We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort
Ranked #12 of 39 Hotels in Puerto Plata
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Horrible”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Room was moldy, and AC unit leaked everywhere in the room. Staff hassled us to buy some stupid timeshare from this hellhole. The entire resort smells like crap because the sewage just runs what seems to be in the open somewhere. The liquor is bad and we all got food poisoning. If you are considering going to the place, I would recommend just staying home and hanging out at your neighborhood bar or pub. You will save a lot of money and have a lot more fun.

Room Tip: Stay Home.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
22 Thank Jack M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,691 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,452
    1,033
    504
    331
    371
See reviews for
978
1,177
67
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,031)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pior Lake, MN
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

There are a lot of reviews on here that state there is a "bad feel" to the place. My boyfriend and I ent here last sprng and stayed at the Lifestyle Tropical. Yes, they are a vacation club, and they do try and sell you the membership. You can refuse the "welcome tour" and they don't bother you again. Or you can go on the tour and see what the resort has. If you refuse to buy anything, they don't bother you again. Book through cheapcaribbean.com and there are extras that get added to your stay, and they do have really great deals. Do get up early and book reservations to the a la cate restaurants, the buffet can wear you out. Don't be afraid to book excursion like snorkeling at the resort, we did and it was cheaper then the other places we found. We lover our stay here, and we actually decided to go back this May. We are staying at the Confesi this time and are very excited. Don't be afraid to negotiate services at the spa with the salespeson who walks around on the beach, it is beneficial. They do have local vendors that come on certain days, so you don't need to venture off the resort if you don't wan to. You can take the city bus into town, but have a plan before you get there. DO NOT take a "tour" from anyone in town, even if they are wearing a government "Ministry of tourism" shirt. Yes they are part of the government, but they work as contractors, and they pay the governement. They work off "tips" that can cost you hundreds of dollars.

Room Tip: Our room was just fine last time. Request an end unit, they are larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank MoniMoni1542
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Level Contributor
69 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Our first all-inclusive winter vacation everywhere, this resort exceeded all our expectations. The beach is beautiful, the junior suite was well appointed and very comfortable, and the gym facilities were great. Fantastic opening night welcome, and things just kept getting better. Fantastic food at all the restaurants, and service staff were beyond great. Even our 17 year-old enjoyed herself! Would recommend this destination to anyone.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Peter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

My wife, our '01 and '04 boys and I, just returned from this resort booked through Nolitours. I am usually very positive about most resorts after the initial day, but there was a lingering underlying negative feel.
There are two sides to the resort, the other called "Tropical", and within the resorts there is an elevated status of VIP attained through membership in the Lyfestyles Vacation club. The sales agents for lifestyle are active and slightly bothersome. There are the white shirt guys who try to get you to the sales presentation who are the most annoying. The VIP bracelet gets you into extra beach areas, and a few more bars and restaurants, but there are plenty of "regular" areas. Oh, and the VIP get to zip around in their own golf cart. It all just makes for an underlying weird feel to the place.
Pool areas are plentiful and lots of cots. Not the most kid friendly. Food at the buffet is so-so, with the usual fare. A la carte restaurants are good and better to eat at for dinners. You get three reservations given to you at check-in and have to put your name on a list the day of for the others. Go early.
The check-in was smooth and fast.
Rooms. There are newer rooms in the 40's numberd buildings get those. The junior suites are in those buildings. The 30's numbered ones have more mold than expected, a few bugs, and A/C with bad air. My asthma kid had to double his meds, coughed in the room but not outside...Skip the "superior" rooms.
Activities for kids were not plentiful.
Shuttles around the two resorts were always there for you.
Beach was acceptable, but waves churned up lots of seaweed and other things.
Staff and servers helpful. We did not go to the discos.
Overall, it was relaxing. The only stresses being dinner reservations and room quality.
Compared to same rated resorts that we have stayed at, it was better than Cuba (except for the beach), but not as good as Mexico (PV and Mayan), or Punta Cana.

Room Tip: Only book junior suite or better. Rooms in the 40's are better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
25 Thank O.D.O.D.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2012 via mobile

Great value for the all the amenities! They have gorgeous beaches; lovely grounds; fun activities, parties and shows; good food and nice, clean comfortable rooms. The staff is always eager to please. Book an all inclusive stay through Cheap Caribbean so you will have access to the VIP beach. The VIP facility is usually for members only but Cheap Caribbean clients are given an exclusive bracelet which allows you to order food and premium drinks while using their sun beds. The VIP beach area also has a sushi bar and two jacuzzis.

Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Gisele C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2012

Enjoyed the resort! Several beaches, pools and well maintaned buildings/ landscaping! Friendly staff and relaxed elegance at the resort! I travel to the Caribbean often, and definitely will be back at the Cofresi again! Cheers! I hope everyone enjoys the resort as I have...and will again! Safe travels!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank mattinmpls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2012

Booked it by a coincidence under the old name - Grand Ambar. The vacation turned out to be very pleasant. So how it was item by item:
Check in: Very fast and very efficient. Wish I could check-in so fast in other hotels.
The room: Spacious room with a king bed in building 42. Well equipped, close to the beach, very clean. Sadly, it has some imperfections. The dividing doors between rooms are too thin and there is no threshold. As a result these doors aren't exactly soundproof. It wasn't a problem for the most of our stay, however we earwitnessed a double orgasm one evening.
The beach: Well, the beach could be better. There are rocks in some areas, so if the surf is higher, there is a possibility of an injury. One has to be careful. Moreover, one afternoon the surf brought a lot of junk (plastic bottles, etc). However, everything was gone by the next morning and the beach was clean. OTOH beach beds on the upper level are kept clean and are very comfortable. The whole upper level is kept in very good shape.
Bars and restaurants: Very good with excellent food and excellent staff. I enjoyed the Pearl buffet just as much as I enjoyed the the a-la carte restaurants. As far as drinks are concerned, I was interested mainly in local Rum and it was OK. The beer I usually drank with food (Presidente) is not to my liking as it's very light, however it's quite OK in the local hot climate.
Entertainment: Well, as an old rocker I would welcome not to be bombarded with upbeat rhythms daily, however I realize It's the habit in resorts. The animators on duty (guys, I know you have real names, but I only remember you as Bamboo, Banana, Blacky and Donkey) were very nice and very friendly. Had fun with the games and contests. In general, the level of services in the resort is very good. I was, for example, shocked when a thunderstorm took our TV set top box offline and the service engineer showed up with a new one before we even found out that the TV is INOP.
The resort as whole: Clean, well maintained, well landscaped.
Now to the annoying part - the sales pitch. Unfortunately, the Mrs. cut it short before I had the sales rep fuming. Guys, there is no point - I won't buy your timeshare. I'll just frustrate the hell out of your sales reps.
I general, very refreshing and enjoyable vacation. I would certainly go back again - despite the annoying sales pitch and some imperfections.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank T B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Plata hotels
0.3 mi away
The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort
5.7 mi away
Be Live Collection Marien
Be Live Collection Marien
#9 of 39 in Puerto Plata
3,624 reviews
7.0 mi away
BlueBay Villas Doradas Adults Only
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
#5 of 39 in Puerto Plata
5,403 reviews
6.9 mi away
Sunscape Puerto Plata Dominican Republic
6.7 mi away
Grand Paradise Playa Dorada
Grand Paradise Playa Dorada
#8 of 39 in Puerto Plata
3,210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort

Property: Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort
Address: 1 Paradise Drive | Cofresi Beach, Puerto Plata 57000, Dominican Republic (Formerly Be Live Grand Carey)
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Puerto Plata
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Plata
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Plata
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 468
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort – Dominican Republic is the newest jewel in the Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Club. Nestled along the Cofresi beach shores, and overlooking the sparkling Caribbean sea, this resort caters to the luxurious enjoyment of both families and couples looking for that perfect getaway. With 468 well-appointed accommodations that range from Adult Only Spa Suites, to Standard family friendly rooms located in a quite setting between the ocean beach and spectacular pool, this is a paradise worthy of the Lifestyle name. The resort was created with space and comfort in mind, making Cofresi Palm a relaxing, enjoyable and satisfying experience for all guests and their families. All rooms have air conditioning, cable television, phones, and ceiling fans, while the decor has a distinctive design, featuring dark wood furnishings. Shaded patios and verandas provide a relaxing place to gather in some of the units. Providing both service and features that are standard for a Lifestyle property, the Cofresi Palm offers a unique luxury accommodations experience. Cofresi Palm provides the easy, relaxed ambiance of the Caribbean in an opulent and elegant setting. Experience the array of beauty and excitement that Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sun Village Puerto Plata
Sun Village Hotel Cofresi
Dominican Republic Sun Village
Sun Village Dominican Republic
Sun Village Spa
Sun Village Resort Dominican Republic
Sun Village Resort Puerto Plata
Sun Village Beach Resort
Sun Village Resort Spa Puerto Plata

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing