We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“So much fun!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Playa Grande

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Puerto Plata
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Playa Grande
Save
You added Hotel Playa Grande to your Saves list
Ranked #24 of 45 Hotels in Puerto Plata
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“So much fun!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2010

My friend and I decided we wanted a tropical getaway in April 2010 so we gave this all inclusive resort a shot. I didn't go there having very high expectations but I was very pleasantly surprised at how much fun I had. The rooms were very clean and the food was good. The restaurants that required reservations had delicious food and the buffet was also good. The staff was very friendly and accomodating. Any tips that we gave to the staff were very much appreciated. The bartenders were friendly, warm, and had a wonderful sense of humor. My friend and I were instantly comfortable there. The shows at night were entertaining and funny and were geared to both children and adults. The beach was very clean and beautiful. We enjoyed our trip in April so much that we returned in July. We were somewhat apprehensive that the trip could not possibly compare to our first because we had had such a great time. Again, we were very pleasantly surprised. The bartenders, entertainment team, and restaurant staff go above and beyond to make sure the guests are comfortable and have aa fun vacation. I have and will continue to recommend this all inclusive resort to my family and friends. We were especially impressed with one of the bartenders, Raphael, who mixed delicious drinks and was very friendly aand accomodating. I highly recommend this resort!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LindaL9584
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    38
    23
    8
    5
See reviews for
11
8
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
toronto
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2010

Me and my family stayed at the allegro puerto plata for christmas and new years. Before i left i did read a lot of bad reviews on the hotel which kinda made me nervous about my stay... But obviously there are people who are going to pick at every little thing. I didnt find a problem with the hotel, and it was a very reasonable price, i found the staff to be very friendly, the entertainment was a little repatative, but they always did activities by the pool. There was always something to eat.The only downfall for me was that there was really no night life on the resort. If your going with your family and just wanna relax , I'd say go for it. If your going with friends to party, maybe chose another resort.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Michelle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2009

The beaches and rooms are so beautiful along with the country itself. Would love to stay here again :-)

Stayed January 2006, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Krysten277
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
windsor canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2008

let me start by saying, everything from the property brochure to the travel agent was way off bases of this hotel. IT IS NOT 24 HOUR RESORT, no drinks after 12am, no disco , no water in your room for anything, no food after 11pm, not much of snacks in between meals. beach is dirty, vendors and locals on resort constantley, high theft rates in rooms. TERRIBLE and non variety of meals. the entertainment was OK . NO SERVICE hardley. we went with another couple as well. this vacation caused conflict since i was the one who booked it. however i was mislead on this resort. my husband and i travel alot and have been at a 3 star in Porta plata, and we been to the Rius as well. i would have to AGREE alot of 3 stars such as fun royale tropicale and the village, have much better resort and food then this property, we are not over fussy, but would like good food and good fun. this isnt the place. i also got food poison from thesnack bar on day 3 . I wont return to this resort but i will return to Porta Plata. its way boring, ala cartes were awsome . great meals. dont expect to party or dance or anything after 12am. its all closed. the resort is ghost town after midnuite. and WARNING locals are al over the resort and have rooms as well and people have been ripped off for their wallets rooms have been broken into, in a week i was there. i can go on about the bad of this resort, but i can not find anything good about it except it was well kept up clean (as you sleep) is when they clean the place...

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — everything
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank legz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2008

After reading reviews of this hotel we insisted on being in building 5 or 6. We were put in Bldg.6 without any questions. There were a total of 13 in our group (6 rooms).
Check in was swift and friendly. The room and the grounds were clean. The pools were colder than the Ocean but clean. Always plenty of chairs at the beach and/or pools.
People were friendly and usually helpful. Food was good for DR standards. Selection of side dishes was monotinous but main courses were good. We went to 2 of the 3 al a cartes. Italian was nice but the Grill was excellent. Steaks were huge and very good. We skipped the Mexican due to hearsay. Golfed 3 times across the street at Paya Dorada. Very nice but the greens were suspect in places.
Tips definitely increased level of service received at various areas including the bars.
This facility definitely lacked in late night after hours eating selection (boiled hot dogs nightly). Also, they would not give us 2 room keys which caused some frustration if we were not always together. In room remote control for TV are available if you ask.
Night time entertainment was typical with the Karioke being the most popular. Not much to do at night outside of this or the Lounge area with a Piano player.
The hawkers on the beach were not that bad and accepted a quick " no gracias" and moved on. Enviroment was safe and clean.
Overall, it was a good experience. Not great, but we got what we paid for....a 3.5 star resort.

Stayed February 2008
Helpful?
4 Thank FrankieOntario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nova Scotia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2008

We loved it. 2 friends for a week away and what a time!! Food was delicious and more than plentiful. Beach was exotic to say the least and the snack bar and drinks on the beach was very convenient. We were waited on and catered to like celebrities. The swimming pool area was the same way. All kinds of wait staff, men and women alike were more than happy to accomodate. Housekeeping staff did a wonderful job of our room and were left a small tip or gift each day. We never left the resort, just beach, pool, restaurant and bar, thats all working moms need for a week away.

  • Liked — wait staff service at beach and pool
  • Disliked — disco was not that busy
  • Stayed February 2006, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank RoseNovaScotia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond Hill, Ontario
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2007

Before I start I should warn that we were diverted to this resort because of an over booking at the one we were to stay at, but I will attempt to remain objective. The resort on a whole is very nice- clean, wonderful pool, incredible golf and cliff views to the ocean that must be seen to describe. While we 'lay over' at this resort we discovered that it was almost booked by a large group of a Jewish community that because of their religion had to take over the kitchen. The resort did best they could for our group and should be commended especially after taking the abuse of many from our group. The room was pretty good, perhaps above average for the area and included a wonderful balcony where you can hear the ocean. The pool was fantastic and the staff outstanding given the whole situation. We never got to the beach because we did not stay long enough to find it - apparently across the road and down a cliff. However, given the situation that we were in, the resort was fantastic and the staff was more than courteous and helpful - I would go again if I had a golf partner.

  • Liked — Pool Area and scenery
  • Disliked — Proximity to the beach
  • Stayed January 2004, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank JeffandIda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Plata hotels
2.1 mi away
Casa Colonial Beach & Spa
Casa Colonial Beach & Spa
#3 of 45 in Puerto Plata
4.5 of 5 stars 497 reviews
1.4 mi away
Blue JackTar
Blue JackTar
#9 of 45 in Puerto Plata
4.5 of 5 stars 181 reviews
0.9 mi away
Iberostar Costa Dorada
Iberostar Costa Dorada
#2 of 45 in Puerto Plata
4.5 of 5 stars 5,912 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
#4 of 45 in Puerto Plata
4.0 of 5 stars 4,776 reviews
0.8 mi away
Be Live Collection Marien
Be Live Collection Marien
#11 of 45 in Puerto Plata
3.5 of 5 stars 2,588 reviews
1.9 mi away
Grand Paradise Playa Dorada
Grand Paradise Playa Dorada
#6 of 45 in Puerto Plata
3.5 of 5 stars 2,821 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Playa Grande? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Playa Grande

Property: Hotel Playa Grande
Address: Rio San Juan MTS | PO Box 10, Puerto Plata, Dominican Republic (Formerly Occidental Allegro Playa Grande)
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Puerto Plata
Hotel Style:
#20 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Plata
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 300
Also Known As:
Occidental Allegro Playa Grande Hotel Puerto Plata
Occidental Allegro Playa Grande Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing