and comfortable, So go and enjoy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hjr226west
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Management T, Manager at Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2013

Dear Sr ;

Thank you for your nice comments about your stay in our Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort. It was nice to read such a nice and detailed experience. Thank you for making us to realize the importance of our staff hard work.
We will make sure our staffs know about your comments so they can be proud of their job.

We thank you once again for having chosen us to spend your holydays and for taking the best if it.

Please keep in mind that we will be pleased to welcome you back.

Best regards,

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Plata hotels
0.1 mi away
The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort
6.8 mi away
BlueBay Villas Doradas Adults Only
5.5 mi away
Be Live Collection Marien
Be Live Collection Marien
#9 of 40 in Puerto Plata
3,997 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Grand Paradise Playa Dorada
Grand Paradise Playa Dorada
#7 of 40 in Puerto Plata
3,289 reviews
6.7 mi away
Sunscape Puerto Plata Dominican Republic
6.7 mi away
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
#5 of 40 in Puerto Plata
5,580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort

Address: 1 Paradise Drive | Cofresi Beach, Puerto Plata 57000, Dominican Republic (Formerly Be Live Grand Carey)
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Puerto Plata
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Plata
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Plata
Price Range: $107 - $272 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 468
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort – Dominican Republic is the newest jewel in the Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Club. Nestled along the Cofresi beach shores, and overlooking the sparkling Caribbean sea, this resort caters to the luxurious enjoyment of both families and couples looking for that perfect getaway. With 468 well-appointed accommodations that range from Adult Only Spa Suites, to Standard family friendly rooms located in a quite setting between the ocean beach and spectacular pool, this is a paradise worthy of the Lifestyle name. The resort was created with space and comfort in mind, making Cofresi Palm a relaxing, enjoyable and satisfying experience for all guests and their families. All rooms have air conditioning, cable television, phones, and ceiling fans, while the decor has a distinctive design, featuring dark wood furnishings. Shaded patios and verandas provide a relaxing place to gather in some of the units. Providing both service and features that are standard for a Lifestyle property, the Cofresi Palm offers a unique luxury accommodations experience. Cofresi Palm provides the easy, relaxed ambiance of the Caribbean in an opulent and elegant setting. Experience the array of beauty and excitement that Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sun Village Puerto Plata
Sun Village Hotel Cofresi
Dominican Republic Sun Village
Sun Village Dominican Republic
Sun Village Spa
Sun Village Resort Dominican Republic
Sun Village Resort Puerto Plata
Sun Village Beach Resort
Sun Village Resort Spa Puerto Plata

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing