We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort
Ranked #12 of 41 Hotels in Puerto Plata
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful Vacation”
Reviewed September 24, 2013

My husband and I really enjoyed our stay at the Cofresi Resort, the experience there was great. the food was great and so was the nightly shows. The entertaiment was so much fun by the pool area by Casablanca, we want to give a special thanks to RABBIT & PUCHY for making our stay there a pleasuable and fun time. Looking forward to visiting again maybe next year can't wait.

Room Tip: higher floors have less A/C noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fernandez67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Management T, Manager at Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

It is of great honor to us to receive a review like this one that you have kindly shared with us. Your compliment towards our staff really shows the readers the true results of our efforts to provide a unforgettable experience and also help us to always improve our service. We are glad to see that we have achieved your satisfaction and we hope to have you with us at the Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort in the near future.

Best regards,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,657 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,434
    1,025
    501
    328
    369
See reviews for
972
1,166
68
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,023)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

I'll make this short and sweet.... The resort is almost like a "haves and a have nots" of timeshare. There are the VIP areas where the food is good, the accomodations are nice and the staff is super attentive. Then there is where we stayed. The cups are laying around by the poolside and the bar and the food is awful. I had no idea that I was going to go to DM to have beenie weenie for breakfast. That's what I had three days in a row. The reservations at the other non-buffet restaurants produced subpar food and lackluster service. The drinks at the beach were a bit watered down, so I opted for a beer instead.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Matt G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Management T, Manager at Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are really sorry that we did not meet your expectations, anyhow we appreciate that you took your time to write this review.
Your comments are taken very seriously, we will use it to improve our product and we apologize for not being able to fulfill your expectations.
We must say that the level of satisfaction obtained concerning the quality and variety of food and drinks has always been very elevated according to the opinions reflected in our satisfaction questionnaires.
Besides, the selection of products that compose our gastronomically supply is done taking into consideration the diversity of the guests who visit us.
We sincerely regret that the quality of the food and beverages offered in our Hotel have not met your expectations after all.

Best regards,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vineland, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2013

I must say that my wife and i had a great time at the cofresi, the crew of entertainers are the best, like cappuchino, super tino, spagheti,.. with out them the cofresi is boring. The food was good but the show's and activities were the best, like for an example, Chocolate by the pool, exexsice by the pool, bachata lessons, the activities are the best in this rezort, dont mind the time share, just say NO,

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jason C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Management T, Manager at Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

First of all we thank you, for taking your time to write this review, its wonderful for us to hear that you had an great week at our Cofresi Palm beach & Spa Resort.
it’s really rewarding to read that you think our staff is great and that you could enjoy your stay.
We hope to have you back at our resort very soon.

Best regards,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Lansing, Michigan
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2013

This is getting to be a real habbit for me. I was just there for two weeks in September. The cost is great, I always get the same room. The beach is great, beach bars great and there are new beaches just opened. Cannot get enought of my stays at Lifestyle Holidays Resort complex. My plans are already made for a return visit in Decmember for four months.

Don't forget to plan on going to the Sunday evening dinner and extravaganza party with fireworks. The resort has shuttles transporting guests all the time. The place is on 700 acres. Huge fun place.

Room Tip: There are so many places to stay. Get a building facing the ocean/pool. I like the bottom floor so I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roadglideman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Management T, Manager at Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for choosing Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa resort as the hotel to enjoy your vacation and we also thank you for writing this comment about your experience here at our resort.
We are very happy to read that you had a great vacation and that you would recommend us to your friends.
We also appreciate your recommendation to other future guests.
Hope to have you back with us very soon.

Best regards,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cabarete, Dominican Republic
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2013

While I was actually staying in Cabarete, we made a day trip to visit some friends who were booked into the Cofresi to have dinner and see the show. Every DR resort we've been to provides their own in-house entertainment and I have yet to be disappointed.
I would definitely rate this one superior to most. The 2 leaders of the troop call themselves Scooby-Doo and Cha Guy---no idea why but they just love to give themselves goofy names. Scooby was quite the character and had all the female audience oohing and ahhing. Pretty funny. Excellent dancing and overall just as entertaining as a show you would expect to pay extra for. The resort seemed beautiful and well-kept, but we didn't actually stay there overnight so I can't speak to the accommodations. Staff was very friendly. I wouldn't hesitate to stay there in the future. It's pretty impressive how hard these "animators" work to keep the guests entertained. Some of the troop were saying they worked 6 days a week, often up to 14 hours a day for dismal wages. I'm pretty sure I wouldn't be that smiley in their shoes, so overall I was quite impressed.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Management T, Manager at Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

We really appreciate that you took your time to write this comment, expressing how much fun you had at the Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa resort.
We are really happy that you liked our facilities and we will congratulate our entertainment staff for providing a great hospitality.

Best Regards,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 19, 2013

Upon my arrival to Cofresi I was not sure what to expect, as I had read mixed reviews. However I
am happy to say that I had the most amazing time of my life at Cofresi .

Food:
The food is pretty delicious at this resort. Some people complained about the lack of variety, but there is more than one restaurant to visit for breakfast, lunch and dinner. There are also several specialty restaurants where you have reservations for dinner. We had the: seafood and Italian which were both amazing, and we also had the Chinese which was underwhelming. There is also the Blue Lagoon which is opened from 12am-5am if your looking for a late night snack.

Entertainment:
The nightly entertainment at the resort was very lively. Every night there is a performance which included audience participation and dancing. There is also a Thursday night party which is incredible with cage dancers, fire breathers, and so forth. And the Sunday welcome party is also amazing there is tons of food to pick from and it is very well made. There is also a large performance, which is followed by dancing with members of the audience, and then there is a huge foam party at the end. If you love to DANCE your will LOVE this!!!!

Beach Activities:
The beach activities are a lot of fun as well. We did the banana boat and the tubing. The man who sold us the activity was really nice as well, his name was coke-a-cola and he even took our picture while we were doing the activities!
There are also many activities by the pool areas that are carried on throughout the day by the staff members…volleyball, aerobics in the pool, water balloon games etc.

Excursions:
We did thing snorkeling ($94) and the waterfall ($70) as our excursions, which are two separate things but both definitely worth it if you get the opportunity. There is also food and alcohol included on these excursions.

Rooms:
We stayed in building 40 which was beautiful. It was super clean and the cleaning staff did a great job of keeping it that way. The room was also very spacious which worked out perfectly as my friend and I stayed in the same room and being women we like our space when getting ready.

Beach:
My only small complaint was the beach, only because it was a little rocky. But it was still very beautiful and very relaxing.

VIP Area:
There is also a VIP area where there are cabanas and free wifi (this area looks like Miami). The servers come around and offer your drinks and there is also a food menu that you can order from.

Staff:
The staff is SO AMAZING at this resort…words cannot explain. They did everything they could to make sure we were having a great time. Poochie who is a part of the entertainment crew was amazing, he was a lot of fun and super energetic and kept me smiling the whole time. A few other staff members who were also amazing were: Rabbit, Johncena, Lenny Kravitz, Hulio, Banana and many others. Nathanial who was worked as the Dominican restaurant was also very kind and hospitable to us. I cannot say enough about the staff.

We loved Cofresi so much that we are already planning our next trip!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: The newer rooms are in the 40 section
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniellec8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Management T, Manager at Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

It is of great honor to us to receive a review like this one that you have kindly shared with us. Your compliment towards our staff really shows the readers the true results of our efforts to provide a unforgettable experience and also help us to always improve our service. We are glad to see that we have achieved your satisfaction and we hope to have you with us at the Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort in the near future.

Best regards,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fountain Hills, Arizona
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2013

I booked a 4 night stay at Cofresi for only $19 pppn all inclusive. I figured if the place was sub standard at least it was cheap and for $19 pp one couldn't even go out bar hopping in the states for that price. Well I was pleasantly surprised! Our room was huge and clean and gorgeous! There were several pools to choose from as well as the beach. One drawback was that there was only one restaurant open on this property that was included in the rate however you could catch a shuttle to the adjacent property and have access to their restaurants. Once we figured out how to get back and forth, it was relatively easy and it was not bother. Another drawback was the "talk" for buying in to their vacation property but once we were firm with our "No Thank You, not interested" we were on our way and only wasted 30 minutes of our vacation. The pools do close at 7pm which is kinda early especially if you've gone out on a tour, want to catch a nap upon return and then relax in the pool before dinner. They should be open until at least 10pm! Brigida our housekeeper was very nice and our room was spotless everyday!

Room Tip: I would recommend a room not facing the pools as it tends to be a bit noisier with everyone walking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brownize
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Management T, Manager at Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

We really appreciate that you took your time to write this comment, expressing the great time you had at the Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa resort.
We are really happy that you liked our facilities and we will congratulate Brigida for providing a great hospitality.

Best Regards,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Plata hotels
0.3 mi away
The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort
5.7 mi away
Be Live Collection Marien
Be Live Collection Marien
#9 of 41 in Puerto Plata
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,525 reviews
6.9 mi away
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
#5 of 41 in Puerto Plata
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5,378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Sunscape Puerto Plata Dominican Republic
6.7 mi away
Grand Paradise Playa Dorada
Grand Paradise Playa Dorada
#8 of 41 in Puerto Plata
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,187 reviews
7.0 mi away
BlueBay Villas Doradas Adults Only
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort

Property: Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort
Address: 1 Paradise Drive | Cofresi Beach, Puerto Plata 57000, Dominican Republic (Formerly Be Live Grand Carey)
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Puerto Plata
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Plata
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Plata
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 468
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort – Dominican Republic is the newest jewel in the Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Club. Nestled along the Cofresi beach shores, and overlooking the sparkling Caribbean sea, this resort caters to the luxurious enjoyment of both families and couples looking for that perfect getaway. With 468 well-appointed accommodations that range from Adult Only Spa Suites, to Standard family friendly rooms located in a quite setting between the ocean beach and spectacular pool, this is a paradise worthy of the Lifestyle name. The resort was created with space and comfort in mind, making Cofresi Palm a relaxing, enjoyable and satisfying experience for all guests and their families. All rooms have air conditioning, cable television, phones, and ceiling fans, while the decor has a distinctive design, featuring dark wood furnishings. Shaded patios and verandas provide a relaxing place to gather in some of the units. Providing both service and features that are standard for a Lifestyle property, the Cofresi Palm offers a unique luxury accommodations experience. Cofresi Palm provides the easy, relaxed ambiance of the Caribbean in an opulent and elegant setting. Experience the array of beauty and excitement that Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sun Village Puerto Plata
Sun Village Hotel Cofresi
Dominican Republic Sun Village
Sun Village Dominican Republic
Sun Village Spa
Sun Village Resort Dominican Republic
Sun Village Resort Puerto Plata
Sun Village Beach Resort
Sun Village Resort Spa Puerto Plata

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing