We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great resort! Location, amenities and staff all great! Will be back soon!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort
Ranked #13 of 41 Hotels in Puerto Plata
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great resort! Location, amenities and staff all great! Will be back soon!”
Reviewed December 29, 2012

Enjoyed the resort! Several beaches, pools and well maintaned buildings/ landscaping! Friendly staff and relaxed elegance at the resort! I travel to the Caribbean often, and definitely will be back at the Cofresi again! Cheers! I hope everyone enjoys the resort as I have...and will again! Safe travels!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank mattinmpls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,645 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,429
    1,021
    499
    328
    368
See reviews for
968
1,161
68
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,019)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2012

Booked it by a coincidence under the old name - Grand Ambar. The vacation turned out to be very pleasant. So how it was item by item:
Check in: Very fast and very efficient. Wish I could check-in so fast in other hotels.
The room: Spacious room with a king bed in building 42. Well equipped, close to the beach, very clean. Sadly, it has some imperfections. The dividing doors between rooms are too thin and there is no threshold. As a result these doors aren't exactly soundproof. It wasn't a problem for the most of our stay, however we earwitnessed a double orgasm one evening.
The beach: Well, the beach could be better. There are rocks in some areas, so if the surf is higher, there is a possibility of an injury. One has to be careful. Moreover, one afternoon the surf brought a lot of junk (plastic bottles, etc). However, everything was gone by the next morning and the beach was clean. OTOH beach beds on the upper level are kept clean and are very comfortable. The whole upper level is kept in very good shape.
Bars and restaurants: Very good with excellent food and excellent staff. I enjoyed the Pearl buffet just as much as I enjoyed the the a-la carte restaurants. As far as drinks are concerned, I was interested mainly in local Rum and it was OK. The beer I usually drank with food (Presidente) is not to my liking as it's very light, however it's quite OK in the local hot climate.
Entertainment: Well, as an old rocker I would welcome not to be bombarded with upbeat rhythms daily, however I realize It's the habit in resorts. The animators on duty (guys, I know you have real names, but I only remember you as Bamboo, Banana, Blacky and Donkey) were very nice and very friendly. Had fun with the games and contests. In general, the level of services in the resort is very good. I was, for example, shocked when a thunderstorm took our TV set top box offline and the service engineer showed up with a new one before we even found out that the TV is INOP.
The resort as whole: Clean, well maintained, well landscaped.
Now to the annoying part - the sales pitch. Unfortunately, the Mrs. cut it short before I had the sales rep fuming. Guys, there is no point - I won't buy your timeshare. I'll just frustrate the hell out of your sales reps.
I general, very refreshing and enjoyable vacation. I would certainly go back again - despite the annoying sales pitch and some imperfections.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank T B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Connecticut
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2012

The property is nice huge and rocky but the beach is great and the VIP Serenity beach is amazing. The food aah, its a rat race to get reservations to the different restaurants. Although the Italian was worth the wait.Indian food was no good. At nights there is not much french fries n hamburgers n hot dogs a no meat eater nightmare. The entertainment was excellent Sexy Banana was very attentive, he's full of fun games in the pool and workout games.

Room Tip: Don't open your windows any floor insects will take over
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ja_can_Joy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2012

We had an amazing time!! The resort was Beautiful. All the workers were such nice people trying to make our visit the best it can be. The drinks were great and shows were fun. The vip beach was stunning and the food was very good for the most part.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank az2058
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guttenberg, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2012

We have made 4 trips now to Lifestyles Puerto Plata and have had very enjoyable vacations each time. As VIP members we found the facilities comfortable and clean. We love beautiful Serenity Beach, where we relaxed on the canopy beds every day and had our every wish catered to by the very friendly staff. They all want to make you happy and only seek to indulge you with whatever you desire. We enjoy the very good restaurants and the best service anywhere. The Pearl Buffet at Cofresi is delicious and I ate myself into oblivion. There are some great dancers and entertainers that put on great shows in the evenings, from soothing guitar playing with a singer, to an all-out dance show with amazing costumes. There was one show in the pool at Tropical where the dancers were floating on rafts in the pool, even fire dancers! It was the most beautiful and exciting show, but we only caught it by chance, luckily! They must do a better job at informing guests of when and where each show is at night, so make sure you find out! We waited about 20 mins to be picked up at the airport upon arriving, but it was very crowded with lots of traffic trying to get thru the small airport. Upon arrival, Frank in customer service checked us in quickly and gave us a very warm welcome. Rooms are not usually ready until 3 pm, so we packed swimsuits and t-shirts in our carry-ons, had lunch at the buffet, and went directly to the beach! When we came back our rooms were ready and our luggage was delivered. Our favorite accommodations are the Cofresi Beach Studios which face the pool, beach and ocean. On this trip we were in the Cofresi standard rooms, which were perfectly fine, especially since they were free as we used the special promotion with no service fee for that time period. The beds were comfortable and the A/C worked very well. The first room had a slightly mildewed smell, and there was mold on the shower curtain, so we switched to another room with no problems after that. Daniel and Carol in the VIP office took care of us and made all our dinner reservations. Since the place was not very busy, they did not have all the restaurants available, but we still had a good choice each night. Antonio ("sexy banana") was so much fun in all the activities and shows, we really liked seeing him everyday. I want to commend so many other staff members but I didn't know all their names. Suffice it to say that every one of them are really great! They are one of the best things about being there.

The Jazz restaurant was an incredible dining experience. Beautiful atmosphere, outstanding service and the most delicious food that can be found anywhere. Myself and all my guests were amazed at the quality of both the food and the service. Be aware that men have to wear long pants at Jazz and the VIP Gourmet. We will go back to LIfestyles every few months and try a private Villa next time. Having a golf cart would be much more convenient and looks like so much fun! Overall, Cofresi is great, much better than Tropical. The shuttle buses are very frequent to take you to all the different locations. Otherwise there is a lot of walking, but if you stay within Cofresi, it's all fairly close, but everything is either a couple of stairways up or down. Keep in mind if you are disabled or have trouble walking/climbing stairs. They will gladly transport you everywhere but it will just take some patience. But you're on vacation, so there's no rush! Coming from NY, it is a perfect get-away, very beautiful place to relax and de-stress.

Room Tip: We liked the Cofresi Beach Studios the best, facing the Ocean. Get a 2nd floor with a terrace, no ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Barry N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock, Ontario, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2012

This was the best vacation ever! My 3 girlfriends and I all decided to go on vacation together this year and since my one friend has been to dominican 12 times we were trying to find a resort she hadn't been to. She even said that this was by far one of the most fun and best places she has ever been to. The staff there are great and they are always so happy and willing to help you out. Everything is extremely relaxing during the day then at night there are daily shows and the discos are open. The food was good and even though we had only 3 a la carte dinners there was a welcome party and bbq while we were there so we only ended up eating dinner at the buffet once but even that was really excellent. I now want to return again and again and will most definitely go back to Cofresi Palm. If you chose this place don't forget to participate in the games either they are fun ways to meet new people and the animation staff are so much fun, Bambu, Blacky, Banana, BonJovi, and Donkey made this trip that much better!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Danielle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2012

My mother is a VIP member so she was able to get a reasonably good deal on the room. The room was okay however the fully stocked fridge only had a few bottles of water/coke/beer. Coffee supplies were not always replaced. Information about the resort itself was limited NB to management - a welcome pack with information about what is available at each hotel/nearby attractions should be available in each room. The entertainment/general facilities was a bit of a let down - it was pretty cheesy entertainment (the VIP spectacular was spectacularly cheesy) - the food was not very international, soups were very salty and dishes often lacked depth or flavour. If you are vegetarian and don't eat fish then the only offerings are pasta, pizza, boiled vegetables, rice/beans and salad.

The resort is the equivalent of Majorca to the Brits. Worthwhile for US/Canadians to go to but not
for those travelling across the atlantic from Europe, stick with places in Europe or Egypt/Dubai and save yourself £500 in airfares + $30 in arrival/departure taxes.

The people were very friendly.

Room Tip: Rooms by the pool at Cofresi (near the beach) were very noisy. Almost like having a road beside you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 321arti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Plata hotels
0.3 mi away
The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort
5.7 mi away
Be Live Collection Marien
Be Live Collection Marien
#9 of 41 in Puerto Plata
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,502 reviews
6.9 mi away
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
#5 of 41 in Puerto Plata
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5,371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Sunscape Puerto Plata Dominican Republic
6.7 mi away
Grand Paradise Playa Dorada
Grand Paradise Playa Dorada
#8 of 41 in Puerto Plata
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,184 reviews
7.0 mi away
BlueBay Villas Doradas Adults Only
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort

Property: Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort
Address: 1 Paradise Drive | Cofresi Beach, Puerto Plata 57000, Dominican Republic (Formerly Be Live Grand Carey)
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Puerto Plata
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Plata
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Plata
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 468
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort – Dominican Republic is the newest jewel in the Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Club. Nestled along the Cofresi beach shores, and overlooking the sparkling Caribbean sea, this resort caters to the luxurious enjoyment of both families and couples looking for that perfect getaway. With 468 well-appointed accommodations that range from Adult Only Spa Suites, to Standard family friendly rooms located in a quite setting between the ocean beach and spectacular pool, this is a paradise worthy of the Lifestyle name. The resort was created with space and comfort in mind, making Cofresi Palm a relaxing, enjoyable and satisfying experience for all guests and their families. All rooms have air conditioning, cable television, phones, and ceiling fans, while the decor has a distinctive design, featuring dark wood furnishings. Shaded patios and verandas provide a relaxing place to gather in some of the units. Providing both service and features that are standard for a Lifestyle property, the Cofresi Palm offers a unique luxury accommodations experience. Cofresi Palm provides the easy, relaxed ambiance of the Caribbean in an opulent and elegant setting. Experience the array of beauty and excitement that Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sun Village Puerto Plata
Sun Village Hotel Cofresi
Dominican Republic Sun Village
Sun Village Dominican Republic
Sun Village Spa
Sun Village Resort Dominican Republic
Sun Village Resort Puerto Plata
Sun Village Beach Resort
Sun Village Resort Spa Puerto Plata

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing