We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cofresi review”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort
Ranked #12 of 40 Hotels in Puerto Plata
Reviewed October 16, 2013

My husband and I just came back from the Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort. Overall, I think it's a great value for your money--it's a beautiful resort with lots of great pools and very good service.

Service- our check-in process was very easy and fast. They make you dinner reservations in advance for some of the restaurants. We were not happy with the Chinese restaurant, and they were able to make additional reservations at customer service for an additional restaurant. If you aren't happy, speak up and they will do their best to accommodate you. Maintenance services--our toilet broke the second day and the repairman was at our room in less than 5 minutes and fixed the toilet. The bartenders and cabana staff were excellent, very responsive, didn't have to wait and made us feel pampered.

Beach- the VIP beach, which open to everyone did not have the white sands and crystal clear waters. However, the sand was soft and the water was refreshing, so no complaints there. They have special beaches for their Lifestyle vacation members which do have the white sands and clear water, but unfortunately that's not open to everyone.

Pools--awesome pools, and a great variety. They had more action packed pools with volleyball, basketball, water aerobics, pool side games. Entertainment staff was very engaging and made our trip very fun. With so many pools, we were able to get a different experience at each one. Even a private pool with a cabana since not many people were around.

Food- this is an area for improvement. Breakfast was decent, omelettes were tasy, but the french toast was undercooked and soggy. Nice selection of fresh juices in the morning. Lunch- we mostly ate at the Cabanas, and their sandwiches and wings were quite good. Dinner--definitely a hit or miss. The Indochine restaurant--worst General Tso's chicken we've ever tasted. The sauce was terrible, and chicken was watery and rubbery at the same time. Stick with the local seafood on the menu (like grouper), much better bet. We really enjoyed the Mexican restaurant, probably the best out of the 3 that we tried. Buffet dinner--Most of the food was inedible. The flavors were way off and we tried about 4 items and then just ate a hot dog. We are not picky eaters, but no decent and good food. The food at the VIP part was very good, so we were disappointed that the rest of the week's food didn't live up to the potential.

Drinks- strong and tasty drinks. And it's all included- need I say more? Yes, they aren't top shelf but the drinks were still very good.

We had a great time for an amazing price, met lots of people. We really enjoyed the entertainment at the Colosseum, and dancing at the Ice nightclub. One thing to be aware of, on your first day a concierge will escort you to breakfast and then collect you for a timeshare presentation. We told them upfront that we were not interested, but went on the tour any which was worthwhile to see the other beaches, villas, units etc. But after a certain point, just say no thank you and walk away sot that you can ENJOY your vacation.

Room Tip: Other reviews have noted the smell of sulfur/sewage in certain rooms--that is true. However we staye...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Luvmytrips2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Management T, Manager at Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

Dear Guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for choosing Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa resort as the hotel to enjoy your vacation and we also thank you for writing this comment about your experience here at our resort.
We are very happy to read that you had a great vacation and that you would recommend us to your friends.
We also appreciate your recommendation to other future guests.
Hope to have you back with us very soon.

Best regards,

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,850)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,336 - 2,342 of 3,850 reviews

Reviewed October 15, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed 6 nights and it was mostly good, but if we weren't VIP it could have been really bad!
Since we were VIP we were picked up from the airport in a shuttle free of charge which was nice.When we arrived we went into the VIP check in room where there was mold on the ceiling which maybe me second guess choosing Confresi. We had a ocean-view room in building 40 which was very nice the only downside was three sets of stairs, but we are in shape so it was that bad. The room was really nice and the maids did a good job cleaning everything and nothing every went missing which was a plus.
The VIP party was really fun and nice minus the fact about 1 1/2 hours into it a storm came rolling in. Lets talk food.....The buffets were subpar at best for breakfast,lunch, or dinner. Thats one reason why we were happy we were VIP. The steakhouse was crap maybe good if you like everything charred. The Dominican restaurant was even worse the chick was okay, but my girlfriends steak tasted like seafood which was nasty. The Blue Lagoon and Simply Gourmet was really good (you have to be VIP to eat there)
The standard beach was okay, but If you were VIP the other other beaches were better because they cater to you if you want food or drinks. People on here also said they smelt a sewer smell which is true in certain spots of the resort.Mainly those are the people who book through cheap Caribbean for like 40 a night.You get what you pay for.
You do need to use a shuttle a lot to get around and if you can afford it stay next door at the other Lifestyle resort its a little nicer and we noticed the buffet looked better too.
As for the timeshare people if you are VIP they normally don't bug you. We had gold wristbands and not once did the bug us, but I thought about talking to them because if your like me I looked at it as an investment.Maybe next time we might, but once again I would prefer to stay next door at their other resort in a villa which are beautiful!!!
I know someone who has a timeshare thats how we got VIP shes great worth the extra money.

Room Tip: building 40
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

I loved staying at Cofresi Palms. I just got back and I'm already looking for my next available date to travel back. The staff was just FANTASTIC!!! Specially Scooby Doo, Speedy, John Rambo & Shaggy. They were all very welcoming and friendly. Can't wait to go back

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GoddessRocio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Management T, Manager at Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

Dear Guest,

I really appreciate your review published on Trip Advisor.

We are grateful for your remarks and especially we are happy to know that you had a great vacation at our Resort.

Thank you for recommending Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort in the near future.
Please keep in mind that we will be pleased to welcome you back.

Best regards,

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013 via mobile

Great, clean, close to airport, close to city, night entertainment was awesome for family and if u are going as a couple. Service on point. Will go back asap. Food was great alittle for all taste buds. Cant go wrong with picking this resort. So much to inside. And out.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sohk85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Management T, Manager at Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

Dear Guest,

It is of great honor to us to receive a review like this one that you have kindly shared with us. Your compliment towards our staff really shows the readers the true results of our efforts to provide a unforgettable experience and also help us to always improve our service. We are glad to see that we have achieved your satisfaction and we hope to have you with us at the Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort in the near future.

Best regards,

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

This resort is not what we expected...!!! Unfortunately if you are not a VIP member you are nobody. They treated us very different because we were just regular guests. What a shame!!! There were areas within the same resort that we were NOT allow in because we were not VIP members... Don't get blind with the 29 restaurants and 20 pools... We were not allow because again we were not VIP members. Every day and night we could ONLY go to the buffet restaurant...not allow into the specialty restaurants... The resort is beautiful but service is terrible.... When we talked to management the answer was "well if you are not a VIP member you are not allow on those areas... If you want to become a member you could talk to one of our sales person". I will not recommend this resort neither I will go back!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank patriciagonz27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Management T, Manager at Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

Dear Guest,

We are really sorry that we did not meet your expectations, anyhow we appreciate that you took your time to write this review.
Your comments are taken very seriously, we will use it to improve our product.
I appreciate your observations which are treated with the utmost interest, since we believe that this is the best way to know what specific points we must focus our attention to improve in all aspects.

Best Regards,

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

My husband and I recently returned from a week's vacation at the Cofresi Palm, & we had a blast! The natives are BEAUTIFUL people inside & out. Practically the entire pool activity staff, bartenders & transportation drivers were hilarious & friendly. They went out of their way to ensure our stay was a pleasant one. Kudos to Rambo, Shagy, Speedy G, Scooby Doo, Omega, Ivan & Rafael. There were many spectacular pools to choose from. Also, the recreation staff at the nearby Tropical resort were outstanding as well. Our colorful room was kept tidy by the maid every day. She kept the fridge filled w/ fresh fruit, water, soda & beer each day. Awesome live shows too! Gracias Confresi Palm, we do plan to return some day!

Room Tip: There are three floors & no elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kitchenreis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Management T, Manager at Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for such objective comments. It was a pleasure to read it.
We are glad you found what you were looking for, and experienced a complete different atmosphere. It was an honor for us to be part of your experience and we hope to keep your trust and preference.

Best regards,

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

We have traveled to most of the world, this place was without a doubt, one the best value we ever found. Everyone we met there, loved the place. The rooms were clean and spacious, the staff was friendly and always smiling and trying to make sure we were all set. You will be telling your best friends about this when you get back. It is a complete resort, it has it all. Make sure you
We are already book to go back in Feb. We are brining the entire family and a few friends this time. visit "Ocean World" while you are there, it is just down the street. It was a lot of fun, the kids or the kids at heart can swim with the Dolphins. It was included in our package for free. A memory I will never forget.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RickC1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Management T, Manager at Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comment; it was fun for us to read your detail explanation about your experience with us. You really took the best of our destination to enjoy your holydays.

We are glad to hear that you had a good time and we hope to see you in our property again in the future.

Best regards,

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Plata hotels
0.1 mi away
The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort
6.8 mi away
BlueBay Villas Doradas Adults Only
5.5 mi away
Be Live Collection Marien
Be Live Collection Marien
#9 of 40 in Puerto Plata
3,998 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Grand Paradise Playa Dorada
Grand Paradise Playa Dorada
#6 of 40 in Puerto Plata
3,286 reviews
6.7 mi away
Sunscape Puerto Plata Dominican Republic
6.7 mi away
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
#5 of 40 in Puerto Plata
5,580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort

Address: 1 Paradise Drive | Cofresi Beach, Puerto Plata 57000, Dominican Republic (Formerly Be Live Grand Carey)
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Puerto Plata
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Plata
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Plata
Price Range: $107 - $272 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 468
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort – Dominican Republic is the newest jewel in the Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Club. Nestled along the Cofresi beach shores, and overlooking the sparkling Caribbean sea, this resort caters to the luxurious enjoyment of both families and couples looking for that perfect getaway. With 468 well-appointed accommodations that range from Adult Only Spa Suites, to Standard family friendly rooms located in a quite setting between the ocean beach and spectacular pool, this is a paradise worthy of the Lifestyle name. The resort was created with space and comfort in mind, making Cofresi Palm a relaxing, enjoyable and satisfying experience for all guests and their families. All rooms have air conditioning, cable television, phones, and ceiling fans, while the decor has a distinctive design, featuring dark wood furnishings. Shaded patios and verandas provide a relaxing place to gather in some of the units. Providing both service and features that are standard for a Lifestyle property, the Cofresi Palm offers a unique luxury accommodations experience. Cofresi Palm provides the easy, relaxed ambiance of the Caribbean in an opulent and elegant setting. Experience the array of beauty and excitement that Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sun Village Puerto Plata
Sun Village Hotel Cofresi
Dominican Republic Sun Village
Sun Village Dominican Republic
Sun Village Spa
Sun Village Resort Dominican Republic
Sun Village Resort Puerto Plata
Sun Village Beach Resort
Sun Village Resort Spa Puerto Plata

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing