We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, but I would rather eat at Green Jack Tar”
Review of Lucia

Lucia
Ranked #18 of 119 Restaurants in Puerto Plata
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Features an extensive dinner selection of Caribbean fusion dishes, delectable desserts and refreshing drinks and an incredible view to the exotic mangrove jungle, separated by only a glass wall. The restaurant’s wine cellar offers the finest flavor of wines from light, crisp whites to rich French Bordeaux, Italian Chianti and more. Private, catered beach dinners also available.
Dominican Republic
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Good, but I would rather eat at Green Jack Tar”
Reviewed February 23, 2014

We ate here for valentine's day dinner with some friends. We got there at 5:30 and they said they didn't open until 6 or 6:30 or??? So, we went out to the other restaurant by the beach and had a drink and waited. We came back at 6:30 and eventually got a seat at about 6:50. Not because it was busy just because it wasn't open yet, I guess. The dinner times here in the DR are a lot later so if you are coming from a culture where you eat early you better get some snacks. The ambiance is very nice and elegant. The wait staff was ok. They messed up a drink order…a couple of times (not because of the language barrier either). The food was definitely unique, which I loved. We had appetizers, main course and they gave us dessert "on the house" because of valentine's day. It was still very pricy and for what you get and the quality of the food I would pick Green Jack Tar every day. Still a decent restaurant, especially for this area.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank dabyoung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Resort_Team, Manager at Lucia, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Thank you so much for choosing Lucia for your Valentine’s Day dinner. We appreciate your noting the uniqueness of our menu. We do truly strive to provide a memorable dining experience to our guests. We hope we will be able to serve you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    22
    2
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Puerto Plata, Dominican Republic
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Exquisite food, so so service.”
Reviewed February 17, 2014

As soon as me and the wife arrived at Lucia we were in awe,everything was very high end,we picked the place for our valentine's day romantic dinner, we were greater by hostess and asked to wait for a table to clear, and 15 minutes we were sat. The seating arrangement was not the best as we were away from the splendid garden view, but it's understandable as it was a full house that night. We were given our menus, ordered a water with no gas for my wife and a water with gas for me, very good quality Italian water. We then ordered appetizers I had a seafood crepes, and my wife a carpaccio. The crepes were delicious specially the. White sauce they came in, the carpaccio was very good, however the beef was thickly cut, and it was completly cooked to our surprise, we prefer it red looking, it's a variation we certainly never seen before but never the less good. My wife started by ordering a mimosa, which she absolutely loved and claimed it was made with freshly squeezed orange juice,while I ordered. A bottle of Robert Mondovi private selection cabernet sauvinion, which I found reasonably priced at a little over $50USD. Now for the main course, she had raviolis filled with a very nice minced meat, topped with a pesto like green sauce, while I had a shrimp risotto, jumbo shrimp very fresh. For dessert we had a chocolate moose and a banana parfait, both equally delicious. Now for the negatives:the reasons why we. Would not give it a 5 star rating is because of the service, eventhough they were super friendly and extremely kind, the waiters were all over the place, and did not seemed well coordinated, we had to ask for the mimosa twice in order to get it, then one of the waiters took our wine menu before we could decide on what to get for the occasion, assuming we were not going to order anything from it, we had to ask for it a second time. When the waiters would come out of the kitchen they kept talking loud amongst themselves making it seem like they were screaming at each other Definitely not very pleasant. The waiter forgot to charge us for the mimosa so we had to tell him to go back and fix the bill as it was wrong in our favor, and we could hear when the hostess told him that if we had not came forward all the waiters had to pay for it,we didn't want to hear that.Overall loved the place the food, the ambience and the live piano background music. Dispite the hiccups in service we loved Lucia, and not only will we go back because we live in Puerto plata, but we would highly recommended it,to anyone looking for an upscale premium dinning experience to go and check it out. Hope this review is helpful.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BRayH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Resort_Team, Manager at Lucia, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Thank you so much for choosing Lucia for your Valentine’s Day celebration and we are so pleased that you enjoyed your dishes. Guest satisfaction is extremely important to us, so it is disappointing to read that the service levels were not up to par that evening. Please be assured we will speak with the team that was on duty that evening and that you will have a perfect experience on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Wonderful dining room”
Reviewed December 6, 2013

The furnishings make this ding room feel luxe yet very comfortable. The service is wonderful, attentive and knowledgeable. After trying many dishes we wish the food was as good as the ambiance and service. Wouldn't have returned if there were any other better options, but this is the best we found.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank OysterLove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Resort_Team, Manager at Lucia, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to let us know you enjoyed your dining experience with us. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Perfection in every detail and spectacular food! Must try!”
Reviewed December 4, 2013 via mobile

We really enjoyed every dinner in this restaurant while staying in the hotel. Definetely the best place in the area, as every time trying smth outside we understand that this restaurant is the best.
High end food and service level, incredible atmosphere in the lobby and at the bar with the piano evenings on weekends.
Just perfect!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TanyaKuts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Resort_Team, Manager at Lucia, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
Thank you for choosing Casa Colonial for your vacation and for joining us at Lucia and the Lobby Bar. We are so pleased you enjoyed your meals and your time with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Incredible food and service.”
Reviewed October 3, 2013

The food was crazy good! I had Goat in chocolate sauce which I never thought would go together but wow it was so nice. The hostess was really nice and made a fuss of my 9 year old niece. The wine was lovely and our glasses were never empty. It was quite formal but as we (family of 6) were the only table dining in the restaurant we let our hair down and the staff seemed to relax a little aswell. I can't stand places where you have to whisper and its all a bit too posh but this place isn't like that. Its formal but not stuffy. Broad menu of amazing flavours and fresh in season ingredients. Highly recommended.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chris_plant1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JBohmann, Public Relations Manager at Lucia, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
We appreciate receiving your kind review. We will certainly pass your compliments on to the chef and to the staff. We do our best to provide a ‘relaxed elegant’ experience if that makes sense, so we are pleased you enjoyed!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lucia also viewed

Puerto Plata, Puerto Plata Province
Puerto Plata, Puerto Plata Province
 
Puerto Plata, Puerto Plata Province
Puerto Plata, Puerto Plata Province
 

Been to Lucia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing