We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lifestyle Holiday Dominican Republic”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort
Ranked #12 of 40 Hotels in Puerto Plata
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We booked our trip through CheapCaribbean.com as a Sunday - Friday all inclusive trip. Our first night here the resort threw a big over the top party for all its guest. They did a great job planning this party. It was big, the food was plentiful and they had a big stage with a great live band. Our experience here was great overall. We stayed in the Tropical Hotel section which was very underwhelming as far as room and board go. Thankfully we had access to the hotel Confresi and its beach and pool area which was beautiful an only a short walk away. At the Confresi beach we were frequently visited by a hotel fun guide Cappucio who kept us very entertained.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Coiro30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,969)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,494 - 2,500 of 3,969 reviews

Reviewed September 3, 2013

They need to change the marketing. This is not a hotel but a timeshare resort. The problem to this resort was that you can not go just anywhere in the resort. We could not attend any of the restaurants that we wanted to go to because we didn't buy the timeshare. The Chinese restaurant was horrible. Do not go there. The beach huts are super competitive so to get one you better line up at 7:30 for you to get one! Our rooms were good but i will never go near that resort!

Room Tip: Ask for buildings in the 40's
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lari5a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managementteam55, Manager at Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2013

Dear Guest,

We are really sorry that we did not meet your expectations, anyhow we appreciate that you took your time to write this review.
Your comments are taken very seriously, we will use it to improve our product and we apologize for not being able to help you, enjoy your vacation.

Best Regards,

The management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

From the very beginnig I was very impressed with the building and cleaniness of the grounds from the moment I pulled up. As I entered the hotel I was blown away by the beauty of the hotel. When I approached the front desk I was greeted by a very friendly staff who did a truly exceptional job. The room was bigger than I thought and it must have been the cleanest hotel I have ever visited.

There was 17 of us and I thought it would be hard for all of us to find something to entertain us. I was wrong, Banana, Cappuchuino & Mr. Bon Jovi were amazing. The whole vacation we were not only entertained but we had more fun than I can remeber in recent family vacations.

Gracias muchachos

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank victor j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

My wife and I spent a long weekend at this resort and thoroughly enjoyed it. The staff are fun and friendly, the resort itself is amazing with pools and bars everywhere and the Sunday night party was out of this world. They do try and push their “membership” package but that happens in most hotels these days, a polite but definite “no thanks, we’re really not interested” and then you are left alone. We would definitely go back again!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keith W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

8/29-9/2 I did buy my deal from Living Social and did not know what type of room I would actually get. My sister and I arrived for our 4 night stay and were upgraded to a Jr. Suite for free (thanks Nelbi) and it was awesome! Our intent was to relax and that's exactly what we did. We stayed at the VIP Beach every day and truly RELAXED. I will say that the buffet was not great. We weren't concerned with making reservations to eat anywhere else besides what they gave us. Trapiche (Mexican) and The Blue Lagoon (Seafood), hands down The Blue Lagoon was amazing, it was the best food of the trip. The resort itself is very beautiful, we had no desire to leave out except to go to the airport. We enjoyed ourselves and would come back! I will say that the living social concierge took us to the place where they do the tours without really explaining where we were going and not letting us know that it wasn't mandatory. We did not do the tour, politely turned them down and went back to our room but I did not hear from the concierge again, which was fine with us! LOL If you have any questions you can email me crissysteber@hotmail.com and I will definitely answer.

Room Tip: I requested a room in building 42 because I read on here that it held the newer rooms. The Jr. Suite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Crissy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

we stayed at this resort for 8 days with another couple we are friends with. there were quite a few complaints we had about this place. first complaint is they take you on a "tour" of the resort when in reality they are just trying to get you to buy a "membership" which they refuse to call a timeshare. they tell you thats when your "real vacation" starts, as if we hadn't spent enough money going there. they are very pushy for it during their tour even though we told them from the start not to waste their time trying to sell it as none of us were in a position to even think about purchasing it. the other big disappointment was the food. all we wanted when we were there was authentic dominican food. which that restaurant was hardly open and you have to make a reservation for every restaurant. they make reservations for you and half the time you are unaware that you have them. they give you a big problem if you try to change the reservation as well. i don't know about you all but i don't enjoy eating diner at 9:00 pm. also when you get to the restaurants you will see that there is plenty of seating and there is always room for people... so i don't see what the problem was with wanting to eat when we wanted to. they gave us a hard time about that. they don't tell you but if you are not a "vip" you are allowed to eat at the buffet at the villa area which is way better than the buffet on the "blue bracelet" "poor" side. you should also make it over to the one vip beach where everyone is allowed. the food is a bit better there and the drinks are way better. for some reason they use cheap liquor with a terrible after taste outside of the vip section. which i still dont get because you spent all this money to stay here anyways why should the food and drink quality be so terrible? the italian restaurant is disgusting, the "brazilian" restaurant is bad too, the food isnt of good quality and dont even bother drinking the wine it was disgusting!
another annoying thing is that you do not get hot water all the time and when you call the front desk to have this fixed it takes their maintenance people around an hour to come to your room. we figured out a trick. you have to run the hot water on both the sink and the shower at the same time for about 10-20 min before the water gets to a decent non freezing temperature. unfortunately i took a few cold showers before we figured this one out. our toilet also crapped out on us. literally, clogged up so much that the water hose had to be replaced after having the maintenance come to fix it multiple times.
our room was also nothing that was advertised. there is no free wifi and they will try to charge you for anything they can!
we were lucky that we had family that lived outside of the resort that were able to take us around. especially to a grocery store which charged way less. try not to purchase too many things there because it's more than a 100% mark up from what they sell it for outside of the resort!
so as i said in the title we made the best of it. yes it is a beautiful place, and we were with good people. it just would've been nice if they made some drastic changes to the place (which if you read there are many other reviews complaining about the same thing)

Room Tip: vip is not worth it! rooms are not as advertised, food is mediocre, no free wifi, will try to charge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mel0514
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

My husband and I had a fabulous time here on our honeymoon. The entertainment was above and beyond what we expected. They always have something going on, places to go, or food to eat. The drinks were amazing at every restuarant and swim up bar. We thought the rooms were clean and very comfortable but the floors could have been a little cleaner. The staff was amazing Super Fino, Capuccino, Banana, and Spageti made us laugh the entire time we were there, hands down they are GREAT at their jobs. The staff is 5 star quality throughout the whole resort. The activities outside the resort are fun and we felt safe. We really enjoyed getting to know others there on vacation and also getting to know the staff as well as their culture. The beach is not a super clean one because of the location but the water is great we spent a lot of time out there swimming and enjoying the waves. If you get the chance go look for the entertainment guys Capuccino, Banana, Spageti, and Super Fino they will remeber you and show you a great time while you are there.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms are best because they have stairs. Also the rooms close to the ocean are very nic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Juanita C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Plata hotels
0.1 mi away
The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort
6.7 mi away
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
#5 of 40 in Puerto Plata
5,669 reviews
5.5 mi away
Be Live Collection Marien
Be Live Collection Marien
#9 of 40 in Puerto Plata
4,216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Sunscape Puerto Plata Dominican Republic
6.6 mi away
Grand Paradise Playa Dorada
Grand Paradise Playa Dorada
#7 of 40 in Puerto Plata
3,364 reviews
2.6 mi away
ClubHotel Riu Merengue
ClubHotel Riu Merengue
#14 of 40 in Puerto Plata
5,567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort

Address: 1 Paradise Drive | Cofresi Beach, Puerto Plata 57000, Dominican Republic (Formerly Be Live Grand Carey)
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Puerto Plata
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Plata
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Plata
Price Range: $123 - $276 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 468
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort – Dominican Republic is the newest jewel in the Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Club. Nestled along the Cofresi beach shores, and overlooking the sparkling Caribbean sea, this resort caters to the luxurious enjoyment of both families and couples looking for that perfect getaway. With 468 well-appointed accommodations that range from Adult Only Spa Suites, to Standard family friendly rooms located in a quite setting between the ocean beach and spectacular pool, this is a paradise worthy of the Lifestyle name. The resort was created with space and comfort in mind, making Cofresi Palm a relaxing, enjoyable and satisfying experience for all guests and their families. All rooms have air conditioning, cable television, phones, and ceiling fans, while the decor has a distinctive design, featuring dark wood furnishings. Shaded patios and verandas provide a relaxing place to gather in some of the units. Providing both service and features that are standard for a Lifestyle property, the Cofresi Palm offers a unique luxury accommodations experience. Cofresi Palm provides the easy, relaxed ambiance of the Caribbean in an opulent and elegant setting. Experience the array of beauty and excitement that Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sun Village Puerto Plata
Sun Village Hotel Cofresi
Dominican Republic Sun Village
Sun Village Dominican Republic
Sun Village Spa
Sun Village Resort Dominican Republic
Sun Village Resort Puerto Plata
Sun Village Beach Resort
Sun Village Resort Spa Puerto Plata

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing