We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasantly Pleased and Super Bowl Overwhelmed!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort
Ranked #12 of 41 Hotels in Puerto Plata
New Paltz
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Pleasantly Pleased and Super Bowl Overwhelmed!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2012

We were a little nervous about our vacation after having read some of the very negative comments about this hotel. We are scuba divers that have visited many hotels on many different islands in the Caribbean. We were pleasantly surprised with this hotel's terrific food, hospitable staff, beautiful pools, terraced hotel units and landscaping. Kudoes to Milton, one of the bartenders at a nearby pool and Indiana in guest reservations. Milton was the epitome of Caribbean hospitality and Indiana helped us navigate the minor difficulties associated with making dinner reservations. The wait staff in all the restaurants and the cleaning staff that serviced our room also did great jobs.

We particularly enjoyed dining at the Mexican and Brazilian restaurants and were blown away by the outdoor Super Bowl party. Guests watched the game on giant movie theatre-sized screens and were also treated to projected "in house" entertainment that filled the commercial gaps of the game. Thousands of Super Bowl guests dined on split lobster tails, filet mignon, delicious salmon, and countless other entrees, sides and desserts. This extravaganza was topped off by an unbelievable fireworks display. We were overwhelmed by the entire production.

The negatives for our stay were minor annoyances. Our room was a bit dated and in need of a cosmetic makeover. There was no dresser, only recessed shelves to store clothes. We don't spend much time in our rooms during our vacation so the room's "lack of elegance" doesn't bother us much. During the late morning and afternoon hours we were bothered by helicopter flyovers that were bringing some guests into the adjoining resort. The beach is fair, not very good for snorkeling and maintaining balance in the water is difficult in many areas. The major annoyance is the "herd of white polo-shirted headhunters" that congregate by the restaurants and pools looking to kidnap guests for timeshare presentations. We told these gentlmen that we were already timeshare owners and had no interest at all in their "vacation deals". They tell you they want to take you on a tour of the resort and you wind up being pitched something you don't want. Once they are made to realize you aren't a prospective buyer they leave you alone.

On the whole the resort is very beautiful with terrific dining and entertainment. If you look past the minor annoyances you will be very pleasantly pleased with a most enjoyable vacation.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BobShellyOttens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,601 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,408
    1,011
    492
    325
    365
See reviews for
956
1,142
68
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,007)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2012

My girlfriend and I had a wonderful time, food and service were top notch. wonderful grounds and beautiful sights. Easy access to near by attractions. Can't be beat for the price, we really felt like we got our money's worth upon leaving. Cant wait to go back!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NathanBrewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hazlet, nj
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2012

My husband and two children stayed at Cofresi Palm in January for a week. We had a wonderful time and can't wait to come back!! The resort was beautiful with great pools, nice beaches and wonderful staff. The food was good, from the buffet, where you can always find something to eat to the other a la carte restaurants as well. Our room was clean and comfortable and the staff was very nice and helpful. I recommend this resort to anyone and plan on coming back next year with friends of ours for another vacation.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank for2mom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2012

I booked via CheapCaribbean.com and after reading the negative reviews I was prepared for the worse. What a pleasant surprise - my vacation was great!
I don't really understand all the disappointment that people have in the hotel and the service when they are paying bottom prices!
The room and bathroom were clean and neat. The cleaning lady did a great job everyday. The beaches had more than enough chairs, the yellow black bracelet let you in VIP pool and beach area. NO ONE WAS forbidden to enter. TIP the bartenders and the people who fetch your drinks - don't think they have to be nice to you just because you bought all-inclusive package. A dollar here and there makes a difference and I always bring at least 60 single dollar bills.
The property is very large, walk around a little, mingle, no one is going to chase you away. There is a lot of stairs but the shuttles run frequently. We walked a lot and we often went into restaurants with sand between our toes (no one checked for it!).
The reservations are a bit of a pain but not to the point of complaining about them! Both Villa Blanca and The Pearl have good food. Villa Blanca might have more options so if you tire of the Pearl food just go there.
The service was really good - just smile and ask politely don't expect things to appear in your hands because you did not pay for the 5 star service.
The best Mama Juana is at Las Canas in the Tropical (not too much anise!) right in front of Villa Blanca.
Blue Lagoon has amazing seafood! Twilight was so so, and Moomtaz was ok. Entertainment crews at both Cofresi and Tropical were OK. If you want to participate there is always something to do. You have to understand that there is only so many restaurants and a large amount of vacationers - that is why you will not get into a restaurant everyday. The restaurants have to accommodate you (a bargain tourist) and the VIPs. It's logical that you will not get bookings for every night.
The amount of pools is amazing. You will have fun everywhere you decide to swim. There is bar by every pool but the kids' pool.
Paradise Island was an amazing excursion totally worth the price to see amazing coral reefs, feed the fish, and take wonderful pictures.

Room Tip: We stayed in 205 and I don't care what others say it was great location. Lots of stairs but I di...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnetaBrooklyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2012

Had a great time. The staff works very hard and do their best to make you feel you are on vacation. Joining in on the daily activities makes the place even more fun.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hdbaez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2012

If you will read a review you need to read this its long but u will be happy u did !!!!!!!!!!
one okay where to start with this vacation from hell no other was to put it i paid for a all-inclusive vacation with unlimited a la carts that’s what my vacation package covered that was on my package as there was a lot more as well but i got nothing restaurants was a joke to get into i had to be in line @ hs b4 they opened to TRY to get into a restaurant even tho u been in line don’t mean ull get in i waiting 3 days in a row and i never got into a restaurant the buffet food was horrible not even edible at times soo many people got food poison i can’t even describe they have a medical centre in sight for this reason i assume it happens often the beach has on the nice side were all the beds are and hot tubs Vip only and has security to make sure only vip get in as for the rest of the resort members only in about 80% u may not use if u where not a shareholder so they will get the next day in the morning for a tour DO NOT GO they will take you to a vip section to buy timeshares what a joke 80 thousand dollars and would not let us leave i was there for almost 4hs till i got really rude to leave and told me to find my own way back to my part of the resort (this resort is huge) 90% are timeshares regular room are worse then motels no joke i went with a group of 6 of us i paid for a jr suite ocean view i was the only one i got a jr suite (very nice ) but no ocean view said that was a ocean view i had a pool and would not change for what i paid for to get a towel its like pulling teeth tip ull get one snorkeling was included well they said no when i was there didn’t know anything about it i didn’t have my paper with me so i paid and got a bill sure enough i came back and it was included soo when u get there ur mini fridge well it had nothing took them 4DAYS to fill only because i mad a stink for about 6 hs till i ripped out the fridge and took it to the front desk and told them to only bring it back when its full came 2 hs later at 2am the resort manager caser what a waste a life didn’t care for any issues i had well he said he did but did nothing about them i spoke to a nolitours rep she did nothing said under new management nothing she could do this place was a joke i paid shy of 1500 per person for me and my husband so almost 3000 for new years what a waste of my hard eared money well i will never go to this resort or any lifestyles resorts again even if its free new name for this resort is GRAND AMBER BY LIFSTYLES so be aware plz don’t waste you money (for people that had gone and been in the same situation as me plz fight for your money back i made a complaint with nolitours i am still waiting for a reply but i also made a complaint with a company called TICO.ca (travel industry Council of Ontario) they have just started mine they will get u ur money back for a vacation or a voucher for another vacation we all work for our money don’t let them steal it away) maid was amazing but my glasses went missing 350 gone the night chef jr was sooo nice amazing man was the only one that was nice at all thank you for reading i hope you do not book this trip spend ur money else ware thank you cindy
plz message if u need more info ill be happy to help i hop i didnt forget any other inportand info plz keep in mine its a new owner not what if was b4

Room Tip: jr suite anything eles motel
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank cindy m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eriksdale, Manitoba, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2012

Appon arrival they put my friend and I in terrible rooms. We paid for a 4 star resort but got crammed in the 2000 block (old trash rooms).We were in a group of 21 people over half of them were staying in the 3000 block (newly renovated rooms), which is what was advetised to us before booking. We spent the first two days of our two week vacation in the lobby fighting for the rooms we paid for. That would be my only complaint, the rest of our trip was wonderful! Amazing beach, great excursions(zipline and monkey jungle, ocean world, runners safari, snorkeling, para sailing, banana boat), staff were great. By the way thats so much to the entertainment crew Blacky, Bon Jovi, J.C, Tonny Montana, and Eddy Murphy. They kept the vacation fun while being at the resort from being on the beach daily to the shows everynight. If you are going to this resort you defintly have to take part in the shows and activities on the beach its a GREAT time. The food got better after the second week, alot of selection but nothing agreed with my tummy. The spa is wonderful but the fitness room could have been open longer (hours are 8-6). If your not very mobile or your lazy dont come here theres lots of stair but there is the option of getting a shuttle from place to place. You get 3 dinners out on the resort for 1 week the italian and mexican are the best. If your going to ocean world dont book as an excersion just go straight there and buy at the gate, youll save a crazy amount of money. Over all experince it was a ten for me, worth ever penny that I paid.
P.S.. Make sure you have a well matched traveling partner

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amber B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Plata hotels
0.3 mi away
The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort
5.7 mi away
Be Live Collection Marien
Be Live Collection Marien
#9 of 41 in Puerto Plata
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,427 reviews
6.9 mi away
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
#5 of 41 in Puerto Plata
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5,335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Sunscape Puerto Plata Dominican Republic
6.7 mi away
Grand Paradise Playa Dorada
Grand Paradise Playa Dorada
#8 of 41 in Puerto Plata
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,175 reviews
7.0 mi away
BlueBay Villas Doradas Adults Only
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort

Property: Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort
Address: 1 Paradise Drive | Cofresi Beach, Puerto Plata 57000, Dominican Republic (Formerly Be Live Grand Carey)
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Puerto Plata
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Plata
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Plata
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 468
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort – Dominican Republic is the newest jewel in the Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Club. Nestled along the Cofresi beach shores, and overlooking the sparkling Caribbean sea, this resort caters to the luxurious enjoyment of both families and couples looking for that perfect getaway. With 468 well-appointed accommodations that range from Adult Only Spa Suites, to Standard family friendly rooms located in a quite setting between the ocean beach and spectacular pool, this is a paradise worthy of the Lifestyle name. The resort was created with space and comfort in mind, making Cofresi Palm a relaxing, enjoyable and satisfying experience for all guests and their families. All rooms have air conditioning, cable television, phones, and ceiling fans, while the decor has a distinctive design, featuring dark wood furnishings. Shaded patios and verandas provide a relaxing place to gather in some of the units. Providing both service and features that are standard for a Lifestyle property, the Cofresi Palm offers a unique luxury accommodations experience. Cofresi Palm provides the easy, relaxed ambiance of the Caribbean in an opulent and elegant setting. Experience the array of beauty and excitement that Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sun Village Puerto Plata
Sun Village Hotel Cofresi
Dominican Republic Sun Village
Sun Village Dominican Republic
Sun Village Spa
Sun Village Resort Dominican Republic
Sun Village Resort Puerto Plata
Sun Village Beach Resort
Sun Village Resort Spa Puerto Plata

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing