We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pure Paradise !!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort
Ranked #12 of 39 Hotels in Puerto Plata
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Pure Paradise !!!!”
Reviewed May 5, 2012

Usually I don't do the whole review thing , but after are experience I just couldn't keep it to myself . I just want to start by saying usually what makes or breaks any vacation is the first impression, you know that moment when you first arrive to your destination and you either look at each other with a smile ,or a look of disparity lol . In this case it was neither , it was a look of amazement !!! The view was fabulous ,the smell of the ocean was wonderful ,and immediately we could tell how clean and kept up the resort was. The next step in any vacation which is very important in having a great vacation is the room ..usually there always seems like there is some sort of problem , either its not ready yet ,they over booked and they try to stick you anywhere , or they simply just don't have your reservation . We always just expect one of those typical things to happen , so you can imagine why we where very surprised that five minutes after we checked in we where riding on a golf cart on the way to our room. We arrived to our room which seemed like a fantasy rather then reality , it was something out of a movie lol.. Everything in the room was first class ,and the space itself was so comfortable and private ,we loved it . The service from the moment we arrived to the moment we left was top notch and it couldn't be better ,even for people like us who don't speak much Spanish they made us feel very comfortable and understood all are wants and desires . The food felt as if we never left the U.S. , every restraunt in the resort was extremely satisfying and some were comparable to some of the best places I've been to back home , which speaks volumes . Plus if you where in the mood to get a taste of the Dominican culture they always have their doors open with some of the best rice ,beans , and chicken we ever had lol .. The beach was just beautiful ,light sand and crystal blue water that was just the right temperature !!! If you don't feel like the beach they have gorgious pools to enjoy with activities and parties all day long for those people who like to keep busy .. For those people who like to relax and just hang out and enjoy freedom they have these wonderful beds and bungalow's right on the beach , what a great idea that is !! After you relax during the day you can save ur energy for the night life they have a casino next-door , clubs , classy bars , and lots of other great things to do , we never got bored at this resort . We havent been on a vacation that we enjoyed this much in a lifetime . Thank you confresi palm !!!! Pure Paradise !!!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Sarita123Nurse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny H, Public Relations Manager at Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort, responded to this review, May 8, 2012
Dear Guest Sarita123Nurse :

Thank you for staying at Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort at your recently vacation.

It is of great honor to us to receive a review like this one that you have kindly shared with us. We are delighted to read that your experience was so nice and memorable. We thank you for your compliments and for appreciating the efforts of our staff to transform this stay for you as an unforgettable one.

We are sure that your highlights on our beach, your tips on room categories and locations, the restaurants and bars will be very well accepted by other reviewers.

We hope to have the opportunity to pamper you at our property in the near future, and once again make holidays in “Pure Paradise”.

Kind regards

Jenny Hernández
E-Commerce Concierge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,716 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,458
    1,042
    506
    332
    378
See reviews for
992
1,179
67
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,036)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manalapan, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2012

Still wondering how a trip (all inclusive) can provide so much value for the cost... staff very friendly, made tons of friends... many honey mooners etc. the food (all inclusive) was just as expected, however, the restaurants, which you have to reserve day of, specifically the sea food, brazilian, and the italian were great! the rooms at Corfresi were amazing,,, granite floors throughout and jacuzzi tub... we did the excursion to paradise island, absolutely breath taking... had a great time at the resort where convenience and elegance were at our fingertips...

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank travelerjai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny H, Public Relations Manager at Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort, responded to this review, May 5, 2012
Dear Guest Travelerjai:

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recently vacation at Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort.

As we are deeply committed to achieving our guest’s total satisfaction, your opinion is very important to us. I’m delighted to read that your expectations were met, thanks to friendliness of our staff members and a unique gastronomy of our nine specialty restaurants.

Your feedback is invaluable and much appreciated, as it enables us to constantly monitor and improve the care and service we provide to our guests.

We are glad that we could accomplish our goal during your visit.

Kind regards

Jenny Hernández
E-Commerce Concierge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 3, 2012

We celebrated my wife's 50th Birthday at this 5 star resort. The people, the weather, the ammenities and the staff were simply outstanding. As frequent travelers for twenty-five plus years, this vaction was full of joy, outstanding entertainment, and quality food and beverages. We enjoyed ourselves to the utmost and met several good people to mingle with. We would definitely revisit and engage in more memories and fun, and we are not consumers of alcoholic beverages.

Room Tip: Upgrade to Jr. suites or higher
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank REVLEH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny H, Public Relations Manager at Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort, responded to this review, May 5, 2012
Dear Guest REVLEH:


Thank you for staying at Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort with your wife recently.

It is of great honor to us to receive a review like this one that you have kindly shared with us. We would also like to thank you for categorizing us as a "5 Star All-Inclusive Resort".

In Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort we aim to ensure a memorable holiday to our beloved guests through the friendliness of our staff members, specially the entertainment team and a unique gastronomy of our nine specialty restaurants.

We are already willing to welcome you back, please contact us before your next visit.

Kindest regards

Jenny Hernández
E-Commerce Concierge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Killeen, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2012

Facts:
1. Motel is not handicap accessible.
2. Staff is very unfriendly
3. Motel substandard
4. When there is a electrical outage, the toilet does not flush
5. Not worth the money you spend
6. Best portion of trip was leaving, unfortunately I left with food poisoning and had it for more than three days. Had to go to doctor when I returned home to get medication. Had to stay off work for three days.
7. The only reason I selected the one circle is because I was not able to complete the review without being forced to select at least one circle.
8. I noticed I kept saying "motel" and that is because it did not seem like a resort.
9. Sales people try to get you to buy timeshare. When you decline, you are treated less than stellar. Not sure why they feel tourist come there with a suitcase full of money to just "give" them. Sales person stated my friend could donate her timeshare if I wanted to purchase a timeshare. Later he stated that we could not do that( I was never going to buy a timeshare under no condition)

Room Tip: find a room in a name brand hotel on another more developed island, for instance the Bahamas
See more room tips
Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
8 Thank Cutepie01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny H, Public Relations Manager at Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort, responded to this review, May 4, 2012
Dear Guest Cutepie 01,


We are certainly sorry to hear that your trip was not enjoyable. Guest satisfaction is our goal and we strive to ensure all of our guests experience the best vacation possible.

Please know that yours was not a typical experience at our hotel, we do feel the need to correct a few of the statements in your review:

Our operational staff is very friendly, and trained to be helpful. They are properly trained and even under stress they usually perform very well, we typically receive extremely positive reviews about them, and often hear that, in many instances, the staff made the difference for many of our guest’s vacations.

You did not necessarily get sick by eating at the hotel, as you might know, all major Tour Operators promoting Puerto Plata require that we go by specifics hygiene and food handling standards. In order to audit those standards on a regular basis, we have hired an outsource company called Preverisk, a UK based company, Preverisk is used by most hotel chains and tour operators doing business in the Dominican Republic, Europe, US as well as Canada which all have access to the results of such audits. Those records do not show any significant deficiencies that would indicate a risk to our guests’ welfare.


Thank you for taking the time to share your experience and, again, please accept my apologies on behalf of the entire staff at Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort.


Sincerely

Jenny Hernández
E-Commerce Concierge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turner Valley, AB
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2012

Cofresi values their guests. This may seem like a basic tenant of resorts, but in this day and age, I really wonder. I swear Cofresi hires *the* nicest people, the employees here are genuinely friendly and are extremely helpful and smiling all of the time. Also, most of them are fluent in English, which let me tell you as a world traveler, is a huge plus.
The rooms are really spacious and comfortable and from what I’ve seen and heard there really are no “bad” rooms, everything comes with a nice view. The food here is also pretty good, nice flavor and also really good presentation by the chef.
You can definitely tell that the people here take pride in their work. Cofresi is one of the last good resorts that really values attention to detail.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tennika I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny H, Public Relations Manager at Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort, responded to this review, May 14, 2012
Dear Guest Tennika I:

It is of great honor to us to receive a review like this one that you have kindly shared with us. We are delighted to read that your experience was so nice and memorable. We thank you for your compliments and for appreciating the efforts of our staff to transform this stay for you as an unforgettable one.

We aim to ensure a memorable holiday to our beloved guests through the friendliness of our staff members and a unique gastronomy of our nine specialty restaurants, nightly themed buffet and 24 hours all inclusive Service.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort in the near future.


Sincerely

Jenny Hernández
E-Commerce Concierge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2012

I am always a little sceptical about traveling to countries that are poverty stricken or have a “third world” reputation, but I must say that Cofresi breaks the mold. We first realized we were in for a treat when we got to the check-in and the wait was relatively quick (maybe 15 minutes at most). The staff apologized profusely and even offered us coupons for dinner. We were treated like royalty during our stay. We arrived to the room earlier than expected, which was spotlessly clean and ready for us without issue. The rooms are tastefully decorated with very spacious bathrooms. The grounds around the hotel were really nice and added to the beauty of the resort itself. My friends and I spent most of out days on the beach, or out exploring the town. We suggest doing both. The activities at the resort were great and definitely worth checking out, but won’t take up your entire stay.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Angela C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny H, Public Relations Manager at Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort, responded to this review, May 8, 2012
Dear Guest Angela C:

Thank you for choosing Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort for your recent stay.

Your compliment towards our staff and our facilities really shows the readers the true results of our efforts to provide an unforgettable experience.

We hope to have the opportunity to pamper you and your family at our property in the near future and that we exceed your expectations again.


Kind regards

Jenny Hernández
E-Commerce Concierge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hickory, NC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2012

Let's start with the positives: The staff are fantastic...from the animation team aka Blackie, Barbie, Sexy Banana, Tony Montana, and Eddy Murphy who provided entertainment ie volleyball and taught me how to dance the Bachata to the Bartenders like Maria Matais who makes the best margaritas outside Mexico to the grounds crew like Ramon Marte who keep the beach clean and orderly even during the frequent rainstorms. Everyone was friendly and helpful. The room was bright, clean, and spacious. Leonada did a great job cleaning the room and was helpful with any request. The beach was nice, plenty of chairs, cabanas, and bars. The Sunday Beach Blast was awesome. Good food, good drinks, good entertainment. Fun had by all. Now the negatives: If someone talks to you about a "tour" run the other way. It is a time share pitch or the new catch phrase "Vacation Club". Next is the food. It is edible but not great which is really sad because the wait staff are friendly and attentive. The only enjoyable meals end up being the a la carte nights at the specialty restaurants. And last the bed was uncomfortable. You could feel the springs poking you throughout the night. Overall I would go back.

Room Tip: Building 42 was nice and a two minute walk to the beach. Rooms are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank David V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny H, Public Relations Manager at Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort, responded to this review, May 8, 2012
Dear Guest David V,

Thank you for posting a review about your stay at the Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort and for choosing our hotel for your holidays.

In the name of our team, we want to express how glad we are to know that you had a memorable holiday thanks to the friendliness of our staff members; your nice words about the service certainly will motivate us to keep doing our hard work. The best service is one guiding principle in Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort, the key of our success and we work hard to remain so.

We are already willing to welcome you back, please contact us before your next visit.

Kind regards

Jenny Hernández
E-Commerce Concierge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Plata hotels
0.3 mi away
The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort
7.0 mi away
BlueBay Villas Doradas Adults Only
5.7 mi away
Be Live Collection Marien
Be Live Collection Marien
#9 of 39 in Puerto Plata
3,719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
#6 of 39 in Puerto Plata
5,446 reviews
6.7 mi away
Grand Paradise Playa Dorada
Grand Paradise Playa Dorada
#7 of 39 in Puerto Plata
3,240 reviews
5.8 mi away
Iberostar Costa Dorada
Iberostar Costa Dorada
#2 of 39 in Puerto Plata
7,196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort

Property: Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort
Address: 1 Paradise Drive | Cofresi Beach, Puerto Plata 57000, Dominican Republic (Formerly Be Live Grand Carey)
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Puerto Plata
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Plata
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Plata
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 468
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort – Dominican Republic is the newest jewel in the Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Club. Nestled along the Cofresi beach shores, and overlooking the sparkling Caribbean sea, this resort caters to the luxurious enjoyment of both families and couples looking for that perfect getaway. With 468 well-appointed accommodations that range from Adult Only Spa Suites, to Standard family friendly rooms located in a quite setting between the ocean beach and spectacular pool, this is a paradise worthy of the Lifestyle name. The resort was created with space and comfort in mind, making Cofresi Palm a relaxing, enjoyable and satisfying experience for all guests and their families. All rooms have air conditioning, cable television, phones, and ceiling fans, while the decor has a distinctive design, featuring dark wood furnishings. Shaded patios and verandas provide a relaxing place to gather in some of the units. Providing both service and features that are standard for a Lifestyle property, the Cofresi Palm offers a unique luxury accommodations experience. Cofresi Palm provides the easy, relaxed ambiance of the Caribbean in an opulent and elegant setting. Experience the array of beauty and excitement that Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sun Village Puerto Plata
Sun Village Hotel Cofresi
Dominican Republic Sun Village
Sun Village Dominican Republic
Sun Village Spa
Sun Village Resort Dominican Republic
Sun Village Resort Puerto Plata
Sun Village Beach Resort
Sun Village Resort Spa Puerto Plata

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing