We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise Island...total fiasco”
Review of Marysol Tours

Marysol Tours
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Marysol Tours exist since more than 24 years and provides and organize excursions along the north coast. Our professional tour guides speak english and the licenst drivers bring you save back to your hotel. All buses are modern with air-conditioning and always checked by the mecanic and maintenance service. With us you have also an all-in Insurance ! We pick you up at the front desk of your hotel, and also outside of Amber Cove Port. We are located in Playa Dorada Mall next to Senor Rock Cafe. Sunday – Friday 9.00 Am to 3.00 Pm Representativ : Francisco De La Cruz
Reviewed August 20, 2014

We booked this trip in August. The travel agent from Marysol described it to be this wonderful place where snorkling is great. They called a day before our trip to say that the tide is high and the Island is flooded and that we can go the following day. So we went.....the bus ride is a 1,5 hours each way. The tour guide was only concerned to sell us the DVD's even though he had enough time to tell us all about Dominican culture, customes etc, but in fact we did not get any info. Sjnce the tide was high ans the winds were high as well, the sea was rough and choppy so the speed boat ride was at times very scary. When we arrived there was no Island at all! Only huts in the water ans hundreds of people around them as the water was shallowest there. The tide was up to our calfs when we arrived and by the time we left (2 hours later) it was up to our tights. There was no dry spot on the Island to stand. My husband and my daugherr did the snirkling and said that it was fun. The conditions were so poor that the tour guide suggested that we left earlier. So we did and again we had an unsafe ride by a speed boat. The mangrove national park was a joke! It took us 5 minutes to circle it. And than all wet we went for a lunch in a restaurant that was not bad. And again back on the bus for another 1,5 hours.
The tour agency should not be selling this excursion if they know that the cinditions on the Island are bad. It is bad for business. Everyone on the bus was dissapointed. Be honest and suggest something else instead. In hindsight I would have preferred to do the waterfalls instead of the Island.
And customers, if you want to go on the Island, ask about the conditions, the tide, and do not go on a weekend under no circumstances.
We were so close to our departure day that I did not have time to go to Marysol to complain.

1  Thank lovesbeach67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francisco d, Owner at Marysol Tours, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2014

Sorry for the way you feel, whish we can control the sea, I did call the day before to let you know about the condiciones, we moved it 1 day, sea was till the same. Sorry you had a bad experiencia.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (238)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

144 - 148 of 238 reviews

Reviewed July 30, 2014

We stayed at the. Barcelo in June and found marysol tours right next store in. The mall,Francisco was excellent, he explained everything we wanted to know about each and every tour, the prices were so much better than the hotels and all the excursions we took were amazing, the tour guides were great and we enjoyed each and everyone of them, Francisco was very helpful also in answering questions when we asked about the best way to change money etc. we will certainly book with him again.

Thank cathywalsh_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francisco d, Propietario at Marysol Tours, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2015

Thank you for your so important review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2014

I do a lot of research before booking excursions. We were interested in booking four excursions and I asked for quotes from various places including the resort we stayed at. By booking through Marysol Tours, we saved about 300.00 US dollars. Francisco was a true professional and his follow through was amazing.

By far, our favorite excursion was the white water rafting trip. (If you want to, there is a 30 foot or so cliff to jump off in the middle of the trip when you pull over for lunch). Now that was an AWESOME adventure! After, you get treated to a very good traditional dinner. Well worth every penny!

The water fall excursion was fun. They take you to some really cool out of the way stuff before you go to the falls. Take some money if you want to buy some amazing not your normal tourist type of artwork. After visiting a small village and sampling some delicious hot chocolate, we headed off to the falls. We upgraded to more falls than the rest of our group so we got a higher "cliff" to jump off of. To us that was worth the little bit extra.

The city tour was interesting. We had a private tour with an amazing driver. He took us to various places we wanted to see and gave us great information about Puerto Plata. He was protective over us and we felt 100% safe the entire time.

The Blue Lagoon/Playa Grande excursion was ok. The first beach we went to was stunning! (I posted a picture of it) I wish we stayed there longer. The little "zoo" was a bit sketchy. The guy kept poking a big crocodile and pissing it off. Somehow you just get the feeling that the crocodile is one day going to get his revenge. I just hoped it wasn't while we were there. The second beach we went to was FULL of vendors so it was hard to enjoy the sun. I don't like to be mean because I know this is the venders lively hood, but they just wouldn't go away. So we ended up moving our stuff where we could keep an eye on it and went into the water. That was the only way we were left alone. Our resort was picked up first so we were on the bus a VERY long time coming and going.

Overall, I would recommend, without hesitation, going through Marysol Tours. It is safe and personal and will save you a lot of money.

Have fun!

Thank Evenstarr1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francisco d, Propietario at Marysol Tours, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2015

Thank you for your so important review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2014 via mobile

I was looking for a tour agent in puerto plata and thanks god i found the best.francisco thank you for your service and we will definitly call you when we go back to puerto platathank you so much!! From;M cristina and carlos.

Thank Christina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francisco d, Propietario at Marysol Tours, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2015

Thank you for your so important review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2014

Fantastic service. Cannot recommend enough. Do NOT bother booking through your tour operator, just go with Marysol. We booked a few excursions via Marysol, and a few with Thomson to be on safe side. Thomson were utterly useless and messed up every single excursion. Marysol on the other hand were fantastic. Confirmed everything via email in advance with us, and then met us the day after arrival at a time convenient to us. Payment didn't have to be made in advance which allayed our fears of any scams.


We did the waterfalls tour. We were picked up from our hotel in a nice air conditioned minibus, and dropped back after. Word of warning, you do need a certain level of fitness to get to the top of the full 27! Don't worry about the heights though as if you feel you cant make any of the jumps there are ways around them. Water shoes are recommended as you are leaping off rocks into water. The guides are good with you (especially me as I was afraid of the heights!) and are willing to be camera men to get some good shots of your daring feats! Great day out :)


Thank you Francisco, the excursions were brilliant and if we come back we will be booking ALL excursions through you! You were a pleasure to deal with. From one of the Murray group!

Thank Kate T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francisco d, Propietario at Marysol Tours, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2015

Thank you for your so important review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marysol Tours also viewed

Puerto Plata, Puerto Plata Province
Puerto Plata, Puerto Plata Province
 
Puerto Plata, Puerto Plata Province
Puerto Plata, Puerto Plata Province
 

Been to Marysol Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing