We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Discounted trip..It was OK” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort
Ranked #13 of 45 Hotels in Puerto Plata
Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Discounted trip..It was OK”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

Groupon purchase..

Just got back yesterday!
So I was first "introduced" to Cofresi by Groupon. They had a deal going on that I thought was a complete steal ($450 for 5 nights! all inclusive!) I thought, hey, I just want a nice beach and warm weather, why not take a chance of booking this deal after reading not so pleasant reviews.
DAY 1.
We arrived around 1PM and were checked in immediately (usually check in is at 3) the front desk agent gave us keys, and quickly explained everything that was in our little envelope, and pointed us to a golf cart where a nice man picked up our suitcases and we drove to our building - 20426 to be exact. the building wasn't that far, we could have walked, but it was nice to have a ride waiting!
When we got to our room is was nothing special...the A/C wasn't working to its full power, but we did have a nice balcony where we left the doors open. There were a couple things I didn't like...There was definitely a smell of mold, our TV didn't work, and the shower would not drain properly. There were also several power outages (seemed to be everyday around the same time) and there were a couple times where we didn't have hot water. The beds were extremely hard! so unconformable!! but hey, we were paying less than $100 a night - we weren't expecting a luxury room...one tip, don't but your clothes in the closet! they will smell like wood chips!
At this point we're starving!! we just made it to the buffet before lunch was over. There are 2 buffets,, Casablanca, and The Pearl. They're relatively close, and they both served the same things. It was nothing special, but it wan't bad! We did enjoy the omelet station in the morning, and at night they had pasta stations. We ended up sticking with the buffets because our first "real restaurant experience" was DISGUSTING! We went to the Italian restaurant, because reservations were already set for us. I ordered the Margarita pizza, and my sister go the Eggplant parm. my pizza was basically this crust like thing with literally 2 pounds of cheese on top - there wasn't any spinach, or other veggies on top. I thought mine was bad until i tried the Eggplant! SO GROSS! We left a tip and walked out. Just imagine if a chain restaurant like Denny's, or Friendly's tried serving Italian food...ew.

SECOND DAY.
We woke up to a call from Carlos. He wanted to know when we wanted a ride to breakfast. It was a nice gesture, but we were sleeping. We kindly told him that we were walking, and that we would be sure to give him a call if we needed a ride anywhere. eventually we rolled out of bed, went to the buffet, and started out search for the best seat at the multiple pools around the resort! the beach wasn't special at all. When the tide comes in there is NO where to sit. We found a quiet pool, really close to our room. We were there for most of the day, until we were introduced to mosquito. He was freaking annoying. I just wanted to lay in the sun, and not be disturbed. I don't even know what it title is. We did chat with him for a little bit, and he finally went away. But then he came back and sat with a group on teens...they started playing loud music, which is when we left. this is when we were informed that non VIP people are allowed to go to the VIP beach!!! Get there around 7:30Am to get in line and you'll get a comfortable cabana! There is also wifi here that you don't have to pay for!! you just need to know the password. We simply asked a VIP member the username and password - which was username: February Password: February. If you're there in March..try March for both the username and password! That was probably our best discovery. Cabanas and Wifi!
We did this for a couple days when we finally decided to sign up for a excursion! PARADISE ISLAND was awesome!! If you like to snorkel, or even if you've never done it before (like me) you will still have a blast!! The man that took us out into the water when it was time for snorkeling was so kind and so fun! we ended up tipping him $20.
Between our room and the food I would say that I got what I paid for. I wasn't there to eat a gourmet dinner every night, or to have flawless room. Don't be a resort snob..If your'e paying over a thousand dollars for just a couple nights then there might be something to complain about.
TIPS!!
Traveling from the airport to the resort (POP) you need to have $10 per person to get into the airport! its like a visitors pass or something. also, when you walk through customs there will be a lot of people trying to take your bags and help you find a taxi...they obviously want a tip, so unless you don't have cash or you don't want to tip someone don't let them take your bags!! We paid $45 US dollars for one way - you can go through the hotel and pay $16 for each person for a return. There wasn't really any need to exchange money, US dollars are accepted every where.

Remember, don't be a resort snob.
Enjoy your stay:)

Room Tip: look up a map of the resort and request a specific building. 204 wasn't that far from anything r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank moreland2911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managementteam55, Manager at Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, Cofresi Palm Beach and Spa Resort. It is of great importance to know our guests experience in order to improve our services.

We appreciate your observations which are treated with the utmost interest, since we believe that this is the best way to know what specific points we must focus our attention to improve in all aspects.

Best Regards,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,232 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,301
    877
    430
    297
    327
See reviews for
827
1,002
65
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (924)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Staten Island, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

This was the best vacation ever, food and people were excellent. My son went to the kids club every day and had the time of his life (he’s 10) He never wanted to be with us during the day. The people in charge of the kids club were amazing especially Grace and Alfredo. I trusted them whole heartedly with my son. My son loved them and joked with them all week calling them Amazing Grace and Alfredo Sauce! – this put us at ease even though we did check in on him to see him laughing and having a great time. Thanks for making our trip a memorable one.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managementteam55, Manager at Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear guest,

On behalf of our management, we thank you for posting a review about your experience among us and for choosing Cofresi Palm Beach and Spa Resort for your holidays.
We are very glad to read your positive valuation about the friendliness of our staff and you can be sure that we have congratulated Grace and Alfredo for her making you vacation so wonderful.

It would be a pleasure to have you and your son back with us very soon.

Best Regards,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol Stream, Illinois
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

We stayed at the Cofressi Palms resort. We absolutely LOVED it! We met so many nice people from all over the world. The room was good. We stayed in 21031. The only bad thing was the shower was just a trickle and the walls are paper thin. The maid closet was right next to our room and we heard that door slam all the time. Other than that NOTHING!! The food was great at the buffets and the restaurants. Highly recommend Jazz. There are a lot of stairs but that helps burn off all the calories we took in : ) Highly recommend this resort or Lifestyles.

Room Tip: if you can't do stairs get a bottom floor ( no elevators). Put a few bucks in the fridge, guaran...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tfortman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managementteam55, Manager at Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for the review of your stay in our property, Cofresi Palm Beach and Spa Resort. We appreciate your nice comments and are happy that you spend a satisfactory holidays with u.
I will mention your comments in our weekly management meeting as they are very important to us.

We hope to see in our property in the near future.

Sincerely,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mississauga
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

I honestly dont think id go anywhere else in Puerto Plata But here

The food was great!!!! 10 restaurants you cant go wrong. Im happy i was able to get hot food 3 oclock in the morning.
The italian, mexican, and seafood restaurants were my fav's

Our Rooms were great. I recommend the Junior Suite,

the entertainment was amazing.. synchronzing swimming in the night... they were floating on the water blowing fire. I love the way they encouraged the crowd to come up and participate on stage.

The beach is great, i love that they had actual beach beds out there. Beautiful

Im a very picky person with where i stay and what i eat... and they did great in my books :)

i didnt get to check out the spa so i cant comment on that

the bad part was that on the wknds when some of the locals come with their families which i like.. it made the night life in the disco more fun...... BUT!!! the front desk staff got a little unorganized and they ended up booking our room to another family... luckily we were still in our rooms at the time... it was swiftly fixed but that was the only bad thing i really had to say..

stafff is great!!!! and very attentive... it could be because i tipped but overall they deserved it.

Room Tip: pick the junior suites... they are in mint condition... newly built spacious and clean
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kayla l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

This resort was absolutely amazing! To those who gave this place any less than 4 stars should just go kill themselves because they will never enjoy anything in life.. and on with the review.

Property:
Enormous, amazing buildings, on a mountainside overlooking a long fantastic beach. Tons of pool areas, with chairs that sat in water over the edge of pool. Giant pool at top of resort by lobby, and many other pools everywhere on the walk down to the beach.
Food:
GO TO THE VIP PARTY ON SUNDAY!
Food was good but between the over-eating and lower quality foods(from the DR in general, not this resort) some did get a bit queezy.

Bars:
The bars were great and the service was excellent. The alcohol served anywhere but the VIP beach wasn't great but they mixed it well enough. The VIP beach was fantastic and served top shelf liquors. We found ourselves eating lunch here most days.

Room:
As basic as basic gets.. Air condition did not work great but we didn't complain since we where hardly ever there. The other couple we traveled with had ice-cold AC. No draws only 1 large closet. Bathroom was decent and clean.

Value:
No brainer! We got eight nights through groupon for $750 per couple.

Room Tip: The room we had was as basic as basic gets.. Who cares about the room?? Your in paradise! You'l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tarek D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grafton, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

My husband & I were looking forward to the trip since we have not been away in 6 yrs.
Our luggages were lost by the airline so it was a bad start to the trip.

ROOM.
We were suppose to have a Garden View Ocean Side Suite. When arriving to our room we could smell a terrible musty odor in the hallway. Upon opening the door the smell was so bad
it burned out eyes. it Was not a Jr. Suite. One bed, one chair and a desk. A suite is two rooms at least. we went up to the lobby (no one told us we had to take shuttles including to our lobby) to change the room and was told sold out sorry. I demanded a supervisor who in turn said the same thing. The resort has many building so there had to be a room. After 2 hrs. of waiting he came back to say he had a room. Of course just a simple room again one bed, chair & desk. It was suppose to have a fully stocked bar but only two waters two beers and it said this is not a refridge but a cooler. Ice machine broken in the building so my husband had to go out the building into another to get ice. No room service which we did not know of this too.

Food:

We arrived late so we were hungry and was told there is no food available. We also did not know you have to make a reservation at 9AM each day for a restaurant. The Italian one could only give us 9:30. Only 2 tables taken. At 10:15 we are having dessert and coffee and the waitress comes over and tells us we have to leave they are closing. We were appaulded. We then had to wait 10mins for a shuttle! As we are waiting some small creatures came out of the sewer drain and my husband said they were rats. We tried to make a reservation at the Brazilian Rest on Wed but was told booked. I asked about Thurs & Fri and they said closed to the public only VIP members. I again was appaulded. The buffet's were terrible so i did not eat at them and stuck with no restaurents to go to. The food in general terrible.

Bars:
All the bars only had gut wrenching alcohol. The only premium bar was VIP Beach which was the only highlight of the trip. It was very nice with beds to lie on and a wait staff and a lunch menu. That is the only time i ate. There was 3 bars that were not even open including the wine bar which we love. It was only open one night and we went to go in and was asked to leave due to they were having a VIP wine tasting.

We were not aware that you are sterotyped by the color bracelet your wearing. The VIP Gold was homeowners, time share which again we were unaware this was a community not a resort.

The sewer smell was the worst especially at night. The last day we were told to be in the lobby 3 hrs before departure. We were starving and went to the buffet and was told it closed 5 mins ago. We asked just for cereal or toast and they said no we can't.

I would NEVER recommend this place to my worst enemy!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Amy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managementteam55, Manager at Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for having chosen Cofresi Palm Beach and Spa Resort to spend your holidays. We appreciate you took the time to express your experience in this review. We are deeply sorry that your experience was not as good as you had expected and that you were not completely satisfied with our service.
We wish to assure you that we take any comments as a constructive criticism. Our management will take note of your comments to evaluate how we can improve our services.

Best Regards,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appleton, Wisconsin, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

We stayed for 14 days in room42310, we had a leak coming through our wall for 13 dys, they did not speak enough English to understand it was not just mopping it needed, which they did every day and we had to keep our towels down and continuously for the 13 days - on the 14th day they figured it out and went through the wall to fix it. Did not tell us - we were at the beach- no note nothing.! We slept on two box spring mattresses for 14 nights..HORRIBLE and they knew it - they said upgrade and buy into their resport as a VIP and they would change us...WHAT! we paid more than the VIP's and got less hmmmm. Service was fantastic on an up sight. Never got to eat at the gourmet or seafood restaurants because always full..WHAT - we paid for the all-inclusive but could not get reservations! We would not go back- we were looking to buy in but thank goodness we waiting to see the resport first - DO NOT BUY IN THE FIRST DAY - you need to see the place first.....

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Missy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managementteam55, Manager at Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to communicate to us why our Hotel did not meet your expectations. The Cofresi Palm Beach and Spa Resort is committed to providing our guests with the highest quality services and facilities. We sincerely regret we fell short of our goal in this instance.
You willingness to share your thoughts is appreciated. I hope you will allow us the opportunity in the future make your experience at our property an unforgettable one.


Sincerely,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Plata hotels
0.4 mi away
The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort
6.9 mi away
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
#4 of 45 in Puerto Plata
4.0 of 5 stars 4,842 reviews
7.0 mi away
BlueBay Villas Doradas Adults Only
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Grand Paradise Playa Dorada
Grand Paradise Playa Dorada
#7 of 45 in Puerto Plata
3.5 of 5 stars 2,846 reviews
5.7 mi away
Be Live Collection Marien
Be Live Collection Marien
#11 of 45 in Puerto Plata
3.5 of 5 stars 2,657 reviews
6.9 mi away
Sunscape Puerto Plata Dominican Republic
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort

Property: Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort
Address: 1 Paradise Drive | Cofresi Beach, Puerto Plata 57000, Dominican Republic (Formerly Be Live Grand Carey)
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Puerto Plata
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Plata
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Plata
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 468
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort – Dominican Republic is the newest jewel in the Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Club. Nestled along the Cofresi beach shores, and overlooking the sparkling Caribbean sea, this resort caters to the luxurious enjoyment of both families and couples looking for that perfect getaway. With 468 well-appointed accommodations that range from Adult Only Spa Suites, to Standard family friendly rooms located in a quite setting between the ocean beach and spectacular pool, this is a paradise worthy of the Lifestyle name. The resort was created with space and comfort in mind, making Cofresi Palm a relaxing, enjoyable and satisfying experience for all guests and their families. All rooms have air conditioning, cable television, phones, and ceiling fans, while the decor has a distinctive design, featuring dark wood furnishings. Shaded patios and verandas provide a relaxing place to gather in some of the units. Providing both service and features that are standard for a Lifestyle property, the Cofresi Palm offers a unique luxury accommodations experience. Cofresi Palm provides the easy, relaxed ambiance of the Caribbean in an opulent and elegant setting. Experience the array of beauty and excitement that Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sun Village Puerto Plata
Sun Village Hotel Cofresi
Dominican Republic Sun Village
Sun Village Dominican Republic
Sun Village Spa
Sun Village Resort Dominican Republic
Sun Village Resort Puerto Plata
Sun Village Beach Resort
Sun Village Resort Spa Puerto Plata

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing