We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely experience”

Mares Restaurant & Lounge
Ranked #4 of 119 Restaurants in Puerto Plata
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $36
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Casual & elegant. Creative cuisine with local fusion of products, one of the best chefs of the Dominican Republic, Rafael Vasquez. Situated in a private tropical garden, pool side bar and terrace, air condictioned indoor dining area, wine cellar, a local favorite spot, and a place you will remember.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A lovely experience”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Four of us visited Mares whilst staying at the Iberostar Costa Dorada Hotel having seen the reviews on Trip Advisor. Our experience started with the taxi drivier who had never heard of the restaurant and had no idea where it was and even when we found it could not find the way in! This was reassuringly exclusive as far as we were concerned.

We sat outside next to the swimming pool and there were around 8 other diners during our stay, they all appeared to be locals (or Spanish talkers anyway). Atmosphere was great although the TV supplying the 'background' music was turned down on request.

Three of us had starters - I had Dominican Mofonguitos with Goat, it was absolutely wonderful albeit quite filling. To be honest if i had known what it consisted of i would have probably gone for something else. Suet pudding with crackling and Goat in a dark gravy does not sound very appertising but it was wonderful.

My wife had the Stuffed Shrimp Tempura which was spectacular, probably the best dish of the night.

My oldest son went local with the Double Cheese Caribbean Turnovers which he loved.

For mains we had the Rib Eye, The Pocini Tenderloin and there were some langoustines available as a special which were cooked in a beautiful cream sauce. The food was cooked perfectly and was filling, no space left for puds i am afraid!

As my youngest son has a rather limited Culinary Vocabulary, our waiter was quick to recommend that one of the dishes could be 'simplified' and supplied with some french fries for him.

If i have one negative comment it is that the wine list is fairly limited for a eating house of this quality (especially as they did not have the first two wines i ordered). Also if you are going to charge £20 for a bottle of house wine, try to find one that is not for sale in most supermarkets for under £6!

I can wholly recommend Mares in Puerta Plata !

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gulliverstravelled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    154
    28
    4
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Santo Domingo
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“High quality”
Reviewed August 8, 2013

I usully go to puerto plata for work, and i was looking for a fancy dinner, so my partner took us thee, we had a great time and food was amazing. It mixes international food with creole food. I ecommend to visit this place if you are near by.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Luijo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gorizia, Italy
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Outstanding Cuisine!!”
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Rafael's gift as a chef is in finding ingredients that almost radiate their superior quality, and then cooking (or not cooking) them in ways that gently amplify their excellence. New potatoes and sweet potatoes with a splash of buttermilk had as much presence as the richly marbled and slowly roasted lamb or "Chivo". Mares, is one of the most exclusive restaurants in the city. In a crazy way what could have been an esoteric history lesson on great "Island Food" turned out to offer a fresh take on a cuisine that even Dominican's are just starting to understand. It was amazing! I have to go back on my next trip.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LRTB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Plata, Dominican Republic
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“One of those "secret" places”
Reviewed June 26, 2013

Being a food lover I always connect travel & food.

The DR has a highly quality restaurants that can surprise even the most demanding gourmets. The only problem is to find the place. Mares is one of those “secret” places around the island, hidden to most people and only found by those looking for the best. Tuna sashimi with soya and fresh mint, angus filet with porcini mushrooms in a bed of risotto, almonds & pumpkin.

The chef specialty will make you find that moment close to the center of happiness; duck with foie, a touch of local chocolate and pears. Enjoy it. Thanks chef

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Francesc R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic Food and Ambiance”
Reviewed May 11, 2013

The concierge recommended this restaurant. It is really a private home turned restaurant. The food and service were fantastic. We sat outside by the pool and it rained pretty much the whole time we were there but it was awesome anyway to dine outside in the storm. There is a bar outside in the back. We would have NEVER found this place on our own. The hotel arranged for a driver to take us and pick us back up. We really enjoyed it.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank thg07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mares Restaurant & Lounge also viewed

Puerto Plata, Puerto Plata Province
Puerto Plata, Puerto Plata Province
 
Puerto Plata, Puerto Plata Province
Puerto Plata, Puerto Plata Province
 

Been to Mares Restaurant & Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing